yes, therapy helps!
21 topics that you must study to be an excellent psychologist

21 topics that you must study to be an excellent psychologist

May 10, 2021

If you are interested in psychology and you are thinking about studying the career , not long ago we wrote a post that intended to explain the 10 elementary points to opt for the Bachelor or Degree in Psychology (you can read it by clicking here).

If you already made the decision or would like to know what is studied in the psychology degree, you just have to read the following lines. In today's article, we explain the most important topics that are studied in the Degree in Psychology .

Psychology is a very broad discipline

Evidently, psychology is a broad field in which there are different specialties (clinical psychology, sports psychology, organizational psychology, etc.), so the educational needs are not always the same, depending, of course, on the field of specialization.


In short, psychology is a discipline that covers many areas; For example, we can talk about the history of psychology, the discoveries that have been made from this field, the relationship it has with the neurosciences, what it teaches us about mental processes and our way of relating and making decisions, etc.

In this article we have collected the most important topics that are studied in the psychology career in Spain (in Latin American countries there may be differences). In other words, the core and compulsory subjects that it is necessary to study to obtain the title of psychologist. These subjects can not be absent in any manual of introduction to psychology.


Subjects that you must study to be a good psychologist

Below you can find the most important topics that are studied in the psychology degree.

1. Biological basis of behavior

The biological basis of behavior is an essential area of ​​study in the career of psychology , because it allows to know how the mental processes are produced, which is the main unit that propagates the nervous impulse or the cerebral communication or what is the connection between the parts of the brain and our body.

Throughout the career of psychology it is possible to find subjects such as psychobiology or psychophysiology, because, to be a good psychologist, it is necessary to know how mental processes occur, be it memory, learning or sensations, and knowing, among other things , how neurons act.


2. Statistics and psychometrics

Even though many psychology students do not like numbers, the use of statistics is an important part of science . And psychology, and as a science that is, makes use of it to achieve its objectives of predicting and intervening in human behavior. In addition, any psychologist must master psychometrics, a discipline that is responsible for the set of methods, techniques and theories involved in measuring and quantifying psychological variables. The tests are a necessary tool for any psychologist.

  • Related article: "Psychology and statistics: the importance of probabilities in the science of behavior"

3. History of psychology

To be a good psychologist, the first thing to have is a good theoretical foundation. For this, it is necessary to know the history of this discipline and to be clear about what psychology is, what is its field of study, what are the main problems it addresses and which are the main schools that over the years have allowed Psychology is consolidated as a science.

Plato, Descartes, Freud, Skinner, Watson or Bandura are some of the figures that every good psychologist must know to know the historical contexts in which this discipline has evolved.

4. Social psychology

Social psychology is a branch of psychology that analyzes the psychological processes that influence the way a society works , the way in which social interactions are carried out and how social processes modulate the personality and characteristics of each person.

In the subject of social psychology, topics such as leadership or prejudice are studied, and important research in this field is reviewed, such as the Stanford prison experiment by Philip Zimbardo or the Milgram experiment: the danger of obedience to the authority.

  • You can learn more about this branch by visiting our article: "What is Social Psychology?"

5. Clinical psychology

Since the beginning of psychology, clinical psychology has been one of the most important areas of this discipline. In clinical psychology All the elements involved in mental disorders and, in general, in mental health are studied . Therefore, clinical psychology carries out all tasks of evaluation, diagnosis, prevention and therapeutic intervention in people with some type of mental impairment or maladaptive behavior, in order to restore psychological balance and improve their well-being.

  • Related text: Clinical psychology: definition and functions of the clinical psychologist

6. Psychology of development

This branch of psychology is responsible for studying the behavioral and psychological changes of people through their life cycle , that is, from his birth to his death.

When these changes are analyzed, different fields of study are considered: physical, from which stability, biological change and the determinants of physical growth are analyzed; cognitive, from which the intellectual capacities and their relationship with the development of the person are analyzed; and social and personality, which focuses on individual differences and social relationships in different stages of life (childhood, adolescence, adulthood and old age).

  • Related article: "Psychology of Development: main theories and authors"

7. Personality psychology

One of the great areas of psychology and that arouses more interest is the study of personality . From the different currents of psychology an attempt has been made to explain the personality taking into account both genetic and environmental aspects. In his study, he deepens in the different contributions that many authors have carried out in this field.

For example, Eysenck's Theory of Personality: the PEN model, Albert Bandura's Theory of Personality or the Theory of the Big 5 or Big Five.

8. Ethics in psychology

In addition to acquiring theoretical and practical knowledge for the proper development of their profession, the psychologist, throughout the career, must know the ethical principles that govern the exercise of their profession , as well as being aware of its resources and limitations.

It must respect the dignity of its patients and preserve and ensure the preservation of fundamental human rights. Therefore, some of their obligations are to use their knowledge to promote human welfare or maintain professional secrecy.

9. Psychological evaluation

Regardless of whether someone wants to practice as a clinical, organizational or sports psychologist, psychological evaluation is a necessary requirement for the professional practice of any psychologist. So, a good psychologist must be able to master this aspect , either to know the organizational performance of an organization, the personality type of the patient or to assess the intelligence of a student.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of intelligence tests" or "Types of tests and personnel selection questionnaires"

10. Neuropsychology

Neuropsychology is within the neurosciences and is the discipline responsible for studying the relationships between the brain and behavior, not only in individuals with some dysfunction, but also in people with normal behavior. This field of study uses experimental techniques and tests that offer images of the brain area (for example, CT, MRI, PET, fMRI). What functions do neurotransmitters have? or what produces the aphasias? These are some questions to which neuropsychology responds.

  • Maybe you're interested: Neurosciences: the new way of understanding the human mind

11. Differential psychology

While general psychology studies behavior common to all human subjects, differential psychology studies this behavior in an individualized way .

Therefore, this branch of psychology is responsible for the description, prediction and explanation of intraindividual, interindividual or intergroup variability of behavior and psychological processes (for example, intelligence). It includes the Psychology of personality, but also accounts for many other elements, such as IQ or biological characteristics related to the immune system, genes related to all kinds of physical characteristics, etc.

12. Psychology of the groups

Although the psychology of the groups was part of the social psychology course in its beginnings, many universities, aware of their importance, teach compulsory subjects of group psychology. Not only that, but nowadays, many postgraduate studies focus on this subject, because this field of study is becoming increasingly important. Many of the human behaviors can not be understood without the group component.

The study of the groups focuses on the understanding and explanation of group processes , the relations between its members and between the different groups, the group formation, the roles, the norms, the group cohesion, the communication, etc.

13. Linguistic psychology

The most important kind of human communication is linguistics.With human language it is possible to produce an unlimited number of messages and establish a true dialogue. Psycholinguistics is a discipline in which The object of study is the relationship established between linguistic knowledge and the mental processes involved in it .

14. Psychology of learning

Human behavior can not be understood without learning . Through this, habits, skills, values ​​or knowledge are acquired and is intimately related to the development of individuals. Some of the most important theory of learning are: Jean Piaget's Theory of Learning or Sociocultural Theory of Lev Vygotsky,

15. Experimental methodology

The study of the experimental methodology is also part of the academic curriculum of a psychologist, since he / she must know the different research designs and the procedures for formulating and contrasting hypotheses, but, in addition, he / she must know how to use the documentary sources of information in this discipline. , with capacity for critical analysis and synthesis. This will help you analyze and interpret quantitative and qualitative data from research, reports and work in psychology.

16. Specialty: Sports Psychology, Organizational Psychology, Legal Psychology ....

The previous points have referred to the different subjects or areas of knowledge required and core in the career of psychology, but in psychology there are different specialties and each of them requires specific knowledge to be able to practice the profession in the best possible way. So, or Once the race is over, there are different masters to continue growing at an academic and professional level and obtain mastery in a particular field of behavioral science.

  • If you want to know more about these specializations, you can read our article: "The 20 best Masters in Psychology"

17. Philosophy of science

Is essential to focus any university career based on research . Knowing the epistemological bases of the theories helps to know if certain hypotheses are well justified or on the contrary are not useful to understand reality.

18. Ethology

Ethology is essential to understand the behavior of animals. Study basic learning processes in non-human organisms, as well as the instincts and the way in which hormones affect these living beings.

19. Forensic psychology

Very useful to understand the way in which expert evaluations based on psychology work in the legal world.

20. Introduction to anthropology

Anthropology is a field of study similar to social psychology , although it focuses more on cultural phenomena. That is why knowing it is useful to apply certain psychological principles to concrete societies.

21. Use of specific software

It is essential to learn to use highly-used programs, such as R or SPSS, to use them in various subjects. It is also good to use others focused on qualitative research, such as ATLAS.ti.


WHY STUDY PSYCHOLOGY? (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
21 sujets que vous devez étudier pour être un excellent psychologue

21 sujets que vous devez étudier pour être un excellent psychologue

Janvier 17, 2022

Si vous êtes intéressé par la psychologie et que vous envisagez d'étudier la carrière , il n’ya pas si longtemps, nous avions écrit un article dans le but d’expliquer les 10 points élémentaires pour choisir un baccalauréat ou un diplôme en psychologie (vous pouvez le lire en cliquant ici).

Si vous avez déjà pris la décision ou souhaitez savoir ce qui est étudié dans le programme de psychologie, il vous suffit de lire les lignes suivantes. Dans l'article d'aujourd'hui, nous expliquons les sujets les plus importants qui sont étudiés dans le degré en psychologie .

La psychologie est une très vaste discipline

Évidemment la psychologie est un vaste domaine dans lequel il existe différentes spécialités (psychologie clinique, psychologie du sport, psychologie des organisations, etc.), de sorte que les besoins éducatifs ne sont pas toujours les mêmes, dépendant bien sûr du domaine de spécialisation.


En bref, la psychologie est une discipline qui couvre de nombreux domaines. Par exemple, nous pouvons parler de l’histoire de la psychologie, des découvertes faites dans ce domaine, de sa relation avec les neurosciences, de ce qu’il nous enseigne sur les processus mentaux et notre façon de relier et de prendre des décisions, etc.

Dans cet article, nous avons rassemblé les sujets les plus importants de la carrière de psychologue en Espagne (des différences peuvent exister entre les pays d'Amérique latine). En d'autres termes, les matières principales et obligatoires qu'il est nécessaire d'étudier pour obtenir le titre de psychologue. Ces sujets ne peuvent être absents dans aucun manuel d'introduction à la psychologie.


Sujets que vous devez étudier pour être un bon psychologue

Vous trouverez ci-dessous les sujets les plus importants étudiés dans le programme de psychologie.

1. Base biologique du comportement

La base biologique du comportement est un domaine d'étude essentiel dans la carrière de la psychologie , parce que cela permet de savoir comment les processus mentaux sont produits, qui est l’unité principale qui propage l’impulsion nerveuse ou la communication cérébrale ou quelle est la connexion entre les parties du cerveau et notre corps.

Tout au long de la carrière de la psychologie, il est possible de trouver des matières telles que la psychobiologie ou la psychophysiologie car, pour être bon psychologue, il est nécessaire de savoir comment se déroulent les processus mentaux, qu'il s'agisse de la mémoire, de l'apprentissage ou des sensations, et de la connaissance. , comment agissent les neurones.


2. Statistiques et psychométrie

Même si de nombreux étudiants en psychologie n'aiment pas les chiffres, l'utilisation des statistiques est une partie importante de la science . Et la psychologie, et en tant que science, s’en sert pour atteindre ses objectifs de prédiction et d’intervention dans le comportement humain. En outre, tout psychologue doit maîtriser la psychométrie, une discipline responsable de l'ensemble des méthodes, techniques et théories impliquées dans la mesure et la quantification des variables psychologiques. Les tests sont un outil nécessaire pour tout psychologue.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie et statistiques: l'importance des probabilités dans la science du comportement"

3. Histoire de la psychologie

Pour être un bon psychologue, la première chose à faire est d’avoir de bonnes bases théoriques. Pour cela, il est nécessaire de connaître l'histoire de cette discipline et de bien comprendre ce qu'est la psychologie, quel est son domaine d'étude, quels sont les principaux problèmes qu'elle aborde et quelles sont les principales écoles qui, au fil des ans, ont permis La psychologie est consolidée en tant que science.

Platon, Descartes, Freud, Skinner, Watson ou encore Bandura sont parmi les chiffres que tout bon psychologue doit connaître pour connaître les contextes historiques dans lesquels cette discipline a évolué.

4. Psychologie sociale

La psychologie sociale est une branche de la psychologie qui analyse les processus psychologiques qui influencent le fonctionnement d'une société. , la manière dont les interactions sociales se déroulent et comment les processus sociaux modulent la personnalité et les caractéristiques de chaque personne.

Dans le domaine de la psychologie sociale, des sujets tels que le leadership ou les préjugés sont étudiés et des recherches importantes dans ce domaine sont passées en revue, telles que l’expérience de la prison de Stanford de Philip Zimbardo ou l’expérience de Milgram: le danger de l’obéissance aux autorité

  • Vous pouvez en apprendre davantage sur cette branche en visitant notre article: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie sociale?"

5. Psychologie clinique

Depuis le début de la psychologie, la psychologie clinique est l’un des domaines les plus importants de cette discipline. En psychologie clinique Tous les éléments impliqués dans les troubles mentaux et, en général, dans la santé mentale sont étudiés . Par conséquent, la psychologie clinique effectue toutes les tâches d'évaluation, de diagnostic, de prévention et d'intervention thérapeutique chez les personnes présentant un type de déficience mentale ou un comportement mésadapté, afin de rétablir l'équilibre psychologique et d'améliorer leur bien-être.

  • Related text: Psychologie clinique: définition et fonctions du psychologue clinicien

6. Psychologie du développement

Cette branche de la psychologie est responsable de l'étude des changements comportementaux et psychologiques des personnes au cours de leur cycle de vie c'est-à-dire de sa naissance à sa mort.

Lorsque ces changements sont analysés, différents domaines d’études sont considérés: physique, à partir duquel sont analysés la stabilité, les changements biologiques et les déterminants de la croissance physique; cognitif, à partir duquel sont analysées les capacités intellectuelles et leur relation avec le développement de la personne; et social et de la personnalité, qui met l'accent sur les différences individuelles et les relations sociales à différents stades de la vie (enfance, adolescence, âge adulte et vieillesse).

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie du développement: théories principales et auteurs"

7. Psychologie de la personnalité

L’un des grands domaines de la psychologie et qui suscite le plus d’intérêt est l’étude de la personnalité. . Parmi les différents courants de la psychologie, une tentative a été faite pour expliquer la personnalité en tenant compte à la fois des aspects génétiques et environnementaux. Dans son étude, il approfondit les différentes contributions de nombreux auteurs dans ce domaine.

Par exemple, la théorie de la personnalité d'Eysenck: le modèle PEN, la théorie de la personnalité d'Albert Bandura ou la théorie des cinq grands ou des cinq grands.

8. Ethique en psychologie

En plus d’acquérir des connaissances théoriques et pratiques pour le bon développement de leur profession, le psychologue, tout au long de sa carrière, doit connaître les principes éthiques qui régissent l'exercice de sa profession , tout en étant conscient de ses ressources et de ses limites.

Il doit respecter la dignité de ses patients et préserver et assurer la préservation des droits fondamentaux de l'homme. Par conséquent, certaines de leurs obligations consistent à utiliser leurs connaissances pour promouvoir le bien-être humain ou maintenir le secret professionnel.

9. Évaluation psychologique

Que l’on souhaite exercer en tant que psychologue clinicien, organisationnel ou sportif, une évaluation psychologique est une condition nécessaire à la pratique professionnelle de tout psychologue. Pourtant, un bon psychologue doit pouvoir maîtriser cet aspect , soit pour connaître la performance organisationnelle d'une organisation, le type de personnalité du patient ou pour évaluer l'intelligence d'un étudiant.

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Types de tests d'intelligence" ou "Types de tests et questionnaires de sélection du personnel"

10. Neuropsychologie

La neuropsychologie, qui relève des neurosciences, est la discipline chargée d’étudier les relations entre le cerveau et le comportement, non seulement chez les individus présentant un dysfonctionnement, mais également chez les personnes ayant un comportement normal. Ce domaine d’étude utilise des techniques et des tests expérimentaux offrant des images de la zone du cerveau (scanner, IRM, PET, IRMf, par exemple). Quelles sont les fonctions des neurotransmetteurs? ou qu'est-ce qui produit les aphasies? Ce sont quelques questions auxquelles la neuropsychologie répond.

  • Neurosciences: la nouvelle façon de comprendre l'esprit humain

11. Psychologie différentielle

Alors que la psychologie générale étudie le comportement commun à tous les sujets humains, la psychologie différentielle étudie ce comportement de manière individualisée .

Par conséquent, cette branche de la psychologie est responsable de la description, de la prédiction et de l'explication de la variabilité intra-individuelle, interindividuelle ou intergroupe du comportement et des processus psychologiques (par exemple l'intelligence). Cela inclut la psychologie de la personnalité, mais aussi de nombreux autres éléments, tels que le QI ou les caractéristiques biologiques liées au système immunitaire, les gènes liés à toutes sortes de caractéristiques physiques, etc.

12. Psychologie des groupes

Bien que la psychologie des groupes fût partie intégrante du cours de psychologie sociale à ses débuts, de nombreuses universités, conscientes de leur importance, enseignent des matières obligatoires de la psychologie de groupe. Non seulement cela, mais de nos jours, de nombreuses études de troisième cycle portent sur ce sujet, car ce domaine d'études devient de plus en plus important. De nombreux comportements humains ne peuvent être compris sans la composante groupe.

L’étude des groupes est axée sur la compréhension et l’explication des processus de groupe , les relations entre ses membres et entre les différents groupes, la formation du groupe, les rôles, les normes, la cohésion du groupe, la communication, etc.

13. Psychologie linguistique

Le type le plus important de communication humaine est la linguistique.Avec le langage humain, il est possible de produire un nombre illimité de messages et d’établir un véritable dialogue. La psycholinguistique est une discipline dans laquelle L'objet de l'étude est la relation établie entre la connaissance linguistique et les processus mentaux impliqués. .

14. Psychologie de l'apprentissage

Le comportement humain ne peut être compris sans apprentissage . De ce fait, des habitudes, des compétences, des valeurs ou des connaissances sont acquises et sont intimement liées au développement des individus. Parmi les théories les plus importantes de l’apprentissage figurent: la théorie de l’apprentissage de Jean Piaget ou la théorie socioculturelle de Lev Vygotsky,

15. Méthodologie expérimentale

L’étude de la méthodologie expérimentale fait également partie du programme académique du psychologue, qui doit connaître les différents types de recherche et les procédures de formulation et de comparaison des hypothèses, mais aussi savoir utiliser les sources d’information documentaires de cette discipline. , avec une capacité d’analyse critique et de synthèse. Cela vous aidera à analyser et à interpréter des données quantitatives et qualitatives issues de recherches, de rapports et de travaux en psychologie.

16. Spécialité: psychologie du sport, psychologie organisationnelle, psychologie juridique ....

Les points précédents ont fait référence aux différents sujets ou domaines de connaissances requis et essentiels dans la carrière de psychologue, mais en psychologie, il existe différentes spécialités et chacune d'entre elles requiert des connaissances spécifiques pour pouvoir exercer la profession de la meilleure façon possible. Pourtant, vous Une fois la course terminée, différents maîtres continueront à grandir au niveau académique et professionnel. et obtenir la maîtrise dans un domaine particulier de la science du comportement.

  • Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur ces spécialisations, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Les 20 meilleurs masters en psychologie"

17. philosophie de la science

C'est essentiel de centrer toute carrière universitaire sur la recherche . Connaître les bases épistémologiques des théories permet de savoir si certaines hypothèses sont bien justifiées ou au contraire ne sont pas utiles pour comprendre la réalité.

18. Ethologie

L'éthologie est essentielle pour comprendre le comportement des animaux. Étudiez les processus d'apprentissage de base chez des organismes non humains, ainsi que les instincts et la manière dont les hormones affectent ces êtres vivants.

19. Psychologie légale

Très utile pour comprendre le fonctionnement des évaluations d’experts basées sur la psychologie dans le monde juridique.

20. Introduction à l'anthropologie

L'anthropologie est un domaine d'étude semblable à la psychologie sociale , bien qu’il se concentre davantage sur les phénomènes culturels. C'est pourquoi, sachant qu'il est utile d'appliquer certains principes psychologiques à des sociétés concrètes.

21. Utilisation de logiciels spécifiques

Il est essentiel d'apprendre à utiliser des programmes très utilisés, tels que R ou SPSS, pour les utiliser dans divers domaines. Il est également bon d’utiliser d’autres méthodes axées sur la recherche qualitative, telles que ATLAS.ti.


Comment devenir une nutritionniste | ÉTUDES UNIVERSITAIRES, LIFESTYLE & MODE DE VIE (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes