yes, therapy helps!
The 6 types of mood disorders

The 6 types of mood disorders

June 17, 2024

Our mood moves us. When we are sad we tend to turn off, to avoid action and to get away from things, while when we are happy and euphoric we tend to have energy and want to act. Although some people act in a very rational way and say to leave their emotions aside, they are the ones that allow us to motivate ourselves to do or not do something, to decide whether we like something or not or if we tend to approach or avoid situations or stimuli .

It also influences how we see the world and ourselves. In short, it is something very relevant and that greatly influences our ability to adapt. But increasingly we find people whose mood is not adaptive, is fixed at one end in a pathological way and hinders their well-being and functionality. We are talking about mood disorders .


  • Related article: "Emotional psychology: main theories of emotion"

What do we call mood disorders?

Mood disorders are understood to be that set of psychic alterations linked to the presence of moods altered in a more or less persistent manner that generate a significant alteration in the person's life, resulting extreme and pathological mood making it difficult for the person to adapt to their daily life.

These are disorders that cause a deep suffering to the person, altering aspects such as self-esteem, the way of seeing the world and events and attributing causes and responsibilities. They affect not only the affective domain itself, but also cognition and even the perception of the environment. They also generate repercussions in all the vital areas, varying the way of relating to the environment and the rest of the subjects that are part of it.


We are facing the group of disorders, along with anxiety disorders, which is the most prevalent worldwide, with a high percentage of the population suffering some type of affectation of this type. It should also be noted that the other group of disorders that we have just mentioned, anxiety disorders, they are deeply linked to these being frequent that they appear together or that the sufferings that one generates end up provoking the other.

  • Related article: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

Disorders included

Within the disorders of the state of mind we can find some of the mental disorders with greater incidence and prevalence worldwide. Some of the most relevant nosological and diagnostic entities are the following, although we must bear in mind that we can also find depressive and bipolar disorders not specified (which do not have sufficient characteristics of the disorders we are going to talk about but are linked to ) and those induced by substances and / or medical illness.


1. Major depressive disorder

The most prevalent mood disorder of all and one of the most well-known mental disorders. It is characterized by the presence during at least two weeks of a sad mood and decayed most of the day with the loss or decline of motivation and the ability to feel pleasure, in addition to other symptoms such as sleep problems, eating and concentration , slowness or agitation, fatigue, hopelessness and passivity. They also tend to have problems when making decisions and may experience suicidal thoughts and desires.

2. Dysthymia (current persistent depressive disorder)

Similar to the previous one but generally with less intensity in the symptoms and with a much longer duration (being able to become chronic), it is identified as such a disorder characterized by presence for at least two years during most of the day during almost all the days (not having periods without symptoms of more than two months in a row) of a depressed and sad mood, in addition to eating problems, sleep, fatigue, low self-esteem, hopelessness and problems of concentration and decision-making.

Although at a specific moment it may seem less serious than a major depression because its symptoms are less intense , we must also bear in mind that the problems remain for much longer, producing an accumulation wear to be taken into account.

3. Bipolar disorder

Bipolar disorder is another of the main and most well-known mood disorders, in which there is usually an alternation between manic episodes (in which there is at least a week of an expansive and irritable state of mind, high level of energy, sensations of grandiosity that can lead to delirium, verbiage, accelerated thinking, distractibility, risk behaviors and in some cases hallucinations at such a high level that hospitalization is sometimes required) or hypomaniacs (similar to the previous one but of less intensity and duration, being present for at least four days and although observable does not generate deterioration) and depressive episodes (equivalent in symptomatology to the symptoms described in major depression, which actually implies the existence of this type of episodes).

Actually there is not one, but two basic types of bipolar disorder . In bipolar disorder type 1 the subject experiences or has experienced at least one manic or mixed episode, which may or may not be preceded or followed by a depressive and hypomanic episode. To diagnose type 2 it is necessary that there be at least one depressive episode and one hypomanic one (without there having been any manic or mixed episodes).

  • Related article: "Bipolar disorder: 10 features and curiosities you did not know"

4. Cyclothymia or cyclothymic disorder

Cyclothymia is understood to be a disorder of the state of mind in which the subject presents multiple alternating hypomanic and depressive symptoms, without sufficient intensity to diagnose an episode or depressive or bipolar disorder for at least two years. The symptoms are continued and there is usually a rapid alternation, in days. We would be facing the equivalent of the relationship between dysthymia and depression but in the case of bipolar disorder, being milder than the bipolar in symptomatology but much more prolonged and with faster cycles.

Changes in the DSM-5

Although most professionals still consider them as mood disorders, the truth is that this diagnostic label has disappeared as such in the latest version of one of the main reference manuals, the DSM-5. And it is that in this one it has been decided to stop encompassing all mood disorders in a single category to do so in two, by virtue of the existence of two generic types of this disorder.

In this way, we can now find that instead of mood disorders the different psychopathologies mentioned above fall into two major categories: bipolar disorders and depressive disorders.

This decision can generate the problem of considering them very different clinical entities when they are often related, but in practice it is still dealing with the same problems that were previously known with what, on a practical level, has a great impact.

What is relevant is the creation of new diagnostic labels added, which although they are not so named, would also form part of those known as mood disorders.

Disorders added in the DSM-5

In addition to the aforementioned, in the latest version of the DSM we find that some new diagnostic labels have been generated . In this sense, the novelties include two previously unidentified disorders, such as those belonging to mood disorders or included in other disorders.

1. Premenstrual dysphoric disorder

Although previously the existence of the premenstrual syndrome was known, being something very expanded and suffered by a large number of women, the DSM-5 has added this syndrome as a disorder. It is considered as such the presence during most menstrual cycles of affective lability (ie rapid changes in mood), irritability, anxiety, intense tension, self-depreciation or depression along with fatigue, sleep problems, appetite changes, pain, disinterest and problems of concentration, being necessary that at least five of these symptoms occur during the week prior to the arrival of menstruation.

2. Destructive dysregulation disorder of mood

This disorder is defined by the presence for at least one year and almost daily Disproportionate anger and irritability for the situation that generates them, exploding in the form of verbal or physical access (being able to reach aggression) with a persistent irascible state of mind between the accesses. These occur at least three times and can be observed per week in more than two different contexts, the first symptoms appearing before ten years of age and not being diagnosed before six or after eighteen years of age.

Bibliographic references:

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.

Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 6 types de troubles de l'humeur

Les 6 types de troubles de l'humeur

Novembre 23, 2022

Notre humeur nous émeut. Lorsque nous sommes tristes, nous avons tendance à nous éteindre, à éviter d'agir et à nous échapper, tandis que lorsque nous sommes heureux et euphoriques, nous avons tendance à avoir de l'énergie et à vouloir agir. Bien que certaines personnes agissent de manière très rationnelle et disent de laisser leurs émotions de côté, ce sont elles qui nous permettent de nous motiver à faire ou non quelque chose, de décider si nous aimons quelque chose ou non ou si nous avons tendance à nous approcher ou à éviter des situations ou des stimulants. .

Cela influence également notre façon de voir le monde et nous-mêmes. En bref, c'est quelque chose de très pertinent et qui influence grandement notre capacité d'adaptation. Mais de plus en plus, nous trouvons des personnes dont l'humeur n'est pas adaptative, est fixée à une extrémité de manière pathologique et nuit à leur bien-être et à leur fonctionnalité. On parle de troubles de l'humeur .


  • Article connexe: "Psychologie émotionnelle: principales théories de l'émotion"

Comment appelle-t-on les troubles de l'humeur?

On entend par troubles de l'humeur, l'ensemble des altérations psychiques liées à la présence d'humeurs altérées de manière plus ou moins persistante, générant une altération significative de la vie de la personne, humeur extrême et pathologique qui en résulte rendant difficile pour la personne de s’adapter à sa vie quotidienne.

Ce sont des troubles qui causent une profonde souffrance à la personne, modifiant des aspects tels que l'estime de soi, la façon de voir le monde et les événements et attribuant des causes et des responsabilités. Ils affectent non seulement le domaine affectif lui-même, mais également la cognition et même la perception de l'environnement. Ils génèrent également des répercussions dans tous les domaines vitaux, en modifiant les relations avec l'environnement et le reste des sujets qui en font partie.


Nous sommes confrontés au groupe de troubles, avec les troubles anxieux, qui est le plus répandu dans le monde, avec un pourcentage élevé de la population souffrant d’un type d’affection de ce type. Il convient également de noter que l’autre groupe de troubles que nous venons de mentionner, les troubles anxieux, ils sont profondément liés à ces étant fréquents qu'ils apparaissent ensemble ou que les souffrances que l'un engendre finissent par provoquer l'autre.

  • Article connexe: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Troubles inclus

Parmi les troubles de l'état d'esprit, nous pouvons trouver certains des troubles mentaux avec une incidence et une prévalence plus grandes dans le monde. Certaines des entités nosologiques et diagnostiques les plus pertinentes sont les suivantes, bien que nous puissions garder à l'esprit que nous pouvons également trouver des troubles dépressifs et bipolaires non spécifiés (qui n'ont pas suffisamment de caractéristiques des troubles dont nous allons parler mais qui sont liés à ) et celles induites par des substances et / ou des maladies.


1. Trouble dépressif majeur

Le trouble de l'humeur le plus répandu et l'un des troubles mentaux les plus connus. Elle se caractérise par la présence d'une humeur triste pendant au moins deux semaines et se dégrade presque toute la journée avec une perte ou une perte de motivation et la capacité de ressentir du plaisir, en plus d'autres symptômes tels que des problèmes de sommeil, une alimentation et une concentration. , lenteur ou agitation, fatigue, désespoir et passivité. Ils ont également tendance à avoir des problèmes lors de la prise de décision et peuvent avoir des pensées et des désirs suicidaires.

2. Dysthymie (trouble dépressif persistant actuel)

Semblable au précédent, mais généralement avec moins d’intensité dans les symptômes et une durée beaucoup plus longue (pouvoir devenir chronique), il est identifié comme un trouble caractérisé par une présence pendant au moins deux ans presque toute la journée pendant presque tout le temps. les jours (pas de périodes sans symptômes de plus de deux mois consécutifs) d’humeur déprimée et triste, en plus des problèmes d’alimentation, du sommeil, de la fatigue, d’une faible estime de soi, du désespoir et des problèmes de concentration et de prise de décision.

Bien qu'à un moment donné il peut sembler moins grave qu'une dépression majeure car ses symptômes sont moins intenses , nous devons également garder à l’esprit que les problèmes subsistent beaucoup plus longtemps, ce qui produit une usure d’accumulation à prendre en compte.

3. trouble bipolaire

Le désordre bipolaire est un autre des troubles de l'humeur les plus connus et les plus connus. Il se produit généralement une alternance d'épisodes maniaques (il existe au moins une semaine d'un état d'esprit expansif et irritable, d'un niveau d'énergie élevé, sensations de grandiosité pouvant mener au délire, au verbiage, à la réflexion accélérée, à la distractibilité, à des comportements à risque et parfois à des hallucinations à un niveau tel que l'hospitalisation est parfois nécessaire) ou à des hypomanes (similaires au précédent mais de moindre intensité et de durée présents pendant au moins quatre jours et bien que l’observable ne génère pas de détérioration) et d’épisodes dépressifs (équivalents en symptomatologie aux symptômes décrits dans la dépression majeure, ce qui implique en réalité l’existence de ce type d’épisodes).

En fait, il n'y en a pas un, mais deux types de base de trouble bipolaire . Dans le trouble bipolaire de type 1, le sujet a ou a eu au moins un épisode maniaque ou mixte, qui peut être précédé ou non d'un épisode dépressif et hypomaniaque. Pour diagnostiquer le type 2, il est nécessaire qu’il y ait au moins un épisode dépressif et un épisode hypomaniaque (sans qu’il n’y ait eu d’épisodes maniaques ou mixtes).

  • Article connexe: "Trouble bipolaire: 10 caractéristiques et curiosités que vous ne connaissiez pas"

4. Cyclothymie ou trouble cyclothymique

La cyclothymie est considérée comme un trouble de l'état d'esprit dans lequel le sujet présente de multiples symptômes alternatifs d'hypomanie et de dépression, sans intensité suffisante pour diagnostiquer un épisode ou un trouble dépressif ou bipolaire pendant au moins deux ans. Les symptômes se poursuivent et il y a habituellement une alternance rapide, en jours. Nous serions confrontés à l'équivalent de la relation entre la dysthymie et la dépression, mais dans le cas du trouble bipolaire, être plus doux que le bipolaire en symptomatologie mais beaucoup plus prolongé et avec des cycles plus rapides.

Changements dans le DSM-5

Bien que la plupart des professionnels les considèrent toujours comme des troubles de l'humeur, la vérité est que cette étiquette de diagnostic a disparu en tant que telle dans la dernière version de l'un des principaux manuels de référence, le DSM-5. Et c’est que, dans celle-ci, il a été décidé de ne plus inclure tous les troubles de l’humeur dans une seule catégorie mais de le faire en deux, en raison de l’existence de deux types génériques de ce trouble.

De cette manière, nous pouvons maintenant constater qu'au lieu de troubles de l'humeur, les différentes psychopathologies mentionnées ci-dessus entrent dans deux grandes catégories: les troubles bipolaires et les troubles dépressifs.

Cette décision peut générer le problème de les considérer comme des entités cliniques très différentes quand ils sont souvent liés, mais dans la pratique, ils traitent toujours des problèmes déjà connus avec ce qui, sur le plan pratique, a un impact important.

Ce qui importe, c’est la création de nouvelles étiquettes de diagnostic qui, bien qu’elles ne soient pas nommées ainsi, feraient également partie de celles connues sous le nom de troubles de l’humeur.

Troubles ajoutés au DSM-5

Outre ce qui précède, dans la dernière version du DSM, nous constatons que de nouvelles étiquettes de diagnostic ont été générées . En ce sens, les nouveautés incluent deux troubles précédemment non identifiés, tels que ceux appartenant à des troubles de l'humeur ou inclus dans d'autres troubles.

1. Trouble dysphorique prémenstruel

Bien que l'on connaissait auparavant l'existence du syndrome prémenstruel, qui est un phénomène très développé et dont souffrent un grand nombre de femmes, le DSM-5 a ajouté ce syndrome en tant que trouble. On considère comme telle la présence au cours de la plupart des cycles menstruels de labilité affective (changements rapides d'humeur), d'irritabilité, d'anxiété, de tension intense, de dépréciation de soi ou de dépression, ainsi que fatigue, problèmes de sommeil, changements d'appétit, douleur, désintérêt et des problèmes de concentration, étant donné qu’au moins cinq de ces symptômes se manifestent au cours de la semaine précédant l’apparition de la menstruation.

2. dysrégulation destructive de l'humeur

Ce trouble est défini par la présence pendant au moins un an et presque quotidiennement Colère et irritabilité disproportionnées pour la situation qui les génère, explosant sous la forme d'un accès verbal ou physique (pouvoir atteindre l'agression) avec un état d'esprit irascible persistant entre les accès. Celles-ci se produisent au moins trois fois et peuvent être observées chaque semaine dans plus de deux contextes différents, les premiers symptômes apparaissant avant l'âge de dix ans et n'ayant pas été diagnostiqués avant l'âge de six ans ou après l'âge de dix-huit ans.

Références bibliographiques:

Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.


C’est quoi le trouble bipolaire ? (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes