yes, therapy helps!
The 11 main diseases of the spine

The 11 main diseases of the spine

May 5, 2024

The spine is a structure composed of bone and cartilage that protects the spinal cord, a set of nerves that connect the brain to the rest of the body. Thanks to the spine, people are able to walk and maintain balance; disorders in this part of the body cause motor and other signs.

In this article we will describe in a synthetic way the main characteristics of 11 of the main diseases of the spine , such as spina bifida, scoliosis, multiple sclerosis and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.

  • You may be interested: "The differences between syndrome, disorder and disease"

Diseases of the spine

The alterations of the spine can be due to very different causes, from failures in the intrauterine development to viral or bacterial infections.


However, given that we are referring to the same region of the nervous system, many of the disorders we will describe cause similar symptoms, such as muscle paralysis and stiffness.

1. Scoliosis

Scoliosis is one of the most frequent diseases of the spine, especially in women. It is characterized by the curvature of the spine , which can get worse over the years; in milder cases, this alteration does not cause major complications, but if the degree of deviation is high, it can interfere with breathing.

2. Lumbar spinal stenosis

The lumbar spinal stenosis consists in the narrowing of the medullary canal, which in turn causes an understanding of the spinal cord and the lumbar nerves, causing pain. It's about a Degenerative disorder usually associated with aging , although it can also appear as a consequence of alterations such as achondroplasia or dwarfism.


3. Spina bifida

Sometimes the spine does not close completely during intrauterine development; when this happens part of the spinal cord is partially uncovered . The most common is that the alteration occurs in the lower back. Although severe cases are associated with multiple problems, 10-20% of people are born with some degree of spina bifida.

  • Related article: "Spina bifida: types, causes and treatment"

4. Horsetail syndrome

The horsetail ("cauda equina") is a set of spinal nerves that are located in the lower part of the back. The damage in this region causes signs such as muscle weakness, paralysis, gait disturbances and sciatic pain because of the appearance of dysfunctions in the lower motor neurons of this part of the spinal cord.


5. Malformation of Chiari

Chiari malformations are structural defects of the cerebellum, a region of the brain that plays a key role in motor coordination. Sometimes during gestation part of the cerebellar nervous tissue slides through the foramen magnum , hole that connects the base of the skull with the spine. Symptoms vary depending on the severity.

6. Transverse myelitis

Transverse myelitis is defined as inflammation of the spinal cord. This disorder involves motor symptoms and signs such as weakness and muscle paralysis, as well as sensory deficits (for example, the appearance of pain sensations in the absence of stimulation). It is associated mainly to infections, tumors, vascular alterations and to multiple sclerosis.

  • Related article: "Transverse myelitis: what it is, symptoms, causes and treatment"

7. Multiple sclerosis

Multiple sclerosis is the most common neurological disorder in adults. It is a disease related to the Progressive degeneration of myelin sheaths that coat the axons of many neurons, allowing the efficient transmission of nerve impulses. This causes muscular, sensory and psychological symptoms that worsen over time.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Multiple sclerosis: types, symptoms and possible causes"

8. Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis

This disease consists in the destruction of neurons involved in voluntary muscular motor skills. The main symptoms and signs are stiffness, atrophy and other alterations of the muscles, which entail Growing difficulties swallowing food and fluids , to talk and even to breathe; This last problem usually causes death.

9. Ankylosing spondylitis

Ankylosing spondylitis is a subtype of arthritis that is characterized by inflammation of the joints between bones of the spine, usually in the region where it joins the pelvis. It is thought to be due to disorders related to the immune system and pathological inflammation of tissues. Stiffness and back pain progressively increase.

10Spondylosis (degenerative disc disease)

Spondylosis consists of the gradual degeneration of the intervertebral discs and the cartilage that protects the points of union between vertebrae. It is common in elderly people since normal aging implies this process to a greater or lesser degree. Sometimes it affects the marrow and the nerves, compressing them progressively.

11. Hypercifosis

"Kyphosis" is a term used to refer to the normal curvature of the spine when it is directed from the inside to the outside of the body. If the curvature is equal to or greater than 45 degrees the spine loses the ability to move inward (lordosis), causing postural changes, pain and occasionally deformations and respiratory problems.


Degenerative Spine | Q&A with Dr. Lee Riley (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 11 principales maladies de la colonne vertébrale

Les 11 principales maladies de la colonne vertébrale

Juin 26, 2022

La colonne vertébrale est une structure composée d'os et de cartilage qui protège la moelle épinière, un ensemble de nerfs qui relient le cerveau au reste du corps. Grâce à la colonne vertébrale, les gens peuvent marcher et maintenir leur équilibre; des troubles dans cette partie du corps provoquent des signes moteurs et autres.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire de manière synthétique les principales caractéristiques de 11 des principales maladies de la colonne vertébrale , comme le spina bifida, la scoliose, la sclérose en plaques et la sclérose latérale amyotrophique.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les différences entre le syndrome, le désordre et la maladie"

Maladies de la colonne vertébrale

Les altérations de la colonne vertébrale peuvent être dues à des causes très différentes, allant des échecs du développement intra-utérin aux infections virales ou bactériennes.


Cependant, étant donné que nous nous référons à la même région du système nerveux, de nombreux troubles que nous décrirons provoqueront des symptômes similaires, tels que la paralysie musculaire et la raideur.

1. Scoliose

La scoliose est l'une des maladies de la colonne vertébrale les plus fréquentes, en particulier chez les femmes. Il est caractérisé par la courbure de la colonne vertébrale , qui peut s'aggraver avec les années; dans les cas moins graves, cette altération ne provoque pas de complications majeures, mais si le degré de déviation est élevé, elle peut gêner la respiration.

2. Sténose rachidienne lombaire

La sténose rachidienne lombaire consiste en un rétrécissement du canal médullaire, ce qui entraîne à son tour une compréhension de la moelle épinière et des nerfs lombaires, provoquant une douleur. Il s'agit d'un Trouble dégénératif généralement associé au vieillissement , bien qu’elle puisse aussi apparaître comme conséquence d’altérations telles que l’achondroplasie ou le nanisme.


3. Spina bifida

Parfois, la colonne vertébrale ne ferme pas complètement pendant le développement intra-utérin; quand cela arrive une partie de la moelle épinière est partiellement découverte . Le plus commun est que l'altération se produit dans le bas du dos. Bien que les cas graves soient associés à de multiples problèmes, 10 à 20% des personnes naissent avec un certain degré de spina bifida.

  • Article connexe: "Spina bifida: types, causes et traitement"

4. syndrome de prêle

La queue de cheval ("cauda equina") est un ensemble de nerfs spinaux situés dans la partie inférieure du dos. Les dégâts dans cette région provoquent des signes tels que faiblesse musculaire, paralysie, troubles de la marche et douleur sciatique en raison de l'apparition de dysfonctionnements dans les motoneurones inférieurs de cette partie de la moelle épinière.


5. Malformation de Chiari

Les malformations de Chiari sont des défauts structurels du cervelet, une région du cerveau qui joue un rôle clé dans la coordination motrice. Parfois pendant la gestation une partie du tissu nerveux cérébelleux glisse à travers le foramen magnum , trou qui relie la base du crâne avec la colonne vertébrale. Les symptômes varient en fonction de la gravité.

6. Myélite transversale

La myélite transversale est définie comme une inflammation de la moelle épinière. Ce trouble implique des symptômes moteurs et des signes tels que la faiblesse et la paralysie musculaire, ainsi que des déficits sensoriels (par exemple, l'apparition de sensations de douleur en l'absence de stimulation). Il est associé principalement à infections, tumeurs, altérations vasculaires et à la sclérose en plaques.

  • Article connexe: "Myélite transversale: qu'est-ce que c'est, symptômes, causes et traitement"

7. sclérose en plaques

La sclérose en plaques est le trouble neurologique le plus répandu chez l'adulte. C'est une maladie liée à la Dégénérescence progressive des gaines de myéline qui recouvrent les axones de nombreux neurones, permettant ainsi une transmission efficace de l'influx nerveux. Cela provoque des symptômes musculaires, sensoriels et psychologiques qui s'aggravent avec le temps.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "La sclérose en plaques: types, symptômes et causes possibles"

8. Sclérose latérale amyotrophique

Cette maladie consiste en la destruction de neurones impliqués dans la motricité musculaire volontaire. Les principaux symptômes et signes sont la raideur, l’atrophie et d’autres modifications des muscles, qui entraînent Difficultés croissantes à avaler des aliments et des liquides , parler et même respirer; Ce dernier problème provoque généralement la mort.

9. Spondylarthrite ankylosante

La spondylarthrite ankylosante est un sous-type d'arthrite caractérisée par une inflammation des articulations entre les os de la colonne vertébrale, généralement dans la région où elle rejoint le bassin. On pense que cela est dû à des troubles liée au système immunitaire et à l'inflammation pathologique des tissus. La raideur et le mal de dos augmentent progressivement.

10Spondylose (discopathie dégénérative)

La spondylose consiste en dégénérescence progressive des disques intervertébraux et le cartilage qui protège les points d'union entre les vertèbres. Il est courant chez les personnes âgées car le vieillissement normal implique ce processus à un degré plus ou moins grand. Parfois, il affecte la moelle et les nerfs, en les comprimant progressivement.

11. l'hypercifose

"Cyphose" est un terme utilisé pour désigner la courbure normale de la colonne vertébrale lorsqu'elle est dirigée de l'intérieur vers l'extérieur du corps. Si la courbure est égale ou supérieure à 45 degrés la colonne vertébrale perd la capacité de se déplacer vers l'intérieur (lordose), provoquant des modifications de la posture, des douleurs et parfois des déformations et des problèmes respiratoires.


Scoliose idiopathique – déformation de la colonne vertébral (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes