yes, therapy helps!
The 5 types of chemical bonds: this is how matter is composed

The 5 types of chemical bonds: this is how matter is composed

March 25, 2024

The cells of our body, the air, the water, the different minerals ... each and every one of the elements that surround us they are made up of different types of atoms and molecules . These particles are the basic unit of matter and, in addition, serve to understand how many biological processes related to neurosciences, such as depolarization, occur.

However, in order to form something as complex as a living organism or the various compounds or materials that we observe in our day to day, it is necessary that the atoms are grouped and related in some way. From the chemistry the composition of the matter has been studied, including the elements that allow the different atoms to be linked. It is about the so-called chemical bonds.


In this article let's see how the main types of chemical bonds are present in nature.

  • Related article: "The 15 types of energy: what are they?"

The chemical bond

It is understood by chemical bond that interaction or force that generates two or more atoms to maintain a union based on the transmission of electrons between both.

The electrons of the outermost layers of the atom are attracted by the electrical charge that the atoms that surround it, specifically its nucleus. And although the nuclei repel each other by having both positive charge, the electrons (negatively charged) of each of the atoms are attracted by the core of the other.


Depending on the position of both, the electronegativity or difficulty of ionizing the atom and the electronic stability that each atom already possesses, it is possible that the force of the attraction between the electron and the nucleus prevents a repulsion between atoms. A chemical bond will be created in which one of the atoms will lose electrons and the other will gain them, achieving a final state in which the set of the two atoms reaches a stable electric charge level.

  • Related article: "The 9 postulates of Dalton's atomic theory"

Main types of chemical bonds between atoms

Below you can see what are the three main types of chemical bonds through which the different atoms come together to form the different molecules. One of the main differences between them are the types of atoms that are used (metallic and / or non-metallic, being the metallic little electronegative and the non-metallic much).


1. Ionic link

The ionic is one of the best known types of chemical bonds , being the one that is formed when a metal and a non-metal are joined (that is, a component with little electronegativity with one with a lot).

The outermost electron of the metallic element will be attracted by the core of the non-metallic element, the second one yielding the electron to the first. Stable compounds are formed, whose union is electrochemical. In this union the non-metallic element becomes anion when finally being negatively charged (after receiving the electron), while the metals become positively charged cations.

A typical example of ionic bonding is found in salt, or in crystallized compounds. The materials formed by this type of union tend to require a large amount of energy to melt them and are usually hard, although they can easily compress and break. In general they tend to be soluble and can be easily dissolved.

2. Covalent links

The covalent bond is a type of bond characterized in that the two atoms to be joined have similar or even identical electronegative properties. The covalent bond means that both atoms (or more, if the molecule is made up of more than two atoms) share the electrons among themselves, without losing or gaining in quantity.

This type of links is the one that usually forms part of the organic matter, such as the one that configures our organism, and they are more stable than the ionic ones. Its melting point is lower , to the point that many compounds are in a liquid state, and are not usually conductors of electricity. Within the covalent bonds we can find several subtypes.

Non-polar or pure covalent bond

It refers to a type of covalent bond in which two elements are joined with the same level of electronegativity and whose union does not cause one of the parts to lose or gain electrons, being the atoms of the same element . For example, hydrogen, oxygen or carbon are some elements that can be attached to atoms of the same element to form structures. They are not soluble.

Polar covalent bond

In this type of covalent bond, in fact the most usual one, the atoms that come together are of different elements. Both have a similar electronegativity although not identical, with which they have different electrical charges. Neither in this case are electrons lost in any of the atoms, but they share them.

Within this subgroup we also find the bipolar covalent bonds, in which there is a donor atom that shares the electrons and another or other receptors that benefit from this incorporation.

Things as basic and essential for us as water or glucose are formed from this type of link.

3. Metallic link

In metal bonds two or more atoms of metal elements are joined together. This union is due not to the attraction between the two atoms to each other, but to a cation and the electrons that have been free and foreign making it such a thing. The different atoms configure a network around these electrons, with patterns that are repeated. These structures tend to appear as solid and consistent elements , deformable but difficult to break.

Also, this type of link is linked to the electrical conductivity of metals, as their electrons are free.

Chemical bonds between molecules

Although the main chemical bonds are the previous ones, At the molecule level we can find other modalities . Some of the main and best known are the following.

4. By Van der Waals forces

This type of union occurs between symmetrical molecules and act as a function of the attraction or repulsion between molecules or the interaction of ions with molecules. Within this type of unions we can find the union of two permanent dipoles , two dipoles induced or between permanent and induced dipole

5. Hydrogen bond or hydrogen bridge

This type of bond between molecules is an interaction between hydrogen and another element of high polarity. In these links the hydrogen has a positive charge and is attracted by polar electronegative atoms , generating an interaction or bridge between both. Said union is considerably weak. An example is found in water molecules.

Bibliographic references:

  • Chamizo J. A. (2006). The chemistry models, Chemical Education, 17, 476-482.
  • García, A .; Garritz; A. and Chamizo, J.A .. (2009). Chemical bond. A constructivist approach to his teaching.

Elements, Atoms, Molecules, Ions, Ionic and Molecular Compounds, Cations vs Anions, Chemistry (March 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 types de liaisons chimiques: c'est ainsi que se compose la matière

Les 5 types de liaisons chimiques: c'est ainsi que se compose la matière

Août 1, 2022

Les cellules de notre corps, l'air, l'eau, les différents minéraux ... chacun des éléments qui nous entourent ils sont composés de différents types d'atomes et de molécules . Ces particules constituent l'unité de base de la matière et permettent en outre de comprendre le nombre de processus biologiques liés aux neurosciences, tels que la dépolarisation.

Cependant, pour former quelque chose d'aussi complexe qu'un organisme vivant ou que les divers composés ou matériaux que nous observons quotidiennement, il est nécessaire que les atomes soient groupés et liés d'une manière ou d'une autre. De la chimie, la composition de la matière a été étudiée, y compris les éléments permettant de lier les différents atomes. Il s'agit des liaisons dites chimiques.


Dans cet article Voyons comment les principaux types de liaisons chimiques sont présent dans la nature.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 types d’énergie: de quoi s'agit-il?"

La liaison chimique

Il est entendu par liaison chimique que interaction ou force qui génère deux atomes ou plus pour maintenir une union basé sur la transmission des électrons entre les deux.

Les électrons des couches les plus externes de l'atome sont attirés par la charge électrique que les atomes qui l'entourent, en particulier son noyau. Et bien que les noyaux se repoussent en ayant à la fois une charge positive, les électrons (chargés négativement) de chacun des atomes sont attirés par le noyau de l'autre.


Selon la position des deux, l'électronégativité ou la difficulté d'ionisation de l'atome et la stabilité électronique que possède déjà chaque atome, il est possible que la force d'attraction entre l'électron et le noyau empêche une répulsion entre les atomes. Une liaison chimique sera créée dans laquelle l'un des atomes perdra des électrons et l'autre les gagnera, atteignant un état final dans lequel l'ensemble des deux atomes atteindra un niveau de charge électrique stable.

  • Article connexe: "Les 9 postulats de la théorie atomique de Dalton"

Principaux types de liaisons chimiques entre atomes

Ci-dessous, vous pouvez voir quels sont les trois principaux types de liaisons chimiques par lesquelles les différents atomes se réunissent pour former les différentes molécules. L'une des principales différences entre eux sont les types d'atomes qui sont utilisés (métalliques et / ou non métalliques, étant le peu métallique électronégatif et beaucoup non métallique).


1. lien ionique

L'ionique est l'un des types les plus connus de liaisons chimiques , étant celui qui est formé quand un métal et un non-métal sont joints (c’est-à-dire un composant avec une faible électronégativité avec un avec beaucoup).

L'électron le plus externe de l'élément métallique sera attiré par le noyau de l'élément non métallique, le second cédant l'électron au premier. Des composés stables sont formés, dont l'union est électrochimique. Dans cette union l'élément non métallique devient anion lorsqu’ils sont chargés négativement (après réception de l’électron), les métaux deviennent des cations chargés positivement.

Un exemple typique de liaison ionique se trouve dans les sels ou dans les composés cristallisés. Les matériaux formés par ce type d'union ont tendance à nécessiter une grande quantité d'énergie pour les fondre et sont généralement durs, bien qu'ils puissent facilement se comprimer et se briser. En général, ils ont tendance à être solubles et peuvent être facilement dissous.

2. Liens covalents

La liaison covalente est un type de liaison caractérisé en ce que les deux atomes à joindre ont des propriétés électronégatives similaires, voire identiques. La liaison covalente signifie que les deux atomes (ou plus, si la molécule est composée de plus de deux atomes) partagent les électrons entre eux, sans perdre ni gagner en quantité.

Ce type de liens est celui qui fait généralement partie de la matière organique, tel que celui qui configure notre organisme, et ils sont plus stables que ceux ioniques. Son point de fusion est plus bas , au point que beaucoup de composés sont à l’état liquide et ne sont généralement pas conducteurs d’électricité. Dans les liaisons covalentes, on peut trouver plusieurs sous-types.

Liaison covalente non polaire ou pure

Il s'agit d'un type de liaison covalente dans lequel deux éléments sont joints au même niveau d'électronégativité et dont l'union ne provoque ni la perte ni le gain d'électrons de l'une des parties. étant les atomes du même élément . Par exemple, l'hydrogène, l'oxygène ou le carbone sont des éléments pouvant être attachés à des atomes du même élément pour former des structures. Ils ne sont pas solubles.

Liaison covalente polaire

Dans ce type de liaison covalente, en fait la plus courante, les atomes qui se rejoignent sont des éléments différents. Les deux ont une électronégativité similaire bien qu'ils ne soient pas identiques, ils ont des charges électriques différentes. Dans ce cas non plus, des électrons ne sont perdus dans aucun des atomes, mais ils les partagent.

Dans ce sous-groupe, nous trouvons également les liaisons covalentes bipolaires, dans lesquelles il existe un atome donneur qui partage les électrons et un autre ou d'autres récepteurs qui bénéficient de cette incorporation.

Des éléments aussi fondamentaux et essentiels pour nous que l’eau ou le glucose sont formés à partir de ce type de lien.

3. Lien métallique

Dans les liaisons métalliques, deux atomes d'éléments métalliques ou plus sont joints ensemble. Cette union n’est pas due à l’attraction entre les deux atomes, mais à un cation et aux électrons libres et étrangers qui en font une telle chose. Les différents atomes configurent un réseau autour de ces électrons, avec des motifs répétés. Ces structures ont tendance à apparaître comme des éléments solides et cohérents , déformable mais difficile à casser.

De plus, ce type de lien est lié à la conductivité électrique des métaux, leurs électrons étant libres.

Liaisons chimiques entre molécules

Bien que les principales liaisons chimiques soient les précédentes, Au niveau de la molécule, nous pouvons trouver d'autres modalités . Certains des principaux et les plus connus sont les suivants.

4. Par les forces de Van der Waals

Ce type d'union se produit entre des molécules symétriques et agit en fonction de l'attraction ou de la répulsion entre molécules ou de l'interaction des ions avec les molécules. Au sein de ce type d'union on peut trouver l'union de deux dipôles permanents , deux dipôles induits ou entre dipôles permanents et induits

5. Liaison hydrogène ou pont hydrogène

Ce type de liaison entre les molécules est une interaction entre l'hydrogène et un autre élément de haute polarité. Dans ces liaisons, l’hydrogène a une charge positive et est attiré par des atomes électronégatifs polaires , générant une interaction ou un pont entre les deux. Cette union est considérablement faible. Un exemple est trouvé dans les molécules d'eau.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Chamizo J. A. (2006). Les modèles de chimie, Chemical Education, 17, 476-482.
  • García, A .; Garritz; A. et Chamizo, J.A .. (2009). Lien chimique Une approche constructiviste de son enseignement.

Formules et modèles moléculaires - Physique-Chimie - Seconde - Les Bons Profs (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes