yes, therapy helps!
What is social psychology?

What is social psychology?

May 26, 2024

When we collect information about the teachings and theories that the Social psychology , we can realize that this is a discipline that began to be recognized and developed as such at the beginning of the 20th century in the United States.

Social psychology: definition

The Social psychology it's a branch within psychology that analyzes processes of a psychological nature that influence the way a society works, as well as the way in which social interactions are carried out . In short, it is the social processes that modulate the personality and characteristics of each person.

Also, social psychology is often described as the science that inquires about social phenomena, trying to unravel the laws and principles that govern coexistence between humans. Thus, this branch of psychology is responsible for investigating different social organizations, trying to extract patterns of behavior from the people who make up the group, their roles and the set of situations that modulate their behavior.


What exactly does social psychology study?

The object of study of social psychology are, as we have said, the influence of Social relations about the behavior and mental states of people. To this effect, one of the key theories in this discipline is that of symbolic interactionism . One of his predecessors, George H. Mead, developed a deep study on language, gestures and behavior, as products of interpersonal relationships that allow life in the community and, specifically, their personal face-to-face interactions.

Obviously, in our societies there are organizations and institutions constituted around certain sociocultural conditions that are a product of the interaction between people. Thus, it is not difficult to imagine that there is a collective consciousness that facilitates the understanding of these social articulations.


Social psychology, then, it studies the observable psychological and social processes, which helps us to understand how we act when we are part of groups or societies . Social psychology also encompasses the study of personal attitudes and the influence (bidirectional) with social thought.

Representatives and researchers of social psychology

Let's meet some of the most outstanding representatives of this field of psychology.

August Comte

One of the main representatives of social psychology for its relevance in the emergence of this discipline, is the French sociologist Auguste Comte (1798 - 1857). This researcher was the pioneer in proposing concepts such as positive moral and wonder about several aspects that related the role of the subject in the yes of a society and culture , in addition to not abandoning their curiosity about the psychobiological foundations that also influence human behavior.


Karl Marx

Another of the forerunners of the discipline of social psychology was the German philosopher, economist and sociologist Karl Marx (1818 - 1883). This fruitful intellectual He began to suggest certain concepts and elements that would serve, after his death, to establish the foundations of social psychology . For example, he was the forerunner of a line of research that related the cultural, institutional, religious, material and technical influences on the psychology of the individual.

Among the contributions of Karl Marx to the beginnings of Social Psychology we find the fact that we emphasize that what we think and feel is historically constructed, does not arise from our insides in isolation.

The American school: Mead, Allport and Lewin

To the two intellectuals mentioned above, we can add the enormous influence of those who, this time, consider themselves the founding fathers of social psychology . Three American psychologists: George Mead , Floyd Allport Y Kurt Lewin .

The last of them, Kurt Lewin (in the image), is considered the architect of the so-called Modern Social Psychology, school that eventually built the foundations on which the Psychology of Gestalt would be built. He is also the author of the Field Theory , that explains us that the individual variations of the behavior in relation to the norm are strongly conditioned by the struggle between the subjective perceptions of the individual and the psychological environment in which he finds himself.

So, Lewin concludes that human behavior can only be cognizable within its own environment, in its environment . Behavior, then, must be understood as a myriad of interdependent variables.

Psychological schools that are nourished by social psychology

Social psychology being a vast subdiscipline that addresses multiple processes of interaction between the individual and society, it is not surprising that many psychological schools have based much of their teachings and its developments to this.

For example. we can find different approaches in psychoanalysis, behaviorism, postmodern psychology and the psychology of groups.

Psychoanalysis

The psychoanalysis Sigmund Freud, whose maximum representative, is one of the most traditional schools. Psychoanalysis employs some principles of social psychology as the discipline that inquire about collective drives and repressions, which emerge from the interior of the unconscious of each person to subsequently influence the collective and condition the social.

However, we must bear in mind that psychoanalysis is not part of social psychology nor based on the epistemology of scientific psychology in general.

Behaviorism

On the other hand, behaviorism conceives social psychology to the extent that it provides us with data on social influence. Behaviorism focuses on observe and analyze individual behavior taking into account the influence of the social and cultural environment .

Postmodern psychology

The postmodern psychology tries to analyze through social psychology those elements that influence the diversification and fragmentation of society .

Psychology of the groups

From the focus of the group psychology , all collective forms a unit of analysis with its own particular idiosyncrasy. Consequently, social psychology tries to carry out a study weighted between the social and depersonalized and between the subjective and particular .

Famous experiments in social psychology

The most known experiments, research and studies in the field of social psychology are the following:

1) The Bobo doll experiment by Albert Bandura

In this studio it was shown that violence and aggression are learned through imitation . It was one of the pioneering studies in this field, and has been repeated to assess the extent to which exposure to violent content in the media influences the aggressive behavior of viewers.

You can know more about this experiment by accessing this post:

  • "The Theory of Personality, by Albert Bandura"

2) The Experiment of the Stanford Prison, by Philip Zimbardo

One of the most controversial and famous studies in social psychology, consisted of a simulated exercise in which university students acquired for a few days the role of inmates and guards in an artificial prison. Zimbardo showed that, in certain circumstances, people would assume their role to the point of acting in an unethical way . It is a classic study about the power of the social situation.

Discover all the details of this experiment by reading this article:

  • "The Stanford Prison Experiment, by Philip Zimbardo"

3) Asch, Sherif, Milgram ...

Other notable experiments such as the Solomon Asch experiment, the Sherif Cave of Thieves' experiment or the Milgram experiment are also of crucial importance in the field of social psychology.

In an article, we explain these (and other) experiments in detail. You can see it:

  • "The 10 most disturbing psychological experiments in history"

Getting started in the study of social psychology

You can start your journey through this interesting subdiscipline with the excerpt of this documentary:

Bibliographic references:

  • Allport, G.W. (1968). The historical background of modern social psychology.In G. Lindzey & E. Aronson (Eds.) The handbook of social psychology. (2nd ed.) Vol. L.
  • White, A (1988). Five traditions of Social Psychology. Madrid: Morata.
  • Costa, M. & López, E. (1986). Community Health Barcelona: Martinez Roca.
  • Rueda, J. M. (1992). The psychosocial intervention. The community psychologist. Psychosocial intervention, 1, 27-41.
  • Uchelen, C. (2000). Individualism, collectivism, and community psychology. In J. Rappaport & E. Seidman, Handbook of Community Psychology, (65-78). New York: Kluwer Academic.

What is Social Psychology? (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que la psychologie sociale?

Qu'est-ce que la psychologie sociale?

Juillet 23, 2019

Lorsque nous recueillons des informations sur les enseignements et les théories que le psychologie sociale , on peut se rendre compte qu’il s’agissait d’une discipline qui a commencé à être reconnue et développée en tant que telle au début du XXe siècle aux États-Unis.

Psychologie sociale: définition

Le psychologie sociale c'est une branche de la psychologie qui analyse des processus de nature psychologique qui influencent le fonctionnement d'une société ainsi que la manière dont les interactions sociales se déroulent . En bref, ce sont les processus sociaux qui modulent la personnalité et les caractéristiques de chaque personne.

De plus, la psychologie sociale est souvent décrite comme la science qui étudie les phénomènes sociaux, essayant de démêler les lois et les principes qui régissent la coexistence entre humains. Ainsi, cette branche de la psychologie est chargée d’enquêter sur différentes organisations sociales, d’essayer d’extraire des schémas de comportement des personnes qui composent le groupe, de leurs rôles et de l’ensemble des situations qui modulent leur comportement.


Qu'est-ce que la psychologie sociale étudie exactement?

L'objet d'étude de la psychologie sociale sont, comme nous l'avons dit, l'influence de relations sociales sur le comportement et les états mentaux des personnes. À cet effet, l’une des théories clés de cette discipline est celle de la interactionnisme symbolique . L'un de ses prédécesseurs, George H. Mead, a développé une étude approfondie du langage, des gestes et du comportement, produits de relations interpersonnelles permettant la vie dans la communauté et, plus particulièrement, leurs interactions personnelles face à face.

De toute évidence, dans nos sociétés, il existe des organisations et des institutions constituées autour de certaines conditions socioculturelles qui sont le produit de l'interaction entre les personnes. Ainsi, il n’est pas difficile d’imaginer qu’il existe une conscience collective cela facilite la compréhension de ces articulations sociales.


La psychologie sociale, alors, il étudie les processus psychologiques et sociaux observables, ce qui nous aide à comprendre comment nous agissons lorsque nous faisons partie de groupes ou de sociétés . La psychologie sociale englobe également l’étude des attitudes personnelles et de l’influence (bidirectionnelle) de la pensée sociale.

Représentants et chercheurs en psychologie sociale

Rencontrons quelques-uns des représentants les plus remarquables de ce domaine de la psychologie.

August Comte

Le sociologue français est l’un des principaux représentants de la psychologie sociale pour sa pertinence dans l’émergence de cette discipline. Auguste Comte (1798 - 1857). Ce chercheur a été le pionnier en proposant des concepts tels que morale positive et je m'interroge sur plusieurs aspects liés au rôle du sujet dans le oui d'une société et d'une culture , en plus de ne pas abandonner leur curiosité pour les fondements psychobiologiques qui influencent également le comportement humain.


Karl Marx

Un autre des précurseurs de la discipline de la psychologie sociale a été le philosophe, économiste et sociologue allemand Karl Marx (1818 - 1883). Cet intellectuel fructueux Il a commencé à suggérer certains concepts et éléments qui serviraient, après sa mort, à jeter les bases de la psychologie sociale . Par exemple, il a été le précurseur d'une ligne de recherche reliant les influences culturelles, institutionnelles, religieuses, matérielles et techniques sur la psychologie de l'individu.

Parmi les contributions de Karl Marx aux débuts de la psychologie sociale, nous trouvons le fait que nous soulignons que ce que nous pensons et ressentons est construit de façon historique ne naît pas de nos entrailles isolément.

L'école américaine: Mead, Allport et Lewin

Aux deux intellectuels mentionnés ci-dessus, nous pouvons ajouter l'énorme influence de ceux qui, cette fois, se considèrent les pères fondateurs de la psychologie sociale . Trois psychologues américains: George Mead , Floyd Allport et Kurt Lewin .

Le dernier d'entre eux, Kurt Lewin (dans l'image), est considéré comme l'architecte du soi-disant Psychologie sociale moderne, école qui a finalement construit les bases sur lesquelles la psychologie de Gestalt serait construite. Il est également l'auteur du Théorie des champs , cela nous explique que les variations individuelles du comportement par rapport à la norme sont fortement conditionnées par la lutte entre les perceptions subjectives de l’individu et l’environnement psychologique dans lequel il se trouve.

Donc, Lewin conclut que le comportement humain ne peut être connu que dans son propre environnement, dans son environnement . Le comportement doit donc être compris comme une myriade de variables interdépendantes.

Des écoles psychologiques nourries par la psychologie sociale

La psychologie sociale étant une vaste sous-discipline abordant de multiples processus d’interaction entre l’individu et la société, il n'est pas surprenant que de nombreuses écoles psychologiques ont basé une grande partie de leurs enseignements et ses développements à cela.

Par exemple. nous pouvons trouver différentes approches dans la psychanalyse, le behaviorisme, la psychologie postmoderne et la psychologie des groupes.

Psychanalyse

Le psychanalyse Sigmund Freud, dont le représentant maximum, est l'une des écoles les plus traditionnelles. La psychanalyse utilise certains principes de la psychologie sociale comme discipline s'enquérir des pulsions collectives et des répressions, qui émergent de l'intérieur de l'inconscient de chaque personne pour influencer ensuite le collectif et conditionne le social.

Cependant, nous devons garder à l'esprit que la psychanalyse ne fait pas partie de la psychologie sociale ni ne repose sur l'épistémologie de la psychologie scientifique en général.

Comportementalisme

Par ailleurs, le behaviorisme conçoit la psychologie sociale dans la mesure où elle nous fournit des données sur l’influence sociale. Behaviorism se concentre sur observer et analyser les comportements individuels en tenant compte de l'influence de l'environnement social et culturel .

Psychologie postmoderne

Le psychologie postmoderne essaie d'analyser à travers la psychologie sociale les éléments qui influencent la diversification et la fragmentation de la société .

Psychologie des groupes

Du centre de la psychologie de groupe , tout collectif forme une unité d’analyse avec sa propre idiosyncrasie. Par conséquent, la psychologie sociale tente de mener une étude pondérée entre le social et le dépersonnalisé et entre le subjectif et le particulier .

Expériences célèbres en psychologie sociale

Les expériences, recherches et études les plus connues dans le domaine de la psychologie sociale sont les suivantes:

1) L'expérience de la poupée Bobo par Albert Bandura

Dans cette étude il a été démontré que la violence et l'agression sont apprises par imitation . Ce fut l'une des études pionnières dans ce domaine et a été répété pour évaluer dans quelle mesure l'exposition à un contenu violent dans les médias influence le comportement agressif des téléspectateurs.

Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur cette expérience en accédant à ce post:

  • "La théorie de la personnalité, par Albert Bandura"

2) L'expérience de la prison de Stanford, par Philip Zimbardo

L'une des études les plus controversées et les plus célèbres en psychologie sociale consiste en un exercice simulé dans lequel des étudiants universitaires acquièrent pendant quelques jours le rôle de détenus et de gardiens dans une prison artificielle. Zimbardo a montré que, dans certaines circonstances, les gens assumeraient leur rôle au point d'agir de manière contraire à l'éthique . C'est une étude classique sur le pouvoir de la situation sociale.

Découvrez tous les détails de cette expérience en lisant cet article:

  • "L'expérience de la prison de Stanford, par Philip Zimbardo"

3) Asch, Sherif, Milgram ...

D'autres expériences notables telles que l'expérience de Solomon Asch, l'expérience de Sherif Cave of Thieves ou l'expérience de Milgram revêtent également une importance cruciale dans le domaine de la psychologie sociale.

Dans un article, nous expliquons ces expériences (et d’autres) en détail. Vous pouvez le voir:

  • "Les 10 expériences psychologiques les plus dérangeantes de l'histoire"

Se lancer dans l'étude de la psychologie sociale

Vous pouvez commencer votre voyage à travers cette intéressante sous-discipline avec l'extrait de ce documentaire:

Références bibliographiques:

  • Allport, G.W. (1968). Le contexte historique de la psychologie sociale moderne.Dans G. Lindzey & E. Aronson (Eds.) Le manuel de psychologie sociale (2e éd.), Vol.
  • White, A (1988). Cinq traditions de psychologie sociale. Madrid: Morata.
  • Costa, M. & López, E. (1986). Santé communautaire Barcelone: ​​Martinez Roca.
  • Rueda, J. M. (1992). L'intervention psychosociale Le psychologue de la communauté. Intervention psychosociale, 1, 27-41.
  • Uchelen, C. (2000). Individualisme, collectivisme et psychologie communautaire. Dans J. Rappaport & E. Seidman, Handbook of Community Psychology, (65-78). New York: Kluwer Academic.

Social Psychology: Qu'est-ce que la Psychologie sociale ? (Juillet 2019).


Articles Connexes