yes, therapy helps!
What would you dare to do if you were not afraid?

What would you dare to do if you were not afraid?

May 6, 2021

The lack of confidence, the fear of failure and doubts about oneself are sensations that assail us at different times of our lives, preventing us from giving the best of ourselves.

Why do they arise? Can we do something to overcome them? And more important: What would we be able to do if we were not afraid?

The loss of confidence

There are many reasons that can promote insecurity in people, causing them to lose confidence in themselves and their abilities. However, five of them tend to be more frequent. We describe them below.

1. Expectations too high

Perfectionism, like any other human quality, is adequate in its proper measure. While it is good to try to increase our achievements and improve ourselves as people, Being satisfied with our results can never be a problem .


2. Judging oneself with excessive severity

Many people have a tendency to judge and criticize, find the negative and make bad predictions about one's abilities. For this reason, they can sometimes convince themselves that they are not good enough in what they do, or that they lack the necessary qualities to achieve that competence.

3. Worry about fear

Everyone has fears and fears. However, this is not a problem. Putting too much importance on our fears or worrying too much about it can, however, limit our lives .

4. Lack of experience

The scarce practice in a given area reduces the likelihood of feeling calm at the time of carrying it out. If we do not have confidence in our abilities and abilities we will feel a strong fear to carry out a certain activity.


5. Lack of skills

As it is intuitive, It is not natural to feel confident when doing something unless we consider ourselves good about it .

How to improve self-confidence

Although our skills and previous experiences forge the "cushion of trust", it will be our actions (despite being unreliable) that gradually offer us peace of mind and certainty in our competition. What would we be able to do if we did not feel afraid to fail?

The trainer in Acceptance and commitment therapy Russ Harris reveals four steps in the trust cycle to achieve its consolidation:

1. Practice the skills

Swimming is learned by swimming. To fish, fishing. It does not matter to know the theory, to get skill in a field we have to practice it. If you avoid situations that pose a challenge, you will never be able to prove or improve your own skills.


2. Apply them effectively

To get properly developed in what we are doing we need to be able to focus on it , what in psychology is called mindfulness. If we get stuck in our thoughts or feelings we will not get completely involved in the task, so we will lose effectiveness in it and our results will get worse.

3. Rate the results

The human tendency to perfectionism leads us to want to do everything soon and well. Self-examination without criticism and comprehensive self-motivation are the appropriate way to make a feedback .

4. Enter the necessary changes

Modify actions that lead to errors , depending on the results obtained, it helps us to improve our results, thus increasing our performance.

Basic rules of trust

The trust gap is the place where one is trapped when fear gets in the way of our dreams and ambitions. Is it then bad fear?

It is common to hear that it is a sign of weakness that reduces our performance in what we undertake. However, it is not true. Trust does not consist in the absence of fear, but in a different relationship with this one . As pointed Eleanor Roosevelt : "We gain strength, courage and confidence in every experience in which we decided to look at fear head on, the danger is in refusing to face it, not to dare".

And, as the first rule of trust of Harris , acts of trust go first, feelings later. If we want to grow and develop as human beings we have to take risks outside our family territory (known as a comfort zone) and enter the unknown.

Despite what we may think, we should not wait to feel confident to act, or we can wait for a lifetime. And you? What would you dare to do if you were not afraid?

Bibliographic references:

  • Harris, R. (2012). Question of confidence. From fear to freedom. Santander: Sal Terrae.

FEAR IS ONLY AN ILLUSION | Inspirational Video 2018 | Dare to do. Motivation (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que vous oseriez faire si vous n'aviez pas peur?

Qu'est-ce que vous oseriez faire si vous n'aviez pas peur?

Septembre 18, 2019

Le manque de confiance en soi, la peur de l'échec et les doutes sur soi-même sont des sensations qui nous assaillent à différents moments de notre vie, nous empêchant de donner le meilleur de nous-mêmes.

Pourquoi surgissent-ils? Pouvons-nous faire quelque chose pour les surmonter? Et plus important: Que pourrions-nous faire si nous n'avions pas peur?

La perte de confiance

De nombreuses raisons peuvent favoriser l'insécurité chez les personnes et les amener à perdre confiance en elles-mêmes et en leurs capacités. Cependant, cinq d'entre eux ont tendance à être plus fréquents. Nous les décrivons ci-dessous.

1. attentes trop élevées

Le perfectionnisme, comme toute autre qualité humaine, est adéquat dans sa juste mesure. Bien qu’il soit bon d’augmenter nos réalisations et de nous améliorer en tant que personnes, Être satisfait de nos résultats ne peut jamais être un problème .


2. Se juger avec une sévérité excessive

Beaucoup de gens ont tendance à juger et à critiquer, à trouver le négatif et à faire de mauvaises prédictions sur leurs capacités. Pour cette raison, ils peuvent parfois se convaincre qu'ils ne sont pas assez bons dans ce qu'ils font ou qu'ils n'ont pas les qualités nécessaires pour acquérir cette compétence.

3. S'inquiéter de la peur

Tout le monde a des peurs et des peurs. Cependant, ce n'est pas un problème. Donner trop d'importance à nos peurs ou trop nous inquiéter peut toutefois limiter nos vies .

4. Manque d'expérience

La rareté des pratiques dans une zone donnée réduit le risque de se sentir calme au moment de l'exécuter. Si nous n’avons pas confiance en nos capacités, nous ressentirons une forte crainte de mener à bien une activité donnée.


5. Manque de compétences

Comme c'est intuitif, Il n’est pas naturel d’être confiant quand on fait quelque chose à moins que nous nous considérions bien à ce sujet. .

Comment améliorer la confiance en soi

Bien que nos compétences et expériences antérieures forgent le "coussin de confiance", ce seront nos actions (malgré leur manque de fiabilité) qui nous offriront progressivement la tranquillité d’esprit et la certitude de la concurrence. Que pourrions-nous faire si nous n'avions pas peur d'échouer?

Le formateur en Thérapie d'acceptation et d'engagement Russ Harris révèle quatre étapes dans le cycle de confiance pour parvenir à sa consolidation:

1. Pratiquer les compétences

La natation s'apprend en nageant. Pêcher, pêcher. Peu importe de connaître la théorie, pour acquérir des compétences dans un domaine, nous devons la pratiquer. Si vous évitez des situations qui posent un défi, vous ne pourrez jamais prouver ou améliorer vos propres compétences.


2. Appliquez-les efficacement

Pour bien développer ce que nous faisons, nous devons pouvoir nous concentrer sur cela. , qu'en psychologie s'appelle la pleine conscience. Si nous restons coincés dans nos pensées ou nos sentiments, nous ne participerons pas complètement à la tâche. Nous perdrons donc notre efficacité et nos résultats empireront.

3. Évaluez les résultats

La tendance humaine au perfectionnisme nous amène à vouloir tout faire vite et bien. L'auto-examen sans critique et l'auto-motivation complète sont le moyen approprié de faire un retour .

4. Entrez les modifications nécessaires

Modifier les actions qui conduisent à des erreurs , en fonction des résultats obtenus, cela nous aide à améliorer nos résultats, augmentant ainsi notre performance.

Règles de base de confiance

L’écart de confiance est l’endroit où l’on est pris au piège lorsque la peur nous empêche de réaliser nos rêves et nos ambitions. Est-ce alors une mauvaise peur?

Il est courant d'entendre que c'est un signe de faiblesse qui réduit notre performance dans ce que nous entreprenons. Cependant, ce n'est pas vrai. La confiance ne consiste pas en une absence de peur, mais en une relation différente avec celle-ci . Comme pointu Eleanor Roosevelt : "Nous gagnons en force, en courage et en confiance dans chaque expérience dans laquelle nous avons décidé de regarder la peur de face, le danger est de ne pas y faire face, de ne pas oser".

Et comme le première règle de confiance de Harris , les actes de confiance vont d’abord, les sentiments plus tard. Si nous voulons grandir et nous développer en tant qu'êtres humains, nous devons prendre des risques en dehors de notre territoire familial (zone de confort) et entrer dans l'inconnu.

Malgré ce que nous pouvons penser, nous ne devrions pas attendre d’être en confiance pour agir ou nous pouvons attendre toute notre vie. Et toi? Qu'est-ce que vous oseriez faire si vous n'aviez pas peur?

Références bibliographiques:

  • Harris, R. (2012). Question de confiance De la peur à la liberté. Santander: Sal Terrae.

Etais-je un bon enfant ? cheikh Ahmad Bazmoul (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes