yes, therapy helps!
The 10 best myths in Mexico (with their explanations)

The 10 best myths in Mexico (with their explanations)

May 24, 2024

In each country, there are legends that become representative stories of the place. Something that fascinates locals and strangers are the myths of Mexico and knowing each of them is interesting and revealing of the culture of this country.

The myths of Mexico are mostly of pre-Hispanic or colonial origin ; however there are some of the modern era that by their popularity have already become traditional myths of the country.

  • Related article: "7 customs and traditions of Mexico that you will like to know"

The 10 Most Popular Mexican Myths

Mexico's myths are rich in surprising traditions and stories, sometimes varying from region to region but the essence is the same.


1. The weeping woman

In places where there are lagoons or rivers, in the evenings a woman is heard to shout: Oh, my children! with a sad and heartbreaking voice. This woman scorned by the lack of love of the father of their children, drowned in the river and then committed suicide by not bearing the guilt of having committed the crime.

Since then he is heard at night shouting that lament. This story has variants according to the region , but without a doubt it is one of the most widespread and recognized Mexican myths.

2. The rabbit of the moon

This Mexican myth is told to children to explain the spots that are seen on the moon.

The god Quetzalcoatl went down one day for a long walk on earth, at nightfall he was tired and hungry without knowing what to eat when a rabbit that offered him his food passed in front of him, to which the god refused, Well, it was not something I used to eat.


The rabbit offered himself in sacrifice to be eaten and Quetzalcoatl in gratitude promised him that from then on he would be remembered . He took it and raised it to the moon to stamp his figure there saying "In homage to your nobility so that you are remembered by all".

3. The eagle, the snake and the nopal

The shield on the flag of Mexico is the image of an eagle standing on a cactus devouring a snake , and this icon responds to a part of Mexican history that is counted as part of the origin of what is now Mexico City.

According to pre-Hispanic mythology, the Aztecs received a message from Huitzilopochtli to leave the place where they were living and search for the promised land. The signal they had is that they would see a snake standing on a cactus devouring a snake. So They undertook the journey of 300 years until they reached what they later called Tenochtitlán .


This story is part of the most relevant myths of Mexico, as it is a historical passage that led to the founding of Mexico's capital today.

4. Quetzalcoatl

This god was very kind and envied by his brother who worshiped war and violence, so he invented a story about Quetzalcoatl to humiliate him in front of the rest of the gods. Quetzalcoatl, which in Mayan means feathered serpent, embarrassed by humiliation decides to burn himself to disappear.

However, what Quetzalcoatl had actually done was a plan to be able to go down to the underworld , where he stole a splinter of the first humans and combined with his blood create a new race of humans on earth.

For this reason, thanks to this Mexican myth, Quetzalcoatl He became the most revered and revered god of the Mayan culture .

5. The chupacabras

This is a contemporary Mexican myth that dates back to the year of 1995. Across the country they began to rumored apparitions of a strange animal that attacked mainly goats sucking the blood. Although it was never possible to obtain a single video or photographic evidence of such an animal, people claimed to have seen it.

6. The black charro

A girl named Adela, who was very besieged by men and who liked to play with them, as she walked towards a date she met a very handsome man dressed in a black charro suit and riding a horse that invited to upload. Without thinking, she agreed; when riding they were engulfed in flames and between the desperate cries of Adela they disappeared. The people say that this black charro was the devil himself, making Adela pay for her arrogance.

  • Maybe you're interested: "10 Colombian legends full of folklore and popular culture"

7. The alley of the kiss

This is an original myth of Guanajuato , Mexico. It is said that a lover bought the house in front of his beloved to be able to see her and be with her before her father's prohibition of not seeing him. When they looked out onto the balcony, the houses were so close that they did not need much to get close and to kiss each other. Her father, upon discovering this, killed her by nailing a dagger, and the lover stayed close to her until he finally died.

8. Chaneques or Aluxes

It is said that the alunxes are small beings that inhabit the region of Veracruz, Yucatán or Chiapas . They are similar to elves but even smaller, because they do not exceed one meter in height. They dedicate themselves to taking care of the fields of their owners and doing bad things to the people to obtain food and water in exchange for leaving them alone.

9. The goddess of the moon

In southern Mexico, it is said that Ixchel was a very beautiful young woman wanted by two men who decide to fight for it to death. However, attacking treason, they kill the man that Ixchel loved and commit suicide to be with him, they ascended together to heaven to become the god of the sun and the goddess of the moon.

10. Nahuales

They are known by that name to human beings who according to the legend they have the ability to become animals to fulfill some mission . It is a Mexican myth widespread throughout the country and it is believed that owls, eagles, jaguars and coyotes are the animals that most people use nahuales to be present as animals.

Bibliographic references:

  • DK (2015). DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Mexico. Penguin.

Top 10 Gods & Goddesses of Aztec Mythology (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 meilleurs mythes au Mexique (avec leurs explications)

Les 10 meilleurs mythes au Mexique (avec leurs explications)

Avril 15, 2021

Dans chaque pays, des légendes deviennent des histoires représentatives du lieu. Les mythes du Mexique fascinent tant les habitants que les étrangers. Connaître chacun d’entre eux est intéressant et révèle la culture de ce pays.

Les mythes du Mexique sont pour la plupart d'origine préhispanique ou coloniale ; Cependant, il y a des temps modernes qui, par leur popularité, sont déjà devenus des mythes traditionnels du pays.

  • Article connexe: "7 coutumes et traditions du Mexique que vous aimerez connaître"

Les 10 mythes mexicains les plus populaires

Les mythes mexicains sont riches de traditions et d'histoires surprenantes, variant parfois d'une région à l'autre, mais l'essence est la même.


1. La femme en pleurs

Dans les endroits où il y a des lagunes ou des rivières, le soir on entend une femme crier: Oh, mes enfants! avec une voix triste et déchirante. Cette femme dédaignée par le manque d'amour du père de leurs enfants s'est noyée dans la rivière puis s'est suicidée en ne se sentant pas coupable d'avoir commis le crime.

Depuis lors, il est entendu la nuit crier cette lamentation. Cette histoire a des variantes selon les régions , mais c’est sans aucun doute l’un des mythes mexicains les plus répandus et les plus reconnus.

2. Le lapin de la lune

Ce mythe mexicain est dit aux enfants pour expliquer les taches que l'on voit sur la lune.

Le dieu Quetzalcoatl descendit un jour pour une longue promenade sur terre. À la tombée de la nuit, il était fatigué et affamé sans savoir quoi manger lorsqu'un lapin qui lui offrait sa nourriture passa devant lui, ce que le dieu refusa. Eh bien, ce n’était pas quelque chose que je mangeais.


Le lapin s'est offert en sacrifice pour être mangé et En remerciement, Quetzalcoatl lui promit de se souvenir de lui . Il la prit et la leva sur la lune pour y apposer sa signature en hommage à votre noblesse afin que tous se souviennent de vous.

3. L'aigle, le serpent et le nopal

Le bouclier sur le drapeau du Mexique est à l'image de un aigle debout sur un cactus dévorant un serpent , et cette icône correspond à une partie de l’histoire du Mexique qui fait partie de l’origine de ce qui est maintenant Mexico.

Selon la mythologie préhispanique, les Aztèques ont reçu un message de Huitzilopochtli leur demandant de quitter leur lieu de résidence et de rechercher la terre promise. Le signal qu'ils avaient, c'est qu'ils verraient un serpent debout sur un cactus en train de dévorer un serpent. Alors Ils ont entrepris le voyage de 300 ans jusqu'à ce qu'ils atteignent ce qu'ils ont appelé plus tard Tenochtitlán .


Cette histoire fait partie des mythes les plus pertinents du Mexique, car c'est un passage historique qui a conduit à la fondation de la capitale du Mexique aujourd'hui.

4. Quetzalcoatl

Ce dieu était très gentil et envié par son frère qui vénérait la guerre et la violence. Il inventa donc une histoire sur Quetzalcoatl pour l'humilier devant le reste des dieux. Quetzalcoatl, qui signifie en maya un serpent à plumes, embarrassé par l'humiliation, décide de se brûler pour disparaître.

Cependant, ce que Quetzalcoatl avait réellement fait était un plan pour pouvoir descendre aux enfers , où il a volé un fragment des premiers humains et, combiné avec son sang, a créé une nouvelle race d’êtres humains sur la terre.

Pour cette raison, grâce à ce mythe mexicain, Quetzalcoatl Il est devenu le dieu le plus vénéré et respecté de la culture maya .

5. Les chupacabras

C'est un mythe mexicain contemporain qui remonte à l'année 1995. Partout au pays ils ont commencé à rumeurs d'apparitions d'un animal étrange qui a attaqué principalement des chèvres sucer le sang. Bien qu'il n'ait jamais été possible d'obtenir une seule vidéo ou une preuve photographique d'un tel animal, les gens ont prétendu l'avoir vu.

6. Le charro noir

Une fille nommée Adela, très assiégée par les hommes et qui aimait jouer avec eux, alors qu’elle se dirigeait vers une date précise, elle a rencontré un très bel homme vêtu d’un costume noir et portant un cheval invité à télécharger. Sans réfléchir, elle accepta. en roulant, ils ont été engloutis par les flammes et entre les cris désespérés d'Adela, ils ont disparu. Les gens disent que ce charro noir était le diable lui-même, obligeant Adela à payer son arrogance.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "10 légendes colombiennes riches en folklore et culture populaire"

7. l'allée du baiser

C'est un mythe original de Guanajuato , Mexique On dit qu'un amoureux a acheté la maison devant sa bien-aimée pour pouvoir la voir et être avec elle avant que son père ne lui interdise de ne pas le voir. Quand ils ont regardé sur le balcon, les maisons étaient si proches qu’elles n’avaient pas besoin de grand-chose pour s’approcher et s’embrasser. En découvrant cela, son père l'a tuée en utilisant un poignard et l'amant est resté près d'elle jusqu'à sa mort.

8. Chaneques ou Aluxes

On dit que les alunxes sont petits êtres qui habitent la région de Veracruz, Yucatán ou Chiapas . Ils ressemblent aux elfes mais sont encore plus petits car ils ne dépassent pas un mètre de hauteur. Ils se consacrent à s'occuper des champs de leurs propriétaires et à faire du mal aux gens pour obtenir de la nourriture et de l'eau en échange de les laisser seuls.

9. la déesse de la lune

Dans le sud du Mexique, on dit que Ixchel était une très belle jeune femme recherchée par deux hommes qui décident de se battre pour la mort. Cependant, attaquant la trahison, ils tuent l'homme qu'Ixchel aimait et se suicident pour être avec lui, ils montèrent ensemble au ciel pour devenir le dieu du soleil et la déesse de la lune.

10. Nahuales

Ils sont connus sous ce nom par des êtres humains qui selon la légende, ils ont la capacité de devenir des animaux pour remplir une mission . C'est un mythe mexicain répandu dans tout le pays et l'on pense que les hiboux, les aigles, les jaguars et les coyotes sont les animaux que la plupart des gens utilisent les nahuales pour être présents en tant qu'animaux.

Références bibliographiques:

  • DK (2015). DK Eyewitness Guide de voyage Mexique. Pingouin.

C'est pas sorcier -MAYAS (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes