yes, therapy helps!
Vicar conditioning: how does this type of learning work?

Vicar conditioning: how does this type of learning work?

May 10, 2021

Vicar conditioning is a type of learning that depends on the observation of the reactions of other people to a relevant stimulus both for the subject and for those who observe it, or for the perception of the contingency between a response and certain consequences based on the behavior of others.

In this article we will describe the main characteristics of the vicar conditioning and the phases that compose it, as well as its relationship with other concepts related to very similar types of learning, such as modeling, imitation, social and observational learning.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Behaviorism: history, concepts and main authors"

What is vicar conditioning?

The concept of vicar conditioning usually refers to a type of learning that occurs through the observation of the consequences of a behavior for another person . The nature of these results increases or reduces the likelihood that the observer will perform the same behavior.


This type of learning is part of the classical conditioning paradigm as well as the operant one. In these cases you do not learn an association between a behavior and its consequences, but between a stimulus and an answer; For example, young children may develop fear of an animal if they observe this response in other people.

Vicarious learning from the operative paradigm

From operative conditioning, if the result of the action is positive for the person doing it, we say that he has obtained reinforcement. If we observe that an alien behavior is reinforced , the probability of us executing that behavior increases: a child who sees his father give his sister a soda only after he asks for it, will probably imitate her.


On the other hand, when the behavior is followed by an aversive stimulus or by the withdrawal of a reinforcing stimulus, we will learn that we should not perform it. In these cases we speak of "punishment", which is defined as a consequence of a behavior that reduces the likelihood that we will do it again.

Reinforcement and punishment are not always material : the reinforcement is sometimes social, being able to consist of a smile or a compliment, and in others it is simply identified with the disappearance of an unpleasant emotion; A teacher can punish her students with bad grades, negative comments and in many other ways.

Differences with other types of learning

The concept "vicar conditioning" is very similar to others that are used in the psychology of learning: "Modeling", "social learning", "observational learning" and "learning by imitation" . Although in general terms all these terms refer to very close processes, there are significant nuances since each one highlights different aspects.


In the case of vicarious learning, emphasis is placed on the fact that the observed subject (that is, who executes the behavior or responds to the stimulation) he is immersed in a conditioning program , which as we have said can be of a classical type or instrumental or operant; in the latter case the subject also receives a reinforcement or punishment.

The word "modeling" has very similar implications: in this case, the fact that the person carrying out the conduct serves as a model for the observer stands out. Imitation is understood in a more restrictive way, being simply a copy of the behavior of other people that can generate learning.

"Observational learning" is a broad concept which collects the connotations of the other terms previously described. Finally, social learning refers to the behaviors involved in life in society; It is the most macro of all these types of learning, since it also includes others such as symbolic learning or verbal learning.

Phases of vicarious conditioning

The psychologist Albert Bandura described four processes necessary for vicarious or observational learning, which can also be understood as the phases through which this type of conditioning occurs.

1. Attention

The first step in acquiring a response through observation is the focus of attention in the model , that is, in the person (or living being) that originally executes it. Aspects such as the expectations of the observer and the relevance of the learning situation for the latter have a decisive influence on the attention process.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Albert Bandura's Theory of Social Learning"

2. Retention

Retention refers to the ability of the observer to imitate the behavior once he has observed it without the need for the model to be present.For this it is necessary that the person who learns can encode the information through words or images and repeat it, either in the imagination or in an observable way.

3. Reproduction

Once the answer has been learned, it can be performed by the observer only if he has the skills required for it. This process consists of four sub-phases: the generation of an action plan, the conduct of the conduct, the comparison between the expectation and the actual performance and finally the modification through corrective adjustments.

4. Motivation

The probability of carrying out the behavior does not only depend on the subject having learned it correctly, but also on the fact that he has enough incentives to feel impelled to carry it out. In this sense it is worth noting the fundamental role of reinforcement in the motivation to imitate the behaviors of other people.


I PLAYED THE OUIJA BOARD AGAIN.. (WORST DECISION) (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Vicaire conditionné: comment fonctionne ce type d'apprentissage?

Vicaire conditionné: comment fonctionne ce type d'apprentissage?

Avril 16, 2021

Vicar conditionnement est un type d'apprentissage cela dépend de l'observation des réactions des autres personnes à un stimulus pertinent, tant pour le sujet que pour ceux qui l'observent, ou pour la perception de la contingence entre une réponse et certaines conséquences basées sur le comportement des autres.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les caractéristiques principales du conditionnement du vicaire et les phases qui le composent, ainsi que sa relation avec d'autres concepts liés à des types d'apprentissage très similaires, tels que la modélisation, l'imitation, l'apprentissage social et l'observation.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Behaviorism: histoire, concepts et auteurs principaux"

Quel est le conditionnement vicaire?

Le concept de conditionnement du curé fait généralement référence à un type d’apprentissage qui se produit par observation des conséquences d'un comportement pour une autre personne . La nature de ces résultats augmente ou réduit la probabilité que l'observateur présente le même comportement.


Ce type d’apprentissage fait partie à la fois du paradigme du conditionnement classique et du paradigme opérant. Dans ces cas, vous n’apprenez pas de lien entre un comportement et ses conséquences, mais entre un stimulus et une réponse; Par exemple, les jeunes enfants peuvent développer la peur d’un animal s’ils observent cette réaction chez d’autres personnes.

Apprentissage par procuration du paradigme opératoire

A partir du conditionnement opératoire, si le résultat de l'action est positif pour celui qui le fait, on dit qu'il a obtenu du renforcement. Si nous observons qu'un comportement étranger est renforcé , la probabilité que nous exécutions ce comportement augmente: un enfant qui voit son père donner un soda à sa sœur uniquement après l’avoir demandé, l’imitera probablement.


D'autre part, lorsque le comportement est suivi d'un stimulus aversif ou du retrait d'un stimulus renforçant, nous apprendrons qu'il ne faut pas le pratiquer. Dans ces cas, on parle de «punition», qui est définie comme une conséquence d'un comportement qui réduit la probabilité que nous le fassions à nouveau.

Le renforcement et la punition ne sont pas toujours importants : le renforcement est parfois social, pouvant consister en un sourire ou un compliment, et dans d'autres, il est simplement identifié à la disparition d'une émotion déplaisante; Une enseignante peut punir ses élèves avec de mauvaises notes, des commentaires négatifs et de nombreuses autres manières.

Différences avec d'autres types d'apprentissage

Le concept de "conditionnement du vicaire" est très similaire à d'autres qui sont utilisés dans la psychologie de l'apprentissage: "Modélisation", "apprentissage social", "apprentissage par observation" et "apprentissage par imitation" . Bien qu'en termes généraux, tous ces termes se réfèrent à des processus très proches, il existe des nuances significatives puisque chacun met en évidence des aspects différents.


Dans le cas de l'apprentissage par procuration, l'accent est mis sur le fait que le sujet observé (c'est-à-dire qui exécute le comportement ou répond à la stimulation) il est immergé dans un programme de conditionnement qui, comme nous l’avons dit, peut être de type classique, instrumental ou opérant; dans ce dernier cas, le sujet reçoit également un renforcement ou une punition.

Le mot "modélisation" a des implications très similaires: dans ce cas, le fait que la personne qui exécute le comportement sert de modèle à l'observateur est remarquable. L’imitation est comprise de manière plus restrictive et n’est qu’une copie du comportement d’autres personnes susceptible de générer un apprentissage.

"L'apprentissage par observation" est un concept large qui recueille les connotations des autres termes décrits précédemment. Enfin, l’apprentissage social fait référence aux comportements impliqués dans la vie en société; C’est le plus macro de tous ces types d’apprentissage, puisqu’il en inclut d’autres comme l’apprentissage symbolique ou l’apprentissage verbal.

Phases du conditionnement vicariant

Le psychologue Albert Bandura a décrit quatre processus nécessaires à l'apprentissage par procuration ou par observation, ce qui peut également être compris comme les phases à travers lesquelles ce type de conditionnement se produit.

1. Attention

La première étape pour obtenir une réponse par l’observation est la centre d'attention dans le modèle c'est-à-dire chez la personne (ou l'être vivant) qui l'exécute à l'origine. Des aspects tels que les attentes de l'observateur et la pertinence de la situation d'apprentissage pour ce dernier ont une influence déterminante sur le processus d'attention.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "La théorie de l'apprentissage social d'Albert Bandura"

2. rétention

La rétention fait référence à la capacité de l'observateur d'imiter le comportement une fois qu'il l'a observé sans qu'il soit nécessaire que le modèle soit présent.Pour cela, il est nécessaire que la personne qui apprenne puisse encoder l’information à l’aide de mots ou d’images et la répéter, soit de manière imaginaire, soit de manière observable.

3. Reproduction

Une fois que la réponse a été apprise, l'observateur ne peut l'exécuter que s'il dispose des compétences nécessaires. Ce processus comprend quatre sous-phases: la génération d’un plan d’action, la conduite de la conduite, la comparaison entre l'attente et la performance réelle et enfin la modification par des ajustements correctifs.

4. Motivation

La probabilité de réaliser le comportement ne dépend pas seulement du sujet qui l’a appris correctement, mais aussi du fait qu’il a suffisamment d’incitations pour se sentir poussé à le mener à bien. En ce sens, il convient de noter le rôle fondamental du renforcement dans la motivation à imiter les comportements des autres.


Les JÉSUITES, Véritables Maîtres du Nouvel Ordre Mondial ? (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes