yes, therapy helps!
Are you smarter than the average? 11 signs that confirm it

Are you smarter than the average? 11 signs that confirm it

May 6, 2021

What is intelligence? Many theorists have tried to define intelligence, and it is not easy. Different theories propose different ways to measure our intellectual capacity, from Howard Gardner's multiple intelligences model to the G-factor theory developed by Charles Spearman, passing through others that emphasize more aspects of our intellect.

Intelligence: more than an IQ score

Although many scholars have tried to question the way we tend to think about intelligence, the truth is that even today the main intelligence tests measure our IQ, also known as CI or IQ (in English) .


The I.Q is often criticized for being a score that does not take into account the complexity and the different manifestations of our intellectual abilities. Why are there people who find it difficult to solve relatively simple mathematical problems but have a great capacity to be creative or to convince their interlocutor with perfect arguments? Creativity and expressiveness are concepts that have little or no influence on conventional intelligence tests, but which are fundamental skills for an individual to develop and survive in today's society.

Habits and likes that can make you smarter than average

Anyway, and while academics investigate the different manifestations of human intelligence, what is clear is that there are people who are more able to successfully face certain challenges of daily life, while there are others that show more difficulties .


What differentiates people with higher than average intelligence? Obviously genetics influence, but in reality environmental variables play a very important role. People who do certain stimulating activities and have good habits are more likely to develop superior intelligence. There are also other conditions and coincidences that make us more prone to have a superior intelligence.

Through several scientific studies on the subject, today we have compiled a total of 11 signs that you are smarter than the average .

1. Be the big brother

Although it seems to be a variable of little interest, science has shown that being the big brother gives you a greater chance of having an IQ above the average .

How is it possible? The trick is twofold: there are certain biological factors that "reward" the older brother, since it was conceived and gestated by a younger mother (and usually also a father), and therefore with a slightly better state of health compared to the little brothers . In addition, there is also a factor of interaction and psychological stimulation between parents and children, which would provide greater resources to the firstborn. In fact, a team of researchers from Norway found that, in a sample of 250,000 men born between 1968 and 1977, the older sibling had an average IQ of 103, the second sibling had 100 points and the third sibling had lowered his score to 99. IQ points.


More information on this: "Older brothers are smarter than younger brothers"

2. Be left-handed

Are you left-handed? Preferential use of the left hand correlates with a higher score in the IQ tests . This does not mean that being left-handed has to be more intelligent "yes or yes", but science has detected that, as a tendency, left-handed people are a bit more intelligent than right-handed people.

In fact, the psychologist Maria Konnikova, collaborator and scientific disseminator of New Yorker, explained that lefties are more skilled using the divergent thinking, which defines as "that form of creativity that allows us to invent new ideas from a symbol". Konnikova also notes that "left-handers are more apt to combine several ideas to build a third." Seen the seen, it seems that lefties have a special talent to innovate and create.

Learn more: "Brain and psychological differences between left and right handed"

3. Concern

Are the people most worried about their life those who tend to have a higher IQ? Well, it seems so.

The psychologist Alexander M Penney carried out an investigation to 100 students of the University of Ontario (Canada). Each student responded to an intelligence test, and then they were asked about their level of concern. Students who claimed they used to have a concern in their head most of the time were those who scored better on verbal intelligence tests.On the other hand, another study at the SUNY Downstate in New York also reported that patients with severe anxiety had score levels in higher IQ tests , statistically, to patients with less severe symptoms.

4. Having used soft drugs at some time

Mind you, this does not mean that consuming soft drugs is good for your intelligence: rather it is just the opposite. But yes It seems to have been detected that people with high IQ in childhood usually try, sporadically, some drugs soft in adulthood.

To this conclusion came an investigation carried out in 2012 by James W White and his collaborators. White himself commented: "There is a clear relationship between high IQ in childhood and testing soft drugs as an adult. A Ci above the average could encourage to adopt risk behaviors in adulthood, surprisingly ". Be that as it may, it is much better to avoid drugs.

5. Have attended music classes

There is a lot of research that indicates that learning music helps us develop our cognitive and intellectual abilities s , especially during childhood.

After an investigation carried out in 2004, it was found that six-year-old children who attended singing or piano lessons for six months experienced an increase in their IQ score. These data were compared with other children who attended drama and performance classes, or any similar out-of-school activity.

6. Drinking alcohol often

Another curious correlation and that must be qualified. Although some studies have found that people who consume alcohol frequently tend to be a little smarter, This does not mean that the intake of alcoholic beverages makes us smarter . In fact, it is exactly the opposite.

There is a study conducted at the London School of Economics and Politican Science led by Satoshi Kanazawa who reported that there is a relationship between the level of IQ and the consumption of alcohol, cigarettes and other drugs. But we must insist: these are correlational tendencies that, both for our physical and psychological health, we must reject. Healthy lifestyle!

7. Live with a cat

Another curious correlation, but true. Or at least this is what several scientific studies say: people who live with a cat tend to score higher than average in intelligence tests .

Are you more of dogs or cats? If you're more of felines, you can feel satisfied, since a study conducted by Denise Guastello in 2014 found that cat owners statistically score higher on IQ tests. It is also true that dog owners differed in their personality profile with regard to cat owners, obtaining a higher score in extraversion.

8. Being breastfed

Many books and studies coincide in pointing out The importance of breastfeeding during childhood for the correct cognitive development of the child .

Neither more nor less than 7 points of difference in IQ between breastfed children and others who were bottle-fed, according to several investigations carried out in the United Kingdom and New Zealand.

9. Essential: have a sense of humor

Do the intelligence have a relationship and have a great sense of humor? Well, it seems that yes, at least that's what science says.

An investigation by the University of New Mexico, in the United States, found a statistically significant relationship between sense of humor and IQ . In order to obtain these results, the scientists carried out a test to more than 400 students of the university to measure the CI of each one of them. Later, they asked these students to add a comment to satirical cartoons of a well-known newspaper, and the quality of the comments (in terms of humor, of course) was valued by anonymous subjects. Thus, it was detected that the smartest students were also the most ingenious and fun.

10. Know how to read at a young age

How old did you learn to read? It is not a trivial fact, since science has shown that there is an important trend: the earlier we learn to read, the smarter we will be when we are adults.

A team of researchers carried out various tests and tests on more than 2,000 identical twins in the United Kingdom. It was detected that the brother who first learned to read, had in the future a greater intelligence, expressed in his score in the intelligence tests. As it is easy to suppose, learning to read at an early age increases our verbal and logical abilities.

11. Is it possible to increase intelligence?

Yes, it is definitely possible to stimulate and enhance our intellectual abilities. I explain it to you in the following article:

"The 5 key tricks to increase your intelligence"

9 Signs You're Much Smarter Than You Think (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Êtes-vous plus intelligent que la moyenne? 11 signes qui le confirment

Êtes-vous plus intelligent que la moyenne? 11 signes qui le confirment

Février 18, 2019

Qu'est-ce que l'intelligence? Beaucoup de théoriciens ont essayé de définir l'intelligence, et ce n'est pas facile. Différentes théories proposent différentes manières de mesurer notre capacité intellectuelle, du modèle d'intelligences multiples de Howard Gardner à la théorie du facteur G développée par Charles Spearman, en passant par d'autres qui mettent davantage l'accent sur d'autres aspects de notre intellect.

Intelligence: plus qu'un QI

Bien que de nombreux chercheurs aient essayé de remettre en question notre façon de penser en matière de renseignement, la vérité est que même aujourd'hui, les principaux tests de renseignement mesurent notre QI, également appelé CI ou IQ (en anglais). .


Le QI est souvent critiqué pour être une partition qui ne prend pas en compte la complexité et les différentes manifestations de nos capacités intellectuelles. Pourquoi y a-t-il des gens qui ont du mal à résoudre des problèmes mathématiques relativement simples mais qui ont une grande capacité de créativité ou de convaincre leur interlocuteur avec des arguments parfaits? Créativité et expressivité sont des concepts qui n’ont que peu ou pas d’influence sur les tests d’intelligence classiques, mais qui constituent des compétences fondamentales pour le développement et la survie des individus dans la société actuelle.

Habitudes et goûts qui peuvent vous rendre plus intelligent que la moyenne

Quoi qu’il en soit, et alors que les universitaires étudient les différentes manifestations de l’intelligence humaine, il est clair qu’il existe des personnes plus aptes à relever avec succès certains défis de la vie quotidienne, tandis que d’autres présentent davantage de difficultés. .


Qu'est-ce qui différencie les personnes ayant une intelligence supérieure à la moyenne? Il est évident que la génétique influence, mais en réalité, les variables environnementales jouent un rôle très important. Les personnes qui pratiquent certaines activités stimulantes et ont de bonnes habitudes sont plus susceptibles de développer une intelligence supérieure. Il existe également d'autres conditions et coïncidences qui nous rendent plus susceptibles d'avoir une intelligence supérieure.

A travers plusieurs études scientifiques sur le sujet, aujourd'hui nous avons compilé un total de 11 signes attestant que vous êtes plus intelligent que la moyenne .

1. Soyez le grand frère

Bien que cela semble être une variable de peu d’intérêt, la science a montré que être le grand frère vous donne une plus grande chance d'avoir un QI supérieur à la moyenne .

Comment est-ce possible? Le tour est double: certains facteurs biologiques "récompensent" le frère aîné, car celui-ci a été conçu et manipulé par une mère plus jeune (et généralement aussi un père), et donc avec un état de santé légèrement meilleur par rapport aux petits frères . En outre, il existe également un facteur d’interaction et de stimulation psychologique entre parents et enfants, qui fournirait davantage de ressources au premier-né. En fait, une équipe de chercheurs norvégiens a constaté que sur un échantillon de 250 000 hommes nés entre 1968 et 1977, le frère aîné avait un QI moyen de 103, le deuxième frère avait 100 points et le troisième frère avait abaissé son score à 99. Points de QI.


Plus d'informations à ce sujet: "Les frères plus âgés sont plus intelligents que les frères plus jeunes"

2. être gaucher

Êtes-vous gaucher? L'utilisation préférentielle de la main gauche est corrélée à un score plus élevé aux tests de QI . Cela ne veut pas dire que la gaucher doit être plus intelligent "oui ou oui", mais la science a détecté qu'en tant que tendance, les gauchers sont un peu plus intelligents que les droitiers.

En effet, la psychologue Maria Konnikova, collaboratrice et diffusrice scientifique de New Yorker, a expliqué que les gauchers sont plus qualifiés en utilisant le pensée divergente, qui définit comme "cette forme de créativité qui nous permet d’inventer de nouvelles idées à partir d’un symbole". Konnikova note également que "les gauchers sont plus susceptibles de combiner plusieurs idées pour en construire une troisième". Vu à la vue, il semble que les gauchers ont un talent particulier pour innover et créer.

En savoir plus: "Cerveau et différences psychologiques entre gauchers et droitiers"

3. Préoccupation

Les personnes les plus inquiètes pour leur vie sont-elles celles qui ont tendance à avoir un QI plus élevé? Eh bien, il semble que oui.

Le psychologue Alexander M Penney mené une enquête auprès de 100 étudiants de l’Université de l’Ontario (Canada). Chaque élève a répondu à un test d'intelligence, puis on leur a demandé quel était leur niveau de préoccupation. Les étudiants qui affirmaient avoir l'habitude de se soucier de leur tête étaient souvent ceux qui obtenaient de meilleurs résultats aux tests d'intelligence verbale.D'autre part, une autre étude réalisée au SUNY Downstate à New York a également révélé que les patients souffrant d'anxiété grave avaient des scores dans les tests de QI élevé statistiquement chez les patients présentant des symptômes moins graves.

4. Avoir utilisé des drogues douces à un moment donné

Cela dit, cela ne veut pas dire que la consommation de drogues douces est bonne pour votre intelligence: c'est plutôt le contraire. Mais oui Il semble avoir été détecté que les personnes ayant un QI élevé dans leur enfance essayent généralement, de façon sporadique, certaines drogues. doux à l'âge adulte.

À cette conclusion est venue une enquête menée en 2012 par James W. White et ses collaborateurs. White lui-même a commenté: "Il existe une relation claire entre le QI élevé dans l'enfance et le test de drogues douces à l'âge adulte. Un Ci supérieur à la moyenne pourrait inciter à adopter des comportements à risque à l'âge adulte, de manière surprenante ". Quoi qu'il en soit, il vaut bien mieux éviter les drogues.

5. avoir suivi des cours de musique

Il y a beaucoup de recherches qui indiquent que apprendre la musique nous aide à développer nos capacités cognitives et intellectuelles s , surtout pendant l'enfance.

Après une enquête menée en 2004, il a été constaté que les enfants de six ans qui suivaient des cours de chant ou de piano pendant six mois avaient vu leur score de QI augmenter. Ces données ont été comparées à celles d’autres enfants ayant assisté à des cours de théâtre et de théâtre, ou à des activités extrascolaires similaires.

6. Boire de l'alcool souvent

Une autre corrélation curieuse et qui doit être qualifiée. Bien que certaines études aient montré que les personnes qui consomment de l’alcool ont souvent tendance à être un peu plus intelligentes, Cela ne signifie pas que la consommation de boissons alcoolisées nous rend plus intelligents . En fait, c'est exactement le contraire.

Une étude menée par la London School of Economics et Politican Science sous la direction de Satoshi Kanazawa a révélé qu'il existait un lien entre le niveau de QI et la consommation d'alcool, de cigarettes et d'autres drogues. Mais il faut insister: ce sont des tendances corrélatives que nous devons rejeter, tant pour notre santé physique que psychologique. Vie saine!

7. vivre avec un chat

Une autre corrélation curieuse, mais vraie. Ou du moins c'est ce que plusieurs études scientifiques disent: les personnes qui vivent avec un chat ont tendance à avoir un score supérieur à la moyenne aux tests d'intelligence .

Êtes-vous plus de chiens ou de chats? Si vous êtes plus félin, vous pouvez vous sentir satisfait, puisqu’une étude menée par Denise Guastello en 2014 a révélé que les propriétaires de chats avaient un score statistique plus élevé aux tests de QI. Il est également vrai que les propriétaires de chiens différaient dans leur profil de personnalité en ce qui concerne les propriétaires de chats, obtenant un score plus élevé en extraversion.

8. être allaité

De nombreux livres et études coïncident en soulignant L'importance de l'allaitement pendant l'enfance pour le développement cognitif correct de l'enfant .

Selon plusieurs enquêtes menées au Royaume-Uni et en Nouvelle-Zélande, ni plus ni moins de 7 points de différence de QI entre les enfants allaités et ceux nourris au biberon.

9. Essentiel: avoir le sens de l'humour

Est-ce que l'intelligence a une relation et un grand sens de l'humour? Eh bien, il semble qu'oui, du moins c'est ce que dit la science.

Une enquête de l'Université du Nouveau-Mexique, aux États-Unis, trouvé une relation statistiquement significative entre le sens de l'humour et le QI . Pour obtenir ces résultats, les scientifiques ont effectué un test auprès de plus de 400 étudiants de l'université afin de mesurer le CI de chacun d'entre eux. Plus tard, ils ont demandé à ces étudiants d’ajouter un commentaire aux caricatures satiriques d’un journal bien connu, et la qualité des commentaires (en termes d’humour, bien sûr) était appréciée des sujets anonymes. Ainsi, il a été détecté que les étudiants les plus intelligents étaient aussi les plus ingénieux et les plus amusants.

10. Savoir lire jeune

Quel âge as-tu appris à lire? Ce n’est pas un fait banal, car la science a montré qu’il existait une tendance importante: plus nous apprenons à lire tôt, plus nous serons intelligents lorsque nous serons adultes.

Une équipe de chercheurs a effectué divers tests et tests sur plus de 2 000 jumeaux identiques au Royaume-Uni. Il a été détecté que le frère qui a d'abord appris à lire avait à l'avenir une plus grande intelligence, exprimée dans son score aux tests d'intelligence. Comme il est facile de le supposer, apprendre à lire très tôt augmente nos capacités verbales et logiques.

11. Est-il possible d'augmenter l'intelligence?

Oui, il est tout à fait possible de stimuler et d’améliorer nos capacités intellectuelles. Je vous l'explique dans l'article suivant:

"Les 5 astuces pour augmenter votre intelligence"

Isolation - Mind Field (Ep 1) (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes