yes, therapy helps!
Why is Psychology important?

Why is Psychology important?

June 12, 2024

Everyone has a rough idea of ​​what psychologists do (at least those in the clinical branch). However, in general it tends to minimize the role of psychology in our society , limiting it to the treatment of mental disorders, when the truth is that the contributions of psychology are multiple and varied.

Since psychology studies the behavior of people as a whole, the utilities that derive from the knowledge acquired by this science can be applied to many fields. If you want to know why psychology is so important , this article can be very useful.

  • Maybe you are interested: "Dictionary of Psychology: 200 fundamental concepts"

Psychology and its applications

Normally, psychology is defined as the study of behavior and human mental processes . This definition may vary depending on the theoretical orientation or the field of application; For example, the object of study can easily be extended to non-human animals, as in comparative psychology and ethology.


Psychological research is included in many cases within what we know as "basic psychology" , dedicated to obtaining knowledge about processes such as perception, memory or reasoning, which influence any type of human behavior.

The best known application of psychology is its clinical aspect, which aims to help solve mental and behavioral problems to improve the quality of life of people. Community psychology has objectives similar to those of the clinic but its approach is more macro, since it works with large population groups instead of with individuals.

Other well-known branches of this science they are the educational psychology, which analyzes learning with the aim of enhancing it, and the psychology of organizations, which applies the theories developed by social psychology to the professional field. Forensic psychology, on the other hand, focuses on psychological evaluation as support for judicial processes, and sports psychology aims to improve athletic performance.


  • Related article: "The 12 branches (or fields) of Psychology"

Why is psychology important?

Due to the breadth of the field of psychology, its importance depends to a large extent on the concrete application to which we refer . However, in this section we will reflect on the relevance of psychology at a general level, emphasizing some of its key contributions.

1. To understand living beings

Psychological theories are fundamental to explain the behavior of animals, especially people: any activity produced in a human society is susceptible to be analyzed from psychology since it will always involve the participation of basic mental processes. In relation to the study of human groups, social psychology is particularly important.


The analysis of behavior is not only interesting in itself for a large number of people, but also allows applying the knowledge acquired to many different fields, especially within the social and natural sciences as medicine, sociology, economics, history, political science , demography, linguistics, veterinary medicine or zoology.

2. To increase the quality of life

Many people consider that the ultimate goal of psychology is to increase the well-being and quality of life of others . Although other professionals have different conceptions, the truth is that service to other people has been a central aspect in the development of psychology and continues to be so today.

Evidently, psychology is useful for enhancing mental health and personal growth, but the benefits of this science are not limited to the psyche. The psychology of health, for example, seeks physical well-being and disease prevention through the acquisition of healthy behavioral habits, a key aspect that medicine tends to ignore.

  • Related article: "Decalogue of the psychologist: ethical and professional requirements of our profession"

3. To improve relationships

The knowledge derived from psychological science is very important for the improvement of human relationships. So, it's the psychologists who are better able to improve social skills of shy people, to mediate in cases of divorce or to intervene in mobbing and bullying, among other functions.

4. To enhance professional performance

In today's societies, performance and productivity are extremely valuable professionally, and more and more people realize that having psychologists on their work team promotes results clearly. Human resources, organizational psychology and sports They are good examples of this role.

  • Related article: "State of Flow (or Flow State): how to maximize your performance"

5. To develop cognition

Since psychology, many have been proposed techniques to improve cognitive abilities such as logical reasoning, memory or problem solving. We speak of "meta-knowledge" to refer to knowledge about one's own learning processes; Understanding how our mental processes work is very important to perfect them.

6. To increase creativity

Psychology promotes creativity for different reasons. Not only allows to analyze the artistic process at a deep level, but the understanding of the behavior and mental functioning of people is a very important help for the creation of significant works and realistic characters.

7. To solve specific problems

Both clinical psychology and other branches of this science have frequently focused on solving everyday problems. In this regard, we consider that special mention should be made of the problem solving techniques such as those proposed by D'Zurilla and Nezu , which determine a series of useful steps to face any complex situation.

8. To change the world

After all, many people would like society to be more benevolent with those who make it up. Although institutions tend to ignore psychology for lack of knowledge or for the contraposition of interests, if the contributions of our science regarding individual well-being and collective functioning were more taken into account, the world would undoubtedly be a better place.


Why Study Psychology? (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pourquoi la psychologie est-elle importante?

Pourquoi la psychologie est-elle importante?

Mai 23, 2022

Tout le monde a une idée approximative de ce que font les psychologues (du moins ceux du secteur clinique). Cependant, en général il tend à minimiser le rôle de la psychologie dans notre société , en le limitant au traitement des troubles mentaux, alors que les contributions de la psychologie sont multiples et variées.

Puisque la psychologie étudie le comportement des personnes dans leur ensemble, les utilités découlant des connaissances acquises par cette science peuvent être appliquées à de nombreux domaines. Si tu veux savoir pourquoi la psychologie est si importante , cet article peut être très utile.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Dictionnaire de psychologie: 200 concepts fondamentaux"

Psychologie et ses applications

Normalement, la psychologie est définie comme l'étude du comportement et des processus mentaux humains . Cette définition peut varier en fonction de l’orientation théorique ou du domaine d’application; Par exemple, l'objet de l'étude peut facilement être étendu aux animaux non humains, comme en psychologie comparée et en éthologie.


La recherche psychologique est incluse dans de nombreux cas au sein de ce que nous connaissons comme "psychologie de base" , dédié à l’acquisition de connaissances sur des processus tels que la perception, la mémoire ou le raisonnement, qui influent sur tout type de comportement humain.

L'application la plus connue de la psychologie est son aspect clinique, qui vise à aider à résoudre les problèmes mentaux et comportementaux afin d'améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes. La psychologie communautaire a des objectifs similaires à ceux de la clinique, mais son approche est plus macro-économique, car elle fonctionne avec de grands groupes de population plutôt qu'avec des individus.

Autres branches bien connues de cette science ce sont la psychologie de l'éducation, qui analyse l'apprentissage dans le but de le valoriser, et la psychologie des organisations, qui applique les théories développées par la psychologie sociale au domaine professionnel. La psychologie judiciaire, quant à elle, met l’accent sur l’évaluation psychologique en tant que soutien aux processus judiciaires, tandis que la psychologie sportive vise à améliorer les performances sportives.


  • Article connexe: "Les 12 branches (ou domaines) de la psychologie"

Pourquoi la psychologie est-elle importante?

En raison de l'étendue du champ de la psychologie, son importance dépend dans une large mesure de l'application concrète à laquelle nous nous référons . Cependant, dans cette section, nous réfléchirons à la pertinence de la psychologie au niveau général, en soulignant certaines de ses contributions clés.

1. Comprendre les êtres vivants

Les théories psychologiques sont fondamentales pour expliquer le comportement des animaux, en particulier des hommes: toute activité produite dans une société humaine est susceptible d'être analysée de la psychologie, car elle impliquera toujours la participation de processus mentaux fondamentaux. En ce qui concerne l’étude des groupes humains, la psychologie sociale est particulièrement importante.


L’analyse du comportement n’est pas seulement intéressante en elle-même pour un grand nombre de personnes, elle permet également d’appliquer les connaissances acquises à de nombreux domaines différents, notamment dans les domaines des sciences sociales et naturelles. médecine, sociologie, économie, histoire, sciences politiques , démographie, linguistique, médecine vétérinaire ou zoologie.

2. Augmenter la qualité de vie

Beaucoup de gens considèrent que le but ultime de la psychologie est d'accroître le bien-être et la qualité de vie des autres . Bien que les autres professionnels aient des conceptions différentes, la vérité est que le service rendu aux autres a été un aspect central du développement de la psychologie et continue de l’être de nos jours.

De toute évidence, la psychologie est utile pour améliorer la santé mentale et la croissance personnelle, mais les avantages de cette science ne se limitent pas à la psyché. La psychologie de la santé, par exemple, vise le bien-être physique et la prévention des maladies par l'acquisition d'habitudes de comportement saines, un aspect essentiel que la médecine a tendance à ignorer.

  • Article connexe: "Décalogue du psychologue: exigences éthiques et professionnelles de notre profession"

3. Améliorer les relations

Les connaissances issues de la science psychologique sont très importantes pour l’amélioration des relations humaines. Donc, ce sont les psychologues qui sont mieux en mesure d'améliorer les compétences sociales des personnes timides, d’intervenir dans les cas de divorce ou d’intervenir dans le harcèlement moral et le harcèlement, entre autres fonctions.

4. Améliorer les performances professionnelles

Dans les sociétés actuelles, la performance et la productivité sont extrêmement précieuses sur le plan professionnel, et de plus en plus de personnes se rendent compte que la présence de psychologues dans leur équipe de travail favorise clairement les résultats. Ressources humaines, psychologie organisationnelle et sport Ce sont de bons exemples de ce rôle.

  • Article connexe: «État de flux (ou état de flux): comment optimiser vos performances»

5. Développer la cognition

Depuis la psychologie, beaucoup ont été proposés techniques pour améliorer les capacités cognitives tels que le raisonnement logique, la mémoire ou la résolution de problèmes. Nous parlons de "méta-connaissances" pour désigner des connaissances sur nos propres processus d'apprentissage; Comprendre le fonctionnement de nos processus mentaux est très important pour les perfectionner.

6. Augmenter la créativité

La psychologie favorise la créativité pour différentes raisons. Non seulement permet d'analyser en profondeur le processus artistique, mais la compréhension du comportement et du fonctionnement mental des personnes est une aide très importante pour la création d'œuvres significatives et de personnages réalistes.

7. Résoudre des problèmes spécifiques

La psychologie clinique et d'autres branches de cette science se sont souvent concentrées sur la résolution de problèmes quotidiens. A cet égard, nous estimons qu'il convient de mentionner spécialement le techniques de résolution de problèmes telles que celles proposées par D'Zurilla et Nezu , qui déterminent une série d’étapes utiles pour faire face à toute situation complexe.

8. Changer le monde

Après tout, beaucoup voudraient que la société soit plus bienveillante envers ceux qui la composent. Bien que les institutions tendent à ignorer la psychologie pour manque de connaissances ou pour opposer des intérêts, si les contributions de notre science concernant le bien-être individuel et le fonctionnement collectif étaient davantage prises en compte, le monde serait sans aucun doute un meilleur endroit.


Pourquoi la psychologie est-elle importante? (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes