yes, therapy helps!
The 5 differences between anxiety and depression

The 5 differences between anxiety and depression

May 7, 2021

Both anxiety and depression are part of two of the problems with which mental health occurs more frequently. After all, both emotional and work overload and mood disorders affect millions of people and can manifest in virtually any type of life situation.

However, it is also true that it is not always easy, for the person who is not an expert in the subject, to know how to recognize the symptoms of one and another alteration. In this article we will see, as orientation information, which are the main Differences between anxiety and depression , two psychological states with the ability to make us suffer a lot, although in different ways.


  • Related article: "The 6 differences between stress and anxiety"

The differences between depression and anxiety

In order to detect what are the typical characteristics of anxiety and depression, take the following keys as a reference.

1. The degree of motivation

People with depression tend to experience a symptom known as abulia. The apathy is, fundamentally, the lack of desire to do things, initiative. That is, in the main variants of depression, who suffers state he does not feel motivated to do anything , although it is proposed to do activities that seem fun and do not require effort.


In contrast, people who experience anxiety do not comply with the previous characteristic. It is possible that their state of mental exhaustion makes them more likely to get tired quickly, but in many cases they have problems when resting and, instead, they try to find entertainment to keep themselves occupied and not have to think about what they want. worries.

  • Related article: "Are there several types of depression?"

2. Its causes

The causes of anxiety can respond to an almost infinite variety of factors that, due to being present on a daily basis, lead us to this state: lack of sleep, substance abuse, certain social or economic problems, etc.

Depression, on the other hand, often appears endogenously , without there being a clear cause to explain it. When the onset of symptoms coincides with a specific event, this is usually punctual, and the simple passage of time does not have to make the "return to normal" make the depression disappear.


  • Related article: "Endogenous depression: when unhappiness comes from within"

3. The presence or absence of concerns

People with anxiety are characterized by staying in a state of almost constant worry. Rumination, which is the habit of spinning the same thought all the time (however negative it may be) is a vicious circle from which they can hardly escape.

This is because the reason for the anxiety is keep us in a state of alert very useful when there is some danger but, if it becomes chronic, it gives problems.

In depression, however, there are few, or almost none, concerns in the most severe cases. This type of disorder is not an extension of a useful activation mechanism from an evolutionary point of view, but its origin is much more mysterious and, for the moment, little is known about it.

The feeling of discomfort that is experienced in depression has to do not so much with the awareness that there is danger nearby, on the contrary, by a feeling of melancholy and loss of reasons to get out of bed.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Dysthymia, when melancholy takes over your mind"

4. The ability to enjoy

Another of the most important differences between depression and anxiety is that people with depression often lose the ability to enjoy , even if it is not a psychological pleasure but more linked to physical stimulation. It is a symptom known as anhedonia.

People with anxiety, on the other hand, do not have anhedonia, although it is true that their ability to enjoy can also be impaired due, among other things, to the fact that it is difficult for them to stop thinking about what concerns them, on the one hand, since their physical condition is not optimal, on the other, due to the wear and tear suffered in the day to day for lack of sleep or poor management of work times.

In depression, then, this inability to feel pleasure is of a rather endogenous type, given that there are imbalances in the levels of neurotransmitters and in the activation patterns of specific parts of the brain. However, in anxiety, although there are also changes in the nervous system, the causes of these difficulties to enjoy have rather to do with constant alertness, that is, it depends on the interaction with the environment.

5.Degree of predisposition toward meeting goals

Neither depression nor anxiety are states in which people are oriented towards meeting goals. However, the lack of this predisposition is much more pronounced and notorious in the case of depressive disorders.

In anxiety, we often postpone those tasks that can lead us to resolve what worries us, given that the simple idea of ​​facing this task again scares us. However, the most common is that, once you have started working, everything flows more normally.

In depression, however, we do not even consider if there is something we should do : it is as if the obligations cease to exist. In fact, if you aspire to something is to relive the moments in which the depression had not appeared. This is so because while people with anxiety think a lot about the future, for those patients who have depression, nothing matters more than the present situation.


Understanding the Differences Between Anxiety and Depression | Kaiser Permanente (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 différences entre anxiété et dépression

Les 5 différences entre anxiété et dépression

Mars 30, 2024

L'anxiété et la dépression font partie des deux problèmes avec lesquels la santé mentale est plus fréquente. Après tout, la surcharge émotionnelle, la surcharge de travail et les troubles de l'humeur touchent des millions de personnes et peuvent se manifester dans pratiquement tous les types de situations de la vie.

Cependant, il est également vrai qu'il n'est pas toujours facile, pour une personne qui n'est pas experte en la matière, de savoir reconnaître les symptômes de l'une et de l'autre altération. Dans cet article, nous verrons, en tant qu'informations d'orientation, quels sont les principaux Différences entre anxiété et dépression , deux états psychologiques capables de nous faire beaucoup souffrir, mais de manière différente.


  • Article connexe: "Les 6 différences entre stress et anxiété"

Les différences entre dépression et anxiété

Afin de détecter quelles sont les caractéristiques typiques de l’anxiété et de la dépression, prenez les clés suivantes comme référence.

1. Le degré de motivation

Les personnes dépressives ont tendance à ressentir un symptôme appelé abulia. L’apathie est fondamentalement le manque de désir de faire des choses, d’initiative. Autrement dit, dans les principales variantes de la dépression, qui souffre d’état il ne se sent pas motivé pour faire quoi que ce soit , bien qu’il soit proposé de faire des activités qui semblent amusantes et ne nécessitent pas d’effort.


En revanche, les personnes souffrant d'anxiété ne respectent pas la caractéristique précédente. Il est possible que leur état d'épuisement mental les rend plus susceptibles de se fatiguer rapidement, mais dans de nombreux cas, ils ont des problèmes de repos et essaient plutôt de trouver un divertissement pour rester occupés sans avoir à penser à ce qu'ils veulent. s'inquiéter

  • Article connexe: "Existe-t-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

2. Ses causes

Les causes de l’anxiété peuvent répondre à une variété presque infinie de facteurs qui, du fait de notre présence quotidienne, nous conduisent à cet état: manque de sommeil, toxicomanie, certains problèmes sociaux ou économiques, etc.

La dépression, en revanche, apparaît souvent de manière endogène , sans qu'il y ait une cause claire pour l'expliquer. Lorsque l'apparition des symptômes coïncide avec un événement spécifique, cela est généralement ponctuel et le simple passage du temps ne doit pas forcément faire en sorte que le "retour à la normale" fasse disparaître la dépression.


  • Article connexe: "Dépression endogène: quand le malheur vient de l'intérieur"

3. La présence ou l'absence de préoccupations

Les personnes anxieuses se caractérisent par le fait de rester dans un état d'inquiétude presque constant. La rumination, qui a pour habitude de toujours faire tourner la même pensée (aussi négative soit-elle), est un cercle vicieux auquel ils peuvent difficilement échapper.

C’est parce que la raison de l’anxiété est garde nous en état d'alerte très utile quand il y a un danger mais, si cela devient chronique, cela crée des problèmes.

Dans la dépression, cependant, les cas les plus graves ne suscitent que peu ou pas d’inquiétude. Ce type de trouble n’est pas un prolongement d’un mécanisme d’activation utile du point de vue de l’évolution, mais son origine est beaucoup plus mystérieuse et, pour le moment, on en sait peu.

Le sentiment de malaise ressenti dans la dépression ne tient pas tellement à la conscience qu'il existe un danger à proximité, bien au contraire: un sentiment de mélancolie et perte de raisons de se lever du lit.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Dysthymie, quand la mélancolie envahit votre esprit"

4. La capacité de profiter

Une autre différence majeure entre la dépression et l’anxiété est que les personnes souffrant de dépression perd souvent la capacité de profiter , même si ce n’est pas un plaisir psychologique mais plutôt lié à une stimulation physique. C'est un symptôme appelé anhédonie.

Les personnes angoissées, en revanche, ne sont pas anhédoniennes, même s’il est vrai que leur capacité de jouir peut aussi être diminuée du fait, entre autres, du fait qu’il leur est difficile de ne plus penser à ce qui les concerne, car leur la condition physique n'est pas optimale, d'autre part, en raison de l'usure subie au jour le jour manque de sommeil ou mauvaise gestion des temps de travail.

Dans la dépression, cette incapacité à ressentir du plaisir est donc plutôt endogène, car il existe des déséquilibres dans les niveaux de neurotransmetteurs et dans les schémas d'activation de parties spécifiques du cerveau. Cependant, dans l’anxiété, bien qu’il y ait aussi des changements dans le système nerveux, les causes de ces difficultés à apprécier relèvent plutôt de la vigilance constante, c’est-à-dire que cela dépend de l’interaction avec l’environnement.

5Degré de prédisposition à atteindre les objectifs

Ni la dépression ni l'anxiété ne sont des états dans lesquels les gens sont orientés vers la réalisation d'objectifs. Cependant, l'absence de cette prédisposition est beaucoup plus prononcée et notoire dans le cas des troubles dépressifs.

Avec anxiété, nous reportons souvent les tâches qui peuvent nous amener à résoudre ce qui nous inquiète, étant donné que la simple idée de faire face à cette tâche nous fait peur. Cependant, le plus commun est que, une fois que vous avez commencé à travailler, tout se passe plus normalement.

Dans la dépression, cependant, nous ne considérons même pas s'il y a quelque chose que nous devrions faire : c'est comme si les obligations cessaient d'exister. En fait, si vous aspirez à quelque chose, revivez les moments où la dépression n’était pas apparue. En effet, alors que les personnes anxieuses pensent beaucoup à leur avenir, pour les patients souffrant de dépression, rien ne compte plus que la situation actuelle.


8 Signes Qui Indiquent Que tu Souffres de Dépression Sans Que tu le Saches (Mars 2024).


Articles Connexes