yes, therapy helps!
WAIS-IV intelligence test (Wechsler Scale in Adults)

WAIS-IV intelligence test (Wechsler Scale in Adults)

November 7, 2022

The different versions of the Wechsler Scale of Intelligence for Adults have dominated the field of cognitive evaluation in people over 16 years since the 1950s and have contributed in a decisive way in the conception of intelligence in the field of psychology and in society in general.

In this article we will analyze the main scales and tests of the WAIS intelligence test . We will focus in particular on the latest version, the WAIS-IV scale, although we will start by reviewing the history of this method of assessing cognitive abilities.

  • Related article: "Types of intelligence tests"

The Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Adults (WAIS)

David Wechsler (1896-1981) was an American psychologist who trained with Karl Pearson and Charles Spearman, pioneers of psychometrics. In 1955 he published the first version of the test that we know as "Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Adults", commonly called "WAIS" by its acronym in the original English.


Previously, in 1939, this author had contributed to the creation of the Wechsler-Bellevue Intelligence Scale, which can be considered a direct precursor of what would be Wechsler's definitive work. Both tests they conceived intelligence as a set of interrelated elements that could be measured independently.

In 1981 a revised version of the Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale (WAIS-R) appeared. Subsequently, in the year 1997, the WAIS-III was launched; This new test contained updated scales applicable to many types of population and distinguished between the verbal and manipulative intellectual quotient, in addition to the total, which was obtained by combining the two previous ones.


The most recent version of the Wechsler test is the WAIS-IV , which was published in 2008. In this the verbal and manipulative ratios are replaced by four more specific indices (verbal comprehension, perceptive reasoning, working memory and processing speed) and a General Capacity Index is added that is used in the field clinical.

Since the first WAIS, these tests have focused on evaluating people over 16 years of age. There are also the Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children (WISC) and the Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Preschool and Primary (WPPSI). Currently the WISC is in its fifth version and the WPPSI in the fourth, and work is underway in the fifth WAIS.

  • Related article: "The WISC-V intelligence test: changes and novelties"

Scales and main tests of the WAIS-IV test

Wechsler's intelligence tests measure different capacities using specific tests. Some of the most characteristic are Search for symbols, which consists of identifying visual elements as quickly as possible, Matrices, similar to intelligence tests such as Raven, or Information, which evaluates general knowledge.


Each of these tests weighs in a broader index. In the WAIS-III, the verbal comprehension and work memory indices were part of the verbal IQ, while the perceptive organization and processing speed were part of the manipulative IQ; However, in the WAIS-IV we only find these indices together with the total CI , that combines them.

1. Verbal comprehension

The verbal comprehension index reflects the aptitude of a given individual to understand and use verbal language, in addition to the reasoning abilities associated with this type of material. It is also a good indicator of the quantity and quality of the knowledge acquired , and also of the recovery of long-term memories.

The main tests of the verbal comprehension index are the Similarity, the Vocabulary and the Information. On the other hand, the Comprehension test can be used as a complementary factor in the calculation of this index.

2. Perceptive reasoning

The terminology "Perceptual Reasoning" replaced that of "Perceptual Organization" in the passage from the third WAIS to the fourth. This factor measures the ability of the person evaluated to interpret, organize and think correctly using visual information ; therefore, it is related to fluid reasoning and perception rather than verbal.

The classic tests that make up this index are Design with cubes (create figures seen in images using cubes), Matrices and Incomplete Figures. It also includes two new tests: Visual Puzzles and Figurative Weight. The first is central to the calculation of the Perceptual Reasoning index, while the Figurative Weight is a complementary subtest.

3. Work memory

The Work Memory index evaluates the ability to apprehend and retain information in the short term , as well as to carry out cognitive operations on this. It consists of two basic tests: Arithmetic and Retention of digits. It also includes the complementary test Succession of numbers and letters.

  • Related article: "Work (operational) memory: components and functions"

4. Processing speed

Processing speed is a measure of the individual skills for process visual information quickly and efficiently . The results in the tests that make up this index also serve as a secondary indicator of motor speed.

The two main tests that weighted in this index are Search for symbols and Keys. Cancellation, which is the only new test in the WAIS-IV along with visual puzzles and figurative weight, serves as a supplementary factor.

  • Perhaps it interests you: "Is the Intellectual Quotient the same as intelligence?"
Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Test d'intelligence WAIS-IV (échelle de Wechsler chez l'adulte)

Test d'intelligence WAIS-IV (échelle de Wechsler chez l'adulte)

Juillet 30, 2021

Les différentes versions de l'échelle d'intelligence de Wechsler pour adultes dominent le domaine de l'évaluation cognitive chez les personnes de plus de 16 ans depuis les années 1950 et ont contribué de manière décisive à la conception de l'intelligence dans le domaine de la psychologie et la société en général.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons les principales échelles et tests du test d'intelligence WAIS . Nous nous concentrerons en particulier sur la dernière version, l'échelle WAIS-IV, bien que nous commencions par examiner l'historique de cette méthode d'évaluation des capacités cognitives.

  • Article connexe: "Types de tests d'intelligence"

La balance d'intelligence de Wechsler pour adultes (WAIS)

David Wechsler (1896-1981) était un psychologue américain formé auprès de Karl Pearson et de Charles Spearman, pionniers de la psychométrie. En 1955, il publia la première version du test que nous connaissons sous le nom de "Balance d'intelligence de Wechsler pour adultes", communément appelée "WAIS" par son acronyme en anglais original.


Auparavant, en 1939, cet auteur avait contribué à la création de l'échelle d'intelligence Wechsler-Bellevue, qui peut être considérée comme un précurseur direct de ce que serait l'œuvre définitive de Wechsler. Deux tests ils ont conçu l'intelligence comme un ensemble d'éléments interdépendants cela pourrait être mesuré indépendamment.

En 1981, une version révisée de la Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale (WAIS-R) est apparue. Par la suite, en 1997, le WAIS-III a été lancé; Ce nouveau test contenait des échelles actualisées applicables à de nombreux types de population et distinguant le quotient intellectuel verbal et manipulateur, en plus du total obtenu par la combinaison des deux précédents.


La version la plus récente du test de Wechsler est la WAIS-IV. , qui a été publié en 2008. Les rapports verbaux et de manipulation sont remplacés par quatre indices plus spécifiques (compréhension verbale, raisonnement perceptif, mémoire de travail et vitesse de traitement) et un indice de capacité générale est utilisé, qui est utilisé sur le terrain. clinique

Depuis le premier WAIS, ces tests se sont concentrés sur l’évaluation des personnes de plus de 16 ans. Il y a aussi l'échelle d'intelligence de Wechsler pour les enfants (WISC) et l'échelle d'intelligence de Wechsler pour les enfants d'âge préscolaire et primaire (WPPSI). Le WISC est actuellement dans sa cinquième version et le WPPSI dans la quatrième et les travaux sont en cours dans le cinquième WAIS.

  • Article connexe: "Le test d'intelligence du WISC-V: changements et nouveautés"

Échelles et principaux tests du test WAIS-IV

Les tests d'intelligence de Wechsler mesurent différentes capacités à l'aide de tests spécifiques. Parmi les plus caractéristiques, citons la recherche de symboles, qui consiste à identifier le plus rapidement possible les éléments visuels, les matrices, similaires aux tests d’intelligence tels que Raven, ou l’information, qui évalue les connaissances générales.


Chacun de ces tests pèse dans un indice plus large. Dans le WAIS-III, les indices de compréhension verbale et de mémoire de travail faisaient partie du QI verbal, tandis que l'organisation perceptive et la vitesse de traitement faisaient partie du QI manipulateur; cependant, dans le WAIS-IV, nous ne trouvons ces indices qu’avec le total des IC , qui les combine.

1. Compréhension verbale

L'indice de compréhension verbale reflète l'aptitude d'un individu donné à comprendre et à utiliser le langage verbal, en plus des capacités de raisonnement associées à ce type de matériel. C'est aussi un bon indicateur de la quantité et de la qualité des connaissances acquises , ainsi que de la récupération des mémoires à long terme.

Les principaux tests de l’indice de compréhension verbale sont la similarité, le vocabulaire et l’information. D'autre part, le test de compréhension peut être utilisé comme facteur complémentaire dans le calcul de cet indice.

2. Raisonnement perceptif

La terminologie "Raisonnement perceptuel" a remplacé celle d '"Organisation perceptuelle" dans le passage du troisième WAIS au quatrième. Ce facteur mesure la capacité de la personne évaluée à interpréter, organiser et penser correctement en utilisant des informations visuelles ; par conséquent, elle est liée à un raisonnement et à une perception fluides plutôt qu’à la parole.

Les tests classiques qui composent cet index sont la conception avec des cubes (créer des figures vues dans des images à l'aide de cubes), des matrices et des figures incomplètes. Il comprend également deux nouveaux tests: les puzzles visuels et le poids figuratif. Le premier est au cœur du calcul de l’indice de raisonnement perceptuel, tandis que le poids figuratif est un sous-test complémentaire.

3. mémoire de travail

L’index de la mémoire de travail évalue la capacité à appréhender et à conserver des informations à court terme , ainsi que pour effectuer des opérations cognitives à ce sujet. Il consiste en deux tests de base: arithmétique et conservation des chiffres. Il comprend également le test complémentaire Succession de chiffres et de lettres.

  • Article associé: "Mémoire de travail (opérationnelle): composants et fonctions"

4. Vitesse de traitement

La vitesse de traitement est une mesure des compétences individuelles pour traiter les informations visuelles rapidement et efficacement . Les résultats des tests composant cet indice servent également d'indicateur secondaire de la vitesse du moteur.

Les deux principaux tests pondérés dans cet index sont la recherche de symboles et de clés. L’annulation, qui est le seul nouvel essai du WAIS-IV, ainsi que les énigmes visuelles et le poids figuratif, constitue un facteur supplémentaire.

  • Cela vous intéresse peut-être: "Le quotient intellectuel est-il identique à l'intelligence?"

Comment passer un test de Q.I. - La chronique #3 (Juillet 2021).


Articles Connexes