yes, therapy helps!
Dyspraxia: types, causes, symptoms and treatment

Dyspraxia: types, causes, symptoms and treatment

October 28, 2020

Tying shoelaces, eating, writing or combing are activities that for most people can be easy and automatic. However, most of these activities involve a set of different actions and movements that we must learn to coordinate.

But some people have serious difficulties to do so since childhood, not reaching to develop that capacity. It's about people suffering from dyspraxia.

  • Related article: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

Dyspraxia: definition of the concept

Dyspraxia or developmental disorder of coordination It is one of the disorders of neurodevelopment, in which children who suffer from it show great difficulty when carrying out coordinated activities and movements, involving simple gestures or actions that involve sequencing of movements.


symptom

The most obvious symptoms are the presence of clumsiness, incoordination and slowness motor, interfering with the habitual life and the development of the subject. It is common to have difficulties in postural maintenance and when performing acts that require fine mobility, requiring help to perform basic actions.

As well immature behaviors and social difficulties may appear . It is not uncommon that there are communicative problems. However, these alterations do not have to do with the existence of any psychic disability, those who suffer from dyspraxia have a normal intelligence.

Unlike apraxia, in which previously acquired faculties are lost, dyspraxia is characterized because the subject has never developed the ability to correctly sequence his movements. It is common for the first symptoms to be observable during the first two years of age, being common that they present delays in the development of the motricity and take longer than usual to reach some of the development milestones.


Although it arises during childhood it is also observed in adults, it is important to start treatment as soon as possible in order to reduce social stigma and the possible consequences throughout the development. There tends to be comorbidity with other disorders, such as other motor problems or with ADHD.

Types of dyspraxia

As with apraxias, there are different types of dyspraxia depending on the type of where in the process of movement or organism the difficulty occurs. Four types stand out in particular.

1. Ideational dyspraxia

This type of dyspraxia is characterized by the fact that the problem is not only at motor level, but that the subject presents difficulties to plan at an idea level the sequence of movements necessary to carry out a concrete action.

2. Ideomotor dyspraxia

In ideomotor dyspraxia, the main difficulty lies in following the chain of movements necessary to carry out a simple action. The difficulty is only given at motor level, the subject can perform the action correctly in the imagination . Often the difficulty is linked to the use of an instrument or object.


3. Constructive dyspraxia

It is a type of dyspraxia in which the sufferer has difficulty understanding spatial relationships and acting in accordance with them. For example, a child with this problem will have trouble performing a copy of an image or when organizing .

4. Oromotor dyspraxia or verbal apraxia

In this type of dyspraxia the subject presents difficulties in the coordination of the movements necessary to communicate orally, despite knowing what he means. It is difficult to produce intelligible sounds.

Causes of dyspraxia

The causes of the appearance of dyspraxia are not completely known, but it is suspected that they are due to existing alterations throughout the neurodevelopment that generate that the cerebral areas linked to the integration of motor information and its sequencing do not mature correctly. These brain areas are located in the back of the frontal lobes and around the fissure of Rolando .

It is usually due to innate causes, but can be caused by injuries, illnesses and injuries during childhood.

Treatment and therapeutic strategies

Dyspraxia is a disorder that does not have a curative treatment, although it is possible to use different strategies in order to improve the adaptation of those affected to the environment and teach them to perform the different actions. The treatment of dyspraxia is multidisciplinary , taking into account both the clinical and especially the psychoeducational.

In order to help these children, strategies such as occupational therapy are often used to stimulate the subject and help develop their capacity for movement. Another element to emphasize is the physiotherapy.

Speech therapy is also usually essential in order to educate the minor and allow him to develop the necessary coordination to be able to emit words correctly. At an educational level it may be necessary to establish individualized plans that take into account the minor's difficulties.

It can also be very useful to use expressive therapy or techniques that foster the child's self-esteem, which may be diminished by the perception of their difficulties. Social skills training it also facilitates a correct link with the environment. The psychoeducation for both them and the environment can be of great help in order to facilitate the normative development of the subject and the understanding of the difficulties in it.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of psychological therapies"

Diagnosis of Childhood Apraxia of Speech (CAS) (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Dyspraxie: types, causes, symptômes et traitement

Dyspraxie: types, causes, symptômes et traitement

Octobre 19, 2020

Lier des lacets, manger, écrire ou se peigner sont des activités faciles et automatiques pour la plupart des gens. Cependant, la plupart de ces activités impliquent un ensemble d’actions et de mouvements différents que nous devons apprendre à coordonner.

Mais certaines personnes ont de sérieuses difficultés à le faire depuis leur enfance, faute de pouvoir développer cette capacité. Il s'agit de personnes souffrant de dyspraxie.

  • Article connexe: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Dyspraxie: définition du concept

Dyspraxie ou trouble de la coordination du développement Il s’agit d’un des troubles du développement neurologique dans lequel les enfants qui en souffrent éprouvent de grandes difficultés à effectuer des activités et des mouvements coordonnés, impliquant des gestes simples ou des actions impliquant le séquençage de mouvements.


Les symptômes

Les symptômes les plus évidents sont la présence de maladresse, incoordination et lenteur moteur, interférant avec la vie habituelle et le développement du sujet. Il est courant d'avoir des difficultés à maintenir la posture et à effectuer des actes nécessitant une mobilité fine, nécessitant de l'aide pour effectuer des actions de base.

Aussi des comportements immatures et des difficultés sociales peuvent apparaître . Il n’est pas rare qu’il y ait des problèmes de communication. Cependant, ces altérations n’ont rien à voir avec l’existence d’un handicap psychique, les personnes souffrant de dyspraxie ont une intelligence normale.

Contrairement à l'apraxie, dans laquelle les facultés précédemment acquises sont perdues, la dyspraxie se caractérise par le fait que le sujet n'a jamais développé la capacité de séquencer correctement ses mouvements. Il est courant que les premiers symptômes soient observables au cours des deux premières années, étant commun qu'ils présentent des retards dans le développement de la motricité et prendre plus de temps que d’habitude pour atteindre certains des jalons du développement.


Bien qu'il se produise pendant l'enfance, il est également observé chez les adultes, mais il est important de commencer le traitement le plus tôt possible afin de réduire la stigmatisation sociale et les conséquences possibles tout au long du développement. Il y a tendance à être comorbide avec d'autres troubles, tels que d'autres problèmes moteurs ou avec le TDAH.

Types de dyspraxie

Comme dans le cas des apraxies, il existe différents types de dyspraxie en fonction du type d’endroit où se produit la difficulté du mouvement ou de l’organisme. Quatre types se distinguent en particulier.

1. Dyspraxie de loisirs

Ce type de dyspraxie se caractérise par le fait que le problème n’est pas seulement au niveau moteur, mais que le sujet présente difficultés à planifier au niveau des idées la séquence des mouvements nécessaire pour mener à bien une action concrète.

2. Dyspraxie idéomotrice

Dans la dyspraxie idéomotrice, la principale difficulté consiste à suivre la chaîne de mouvements nécessaire à la réalisation d'une action simple. La difficulté n’est donnée qu’au niveau moteur, le sujet peut effectuer l'action correctement dans l'imagination . La difficulté est souvent liée à l'utilisation d'un instrument ou d'un objet.


3. Dyspraxie constructive

C'est un type de dyspraxie dans lequel le patient a du mal à comprendre les relations spatiales et à s'y conformer. Par exemple, un enfant présentant ce problème aura des difficultés à effectuer une copie d'une image ou lors de l'organisation .

Dyspraxie oromotrice ou apraxie verbale

Dans ce type de dyspraxie, le sujet présente des difficultés dans la coordination des mouvements nécessaires pour communiquer oralement, même s'il sait ce qu'il veut dire. Il est difficile de produire des sons intelligibles.

Causes de la dyspraxie

Les causes de l'apparition de la dyspraxie ne sont pas complètement connues, mais on pense qu'elles sont dues à des altérations existantes tout au long du développement neurologique qui génèrent que les zones cérébrales liées à l'intégration des informations motrices et à leur séquençage ne mûrissent pas correctement. Ces zones du cerveau sont situées à l’arrière des lobes frontaux et autour de la fissure de Rolando .

Il est généralement dû à des causes innées, mais peut être causé par des blessures, des maladies et des blessures durant l'enfance.

Stratégies thérapeutiques et thérapeutiques

La dyspraxie est un trouble qui ne fait pas l'objet d'un traitement curatif, bien qu'il soit possible d'utiliser différentes stratégies pour améliorer l'adaptation des personnes affectées à l'environnement et leur apprendre à effectuer les différentes actions. Le traitement de la dyspraxie est multidisciplinaire , en tenant compte à la fois du clinique et surtout du psychopédagogique.

Afin d'aider ces enfants, des stratégies telles que l'ergothérapie sont souvent utilisées pour stimuler le sujet et l'aider à développer sa capacité de mouvement. Un autre élément à souligner est la physiothérapie.

L'orthophonie est également essentielle afin d’éduquer le mineur et de lui permettre de développer la coordination nécessaire pour pouvoir émettre des mots correctement. Au niveau de l'enseignement, il peut être nécessaire d'établir des plans individualisés tenant compte des difficultés du mineur.

Il peut également être très utile d’utiliser une thérapie expressive ou des techniques qui favorisent l’estime de soi de l’enfant, ce qui peut être diminué par la perception de leurs difficultés. Formation aux compétences sociales cela facilite également un lien correct avec l'environnement. La psychoéducation à la fois pour eux et pour l'environnement peut être d'une grande aide pour faciliter le développement normatif du sujet et la compréhension de ses difficultés.

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Types de thérapies psychologiques"

Dyslexie, dysorthographie, dyscalculie (Octobre 2020).


Articles Connexes