yes, therapy helps!
Supramarginal rotation: functions and disorders associated with this brain region

Supramarginal rotation: functions and disorders associated with this brain region

September 30, 2022

The ability of the human being to read and write involves a large number of complex mental processes in which visual and auditory information is linked, and later motor in the case of writing. They involve complex processing and integration, which are carried out in different regions of the brain.

One of the most important is Brodman area 40, or supramarginal gyrus . Let's see how it is and what functions this part of the brain is responsible for.

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Supramarginal rotation: this is the part of the parietal lobe

The supramarginal turn is one of the twists or convolutions of the brain , that is, one of the visible folds of the cerebral cortex. It is located in the inferior parietal lobe, just above the Sylvian fissure and in close connection with the angular rotation and the Wernicke area. This gyrus is present at the bilateral level (that is, there is one in each cerebral hemisphere) and it has a great importance when it comes to allowing some complex processes to take place.


The parietal lobe is linked to a large number of basic functions in our day to day, such as language both orally and in writing or auditory perception and participates in aspects such as orientation and memory . The functions performed by the parietal lobe cortex are mainly linked to sensory perception and the processing and integration of information obtained by the senses.

The latter is one of the functions of the turn that concerns us. The angular gyrus is considered an association area , in which information from other regions of the brain is integrated.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Neocortex (brain): structure and functions"

Functions of the supramarginal gyrus

The supramarginal gyrus is a brain area of ​​great importance, which although it is essentially known for its role in language has various functions.


1. Literacy

One of the best-known functions of the supramarginal rotation is to allow, along with angular rotation, literacy. To be able to read and write we need to be able to perform the integration of visual and sound material in such a way that we can associate phonemes and graphemes, that is, the sounds and letters that represent them. They are both turns, the angular and the supramarginal, which also allow to associate visual representation and meaning.

This function is what makes the supramarginal rotation next to the areas of Broca and Wernicke and the angular rotation one of the main brain structures of language .

2. Work memory

It has been shown that aside from its role in language, the supramarginal rotation has connections with the dorsolateral prefrontal cortex that make it a relevant area for updating working memory.


3. Learning

It has also been observed that the supramarginal rotation participates in the acquisition of abilities, especially those that suppose movement. Although it is not confirmed, it is suspected that it is capable of record information regarding the position of the extremities based on the memory of previous events.

4. Touch perception

The supramarginal turn has been linked not only to language and cognitive aspects but also to the perception of tactile stimuli, specifically to their recognition.

Disorders and situations in which it is altered

The alteration or injury of this brain region can have different repercussions of varying severity, with alterations in the supramarginal gyrus being visible in patients with different disorders.

1. Aphasia

It is common to find affectations or alterations in this area in patients with aphasia. It is understood as such disorder in which understanding and / or expression of language is made difficult or impossible , caused by a brain injury.

The type of aphasia in which it is most common for damage to the supramarginal gyrus is the conduction, in which the repetition of words is damaged despite the fact that the understanding and expression of language remain unchanged.

  • Related article: "Aphasias: the main language disorders"

2. Alexia

Because the supramarginal gyrus and is one of the main areas along with the angular integration between visual and auditory material, its injury or dysfunction and are linked to the alexia, which pose the existence of severe difficulties when it comes to power interpret or read a text.

In this way, a lesion in the supramarginal gyrus is going to be presumed alteration in the ability to read unable to correctly associate visual representation with its meaning.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Alexia and agraphia: the alterations of written language due to brain injury"

3. Body neglect

As we have said, the supramarginal turn is not only involved in language but also performs other functions. Likewise, alterations in the supramarginal gyrus can also cause the presence of spatial neglect at the level of the body itself. There may also be some problems when working memory is working properly.

4. Schizophrenia

Apart from that, there are also alterations of the supramarginal gyrus in some mental disorders. For example, it is observed that a relationship between this area and auditory hallucinations in schizophrenia , there is a correlation between the size of the supramarginal gyrus and the severity of these.

  • You may be interested: "The 6 types of schizophrenia and associated characteristics"

Bibliographic references:

  • Clark, D.L .; Boutros, N.N. and Méndez, M.F. (2012). The brain and behavior: neuroanatomy for psychologists. 2nd edition. The Modern Manual. Mexico.

08.02.17 Bro Joseph Gomez and Bro Jerry Gonzales (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Rotation supramarginale: fonctions et troubles associés à cette région cérébrale

Rotation supramarginale: fonctions et troubles associés à cette région cérébrale

Septembre 24, 2022

La capacité de l'être humain à lire et à écrire implique un grand nombre de processus mentaux complexes dans lesquels des informations visuelles et auditives sont liées, et plus tard motrices dans le cas de l'écriture. Ils impliquent un traitement et une intégration complexes, qui sont effectués dans différentes régions du cerveau.

L'un des plus importants est Zone de Brodman 40, ou gyrus supramarginal . Voyons comment cela fonctionne et quelles fonctions cette partie du cerveau est responsable.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Rotation supramarginale: c'est la partie du lobe pariétal

Le tour supramarginal est une des torsions ou des convolutions du cerveau , c’est-à-dire l’un des plis visibles du cortex cérébral. Il est situé dans le lobe pariétal inférieur, juste au-dessus de la fissure de Sylvian et en liaison étroite avec la rotation angulaire et la région de Wernicke. Ce gyrus est présent au niveau bilatéral (c’est-à-dire qu’il en existe un dans chaque hémisphère cérébral) et qu’il revêt une grande importance pour permettre la réalisation de processus complexes.


Le lobe pariétal est lié à un grand nombre de fonctions de base de notre quotidien, telles que le langage oral et écrit ou la perception auditive. participe à des aspects tels que l'orientation et la mémoire . Les fonctions remplies par le cortex du lobe pariétal sont principalement liées à la perception sensorielle et au traitement et à l'intégration des informations obtenues par les sens.

Ce dernier est l’une des fonctions du tour qui nous concerne. Le gyrus angulaire est considéré comme une zone d'association , dans lequel sont intégrées des informations provenant d’autres régions du cerveau.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Néocortex (cerveau): structure et fonctions"

Fonctions du gyrus supramarginal

Le gyrus supramarginal est une région cérébrale très importante qui, bien qu’elle soit essentiellement connue pour son rôle dans le langage, remplit diverses fonctions.


1. Alphabétisation

L'une des fonctions les plus connues de la rotation supramarginale est de permettre, avec la rotation angulaire, l'alphabétisation. Pour pouvoir lire et écrire, nous devons pouvoir effectuer l'intégration de matériel visuel et sonore de manière à pouvoir associer phonèmes et graphèmes, c'est-à-dire les sons et les lettres qui les représentent. Ce sont les deux tours, l’angulaire et le supramarginal, qui permettent également d’associer représentation visuelle et signification.

Cette fonction est ce qui fait la rotation supramarginale à côté des zones de Broca et de Wernicke et la rotation angulaire une des principales structures cérébrales du langage .

2. mémoire de travail

Il a été démontré que, outre son rôle dans le langage, la rotation supramarginale avait des liens avec le cortex préfrontal dorsolatéral, ce qui en faisait un domaine important pour la mise à jour de la mémoire de travail.


3. apprentissage

Il a également été observé que la rotation supramarginale participe à l'acquisition de capacités, en particulier de celles qui supposent un mouvement. Bien que cela n’ait pas été confirmé, on pense qu’il est capable de enregistrer des informations concernant la position des extrémités basé sur la mémoire des événements précédents.

4. Perception tactile

Le tournant supramarginal est lié non seulement au langage et aux aspects cognitifs, mais également à la perception des stimuli tactiles, en particulier à leur reconnaissance.

Troubles et situations dans lesquels il est modifié

L'altération ou la lésion de cette région cérébrale peut avoir différentes répercussions de gravité variable, les altérations du gyrus supramarginal étant visibles chez les patients atteints de différents troubles.

1. Aphasie

Il est courant de trouver des affectations ou des altérations dans cette zone chez les patients aphasiques. Il est compris comme tel trouble dans lequel la compréhension et / ou l'expression du langage est rendue difficile ou impossible , causée par une lésion cérébrale.

Le type d'aphasie dans lequel il est le plus courant de causer des dommages au gyrus supramarginal est la conduction, dans laquelle la répétition de mots est endommagée malgré le fait que la compréhension et l'expression du langage restent inchangées.

  • Article connexe: "Aphasies: les principaux troubles du langage"

2. Alexia

Parce que le gyrus supramarginal est l'un des domaines principaux avec l'intégration angulaire entre le matériel visuel et auditif, sa blessure ou son dysfonctionnement et sont liés à l'alexie, ce qui pose l'existence de graves difficultés lorsqu'il s'agit de prendre le pouvoir interpréter ou lire un texte.

De cette façon, une lésion dans le gyrus supramarginal sera présumée altération de la capacité de lecture incapable d'associer correctement la représentation visuelle à sa signification.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par "Alexia et l'agraphie: les modifications du langage écrit dues à une lésion cérébrale"

3. négligence corporelle

Comme nous l'avons dit, le tournant supramarginal n'est pas seulement impliqué dans le langage, mais remplit également d'autres fonctions. De même, des altérations du gyrus supramarginal peuvent également provoquer la négligence spatiale au niveau du corps lui-même. Il peut également y avoir des problèmes lorsque la mémoire de travail fonctionne correctement.

4. Schizophrénie

En dehors de cela, il existe également des altérations du gyrus supramarginal dans certains troubles mentaux. Par exemple, on observe que une relation entre cette région et les hallucinations auditives dans la schizophrénie , il existe une corrélation entre la taille du gyrus supramarginal et leur gravité.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Les 6 types de schizophrénie et leurs caractéristiques associées"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Clark, D.L .; Boutros, N.N. et Méndez, M.F. (2012). Le cerveau et le comportement: neuroanatomie pour les psychologues. 2ème édition. Le manuel moderne. Mexique

Special Story On Tirumala Ghat Road Accidents | Tirupati | V6 News (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes