yes, therapy helps!
The 8 reasons for not using physical punishment towards children

The 8 reasons for not using physical punishment towards children

May 15, 2024

The physical punishment it has been, for many years, a standardized type of punishment. Until relatively recently, whipping was common practice in most families with young children; Even today, it is easy to hear affirmations such as "a slap in time never hurts".

Fortunately, in recent years some psychological currents have gained strength, such as the emotional psychology and positive psychology, which affirm that physical punishment is not the best option to correct behaviors, because of the emotional impact they have on the person who receives them. And this is based on a large number of reasons, among which we find the following eight that we have proposed to explain today.


Let us begin.

1. It provides a negative modeling

Our behavior directly influences the behavior of our children. This means that, if we use violence with them and / or in front of them, we will be favoring the normalization of this type of behavior , so sooner or later they will internalize and repeat.

Physical punishment, as violent behavior that is, will be reproduced by our children as a viable way to get what you want. Being violent we educate our children to be violent.

2. We teach erroneous problem-solving strategies

If we usually use violence to solve conflicts, We are teaching that violence is a good strategy to solve problems s . Our son will use it in any problem that comes up if he does not know other strategies with which to solve day-to-day problems.


3. We impose fear

As physical punishment occurs again and again, we are causing our child to end up being afraid of these reactions. This, in a short period of time, will lead to feelings of rejection towards their own parents .

Given this, it is possible that the child begins to hide important information for fear of this type of punishment. This is another reason why intrafamily violence does a disservice to the psychological stability of children.

4. We make our son lose confidence in us

Faced with fear of violent responses from parents, the child may begin to feel that he has no support from his parents, but rather punishment and suffering.

This can make it difficult for the child to feel sufficiently trained to communicate his problems and concerns with the parents for fear of bad reactions and to feel even more misunderstood.


5. Loss of self-esteem

If physical punishment is given again and again (especially if it is not accompanied by positive reinforcement before desired behavior), the child can begin to internalize a feeling of disability increasingly powerful, which will gradually lower their levels of self-esteem; the little one will end up thinking that he is worthy of physical punishment and that he will never be able to satisfy his parents.

It is what is known as learned helplessness.

6. Physical punishment says what is wrong, but not what is good

For this reason, physical punishment is not a constructive method . Note that the triggering behavior has not been good, but does not offer correct alternatives to that behavior.

The child, therefore, will know that he has carried out an unwanted behavior for his parents, but he will not be able to learn what behavior he should perform the next time the same situation occurs. Therefore, physical punishment does not show how it can be improved, which increases the confusion of the child.

7. We teach that violence is useful in all situations, and that the strongest is the one who wins

We do not teach to reason, nor to solve problems in a friendly way. We teach that the strongest always wins and the weakest always loses .

With violence, the child does not learn to respect authority figures, and this can cause serious problems, such as transgression of norms. This can not only be a big problem when it comes to relating to others, but it can also trigger bad relationships with justice and society.

8. Deteriorates family relationships

In discussions where physical punishment is given there is a unilateral non-verbal communication . This communication is not favorable for any member of the family. Family members do not learn to dialogue and seek solutions that benefit everyone.

Some conclusions

These eight reasons show that physical punishment is not a recommended method to modify behaviors, as its undesirable side effects are notorious .

Currently, psychology recommends other types of conduct modifiers much healthier and without negative repercussions, such as withdrawal of attention to unwanted behavior and positive reinforcement of good behaviors.


10 Ways to Discipline Your Children (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 raisons de ne pas utiliser de châtiment corporel envers les enfants

Les 8 raisons de ne pas utiliser de châtiment corporel envers les enfants

Avril 22, 2019

Le punition physique depuis de nombreuses années, ce type de punition est standardisé. Jusqu'à récemment, le fouet était une pratique courante dans la plupart des familles avec de jeunes enfants. Même aujourd'hui, il est facile d'entendre des affirmations telles que "une gifle dans le temps ne fait jamais de mal".

Heureusement, ces dernières années, certains courants psychologiques ont gagné en force, tels que psychologie émotionnelle et la psychologie positive, qui affirme que la punition physique n'est pas la meilleure option pour corriger les comportements, en raison de l'impact émotionnel qu'ils ont sur la personne qui les reçoit. Et ceci est basé sur un grand nombre de raisons, parmi lesquelles nous trouvons les huit suivantes que nous avons proposé d'expliquer aujourd'hui.


Commençons

1. Il fournit une modélisation négative

Notre comportement influence directement le comportement de nos enfants. Cela signifie que, si nous utilisons la violence avec eux et / ou devant eux, nous favoriserons la normalisation de ce type de comportement , si tôt ou tard, ils vont intérioriser et répéter.

La punition physique, en tant que comportement violent, sera reproduite par nos enfants comme un moyen viable d’obtenir ce que vous voulez. Étant violents, nous éduquons nos enfants à la violence.

2. Nous enseignons des stratégies erronées de résolution de problèmes

Si nous utilisons habituellement la violence pour résoudre les conflits, Nous enseignons que la violence est une bonne stratégie pour résoudre les problèmes s . Notre fils l'utilisera dans tous les problèmes qui pourraient se présenter s'il ne connaissait pas d'autres stratégies pour résoudre les problèmes quotidiens.


3. Nous imposons la peur

Comme la punition physique se répète, nous faisons en sorte que notre enfant finisse par avoir peur de ces réactions. Ceci, dans un court laps de temps, conduira à des sentiments de rejet envers leurs propres parents .

Compte tenu de cela, il est possible que l'enfant commence à cacher des informations importantes par crainte de ce type de punition. C'est une autre raison pour laquelle la violence au sein de la famille nuit à la stabilité psychologique des enfants.

4. Nous faisons perdre confiance à notre fils

Face à la peur des réactions violentes des parents, l'enfant peut commencer à sentir qu'il n'a aucun soutien de ses parents, mais plutôt punition et souffrance.

Cela peut rendre difficile pour l'enfant de se sentir suffisamment formé pour communiquer ses problèmes et ses préoccupations aux parents, de peur de mauvaises réactions et de se sentir encore plus mal compris.


5. Perte d'estime de soi

Si la punition physique est donnée à plusieurs reprises (surtout si elle n’est pas accompagnée de renforcement positif avant le comportement souhaité), l'enfant peut commencer à intérioriser un sentiment de handicap de plus en plus puissants, ce qui réduira progressivement leur estime de soi; le petit finira par penser qu'il mérite un châtiment physique et qu'il ne pourra jamais satisfaire ses parents.

C'est ce qu'on appelle l'impuissance acquise.

6. La punition physique dit ce qui ne va pas, mais pas ce qui est bien

Pour cette raison, la punition physique n'est pas une méthode constructive . Notez que le comportement de déclenchement n'a pas été bon, mais n'offre pas d'alternatives correctes à ce comportement.

Par conséquent, l'enfant saura qu'il a adopté un comportement indésirable pour ses parents, mais il ne pourra pas savoir quel comportement il devra adopter la prochaine fois que la même situation se produira. Par conséquent, la punition physique ne montre pas comment elle peut être améliorée, ce qui augmente la confusion de l'enfant.

7. Nous enseignons que la violence est utile dans toutes les situations et que le plus fort est celui qui gagne

Nous n'enseignons pas à raisonner, ni à résoudre les problèmes de manière amicale. Nous enseignons que le plus fort gagne toujours et que le plus faible perd toujours .

Avec la violence, l'enfant n'apprend pas à respecter les figures d'autorité, ce qui peut entraîner de graves problèmes, tels que la transgression des normes. Cela peut non seulement être un gros problème lorsqu'il est question de relations avec les autres, mais cela peut aussi engendrer de mauvaises relations avec la justice et la société.

8. détériore les relations familiales

Dans les discussions où la punition physique est donnée il y a une communication unilatérale non verbale . Cette communication n’est favorable à aucun membre de la famille. Les membres de la famille n'apprennent pas à dialoguer et à rechercher des solutions profitant à tous.

Quelques conclusions

Ces huit raisons montrent que la punition physique n'est pas une méthode recommandée pour modifier les comportements, car ses effets secondaires indésirables sont notoires .

Actuellement, la psychologie recommande d'autres types de modificateurs de comportement beaucoup plus sains et sans répercussions négatives, tels que le retrait de l'attention sur les comportements non désirés et le renforcement positif des bons comportements.


12 principes pour arrêter d'être GENTIL et être SOI MÊME :) (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes