yes, therapy helps!
The 20 types of force (according to physics)

The 20 types of force (according to physics)

January 25, 2022

The concept of force has a large number of denotations in different areas, being in some synonyms of strength both physically and mentally, resilience and resistance to events.

But beyond that, we also call force one of the main magnitudes of physics, studied from basic physics to the most complex branches of science, and which participates in a large number of phenomena, actions and reactions.

So that, at the physics level we can talk about different types of strength , about which we will make a brief mention in this article.

  • Related article: "The 15 types of energy: what are they?"

What do we call force?

Before starting to talk about the different typologies or categories that have been established when analyzing different types of force, it is necessary to establish a brief definition of the concept.


In a generic way we can define force as a physical magnitude of vector type , which is associated and considered the cause of the ability to generate a movement or movement with acceleration by a body or object, a change in its structure or even its resting state when to achieve this must be exerted a resistance to another force. In order to be correctly defined, it should be noted that every force has a point of application, a direction and a specific intensity that will determine the final behavior of the object.

How magnitude is the force has a unit of measurement, the Newton (in honor of Isaac Newton, who is considered the first to establish a mathematical formula for its calculation), which refers to the amount of force needed to generate an acceleration of one meter per second squared in a body of one kilogram of dough. In addition there are also other units of measurement, such as dyna.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 9 postulates of Dalton's atomic theory"

Types of force

It is possible to classify the types of force following different criteria. Let's see them

1. Based on specific parameters

We can find classifications made based on aspects such as their permanence, the existence or not of a direct contact between the bodies or their way of acting. An example of this are the following types of force.

1.1. Fixed forces

Fixed or permanent forces are understood as all those inherent in the body or object in question and that are derived from its structure or configuration, and from which it is not possible to escape. One of the most easily visible is the weight , product of the mass of the body and the gravitational attraction to which it is subjected.

1.2. Variable forces

Also called intermittent, are those forces that are not part of the structure of the object or body in which the movement or change occurs but rather comes from other bodies or elements . An example would be the force applied by a person to a car to move it.


1.3. Contact

Contact forces are understood as all those that are characterized by the need for a contact between bodies or elements in order to generate a movement or structural change. It's about the forces traditionally worked by classical mechanics , as we will see later.

1.4. From distance

Unlike in the previous case, the remote forces are all those in which it is not necessary that there is a contact between the bodies to achieve an alteration of the structure or a displacement of the bodies. Example of this would be electromagnetism .

1.5. Static

All those forces that do not vary in intensity, direction or place are denominated as static, remaining practically constant whenever they exist. An example would be the force of gravity.

1.6. Dynamics

The dynamic forces are all those in which the general values ​​that are part of the force they vary constantly and abruptly , changing its address, place of application or intensity.

1.7. Of action

They receive this denomination those forces that are applied on an object with the purpose of displacing it or modifying its structure, not arising from the own object but from some external element. The fact of pushing something would imply being applying a force of action .

1.8. Reaction

They are denominated as such all those that are generated by the own body in response to the application of an external force , from a specific application point. In the previous case, the moved body would be exerting a reaction force towards us.

1.9. Balanced

They are understood as those forces that oppose each other having the same intensity but whose directions are totally contrary , something that generates that the body in question stays in a concrete position.This type of force would be exemplified by any object that was still on the ground or with two people of the same strength who would push each other at the same time.

1.10. Unbalanced

We refer to those forces that in applying on a concrete body generate their movement , in the absence of a balance or a sufficient contrary force that prevents it.

2. In classical mechanics: the contact forces

There are many and diverse types of force that can be found in nature, but usually when you begin to study physically the concept of force is often used in the context of classical mechanics, making reference to a type of forces called contact. Within these we can find the following types of force.

2.1. Normal

We understand as normal force that force that is exerted by the interaction between two bodies in contact , like for example an object and the ground, exerting a reactive force to the one of the weight which would go in opposite direction to the one of this one.

2.2. Applied

As an applied force we understand that force that one body uses on another and that causes an accelerated movement or a change in the structure of the object. It is a direct contact force.

2.3. Friction

The friction or force of friction is that force that appears before the contact of two bodies and that Acquires an address directly opposite to the force applied or normal . For example, when pushing an object this is offering a resistance produced largely by the force of friction against the ground.

Another analogous form of this type of force, which is sometimes classified independently, is that of air resistance. This force is what explains for example that two objects of the same mass thrown at the same time from the same height may take a different time to reach the ground (air friction), or that an object pushed by a slight slope may end up slowing down .

2.4. Elastic

We call elastic force to that which occurs when a surface or object is held in a position of non-equilibrium by a particular force, appearing as a reaction that seeks to restore this initial position or balance. That is, it is the one that occurs when a body subjected to a force that has deformed it try to return to its original state . A typical example can be found in springs, springs or stretched rubber bands that seek to return to their original position.

2.5. Tension

We are facing a peculiar type of force, characterized by being able to transmit a force between different bodies and that is generated when two opposing forces pull a body in opposite directions without breaking it . It can be used to generate systems that distribute the force to be applied to generate the movement. Tension force is that force that allows us to use, for example, pulleys to move heavy objects.

2.6. Of inertia

It is called force of inertia or fictitious force that with which a body is moved by the resultant forces that have been previously applied even when the body or object that has generated that force has already stopped applying directly. It is about the force with which a body maintains its state of motion, in the same direction of acceleration. This is what happens, for example, when faced with a crash or sudden deceleration of a car the body of the occupants it tends to project in the same direction than the one that followed the vehicle.

3. The fundamental forces

In addition to those of classical mechanics and related to macroscopic bodies, we can find other major forces that refer to the relationships that have the particles of matter with each other or the existence of forces at a distance, being their study product mostly of modern physics and allowing explain much of the previous.

3.1. Gravitational force

We call gravitational force to that force of attraction between the objects and whose intensity depends on their masses and the distance between them . The most studied gravitational force is that of the planet itself, which attracts the bodies that exist on it towards its surface, being one of the best known remote forces. It is also the force that causes the planets to orbit around the stars. It is also important in magnitudes such as weight.

3.2. Electromagnetic force

Although formerly we spoke separately from the magnetic and electrostatic forces, the progressive study of the properties of these forces have shown that they are in fact interrelated.

It's about strength through which the electrical particles are attracted or repelled by other charged particles either with the opposite sign (force of attraction) or with the same (of repulsion). When these relations are produced in moving particles, electromagnetic fields are generated.

3.3. Weak nuclear force

Probably some of the hardest forces to understand for those not versed in physics is the nuclear force. In the case of the weak nuclear force, we are facing a type of force which allows the disintegration of neutrons and radioactivity . In addition to generating forces of attraction and repulsion allows a particle to change.

3.4.Strong nuclear force

Coming from particle physics, the strong nuclear force is one that allows two particles that should be repelled by electrical charge to remain together, something that allows the existence of a nucleus of protons in most molecules.

Bibliographic references:

  • Hellingman (1992). "Newton's third law revisited." Phys. Educ. 27 (2): pp. 112 - 115.
  • Hibbeler, R. C. (2010). Engineering Mechanics, 12th edition. Pearson Prentice Hall. p. 222
  • Newton, Isaac (1999). The Principia Mathematical Principles of Natural Philosophy. Berkeley: University of California Press.

15. Types of Forces (Hindi) (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 20 types de force (selon la physique)

Les 20 types de force (selon la physique)

Juin 5, 2020

Le concept de force a un grand nombre de dénotations dans différents domaines, constituant ainsi des synonymes de force physique et mentale, de résilience et de résistance aux événements.

Mais au-delà de cela, nous appelons également force l'une des principales magnitudes de la physique, étudiée de la physique fondamentale aux branches les plus complexes de la science, et qui participe à un grand nombre de phénomènes, actions et réactions.

Donc, au niveau de la physique, nous pouvons parler de différents types de force , dont nous ferons une brève mention dans cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 types d’énergie: de quoi s'agit-il?"

Comment appelle-t-on force?

Avant de commencer à parler des différentes typologies ou catégories qui ont été établies lors de l’analyse de différents types de force, il est nécessaire d’établir une brève définition du concept.


De manière générique, nous pouvons définir la force comme une grandeur physique de type vecteur , qui est associé et considéré comme étant la cause de la capacité à générer un mouvement ou un mouvement avec accélération d'un corps ou d'un objet, une modification de sa structure ou même de son état de repos quand il faut pour ce faire doit résister à une autre force. Pour être correctement défini, il convient de noter que chaque force a un point d'application, une direction et une intensité spécifique qui détermineront le comportement final de l'objet.

Quelle est l'ampleur la force a une unité de mesure, le newton (en l'honneur d'Isaac Newton, considéré comme le premier à établir une formule mathématique pour son calcul), qui fait référence à la quantité de force nécessaire pour générer une accélération d'un mètre par seconde au carré dans un corps d'un kilogramme de poids. masse En outre, il existe également d'autres unités de mesure, telles que le dyna.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 9 postulats de la théorie atomique de Dalton"

Types de force

Il est possible de classer les types de force selon différents critères. Voyons les

1. Basé sur des paramètres spécifiques

On peut trouver des classifications établies en fonction d'aspects tels que leur permanence, l'existence ou non d'un contact direct entre les corps ou leur manière d'agir. Un exemple de ceci sont les types de force suivants.

1.1. Forces fixes

Par forces fixes ou permanentes, on entend toutes les forces inhérentes au corps ou à l'objet en question, qui découlent de sa structure ou de sa configuration et sur lesquelles il est impossible de s'échapper. L'un des plus facilement visibles est le poids , produit de la masse corporelle et de l’attraction gravitationnelle à laquelle il est soumis.

1.2. Forces variables

Aussi appelées intermittentes, sont ces forces qui ne font pas partie de la structure de l'objet ou du corps dans laquelle le mouvement ou le changement se produit, mais plutôt provient d'autres corps ou éléments . Un exemple serait la force appliquée par une personne à une voiture pour la déplacer.


1.3. Contact

Par forces de contact, on entend toutes celles qui se caractérisent par la nécessité d'un contact entre des corps ou des éléments afin de générer un mouvement ou un changement structurel. C'est à propos des forces traditionnellement travaillé par la mécanique classique , comme nous le verrons plus tard.

1.4. À distance

Contrairement au cas précédent, les forces distantes sont toutes celles dans lesquelles il n'est pas nécessaire qu'il y ait un contact entre les corps pour obtenir une modification de la structure ou un déplacement des corps. Exemple de cela serait l'électromagnétisme .

1.5 Statique

Toutes les forces qui ne varient pas en intensité, en direction ou en lieu sont dénommées statiques et restent pratiquement constantes chaque fois qu’elles existent. Un exemple serait la force de gravité.

1.6. Dynamique

Les forces dynamiques sont toutes celles dans lesquelles les valeurs générales qui font partie de la force ils varient constamment et brusquement , en changeant l'adresse, le lieu d'application ou l'intensité.

1.7. D'action

Ils reçoivent cette dénomination les forces qui sont appliquées sur un objet dans le but de le déplacer ou de modifier sa structure, ne provenant pas de son propre objet mais d'un élément externe. Le fait de pousser quelque chose impliquerait l'application d'une force d'action .

1.8. Réaction

Ils sont dénommés comme tels tous ceux qui sont générés par le propre corps en réponse à l'application d'une force externe , à partir d'un point d'application spécifique. Dans le cas précédent, le corps déplacé exercerait une force de réaction vers nous.

1.9. Équilibré

Ils sont compris comme les forces qui s’opposent et ont la même intensité mais dont les directions sont totalement contraires , quelque chose qui génère que le corps en question reste dans une position concrète.Ce type de force serait illustré par tout objet qui était toujours sur le sol ou par deux personnes de la même force qui se pousseraient en même temps.

1.10. Déséquilibré

Nous nous référons à ces forces qui en appliquant sur un corps concret générer leur mouvement , en l’absence d’un équilibre ou d’une force contraire suffisante pour l’empêcher.

2. En mécanique classique: les forces de contact

Il existe de nombreux types de forces qui peuvent être trouvés dans la nature, mais généralement, lorsque vous commencez à étudier physiquement, le concept de force est souvent utilisé dans le contexte de la mécanique classique, faisant référence à un type de forces appelé contact. Dans ceux-ci, nous pouvons trouver les types de force suivants.

2.1. Normal

Nous comprenons comme force normale cette force qui est exercée par l'interaction entre deux corps en contact , comme par exemple un objet et le sol, exerçant une force réactive sur celle du poids qui irait en sens opposé à celui de celle-ci.

2.2. Appliqué

En tant que force appliquée, nous comprenons cette force qu'un corps utilise sur un autre et qui provoque un mouvement accéléré ou une modification de la structure de l'objet. C'est une force de contact direct.

2.3. La friction

Le frottement ou force de frottement est cette force qui apparaît avant le contact de deux corps et que Acquiert une adresse directement opposée à la force appliquée ou normale . Par exemple, lorsque vous poussez un objet, cela offre une résistance produite en grande partie par la force de friction sur le sol.

Une autre forme analogue de ce type de force, parfois classée indépendamment, est la résistance à l'air. C’est cette force qui explique par exemple que deux objets de la même masse lancés en même temps de la même hauteur peuvent mettre un temps différent pour atteindre le sol (frottement), ou qu’un objet poussé par une légère pente peut finir par ralentir .

2.4. Élastique

Nous appelons force élastique celle qui se produit lorsqu'une surface ou un objet est maintenu dans une position de non-équilibre par une force particulière, apparaissant comme une réaction cherchant à rétablir cette position ou cet équilibre initial. En d’autres termes, c’est celui qui se produit lorsqu’un corps est soumis à une force qui l’a déformé. essayer de revenir à son état d'origine . Un exemple typique peut être trouvé dans les ressorts, les ressorts ou les élastiques qui cherchent à revenir à leur position initiale.

2.5. Le stress

Nous sommes confrontés à un type de force particulier, caractérisé en ce qu’il est capable de transmettre une force entre différents corps et qui est généré lorsque deux forces opposées tirer un corps dans des directions opposées sans le casser . Il peut être utilisé pour générer des systèmes qui distribuent la force à appliquer pour générer le mouvement. La force de tension est cette force qui nous permet d’utiliser, par exemple, des poulies pour déplacer des objets lourds.

2.6 D'inertie

On appelle force d'inertie ou force fictive le mouvement avec lequel un corps est déplacé par les forces résultantes précédemment appliquées même lorsque le corps ou l'objet qui a généré cette force a déjà cessé d'appliquer directement. Il s'agit de la force avec laquelle un corps maintient son état de mouvement, dans le même sens de l'accélération. C’est ce qui se passe, par exemple, en cas de collision ou de décélération soudaine d’une voiture, le corps des occupants il a tendance à projeter dans le même sens que celui qui a suivi le véhicule.

3. Les forces fondamentales

En plus de celles de la mécanique classique et liées aux corps macroscopiques, nous pouvons trouver d’autres forces majeures qui font référence aux relations qui ont les particules de matière les unes avec les autres ou à l’existence de forces à distance, étant leur produit d’étude principalement constitué de: la physique moderne et permettant d'expliquer une grande partie de la précédente.

3.1. Force de gravitation

Nous appelons force gravitationnelle à cette force de attraction entre les objets et dont l'intensité dépend de leurs masses et de la distance qui les sépare . La force gravitationnelle la plus étudiée est celle de la planète elle-même, qui attire à sa surface les corps qui existent sur celle-ci, qui est l'une des forces distantes les plus connues. C'est aussi la force qui fait que les planètes gravitent autour des étoiles. Il est également important dans des grandeurs telles que le poids.

3.2. Force électromagnétique

Bien que nous parlions autrefois des forces magnétiques et électrostatiques, l’étude progressive des propriétés de ces forces a montré qu’elles étaient en fait liées.

Il s'agit de force à travers lequel les particules électriques sont attirées ou repoussées par d'autres particules chargées soit avec le signe opposé (force d’attraction), soit avec le même signe (de répulsion). Lorsque ces relations sont produites dans des particules en mouvement, des champs électromagnétiques sont générés.

3.3. Force nucléaire faible

La force nucléaire est probablement l'une des forces les plus difficiles à comprendre pour ceux qui ne sont pas familiarisés avec la physique. Dans le cas de la force nucléaire faible, nous sommes confrontés à un type de force qui permet la désintégration des neutrons et de la radioactivité . En plus de générer des forces d'attraction et de répulsion, une particule peut changer.

3.4.Forte force nucléaire

Venant de la physique des particules, la force nucléaire puissante est une force qui permet à deux particules qui devraient être repoussées par une charge électrique de rester ensemble. permet l'existence d'un noyau de protons dans la plupart des molécules.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Hellingman (1992). "La troisième loi de Newton revisitée." Éducation physique 27 (2): pp. 112 - 115.
  • Hibbeler, R.C. (2010). Mécanique d'ingénierie, 12ème édition. Pearson Prentice Hall. p. 222
  • Newton, Isaac (1999). Principes mathématiques de la philosophie naturelle. Berkeley: Presses de l'Université de Californie.

Physique Terminale S : Les lois de Newton (Juin 2020).


Articles Connexes