yes, therapy helps!
The 10 keys to be happy, according to science

The 10 keys to be happy, according to science

July 18, 2024

Scientists have spent decades trying to decipher the keys to be happy . Traveling often, surrounding yourself with positive people, listening to music or exercising, are some of the conclusions that can be drawn from the scientific studies that have been carried out so far. If you want to be happy, apply in your life the list that we present below.

What science says: 10 keys to be happy

The science is very clear: there are activities, behaviors, attitudes and gestures that can make us happier . What are we waiting to start putting these keys into practice in our daily lives?

1. Travel often

Travel always brings us new experiences and moments to remember, but According to scientists, traveling also makes us happier . A study by Dr. Jeroen Nalwun, a professor at the University of Breda (Netherlands), "People who travel frequently are happier". According to the study, planning the holidays causes a higher degree of happiness due to the effect of anticipating the good times that await us.


On the contrary, it is important to note that the subjects of the study did not show significant differences once they had returned from their vacations. This seems to indicate that one of the keys to be happy is the planning of the trip, not the trip itself.

2. Send thank-you messages

Gratitude is a powerful emotion that gives us psychological benefits . Being grateful by sending an email, text or letter to someone who has helped you in some way is positive. In addition, being grateful is easy and quick and a study has found that the practice of gratitude can increase happiness by 25%.

On the other hand, another study showed that only three letters in a period of three weeks was enough to reliably increase the happiness and life satisfaction of the subjects participating in the research.


3. Live the present

We have already commented in our article "What is Mindfulness? The 7 answers to your questions "the importance of living in the present. According to a study Sciencemag, people who spend the day ruminating lose 47% of their time. Living constantly in the future creates expectations that can make the person who is not in the present moment unhappy.

Further, fantasize or worry about things that have not even happened yet, it's unnecessary suffering . But living in the present does not mean you should not have goals, but you have to be realistic and go step by step to get them. In fact, a study from the University of Wisconsin found that working for a goal suppresses negative emotions , in addition to activating positive feelings.

It may interest you: "25 short positive phrases to focus better day to day"

4. Spend more time with friends and family

Spending time with family and friends is one of the keys to be happy that we should always keep in mind . In fact, not having spent enough time with friends and family is one of the main regrets that most people express before they die. Therefore, spending time with those who appreciate and appreciate us positively affects our mood.


An investigation that collects the bookThe Longevity Project, concludes that relationships with others are essential to live a long and happy life.

5. Listen to music

Number four on the list of keys to be happy is: listen to music. In our article "3 curious effects of music on your behavior" we already discussed some consequences that listening to music has in our mind and our behavior. In addition, the world of science has investigated how music will influence our mood. A study by Saarikallio and Erkkila in 2008, concludes that listening to good music positively affects our mood and our mood .

Another study by Lonsdale and North (2010) states that listening to music provides multiple psychological benefits, including: managing and controlling negative emotional states.

6. Live happiness and stop looking for it

One of the keys to be happy, and that is important to keep in mind is: stop looking for happiness . There are several experts who warn that the obsessive pursuit of happiness produces the opposite effect, that is, unhappiness.

According to a study by Yale University, constantly seeking happiness can generate anxiety and anguish. This obsession to be happy at all costs seems to produce little tolerance for frustration if the results are not achieved immediately. Happiness are moments, and moments of "no happiness" should not be seen as failures.

Extra help: "20 phrases about life that will help you to be happy"

7. Practice exercise

Practicing exercise is one of the keys to be happy that we have already commented on in previous articles. The continuous practice of physical exercise will make you feel better, it will increase your energy levels and will reduce your stress levels. Further, physical exercise will help you to release brain chemicals such as endorphins, which will make you perceive reality in a positive way . You can read more about this topic in our article "The 10 psychological benefits of practicing physical exercise".

On the other hand, it is not necessary to run a marathon to benefit from physical activity. For example, practicing yoga will also provide psychological benefits and will help you improve your mood.

8. Surround yourself with positive people

According to an investigation of BMJ Group, the happiness of one, depends in large part on the happiness of the people with whom he has constant contact. In other words, happiness can be contagious . Being with people who breathe a positive and enthusiastic attitude on all four sides, has a positive effect on your well-being.

9. Live near work

What one takes to get to work should not last more than 20 minutes. According to a study by Yeo Valley, the happiest subjects of his research were those who did not take more than 20 minutes to get to his place of work . This study states that employing more than 20 minutes to go to work, has a negative effect on the physical and psychological well-being of people.

10. Go outside

Many studies show that going out on the street, especially on sunny days, is positive for our body and mind . The sun is a fantastic natural antidepressant, stimulates endocrine functions and increases the production of serotonin, a neurotransmitter related to mood.

A study by the School of Economic and Political Sciences of London concluded that spending time outdoors to increase joy and good humor. Passing study revealed that spending 20 minutes on the street when the weather is fine not only promotes good humor, but can also improve memory.


The Ten Keys to Happier Living | Vanessa King | TEDxStPeterPort (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 clés pour être heureux, selon la science

Les 10 clés pour être heureux, selon la science

Juillet 20, 2022

Les scientifiques ont passé des décennies à essayer de déchiffrer la clés pour être heureux . Voyager souvent, s'entourer de personnes séropositives, écouter de la musique ou faire de l'exercice, voilà certaines des conclusions que l'on peut tirer des études scientifiques menées jusqu'à présent. Si vous voulez être heureux, appliquez dans votre vie la liste que nous présentons ci-dessous.

Ce que dit la science: 10 clés pour être heureux

La science est très claire: il y a des activités, des comportements, des attitudes et des gestes qui peuvent nous rendre plus heureux . Qu'attendons-nous pour commencer à mettre ces clés en pratique dans notre vie quotidienne?

1. Voyage souvent

Les voyages nous apportent toujours de nouvelles expériences et moments inoubliables, mais Selon les scientifiques, voyager nous rend également plus heureux . Une étude du Dr. Jeroen Nalwun, professeur à l’Université de Breda (Pays-Bas), "Les gens qui voyagent fréquemment sont plus heureux". Selon l'étude, la planification des vacances entraîne un degré de bonheur supérieur en raison de l'anticipation des bons moments qui nous attendent.


Au contraire, il est important de noter que les sujets de l'étude n'ont pas montré de différences significatives une fois qu'ils étaient rentrés de leurs vacances. Cela semble indiquer que l'une des clés pour être heureux est la planification du voyage, pas le voyage lui-même.

2. Envoyez des messages de remerciement

La gratitude est une émotion puissante qui nous procure des avantages psychologiques . Être reconnaissant en envoyant un courriel, un texte ou une lettre à quelqu'un qui vous a aidé d'une manière ou d'une autre est positif. De plus, être reconnaissant est facile et rapide et une étude a montré que la pratique de la gratitude peut augmenter le bonheur de 25%.

D'autre part, une autre étude a montré que trois lettres seulement sur une période de trois semaines suffisaient à augmenter de manière fiable le bonheur et la satisfaction de la vie des sujets participant à la recherche.


3. vivre le présent

Nous avons déjà commenté dans notre article "Qu'est-ce que la pleine conscience?" Les 7 réponses à vos questions "l’importance de vivre dans le présent. Selon une étude Sciencemag, les personnes qui passent la journée à ruminer perdent 47% de leur temps. Vivre constamment dans le futur crée des attentes qui peuvent rendre malheureuse la personne qui n'est pas dans le moment présent.

En outre, fantasmer ou s’inquiéter de choses qui ne sont pas encore arrivées, c’est une souffrance inutile . Mais vivre dans le présent ne veut pas dire que vous ne devriez pas avoir d'objectifs, mais que vous deviez être réalistes et aller pas à pas pour les atteindre. , en plus d’activer des sentiments positifs.

Cela peut vous intéresser: "25 phrases positives positives pour mieux se concentrer au jour le jour"

4. Passez plus de temps avec vos amis et votre famille

Passer du temps avec sa famille et ses amis est l’une des clés pour être heureux et que nous devrions toujours garder à l’esprit . En fait, le fait de ne pas avoir passé suffisamment de temps avec ses amis et sa famille est l’un des principaux regrets exprimés par la plupart des gens avant leur décès. Par conséquent, passer du temps avec ceux qui nous apprécient et nous apprécient affecte positivement notre humeur.


Une enquête qui rassemble le livreLe projet de longévité, conclut que les relations avec les autres sont essentielles pour vivre une vie longue et heureuse.

5. Écoutez de la musique

Le numéro quatre sur la liste des clés pour être heureux est: écouter de la musique. Dans notre article "3 effets curieux de la musique sur votre comportement", nous avons déjà évoqué certaines conséquences de l’écoute de la musique dans notre esprit et notre comportement. En outre, le monde de la science a étudié l’influence de la musique sur notre humeur. Une étude réalisée par Saarikallio et Erkkila en 2008 conclut que écouter de la bonne musique affecte positivement notre humeur et notre humeur .

Une autre étude de Lonsdale et North (2010) indique qu'écouter de la musique procure de nombreux avantages psychologiques, notamment: la gestion et le contrôle des états émotionnels négatifs.

6. Vivez le bonheur et arrêtez de le chercher

Une des clés pour être heureux, et c'est important à garder à l'esprit est: arrête de chercher le bonheur . Plusieurs experts ont averti que la poursuite obsessionnelle du bonheur produisait l’effet inverse, c’est-à-dire le malheur.

Selon une étude de l’Université de Yale, la recherche constante du bonheur peut générer anxiété et angoisse, mais cette obsession de se faire plaisir à tout prix ne semble guère susciter la tolérance de la frustration si les résultats ne sont pas obtenus immédiatement. Le bonheur est un moment, et les moments de "non bonheur" ne doivent pas être vus comme des échecs.

Aide supplémentaire: "20 phrases sur la vie qui vous aideront à être heureux"

7. exercice pratique

Pratiquer des exercices est l’une des clés de la satisfaction que nous avons déjà commentée dans des articles précédents. La pratique continue de l'exercice physique vous aidera à vous sentir mieux, à augmenter votre niveau d'énergie et à réduire votre niveau de stress. En outre, L'exercice physique vous aidera à libérer des substances chimiques du cerveau telles que les endorphines, ce qui vous permettra de percevoir la réalité de manière positive. . Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur ce sujet dans notre article "Les 10 avantages psychologiques de la pratique de l'exercice physique".

D'autre part, il n'est pas nécessaire de courir un marathon pour bénéficier d'une activité physique. Par exemple, la pratique du yoga apportera également des avantages psychologiques et vous aidera à améliorer votre humeur.

8. Entourez-vous de personnes positives

Selon une enquête de Groupe BMJ, le bonheur de l’un dépend en grande partie du bonheur des personnes avec lesquelles il est en contact permanent. En d'autres termes, le bonheur peut être contagieux . Être avec des gens qui respirent une attitude positive et enthousiaste des quatre côtés a un effet positif sur votre bien-être.

9. Vivre près du travail

Ce que l’on prend pour se rendre au travail ne devrait pas durer plus de 20 minutes. Selon une étude de Yeo Valley, les sujets les plus heureux de ses recherches étaient ceux qui ne prenaient pas plus de 20 minutes pour se rendre à son lieu de travail . Selon cette étude, employer plus de 20 minutes pour aller au travail a un effet négatif sur le bien-être physique et psychologique des personnes.

10. sortir

De nombreuses études montrent que sortir dans la rue, surtout les jours ensoleillés, est positif pour notre corps et notre esprit . Le soleil est un antidépresseur naturel fantastique, stimule les fonctions endocriniennes et augmente la production de sérotonine, un neurotransmetteur lié à l'humeur.

Une étude de la Faculté des sciences économiques et politiques de Londres a conclu que passer du temps à l’extérieur pour accroître la joie et la bonne humeur. Une étude approfondie a révélé que passer 20 minutes dans la rue par beau temps favorise non seulement la bonne humeur, mais peut également améliorer la mémoire.

Articles Connexes