yes, therapy helps!
Mixed anxious-depressive disorder: causes and symptoms

Mixed anxious-depressive disorder: causes and symptoms

December 5, 2021

Anxiety disorders are the most prevalent in the general population. After them would go the depressive disorders. Traditionally it has been observed from the psychology that both types of disorder have many elements in common, being frequent that a situation of prolonged anxiety ends up generating depressive symptoms and vice versa.

But in a large number of people features of both depression and anxiety simultaneously appear, can be classified as cases of mixed anxiety-depressive disorder .

Depression and anxiety: aspects in common

The link between depressive and anxious problems is a well-known circumstance for psychological and psychiatric research. In clinical practice, rarely occurs purely , being very frequent that the depressed subjects end up developing anxiety problems. That is why in research it has been common to try to find out in which concrete aspects they are similar and in which they diverge.


One of the main elements in common between anxiety and depression is that in both there is a high level of negative affect. In other words, both disorders share the fact that both show a high level of emotional pain, irritability, discomfort and feelings of guilt and low mood.

Another common point is that in both cases people are suffering due to the consideration that they are not, will or would be able to face life or concrete circumstances of it, suffering a deep feeling of helplessness and presenting low self-esteem.

However, in depression, in addition to the high negative effect, we would also find ourselves with a low positive affect, something that would not occur in anxiety. It is what produces anhedonia and lack of energy and vital thrust. This circumstance does not appear in pure anxiety.


Something specific to anxiety that does not occur in depression (with the exception of some subtypes such as the one with psychotic symptoms) is hyperactivation. People with anxiety they notice a powerful increase in arousal , a "rush" of energy coming from the anticipation of possible damages, to which they can not give practical exit. This does not happen in depression, in which in fact the energy level of the person tends to decrease.

These are some of the elements in which depression and anxiety are similar or different . But what happens when both types of problem appear at the same time? What is the mixed anxious-depressive disorder?

Mixed anxiety-depressive disorder: what is it?

The mixed anxious-depressive disorder is a type of disorder characterized by the combined presence of symptoms of both depression and anxiety , without having either of the two greater repercussions than the other.


Typical symptoms of this disorder include depressed mood and / or anhedonia that appear along with anguish, difficulty concentrating, tension and excessive and irrational worry . These symptoms must last at least two weeks or a month and should not be due to the experience of painful experiences or the presence of other disorders.

In addition, vegetative symptoms such as tremors, intestinal discomfort or tachycardia must occasionally appear. It would be symptoms that agree with a very high level of negative affect, appearing in part also the hyperactivation proper to anxious disorders and the low positive effect of depressants.

The diagnosis of mixed anxiety-depressive disorder

To diagnose mixed anxiety-depressive disorder the symptoms suffered can not meet all the necessary conditions to identify with either of the two Disorders may not be severe enough to make it necessary to make two diagnoses, one of depression and the other of anxiety.

Another characteristic, of great importance, is that both types of symptoms must appear in the same period. This consideration is important since it allows to distinguish This disorder leads to the appearance of anxious symptoms as a consequence of depression or depressive symptoms due to the persistence of depressive symptoms.

symptom

At a vital level, this disorder is experienced as distressing by those who suffer it, not being rare that those suffering from it end up developing a high irritability, autolytic thoughts, substance use as an escape route, deterioration of work or social environments, lack of Personal hygiene, insomnia, hyperphagia and hopelessness.

In spite of this, as a general rule, they are not considered by themselves to be serious enough to attend the consultation. In fact, it is more frequent to arrive at the diagnosis after a visit to the doctor because of the vegetative problems that causes that by the cognitive problems.

Condition of the disorder in the most common diagnostic classifications

The category of mixed anxious-depressive disorder has aroused controversy in its conception, not being collected by all existing diagnostic classifications . It is not that their existence is not recognized, but sometimes it has been considered to be a depressive disorder with secondary anxious characteristics and not a single disorder.

In the case of the International Classification of Diseases, carried out by the World Health Organization, the mixed anxiety-depressive disorder has been and continues to be recognized and included in both the ICD-10 and the ICD-11.

In the case of the other great diagnostic classification of mental disorders, the DSM , in the drafts of his fifth version was also going to be included. However, in the final version it was decided not to include the mixed anxious-depressive disorder as a disorder per se, because it is considered that in the studies carried out the data obtained are not totally reliable. Instead, the "with symptoms of anxiety" specification has been added to mood disorders to refer to patients with both depressive and / or bipolar and anxious characteristics.

Applied treatments

As it mentioned above, anxiety and depression are often linked and they can appear together in those who suffer them. But despite this, they are still disorders with their own characteristics, with different treatments applied in each one.

In the case of mixed anxiety-depressive disorder, its treatment is complex due to this difference, having to use own strategies of each type of disorders. Specifically, a strategy based on cognitive behavioral therapy has been used successfully, sometimes in combination with pharmacological treatment.

At a psychological level, it is useful to practice activities that restore the feeling of control to the patient, increase their self-esteem and make them see the world in a more realistic way.

Psychoeducation is generally used , through which patients are explained the characteristics of their problem, it can be very useful for them to understand what is happening to them and that they are not the only ones who suffer from it. Afterwards, it is usual to treat both anxious and depressive symptoms, using exposure to avoidable situations, training in breathing and relaxation, and self-instruction techniques for the former.

In the problematic ones of depressive nature it acts involving subjects in positive and rewarding activities and cognitive restructuring is used to move towards acquiring new patterns of thinking that are more adaptive than those used up to now. It has also been observed that group therapy greatly helps to improve symptoms and to identify maladaptive thinking patterns and change them for others.

A pharmacological level has shown that the application of SSRI is useful for the control of symptoms, by inhibiting the reuptake of serotonin in a specific way and successfully combat both depressive and anxious symptoms.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Echeburúa, E .; Salaberría, K .; from Corral, P .; Cenea, R. & Barasategui, T. (2000). Treatment of mixed anxiety and depression disorder: results of an experimental investigation. Analysis and behavior modification, vol.26, 108. Department of Personality, Evaluation and Psychological Treatments. Faculty of Psychology. University of the Basque Country.
  • World Health Organization (1992). International Classification of Diseases. Tenth Edition. Madrid: WHO.
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Left, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E .; Thief, A and Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Clinical psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid.

Understanding Bipolar Depression (December 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble mixte anxieux-dépressif: causes et symptômes

Trouble mixte anxieux-dépressif: causes et symptômes

Août 11, 2020

Les troubles anxieux sont les plus fréquents dans la population générale. Après eux iraient les troubles dépressifs. D'après la psychologie, il a traditionnellement été observé que les deux types de désordre ont de nombreux éléments en commun, étant donné qu'une situation d'anxiété prolongée finit par générer des symptômes dépressifs et inversement.

Mais chez un grand nombre de personnes, des symptômes de dépression et d’anxiété apparaissent simultanément, peut être classé comme cas de trouble mixte anxiété-dépression .

Dépression et anxiété: des points communs

Le lien entre les problèmes dépressifs et anxieux est une circonstance bien connue pour la recherche psychologique et psychiatrique. En pratique clinique, se produit rarement purement , étant très fréquent que les sujets déprimés finissent par développer des problèmes d’anxiété. C'est pourquoi, dans la recherche, il a été courant d'essayer de savoir en quels aspects concrets ils se ressemblent et en quoi ils divergent.


L'un des principaux éléments communs entre l'anxiété et la dépression est-ce que dans les deux il y a un niveau élevé d'affect négatif. En d'autres termes, les deux troubles partagent le fait qu'ils manifestent un niveau élevé de douleur émotionnelle, d'irritabilité, de malaise et de sentiments de culpabilité et d'humeur basse.

Un autre point commun est que, dans les deux cas, des personnes souffrent en raison du fait qu’elles ne sont pas ou ne seront pas en mesure de faire face à la vie ou à des circonstances concrètes. souffrir d'un profond sentiment d'impuissance et présentant une faible estime de soi.

Cependant, dans la dépression, outre l’effet négatif élevé, nous nous retrouverions également avec un affect positif faible, ce qui ne se produirait pas dans l’anxiété. C'est ce qui produit l'anhédonie et le manque d'énergie et de vitalité. Cette circonstance n'apparaît pas dans une angoisse pure.


Une hyperactivation est quelque chose de spécifique à l'anxiété qui ne se produit pas dans la dépression (à l'exception de certains sous-types tels que celui présentant des symptômes psychotiques). Les gens avec anxiété ils remarquent une forte augmentation de l'excitation , une "poussée" d’énergie provenant de l’anticipation de dommages possibles, à laquelle ils ne peuvent donner de sortie concrète. Cela ne se produit pas dans la dépression, dans laquelle le niveau d'énergie de la personne a tendance à diminuer.

Ceux-ci sont certains des éléments dans lesquels la dépression et l'anxiété sont similaires ou différentes . Mais que se passe-t-il lorsque les deux types de problèmes apparaissent en même temps? Quel est le trouble mixte anxieux-dépressif?

Trouble mixte anxiété-dépression: de quoi s'agit-il?

Le trouble mixte anxieux-dépressif est un type de trouble caractérisé par: la présence combinée de symptômes de dépression et d'anxiété , sans avoir l’une des deux plus grandes répercussions que l’autre.


Les symptômes typiques de ce trouble incluent une humeur dépressive et / ou une anhédonie qui apparaissent avec l’angoisse, difficulté à se concentrer, tension et inquiétude excessive et irrationnelle . Ces symptômes doivent durer au moins deux semaines ou un mois et ne doivent pas être dus à des expériences douloureuses ni à la présence d'autres troubles.

En outre, des symptômes végétatifs tels que des tremblements, une gêne intestinale ou une tachycardie doivent parfois apparaître. Il s’agirait de symptômes correspondant à un niveau très élevé d’affect négatif, apparaissant en partie aussi l’hyperactivation propre aux troubles anxieux et le faible effet positif des dépresseurs.

Le diagnostic de trouble mixte anxiété-dépression

Diagnostiquer un trouble mixte anxiété-dépression les symptômes ressentis ne peuvent pas répondre à toutes les conditions nécessaires pour s'identifier à l'un des deux Les troubles peuvent ne pas être suffisamment graves pour nécessiter deux diagnostics, l'un de dépression et l'autre d'anxiété.

Une autre caractéristique, d’une grande importance, est que les deux types de symptômes doivent apparaître au cours de la même période. Cette considération est importante car elle permet de distinguer Ce trouble entraîne l'apparition de symptômes anxieux à la suite d'une dépression ou de symptômes dépressifs dus à la persistance de symptômes dépressifs.

Les symptômes

Sur le plan vital, ce trouble est ressenti comme une source de chagrin par ceux qui le souffrent. Il n'est pas rare que ceux qui en souffrent développent une irritabilité élevée, des pensées autolytiques, la consommation de substances psychoactives comme voie de sortie, la détérioration du travail ou des Hygiène personnelle, insomnie, hyperphagie et désespoir.

Malgré cela, ils ne sont généralement pas considérés comme suffisamment sérieux pour assister à la consultation. En fait il est plus fréquent d'arriver au diagnostic après une visite chez le médecin à cause des problèmes végétatifs qui cause cela par les problèmes cognitifs.

Etat de la maladie dans les classifications diagnostiques les plus courantes

La catégorie des troubles mixtes anxieux-dépressifs a suscité la controverse dans sa conception, non collectées par toutes les classifications de diagnostic existantes . Ce n’est pas que leur existence n’est pas reconnue, mais on a parfois considéré qu’il s’agissait d’un trouble dépressif présentant des caractéristiques anxieuses secondaires et non d’un trouble isolé.

Dans le cas de la Classification internationale des maladies, réalisée par l'Organisation mondiale de la santé, le trouble mixte anxiété-dépressif a été et continue d'être reconnu et inclus à la fois dans la CIM-10 et dans la CIM-11.

Dans le cas de l’autre grande classification diagnostique des troubles mentaux, le DSM , dans les brouillons de sa cinquième version allait également être inclus. Cependant, dans la version finale, il a été décidé de ne pas inclure le trouble mixte anxieux-dépressif en tant que trouble en soi, car il est considéré que, dans les études effectuées, les données obtenues ne sont pas totalement fiables. Au lieu de cela, la spécification "présentant des symptômes d'anxiété" a été ajoutée aux troubles de l'humeur pour désigner les patients présentant à la fois des caractéristiques dépressives et / ou bipolaires et anxieuses.

Traitements appliqués

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, l'anxiété et la dépression sont souvent liées et ils peuvent apparaître ensemble chez ceux qui les subissent. Mais malgré cela, ce sont toujours des troubles avec leurs propres caractéristiques, avec différents traitements appliqués dans chacun.

En cas de trouble mixte anxiété-dépression, son traitement est complexe en raison de cette différence, devoir utiliser ses propres stratégies pour chaque type de troubles. Plus précisément, une stratégie basée sur la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale a été utilisée avec succès, parfois en association avec un traitement pharmacologique.

Sur le plan psychologique, il est utile de pratiquer des activités qui rétablissent le sentiment de contrôle chez le patient, augmentent son estime de soi et lui permettent de voir le monde de manière plus réaliste.

La psychoéducation est généralement utilisée , à travers laquelle les patients sont informés des caractéristiques de leur problème, il peut être très utile pour eux de comprendre ce qui leur arrive et qu’ils ne sont pas les seuls à en souffrir. Ensuite, il est habituel de traiter à la fois les symptômes anxieux et dépressifs, en utilisant l'exposition à des situations évitables, l'entraînement à la respiration et à la relaxation et les techniques d'auto-instruction pour les premiers.

Dans les problématiques de nature dépressive il agit impliquant des sujets dans des activités positives et enrichissantes et la restructuration cognitive est utilisée pour acquérir de nouveaux modes de pensée plus adaptatifs que ceux utilisés jusqu'à présent. Il a également été observé que la thérapie de groupe contribue grandement à améliorer les symptômes, à identifier les schémas de pensée mésadaptés et à les modifier pour les autres.

Un niveau pharmacologique a montré que l'application d'ISRS est utile pour contrôler les symptômes, en inhibant le recaptage de la sérotonine de manière spécifique et en combattant avec succès les symptômes dépressifs et anxieux.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Echeburúa, E .; Salaberría, K .; de Corral, P .; Cenea, R. & Barasategui, T. (2000). Traitement des troubles mixtes d’anxiété et de dépression: résultats d’une étude expérimentale. Analyse et modification du comportement, vol.26, 108. Département de la personnalité, de l'évaluation et des traitements psychologiques. École de psychologie Université du Pays Basque.
  • Organisation mondiale de la santé (1992), Classification internationale des maladies. Dixième édition. Madrid: OMS.
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Gauche, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E.; Thief, A et Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Psychologie clinique. Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid

C’est quoi le trouble bipolaire ? (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes