yes, therapy helps!
John Wayne Gacy, the murderous case of the murderous clown

John Wayne Gacy, the murderous case of the murderous clown

November 29, 2021

One of the most famous cases that are studied in the subjects of forensic psychology is that of John Wayne Gacy, an individual who was adorable to others, but who committed several dozen crimes, tortures and abuses.

Gacy was cajoled to young people after disguising himself as a clown, so many of these agreed to stay with him. The coulrophobia is an irrational fear of clowns, and although these characters tend to entertain the little ones, in this terrible case, the fear of clowns is totally justified. His story has inspired several films because of his brutality.

Who is John Wayne Gacy?

John Wayne Gacy, Jr. he was one of the most famous serial killers in the United States , and committed its crimes during the decade of the 70. In 1978 it was arrested and in 1994 executed by the death of 33 young people who were buried in their house or thrown to the Des Plaines River (the rest) in Illinois.


He was popularly called "the murderous clown" because he organized parties in the neighborhood and invited the neighbors to barbecue in his garden, while entertaining the younger ones, curiously where his victims were buried, as an entertainment figure he was known as "Pogo the clown".

The birth of a monster

John Wayne Gacy, Jr. was born in Chicago, Illinois, and was the second of three children. His father was a macho who always criticized him. He was also an alcoholic, so little Gacy did not have an easy childhood. At age 11 he had an accident when he hit his head with a swing that caused a blood clot in his head that went unnoticed until he was 16 years old, when he began to have dizziness.


During his high school years his family moved several times, which caused him to go to different schools and become a strange person with little emotional stability. Even so, and despite the difficulties, he graduated in Business Management at the Northwestern Business College.

After a position of practices Nunn-Bush Shoe Company, in 1964 was promoted and transferred to Springfield in Illinois. Working there he met a worker who became his wife, Marlynn Myers, and consummated their marriage the following year in 1065. The parents of the latter, who acquired several premises of the Kentucky Fried Chicken franchise (KFC), offered him a position of manager in Waterloo, Iowa. Gacy accepted the option of going to work outside.

Living in Waterloo, he had two children and was part of different charitable organizations in the area. And despite family stability, the rumors of his homosexuality soon spread throughout his neighborhood . It was said that he had made intimate proposals to different young people who worked in the restaurant. Despite these rumors, the Jaycess Club named him "honorable vice-president" of the Jaycees de Waterloo in 1967.


At that time his professional life was perfect, but not his personal life, in which he quickly began to have serious problems. He repeatedly cheated on his wife and started taking drugs. In addition, he built a room in his basement where he invited young people to drink and tried to have sex with some of them.

Denounced and imprisoned

But his idyll with the inhabitants of Waterloo would soon come to an end, as he received several complaints from young people who came to his basement. Mark Miller was the first to go to the police stating that he had been tied up and abused on one of the visits to the home of the murderous clown. John Wayne Gacy He was sentenced to 10 years in prison but his good behavior allowed him to be on the street at 18 months . His wife divorced him and never saw his two children again.

After leaving prison, Gacy returned to Illinois to live with her mother, and in 1971, thanks to the financial help of her mother, she bought a house at 8213 West Summerdale Avenue, in an area of ​​Chicago.

Your most macabre crimes

After his time in prison, Gacy was responsible for leaving behind his past and was well received by the inhabitants of the new town where he lived. In fact, he was a kind and loving person because he organized barbecues in his home and disguised himself as a clown to entertain the younger ones and the children who were sick. Few neighbors could imagine the kind of person he was.

In 1972 he married Carole Hoff, but his marriage ended in 1976 because he stated that they had no intimate relationships and had discovered that he took pleasure in adult magazines with homosexual content.

In this town, the killer clown carried out dozens of murders, such as a young man named Darell Samson who went to the house on West Summerdale Avenue and never saw him again alive. During that decade, Gacy continued to abuse, torture, and kill many young people . Some of his victims were Randall Reflett, Samuel Stapleton, William Carroll, Rick Johnston Gregory Godzik ... so up to a total of 33 innocent young people. The youngest of 14 years and the oldest of 21.

His arrest and execution

It was from 1977 when Gacy began to have bad reputation, especially after the disappearance of a boy 19 years, a young man was arrested for driving his vehicle. The young man who was arrested claimed that the car had been sold to him by Gacy. Although Gacy had already received several complaints previously that had not been taken into account, everything changed in 1978, when Jeffrey Rignall, 26, accused him of attacking him with a wet cloth of chloroform. When he woke up, he was immobilized in the cellar of the murderous clown where he was the victim of abuse and torture by Gacy .

After several hours of suffering, Rignall woke up in the middle of a field surrounded by snow, and was very physically damaged. In spite of everything, he managed to leave the place. His ordeal would still last a few months because, although he identified his attacker in a photo, the police did not believe him. He then hired a lawyer who requested the arrest warrant, and even though Gacy was investigated, he was surprisingly released.

Now, he was not so lucky with Robert Piest, his last victim. Since he left several clues and did not take into account that his parents were waiting for him at home and knew that his son had gone to see Gacy. As his son was slow to return, they began to look for him and contacted the police. Several agents went to his house and Gacy did not have time to hide the corpse of the boy who has just strangled .

The police found the bodies in his house and Gacy himself confessed that he had thrown the rest into the river. He was convicted and executed in May 1994.

Possible explanations of the case of the murderous clown

This terrifying case became popular in the United States and is currently being studied in courses and subjects of forensic psychology, along with other cases such as Petiso Orejudo or Beth.

Psychologists have contributed different opinions and explanations to the causes of the personality this serial killer. Some point out the poor relationship with his father who, in addition to being an alcoholic, treated him very badly during his childhood . Others think that the blow he received in the head and the subsequent fainting suffered from the age of 16 had something to do with his macabre behavior. Even some psychoanalysts have suggested that the murder of these young people was the unconscious expression of self-hatred for their own homosexuality, a condition that they never came to terms with.

After his death, Gacy's brain was extracted. But the forensic psychiatrist who examined him, and despite the speculations of many professionals, found no abnormalities that could explain Gacy's violent behavior. This same medical examiner claimed that John Wayne Gacy did not comply with the psychological profile characteristic of a serial killer and Dr. Morrison, who knew John himself and who studied different killers like Ed Gein, is his role as a psychiatrist witness in the case , I affirm that: "Gacy had the emotional structure of a child".


John Wayne Gacy - Serial killer documentary (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
John Wayne Gacy, l'affaire meurtrière du clown meurtrier

John Wayne Gacy, l'affaire meurtrière du clown meurtrier

Février 21, 2019

L’un des cas les plus célèbres étudiés dans les domaines de la psychologie légale est celui de la John Wayne Gacy, une personne qui était adorable avec les autres, mais qui a commis plusieurs dizaines de crimes, tortures et abus.

Gacy a été cajolé aux jeunes après s'être déguisé en clown. Beaucoup d'entre eux ont donc accepté de rester avec lui. La coulrophobie est une peur irrationnelle des clowns, et bien que ces personnages aient tendance à divertir les plus petits, dans ce cas terrible, la crainte des clowns est totalement justifiée. Son histoire a inspiré plusieurs films à cause de sa brutalité.

Qui est John Wayne Gacy?

John Wayne Gacy, Jr. il était l'un des tueurs en série les plus célèbres aux États-Unis et a commis ses crimes pendant la décennie des 70. En 1978, il a été arrêté et exécuté en 1994 par la mort de 33 jeunes qui ont été enterrés dans leur maison ou jetés à la rivière Des Plaines (le reste) dans l’Illinois.


Il était communément appelé "le clown meurtrier" parce qu'il organisait des fêtes dans le quartier et invitait les voisins à faire un barbecue dans son jardin, tout en divertissant les plus jeunes, curieusement où ses victimes étaient enterrées. En tant que célébrité, il était surnommé "Pogo le clown".

La naissance d'un monstre

John Wayne Gacy, Jr. est né à Chicago, Illinois, et était le deuxième de trois enfants. Son père était un macho qui le critiquait toujours. C'était aussi un alcoolique, alors le petit Gacy n'a pas eu une enfance facile. À l'âge de 11 ans, il a eu un accident lorsqu'il s'est frappé la tête avec une balançoire qui lui a causé un caillot de sang qui est passé inaperçu jusqu'à l'âge de 16 ans, quand il a commencé à avoir des vertiges.


Pendant ses années de lycée, sa famille a déménagé plusieurs fois, ce qui l'a amené à fréquenter différentes écoles et à devenir une personne étrange avec peu de stabilité émotionnelle. Malgré tout, et malgré les difficultés, il est diplômé en gestion des affaires du Northwestern Business College.

Après une position de pratiques Nunn-Bush Shoe Company, en 1964 a été promu et transféré à Springfield dans l'Illinois. Travaillant sur place, il rencontra un ouvrier qui devint sa femme, Marlynn Myers, et consomma leur mariage l'année suivante, en 1065. Les parents de ce dernier, qui acquirent plusieurs locaux de la franchise Kentucky Fried Chicken (KFC), lui proposèrent un poste de gestionnaire à Waterloo, Iowa, Gacy a accepté la possibilité d’aller travailler à l’extérieur.

Vivant à Waterloo, il avait deux enfants et faisait partie de différentes organisations caritatives de la région. Et malgré la stabilité familiale, les rumeurs sur son homosexualité se sont rapidement répandues dans son voisinage . On a dit qu'il avait fait des propositions intimes à différents jeunes qui travaillaient dans le restaurant. En dépit de ces rumeurs, le club Jaycess le nomma "honorable vice-président" des Jaycees de Waterloo en 1967.


A cette époque, sa vie professionnelle était parfaite, mais pas sa vie personnelle, dans laquelle il commença rapidement à avoir de graves problèmes. Il a plusieurs fois trompé sa femme et a commencé à se droguer. En outre, il a aménagé une pièce dans son sous-sol où il a invité des jeunes à boire et a tenté d’avoir des relations sexuelles avec certains d’entre eux.

Dénoncé et emprisonné

Mais son idylle avec les habitants de Waterloo allait bientôt prendre fin, car il avait reçu plusieurs plaintes de jeunes gens venus dans son sous-sol. Mark Miller a été le premier à se rendre à la police, affirmant qu'il avait été ligoté et maltraité lors de l'une des visites à la maison du clown meurtrier. John Wayne Gacy Il a été condamné à 10 ans de prison, mais sa bonne conduite lui a permis d'être dans la rue à 18 mois. . Sa femme a divorcé et n'a jamais revu ses deux enfants.

Après avoir quitté la prison, Gacy est retournée en Illinois vivre chez sa mère et, en 1971, grâce à l'aide financière de sa mère, elle a acheté une maison au 8213 West Summerdale Avenue, dans un quartier de Chicago.

Vos crimes les plus macabres

Après son incarcération, Gacy a laissé derrière lui son passé et a été bien accueilli par les habitants de la nouvelle ville où il habitait. En fait, il était gentil et aimant parce qu’il organisait des barbecues chez lui et se déguisait en clown pour divertir les plus jeunes et les enfants malades. Peu de voisins pouvaient imaginer le genre de personne qu'il était.

En 1972, il a épousé Carole Hoff, mais son mariage a pris fin en 1976 parce qu'il avait déclaré ne pas entretenir de relations intimes et avait découvert qu'il se plaisait dans des magazines pour adultes avec un contenu homosexuel.

Dans cette ville, le clown meurtrier a commis des dizaines de meurtres, par exemple un jeune homme du nom de Darell Samson qui s'est rendu à la maison de West Summerdale Avenue et ne l'a plus jamais revu vivant. Au cours de cette décennie, Gacy a continué à maltraiter, torturer et tuer de nombreux jeunes . Parmi ses victimes figurent Randall Reflett, Samuel Stapleton, William Carroll, Rick Johnston Gregory Godzik ... soit un total de 33 jeunes innocents. Le plus jeune de 14 ans et le plus vieux de 21 ans.

Son arrestation et son exécution

C'est à partir de 1977 que Gacy commença à avoir mauvaise réputation, surtout après la disparition d'un garçon de 19 ans, un jeune homme fut arrêté pour conduite au volant de son véhicule. Le jeune homme qui a été arrêté a affirmé que la voiture lui avait été vendue par Gacy. Bien que Gacy ait déjà reçu plusieurs plaintes qui n’avaient pas été prises en compte auparavant, tout a changé en 1978, lorsque Jeffrey Rignall, 26 ans, l’a accusé de l’avoir attaqué avec un chiffon humide de chloroforme. Quand il s'est réveillé, il a été immobilisé dans la cave du clown meurtrier où il a été victime d'abus et de torture par Gacy .

Après plusieurs heures de souffrance, Rignall s'est réveillé au milieu d'un champ entouré de neige et a été très endommagé. Malgré tout, il a réussi à quitter les lieux. Son calvaire durerait encore quelques mois car, bien qu'il ait identifié son agresseur sur une photo, la police ne le croyait pas. Il a ensuite engagé un avocat qui a demandé le mandat d'arrêt et, même si une enquête a été ouverte sur Gacy, il a été relâché de manière surprenante.

Il n’a pas eu autant de chance avec Robert Piest, sa dernière victime. Depuis qu'il a laissé plusieurs indices et qu'il n'a pas tenu compte du fait que ses parents l'attendaient à la maison et savaient que son fils était allé voir Gacy. Comme son fils tardait à revenir, ils ont commencé à le chercher et ont contacté la police. Plusieurs agents se sont rendus chez lui et Gacy n'a pas eu le temps de cacher le cadavre du garçon qui vient de s'étrangler .

La police a retrouvé les corps dans sa maison et Gacy lui-même a avoué avoir jeté le reste dans la rivière. Il a été reconnu coupable et exécuté en mai 1994.

Explications possibles du cas du clown meurtrier

Ce cas terrifiant est devenu populaire aux États-Unis et est actuellement à l’étude dans des cours et des sujets de psychologie légale, avec d’autres cas tels que Petiso Orejudo ou Beth.

Les psychologues ont donné différents avis et explications aux causes de la personnalité de ce tueur en série. Certains soulignent la mauvaise relation avec son père qui, en plus d'être alcoolique, l'a très mal traité durant son enfance. . D'autres pensent que le coup macéré qu'il a subi à la tête et les évanouissements qui ont suivi depuis l'âge de 16 ans ont un rapport avec son comportement macabre. Même certains psychanalystes ont suggéré que le meurtre de ces jeunes était l'expression inconsciente de la haine de soi pour leur propre homosexualité, une condition avec laquelle ils ne s'étaient jamais accommodés.

Après sa mort, le cerveau de Gacy a été extrait. Mais le psychiatre légiste qui l'a examiné et malgré les spéculations de nombreux professionnels, n'a trouvé aucune anomalie pouvant expliquer le comportement violent de Gacy. Ce même médecin légiste a affirmé que John Wayne Gacy n’était pas conforme au profil psychologique d’un tueur en série et que le Dr Morrison, qui connaissait John lui-même et avait étudié différents tueurs comme Ed Gein, est son rôle de témoin psychiatre dans cette affaire. , J’affirme que: "Gacy avait la structure émotionnelle d’un enfant".


John Wayne Gacy Le Clown Tueur en Série [SKC] (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes