yes, therapy helps!
The triarchic theory of intelligence of Sternberg

The triarchic theory of intelligence of Sternberg

February 22, 2024

The cognitive capacity of the human being It is one of the most researched aspects of psychology. The concept of intelligence has been changing throughout history, although for the most part it has been considered as the ability to solve problems and adapt efficiently to the environment.

There are theories that consider it a single general capacity, or a set of hierarchical capacities and subordinated to a basic capacity, while other theorists see that this concept is a set of more or less independent capacities that allow us to adapt successfully. One of the existing theories that try to explain how intelligence is structured is The Triarchic Theory of Intelligence by Robert J. Sternberg .


  • Related article: "The theories of human intelligence"

Triarchic theory of Sternberg: general concept

The triarchic theory of the intelligence of Sternberg is based on the conception of this one that the traditional and hierarchical models of the intelligence are not exhaustive since they do not give account of the use that becomes of the intelligence in himself, limiting itself to conceptualize its nature and functioning without observing how it is linked and applied in a real context.

Thus, this theory considers that the measurement of intellectual capacity has focused solely on one aspect of intelligence, ignoring other aspects of great relevance that form cognitive skills by themselves. In conclusion. Sternberg states that it is not enough to see what is done, but also how and why, when acting.


For Sternberg, intelligence is all mental activity that guides the conscious adaptation to the environment and to the selection or transformation of this with the purpose of predicting results and being able to actively provoke the adaptation of one to the medium or of the medium to one. It is the set of thinking skills that are used in the resolution of more or less everyday or abstract problems.

The conception of this author approaches the vision of intelligence as a set of capabilities instead of a single unmodifiable element. It is from this idea and from the perception that other theories do not establish how intelligence is linked to the real world that the author establishes his theory of triarchic intelligence, whose name is due to the consideration of three types of intelligence.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Sternberg's triangular theory of love"

The three types of intelligence

Sternberg elaborates a theory according to which he considers the existence of three types of intelligence that explain the processing of information internally, externally and at the level of interaction between the two.


In other words, consider the existence of three basic abilities that determine the intellectual capacity . Specifically, it establishes the existence of an analytical intelligence, a practical intelligence and a creative intelligence.

1. Analytical or componential intelligence

For the triarchic theory of the intelligence of Sternberg, the analytical intelligence supposes the ability to capture, store, modify and work with information . It is the closest to the unitary conception of intelligence, referring to the ability to establish plans and manage cognitive resources. Thanks to analytical intelligence we can perform mental operations such as defining, making decisions and generating solutions.

In this intelligence we can find the elementary components or processes that allow to work on the cognitive representations of reality , modify them and pass them through a processing that allows a response.

These components can be divided into metacomponents or control processes that allow decisions to be made and to mark how to think and act, as well as planning, performance or performance components which are put into action starting from the meta components and allow to carry out said established plans for them and the acquisition components which allow learning and obtaining information .

2. Practical or contextual intelligence

This type of intelligence refers to the ability of human beings to adapt to the environment in which they live. In the first place, the organism tries to survive from what already exists in the environment, taking advantage of the opportunities offered to adapt .

However, if this is not possible, the person must establish other mechanisms to adapt and survive. These other processes are the selection of environment and stimuli in order to improve their situation and / or the shaping of the environment in cases where it is not possible to change the environment, in this case making changes in the environment to better adjust your possibilities.

For example, a person who is hungry can select the environment and move to a place where there is plenty of food or take advantage of elements present in the environment that were previously not part of their diet to feed themselves, or can decide to change the environment by cultivating in an orchard your own food. It is about applying cognitive abilities with an adaptive purpose.

3. Creative or experiential intelligence

This type of intelligence is considered as the integration of information obtained from abroad with our psyche . In other words, it is that kind of skill that allows us to learn from experience. It is also linked to creativity and the resolution of problems not previously experienced.

In this sense Sternberg notes that the degree of novelty is important of the experiences and tasks. Ideally, the task can be new to a moderate degree, so that the subject can create and react to new stimuli while having some tool that allows him to cope.

Another relevant aspect is the automation , that is, the ability to replicate a behavior or knowledge without requiring a conscious effort. Repeating tasks on different occasions allows you to master them and reduce their level of novelty and the need for attention to each basic element that is part of them. The higher the level of automation, the greater the level of resources available to face other tasks successfully.

  • Related article: "Raymond Cattell's theory of intelligence"

Bibliographic references:

  • Hernangómez, L. and Fernández, C. (2012). Psychology of personality and differential. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 07. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Martin, M. (2007). Historical and conceptual analysis of the relationships between intelligence and reason. Spain: University of Malaga.
  • Sternberg, R. J. (1985). Beyond IQ: A Triarchic Theory of Intelligence. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

Sternberg's Triarchic Theory, simplified (February 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie triarchique de l'intelligence de Sternberg

La théorie triarchique de l'intelligence de Sternberg

Mai 16, 2022

La capacité cognitive de l'être humain C'est l'un des aspects les plus étudiés de la psychologie. Le concept de renseignement a évolué au cours de l'histoire, bien que la plupart du temps ait été considéré comme la capacité de résoudre des problèmes et de s'adapter efficacement à l'environnement.

Certaines théories considèrent qu'il s'agit d'une seule capacité générale ou d'un ensemble de capacités hiérarchiques subordonnées à une capacité de base, tandis que d'autres théoriciens considèrent que ce concept est un ensemble de capacités plus ou moins indépendantes qui nous permettent de nous adapter avec succès. L’une des théories existantes qui essaient d’expliquer la structure de l’intelligence est La théorie triarchique de l'intelligence par Robert J. Sternberg .


  • Article connexe: "Les théories de l'intelligence humaine"

La théorie triarchique de Sternberg: concept général

La théorie triarchique de l'intelligence de Sternberg est basée sur la conception de celle-ci selon laquelle les modèles traditionnels et hiérarchisés de l'intelligence ne sont pas exhaustifs, car ils ne rendent pas compte de l'utilisation que l'intelligence devient, se limitant à conceptualiser sa nature et fonctionne sans observer comment il est lié et appliqué dans un contexte réel.

Ainsi, cette théorie considère que la mesure de la capacité intellectuelle s'est concentré uniquement sur un aspect de l'intelligence, ignorant d’autres aspects d’une grande pertinence qui forment les compétences cognitives par eux-mêmes. En conclusion. Sternberg affirme qu'il ne suffit pas de voir ce qui est fait, mais aussi comment et pourquoi quand on agit.


Pour Sternberg, l'intelligence est toute activité mentale qui guide l'adaptation consciente à l'environnement et à la sélection ou à la transformation de celle-ci dans le but de prédire les résultats et de pouvoir activement provoquer l'adaptation de l'un à l'autre ou de l'un à l'autre. C'est l'ensemble des compétences de réflexion qui sont utilisées pour résoudre des problèmes plus ou moins quotidiens ou abstraits.

La conception de cet auteur aborde la vision de l'intelligence comme un ensemble de capacités au lieu d'un seul élément non modifiable. C’est à partir de cette idée et de la perception que les autres théories n’établissent pas comment l’intelligence est liée au monde réel que l’auteur établit sa théorie de l’intelligence triarchique, dont le nom est dû à la prise en compte de trois types d’intelligence.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "La théorie triangulaire de l'amour de Sternberg"

Les trois types d'intelligence

Sternberg élabore une théorie selon laquelle il considère l’existence de trois types de renseignements qui expliquent le traitement de l’information de manière interne, externe et au niveau de l’interaction entre les deux.


En d’autres termes, considérons l’existence de trois capacités de base qui déterminent la capacité intellectuelle . Plus précisément, il établit l'existence d'une intelligence analytique, d'une intelligence pratique et d'une intelligence créatrice.

1. Intelligence analytique ou composée

Pour la théorie triarchique de l'intelligence de Sternberg, l'intelligence analytique suppose la capacité de capturer, stocker, modifier et utiliser des informations . C'est la conception unitaire de l'intelligence qui se rapproche le plus de la capacité d'établir des plans et de gérer des ressources cognitives. Grâce à l'intelligence analytique, nous pouvons effectuer des opérations mentales telles que définir, prendre des décisions et générer des solutions.

Dans cette intelligence, nous pouvons trouver les composants ou les processus élémentaires permettre de travailler sur les représentations cognitives de la réalité , modifiez-les et transmettez-les à un traitement permettant une réponse.

Ces composants peuvent être divisés en métacomposants ou processus de contrôle permettant de prendre des décisions et d'indiquer comment penser et d'agir, ainsi qu'en éléments de planification, de performance ou de performance mis en œuvre à partir des méta-composants et permettant de réaliser les plans établis. pour eux et les composants d'acquisition qui permettre l'apprentissage et l'obtention d'informations .

2. Intelligence pratique ou contextuelle

Ce type d'intelligence fait référence à la capacité de l'être humain à s'adapter à l'environnement dans lequel il vit. En premier lieu, l’organisme essaie de survivre de ce qui existe déjà dans l’environnement, profiter des opportunités offertes pour s'adapter .

Toutefois, si cela n’est pas possible, la personne doit mettre en place d’autres mécanismes pour s’adapter et survivre. Ces autres processus sont la sélection de l'environnement et des stimuli afin d'améliorer leur situation et / ou la mise en forme de l'environnement dans les cas où il est impossible de modifier l'environnement, faire des changements dans l'environnement pour mieux ajuster vos possibilités.

Par exemple, une personne qui a faim peut choisir l’environnement et s’installer dans un endroit où la nourriture est abondante, ou tirer parti des éléments présents dans l’environnement qui ne faisaient pas partie de son régime alimentaire auparavant, un verger votre propre nourriture. Il s’agit d’appliquer des capacités cognitives dans un but adaptatif.

3. Intelligence créative ou expérientielle

Ce type de renseignement est considéré comme l'intégration des informations obtenues de l'étranger avec notre psyché . En d'autres termes, c'est ce genre de compétence qui nous permet d'apprendre de l'expérience. Cela est également lié à la créativité et à la résolution de problèmes jamais rencontrés auparavant.

Dans ce sens Sternberg note que le degré de nouveauté est important des expériences et tâches. Idéalement, la tâche peut être nouvelle à un degré modéré, afin que le sujet puisse créer de nouveaux stimuli et y réagir, tout en disposant d'un outil lui permettant de faire face.

Un autre aspect important est l'automatisation c'est-à-dire la capacité de reproduire un comportement ou une connaissance sans nécessiter un effort conscient. La répétition de tâches à différentes occasions vous permet de les maîtriser et de réduire leur niveau de nouveauté et le besoin d’attention à chaque élément de base qui en fait partie. Plus le niveau d'automatisation est élevé, plus le niveau de ressources disponibles pour faire face à d'autres tâches est important.

  • Article connexe: "La théorie de l'intelligence de Raymond Cattell"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Hernangómez, L. et Fernández, C. (2012). Psychologie de la personnalité et différentielle. Manuel de préparation du CEDE PIR, 07. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Martin, M. (2007). Analyse historique et conceptuelle des relations entre intelligence et raison. Espagne: Université de Malaga.
  • Sternberg, R. J. (1985). Au-delà du QI: une théorie triarchique de l'intelligence. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

Sternberg's Triarchic Theory of Intelligence (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes