yes, therapy helps!
The day arrived: Facebook knows you more than your friends

The day arrived: Facebook knows you more than your friends

July 23, 2024

A study published recently in PNAS concludes that a computer is capable of predict more accurately the personality of a person than their own friends and family ... from the analysis of some of the data we have left in Facebook .

The researchers conclude that, by analyzing 10 "likes", a computer can describe our personality better than our co-workers; with 70, better than our friends or roommates; with 150, better than a family member; and with 300, better than a spouse. This shows that the machines, despite not having the social skills to interpret the language and human intentions, may be able to make valid judgments about us by accessing our fingerprint on the Internet .


Facebook knows you more than your own friends

For this research, a personality test based on the Big Five model was provided to 86,220 people. Each one of them had to fill out these 100-item forms designed to record information about the different traits that define our way of acting, perceiving and feeling things.

In addition to having the information obtained through the personality tests, some volunteers also gave their permission for the research team to analyze the "I like it" they had given from their Facebook accounts. These "likes" were not those that can be clicked on Facebook, photos or videos, but those associated with pages about movies, books, TV shows, celebrities, etc.


Later, a software found trends and existing relationships between personality traits and certain preferences by one or another page located in this social network. For example, it was found that people with a high score on the "Opening to Change" feature tend to show a fondness for Salvador Dalí or the TED Talks, while the extroverts show a taste for dancing. It may turn out to be a conclusion that stems from stereotypes, and yet there is empirical evidence to support these ideas.

While the software played to learn how human behavior works, a group was formed with the others evaluators who had to predict personality scores of the volunteers. This group was made up of friends, relatives and acquaintances of the participants who had completed the test. Each one of these judges of flesh and bone should describe the personality of the evaluated subject by filling in a questionnaire. The results (somewhat humiliating for our species) that lead the article emerged at Compare the degree of accuracy with which humans and machines predict personality scores. Only a husband or wife can rival the personality models generated by computer from a few data obtained by Facebook.


Electronic brains

How can the software speak with such accuracy about aspects that define us and make us unique? The biggest advantage they have over us is their access to massive amounts of information staff and its ability to relate data with others and find patterns of behavior in fractions of a second. Thanks to this, the models of personality generated by computer can predict certain patterns of behavior automatically, without the need for social skills and with more precision than human beings.

As a consequence, today we are closer to know the traits certain aspects of the psychology of people without having to interact with them face to face , after that information about movies, books and celebrities that we like go through a kitchen of algorithms. Taking into account that the average of "I like" that each one of us has accumulated in Facebook is around 227, we can imagine what this innovation of psychometrics means for statistical centers, personnel selection agencies or even groups dedicated to espionage and social control. All this makes the website created by Mark Zuckerberg look more like a tool for market segmentation than a social network.

In addition, the consequences this may have for the world of advertising and marketing They are obvious. If today it is already possible to roughly estimate the tastes and hobbies of a person from their searches on Google, perhaps in the future a brand of cars can know which model can attract us more due to the fact that one day we did a score of clicks on a social network.

One of the paradoxes of this methodology of psychological evaluation is that we study qualities that make us social and unique beings without the need for social interaction and applying generic rules about human behavior. This perspective can be so attractive to organizations that the University of Cambridge already has an application that allows you to see what your Facebook profile, tweets and other forms of fingerprint say about your psychological profile. One of the supposed advantages that can be read on its website is: "avoid having to ask unnecessary questions". In what ways this methodology will affect the protection of privacy is something that remains to be seen.

Big Data: Facebook and its database

In short, it is now possible that computers are increasingly capable of infer information about us that we have never declared directly, and that this information is of higher quality than that inferred by any person. All this can make it possible, in large part, the Big Data analysis on Facebook : the massive processing of data (personal or otherwise) that we provide of our own free will. The team of researchers talks about this qualitative leap in the conclusions of their article:

Popular culture has come to represent robots that surpass humans when it comes to making psychological inferences. In the movie Her, for example, the protagonist falls in love with his operating system. Through the management and analysis of your fingerprint, your computer can understand and react to your thoughts and needs much better than other humans, including your girlfriend and your closest friends. Our research, together with the advances in robotics, provides empirical evidence that this hypothetical situation is becoming increasingly possible as the tools of digital evaluation mature.

What will computing be capable of when a computer is able to read not only Facebook pages, but also photographs and texts with the same level of accuracy ? Will we be beings without any mystery before the look of processors manufactured in series? If this form of understanding of the human being that machines can reach in the future reflects our essence as unique and sentient beings, it is something worth reflecting on.

Bibliographic references:

  • Youyou W., Kosinski, M. and Stillwell, D. (2015). Computer-based personality judgments are more accurate than those made by humans. PNAS 112 (4), pp. 1036-1040.

Fun.: We Are Young ft. Janelle Monáe [OFFICIAL VIDEO] (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le jour est arrivé: Facebook vous connaît plus que vos amis

Le jour est arrivé: Facebook vous connaît plus que vos amis

Mai 20, 2022

Une étude publiée récemment dans PNAS conclut qu'un ordinateur est capable de prédire plus précisément la personnalité d'une personne que ses propres amis et sa famille ... de l'analyse de certaines des données que nous avons laissées dans Facebook .

Les chercheurs concluent qu'en analysant 10 "j'aime", un ordinateur peut décrire notre personnalité mieux que nos collègues de travail. avec 70, mieux que nos amis ou colocataires; avec 150, mieux qu'un membre de la famille; et avec 300, mieux qu'un conjoint. Cela montre que les machines, même si elles ne possèdent pas les compétences sociales nécessaires pour interpréter le langage et les intentions humaines, peuvent être en mesure de formuler des jugements valables sur nous en accédant à notre site Web. empreinte digitale sur Internet .


Facebook vous connaît plus que vos amis

Pour cette recherche, un test de personnalité basé sur le modèle Big Five a été fourni à 86 220 personnes. Chacun d'entre eux devait remplir ces formulaires de 100 articles conçus pour enregistrer des informations sur les différents traits qui définissent notre façon d'agir, de percevoir et de ressentir les choses.

En plus d'avoir obtenu les informations obtenues grâce aux tests de personnalité, certains volontaires ont également donné la permission à l'équipe de recherche d'analyser les résultats. "J'aime" ils avaient donné de leurs comptes Facebook. Ces "likes" ne sont pas ceux sur lesquels on peut cliquer sur Facebook, des photos ou des vidéos, mais ceux associés à des pages sur des films, des livres, des émissions de télévision, des célébrités, etc.


Plus tard, un logiciel a découvert les tendances et les relations existantes entre les traits de personnalité et certaines préférences par l'une ou l'autre page située dans ce réseau social. Par exemple, il a été constaté que les personnes ayant obtenu un score élevé dans la fonction «Opening to Change» (tendance à changer) ont tendance à préférer Salvador Dalí ou aux TED Talks, tandis que les extravertis manifestent un goût pour la danse. Cela peut s’avérer être une conclusion qui découle de stéréotypes, et pourtant, il existe des preuves empiriques à l’appui de ces idées.

Alors que le logiciel jouait pour apprendre le fonctionnement du comportement humain, un groupe s'est formé avec les autres les évaluateurs qui devaient prédire les scores de personnalité des volontaires. Ce groupe était composé d'amis, de parents et de connaissances des participants ayant terminé le test. Chacun de ces juges de chair et d'os doit décrire la personnalité du sujet évalué en remplissant un questionnaire. Les résultats (quelque peu humiliants pour notre espèce) qui ont conduit l’article sont apparus à Comparer le degré de précision avec lequel les humains et les machines prédisent les scores de personnalité. Seul un mari ou une femme peut rivaliser avec les modèles de personnalité générés par ordinateur à partir de quelques données obtenues par Facebook.


Cerveaux électroniques

Comment le logiciel peut-il parler avec une telle précision des aspects qui nous définissent et nous rendent uniques? Le plus gros avantage qu’ils ont sur nous, c’est leur accès à des quantités massives d'informations le personnel et ses capacité à relier des données avec d'autres et trouvez des modèles de comportement en quelques fractions de seconde. Grâce à cela, les modèles de personnalité générés par ordinateur peuvent prévoir automatiquement certains comportements, sans avoir besoin de compétences sociales et avec plus de précision que l'homme.

En conséquence, nous sommes aujourd’hui plus proches de connaître les traits de certains aspects de la psychologie des gens sans avoir à interagir avec eux face à face , après cette information sur les films, les livres et les célébrités que nous aimons, parcourons une cuisine d’algorithmes. Étant donné que la moyenne de "J'aime" que chacun de nous a accumulée sur Facebook est d'environ 227, on peut imaginer ce que cette innovation de la psychométrie signifie pour les centres de statistique, les agences de sélection de personnel ou même les groupes. dédié à l'espionnage et au contrôle social. Tout cela fait que le site Web créé par Mark Zuckerberg ressemble davantage à un outil de segmentation du marché qu'un réseau social.

En outre, les conséquences que cela pourrait avoir pour le monde de la publicité et du marketing Ils sont évidents. Si aujourd’hui il est déjà possible de faire une estimation approximative des goûts et des loisirs d’une personne à partir de ses recherches sur Google, peut-être qu’à l’avenir une marque de voitures pourra savoir quel modèle peut nous attirer davantage en raison du fait une vingtaine de clics sur un réseau social.

L'un des paradoxes de cette méthodologie d'évaluation psychologique est que nous étudions les qualités qui font de nous des êtres sociaux et uniques sans la nécessité d'une interaction sociale et de l'application de règles génériques sur le comportement humain. Cette perspective peut être si attrayante pour les organisations que le Université de Cambridge a déjà une application qui vous permet de voir ce que votre profil Facebook, vos tweets et d’autres formes d’empreintes digitales disent de votre profil psychologique. L'un des avantages supposés qui peuvent être lus sur son site Web est le suivant: "évitez de vous poser des questions inutiles". La manière dont cette méthodologie affectera la protection de la vie privée reste à voir.

Big Data: Facebook et sa base de données

En bref, il est maintenant possible que les ordinateurs soient de plus en plus capables de déduire des informations sur nous que nous n'avons jamais déclarées directement, et que cette information est de meilleure qualité que celle déduite par toute personne. Tout cela peut permettre, en grande partie, l’analyse du Big Data sur Facebook : le traitement massif de données (personnelles ou autres) que nous fournissons de notre plein gré. L’équipe de chercheurs évoque ce saut qualitatif dans les conclusions de leur article:

La culture populaire en est venue à représenter des robots qui surpassent l'homme en matière d'inférence psychologique. Dans le film Her, par exemple, le protagoniste tombe amoureux de son système d'exploitation. Grâce à la gestion et à l'analyse de votre empreinte digitale, votre ordinateur peut comprendre vos réactions et vos besoins et réagir beaucoup mieux que d'autres êtres humains, y compris votre petite amie et vos amis les plus proches. Nos recherches, associées aux avancées de la robotique, fournissent des preuves empiriques du fait que cette situation hypothétique devient de plus en plus possible à mesure que les outils de l’évaluation numérique mûrissent.

De quoi l’ordinateur sera-t-il capable lorsqu'un ordinateur est capable de lire non seulement les pages Facebook, mais également photographies et textes avec le même niveau de précision ? Serons-nous des êtres sans mystère devant le look des processeurs fabriqués en série? Si cette forme de compréhension de l’être humain que les machines peuvent atteindre dans le futur reflète notre essence d’êtres uniques et sensibles, elle mérite d’être réfléchie.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Youyou W., Kosinski, M. et Stillwell, D. (2015). Les jugements de personnalité basés sur ordinateur sont plus précis que ceux des humains. PNAS 112 (4), pp. 1036-1040.

Bigflo & Oli - Pour un pote ft. Jean Dujardin (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes