yes, therapy helps!
This is the vision (nocturnal and diurnal) of cats

This is the vision (nocturnal and diurnal) of cats

August 8, 2022

Many people choose to share their life with a pet, and cats are one of the most common species. These felines are very popular, providing companionship and affection while being generally independent creatures, but interestingly, despite how well they fit into the habits of life of human beings, they see things in a very different way U.S.

In many cases we can get to ask how the animals perceive the world. In order to satisfy this curiosity, in this article we will review the conclusions reached by various experts about night and day vision of cats .

  • Related article: "The 10 most intelligent animals that exist"

The eye of the cat

Vision is one of the most developed senses in the human being. Although in other animal species this sense is not as important as for a human due to the great development of hearing and smell, it remains an important tool that allows to fix and locate the stimuli with relative precision.


But the cats present some peculiarities in the eye if we compare it with that of a human. They have a much larger number of rods, the receptors that perceive light and that are also linked to the perception of movement, while their cones are not as effective as ours and enjoy a less pigment. In addition, these rods establish connections between them, and create small nodes before connecting to the optic nerve.

Another particular element of the cat's eye is that behind the retina they have a layer of reflective cells called tapetum lucidum, which makes it easier to capture any available light. It is also of interest that they have a great capacity for pupillary dilation, which on the one hand makes it easier to capture light in the dark but on the other, in high luminosity conditions, they have to make efforts to focus the image.


They also have a third inner eyelid that keeps the eyes lubricated, which is why it is not so frequent to see them blink.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Animal intelligence: the theories of Thorndike and Köhler"

Characteristics of a cat's vision

We have seen that the eye of a cat, although it resembles in some things that of a human being, has certain differences that allow it to have a different visual capacity. Some of the differences that have been found throughout the various investigations carried out are the following.

1. A visual field greater than the human

The investigations carried out by various authors reflect that the visual field of a cat is greater than that which a human can capture. While the human being has a 180º vision, cats enjoy the possibility of being able to see in 200º .

2. Night vision

Domestic cats have on average a lot of canes or photoreceptors much greater than human. This means that, together with the aforementioned tapetum lucidum, they are able to see in the shadows or in the darkness, specifically up to 8 times better than us .


3. Perception of movement

The eyes of a cat are very effective at distinguishing movement, especially in the presence of small or fast objects. However, it has been observed that they have difficulty perceiving very slow movements , being for them something almost static.

4. Color perception

There is a popular legend that cats and dogs are color blind, and can only see black and white. The investigation reflects the opposite; the cats they are able to see in color . However, they are dichromatic, and do not have a pigment that allows them to see the color red. In this way, like us, they are able to see blue and green. His vision of color would be similar, then, to that of a colorblind human with protanopia.

5. Sharpness

In situations of darkness or darkness, the vision of the cat is clearly superior, being able to see with great ease. But nevertheless, during the day the vision of the cats is not so good , and it has been seen that in very bright circumstances their canes are activated in such dimension that they do not finish being able to determine which are stimulated. Thus, the clarity of cat vision is less, which makes them see the images in a somewhat blurred.

6. Neither near nor far

In general, the characteristics of the eyes of cats, their size and location in the body make these felines have an optimal field of vision between three and six meters. Before the three meters usually have a certain level of hyperopia , while beyond the six there may be a slight myopia.


How do animals see in the dark? - Anna Stöckl (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
C'est la vision (nocturne et diurne) des chats

C'est la vision (nocturne et diurne) des chats

Octobre 25, 2021

Beaucoup de gens choisissent de partager leur vie avec un animal de compagnie, et les chats sont l'une des espèces les plus communes. Ces félins sont très populaires, apportant de la compagnie et de l'affection tout en étant généralement des créatures indépendantes, mais il est intéressant de noter que malgré leur adaptation aux habitudes de vie des êtres humains, ils voient les choses d'une manière très différente. à nous

Dans de nombreux cas, nous pouvons nous demander comment les animaux perçoivent le monde. Afin de satisfaire cette curiosité, dans cet article, nous passerons en revue les conclusions de différents experts. à propos de la vision nocturne et diurne des chats .

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 animaux les plus intelligents qui existent"

L'oeil du chat

La vision est l'un des sens les plus développés de l'être humain. Bien que chez d'autres espèces animales, ce sens ne soit pas aussi important que pour l'homme en raison du développement important de l'audition et de l'odorat, il reste un outil important qui permet de fixer et de localiser les stimuli avec une précision relative.


Mais les chats présenter des particularités dans les yeux si on le compare à celui d'un humain. Ils ont un nombre beaucoup plus grand de bâtonnets, les récepteurs qui perçoivent la lumière et qui sont également liés à la perception du mouvement, alors que leurs cônes ne sont pas aussi efficaces que les nôtres et bénéficient d'un pigment moins pigmenté. De plus, ces tiges établissent des connexions entre elles et créent de petits nœuds avant de se connecter au nerf optique.

Un autre élément particulier de l'oeil du chat est que derrière la rétine, ils ont une couche de cellules réfléchissantes tapetum lucidum, ce qui facilite la capture de la lumière disponible. Il est également intéressant de noter qu'ils ont une grande capacité de dilatation pupillaire, ce qui facilite d'une part la capture de la lumière dans l'obscurité, mais d'autre part, dans des conditions de forte luminosité, ils doivent s'efforcer de focaliser l'image.


Ils ont également une troisième paupière interne qui garde les yeux lubrifiés, ce qui explique pourquoi il n’est pas si fréquent de les voir cligner des yeux.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Intelligence animale: les théories de Thorndike et Köhler"

Caractéristiques de la vision d'un chat

Nous avons vu que l’œil d’un chat, bien qu’il ressemble à certaines choses à celui d’un être humain, présente certaines différences qui lui permettent d’avoir une capacité visuelle différente. Certaines des différences constatées au cours des différentes enquêtes sont les suivantes.

1. Un champ visuel plus grand que l'humain

Les recherches effectuées par différents auteurs montrent que le champ visuel d'un chat est supérieur à celui qu'un humain peut capturer. Alors que l'être humain a une vision à 180º, les chats ont la possibilité de voir à 200º .

2. vision nocturne

Les chats domestiques ont en moyenne beaucoup de cannes ou de photorécepteurs beaucoup plus grands que les humains. Cela signifie qu'avec le tapetum lucidum susmentionné, ils sont capables de voir dans l'ombre ou dans l'obscurité, plus précisément jusqu'à 8 fois mieux que nous .


3. Perception du mouvement

Les yeux d'un chat sont très efficaces pour distinguer les mouvements, en particulier en présence de petits objets ou d'objets rapides. Cependant, il a été observé que ils ont du mal à percevoir des mouvements très lents , étant pour eux quelque chose de presque statique.

4. perception des couleurs

Il existe une légende populaire selon laquelle les chiens et les chats sont daltoniens et ne peuvent voir qu'en noir et blanc. L'enquête reflète le contraire. les chats ils sont capables de voir en couleur . Cependant, ils sont dichromatiques et ne possèdent pas de pigment leur permettant de voir la couleur rouge. De cette façon, comme nous, ils peuvent voir le bleu et le vert. Sa vision de la couleur serait alors semblable à celle d'un humain daltonien souffrant de protanopie.

5. netteté

Dans les situations d'obscurité ou d'obscurité, la vision du chat est clairement supérieure, permettant de voir avec une grande facilité. Cependant, pendant la journée la vision des chats n'est pas si bonne , et il a été constaté que dans des conditions très lumineuses, leurs cannes sont activées dans une dimension telle qu’elles ne finissent pas de déterminer lesquelles sont stimulées. Ainsi, la vision du chat est moins claire, ce qui lui permet de voir les images de manière un peu floue.

6. Ni proche ni lointain

En général, les caractéristiques des yeux des chats, leur taille et leur emplacement dans le corps confèrent à ces félins un champ de vision optimal entre trois et six mètres. Avant les trois mètres ont généralement un certain niveau d'hypermétropie , alors qu'au-delà des six, il peut y avoir une légère myopie.


Fatal Bazooka feat. Vitoo "Mauvaise Foi nocturne" HD (Octobre 2021).


Articles Connexes