yes, therapy helps!
Kantor's Interbehaviorism: the 4 principles of this theory

Kantor's Interbehaviorism: the 4 principles of this theory

January 27, 2024

Jacob Robert Kantor (1888-1984) was the creator of interbehaviorism, a psychological and scientific model that coexisted with radical Skinnerian behaviorism and was strongly influenced by naturalist philosophy.

In this article we will analyze the four basic principles of Kantor's interbehaviorism and its relation to the Skinner model.

  • Related article: "The 10 types of behaviorism: history, theories and differences"

Basic principles of interbehaviorism

Kantor coined the term "interbehaviorism" probably to differentiate his position from the classic model of behavioral psychology, hegemonic in his time and very popular today: the "E-R" (Stimulus-Response) scheme.


The Kantor model defines a psychological field that is schematized as K = (is, or, f e-r, s, hi, ed, md) , where "K" is a certain behavioral segment. Each of the other abbreviations refers to one of the following variables:

  • Stimulating events (es): everything that makes contact with a certain body.
  • Organism variables (o): biological reactions to external stimulation.
  • Stimulus-response function (f e-r) : system developed in a historical way that determines the interaction between stimuli and responses.
  • Situational factors (s): any variable, both organismic and external, that exerts an influence on the analyzed interaction.
  • Interconductual history (hi): refers to the behavioral segments that have previously happened and that influence the current situation.
  • Dispositional events (ed): the sum of situational factors and behavioral history, that is, all the events that influence the interaction.
  • Means of contact (md): circumstances that allow the behavioral segment to take place.

Interbehaviorism is not only considered a psychological theory, but a philosophical proposal of a general nature, applicable both to psychology and to the rest of sciences, particularly those of behavior. In this sense Moore (1984) highlights four basic principles that characterize Kantor's inter-behavioral psychology .


1. Naturalism

The naturalist philosophy defends that all phenomena are explicable by the natural sciences and that there is a clear interdependence between physical and non-observable events. Thus, this philosophy rejects the dualism between the organism and the mind, which it considers a manifestation of the biological substrate of the body when interacting with a given environment.

Therefore, when analyzing any fact, it is essential to take into account the spatio-temporal context in which it occurs, since trying to study an isolated event is reductionist and lacking in meaning. Kantor warned that the tendency of psychology towards mentalism interferes with its development as a science and it must be denounced in any of its forms.

2. Scientific Pluralism

According to Kantor there is no science that is superior to the rest, but the knowledge acquired by different disciplines must be integrated, and it is necessary that some refute the approaches of others so that science can advance. For this, researchers should not seek a macro-theory but simply continue to research and make proposals.


3. Multicausality

Interbehaviorism rejects traditional hypotheses and causality models, which try to explain the occurrence of certain facts through simple linear relationships. According to Kantor causality must be understood as a complex process that integrates multiple factors in a given phenomenological field.

He also highlighted the probabilistic nature of science; In no case are certainties found, but it is only possible to generate explanatory models as close as possible to the underlying factors, from which it is impossible to obtain all the information.

4. Psychology as interaction between organism and stimuli

Kantor pointed out that the object of study of psychology should be the interconduct, that is, the bidirectional interaction between the stimuli and the responses of the organism. This interaction is more complex than those of sciences such as physics, since in psychology the development of behavior patterns due to the accumulation of experiences is very relevant.

  • Maybe you are interested: "The 10 main psychological theories"

Relationship with radical behaviorism

The interconductual psychology of Kantor and the radical behaviorism of Burrhus Frederick Skinner arose at about the same time. The relationship between both disciplines at their peak can be described as ambivalent, since both the similarities and the differences between inter-behaviorism and radical behaviorism They are obvious.

The two models analyze behavior without using unobservable mediational variables, such as thoughts, emotions or expectations. In this way they focus on studying the contingencies and causal relationships between behavior and its environmental determinants, avoiding the use of hypothetical constructs.

According to Morris (1984), the differences between inter-behaviorism and radical behaviorism are basically a matter of emphasis or detail; for example, Kantor did not agree with the Skinnerian perspective that behavior should be understood as an answer, but that he conceived it as an interaction between different factors.

Schoenfeld (1969) stated that the limited influence of Kantor can be explained by the fact that his contributions were basically of a theoretical nature , since his main talent consisted in the analysis and criticism of current approaches and sought to inspire others to follow a new direction in the field of psychology and in science in general.

  • You may be interested: "The functional contextualism of Steven C. Hayes"

Bibliographic references:

  • Moore, J. (1984). Conceptual contributions of Kantor's interbehavioral psychology. The Behavior Analyst, 7 (2): 183-187.
  • Morris, E. K. (1984). Interbehavioral psychology and radical behaviorism: Some similarities and differences. The Behavior Analyst, 7 (2): 197-204.
  • Schoenfeld, W. N. (1969). J. R. Kantor's Objective Psychology of Grammar and Psychology and Logic: A retrospective appreciation. Journal of the Experimental Analysis of Behavior, 12: 329-347.

Behaviorism | Wikipedia audio article (January 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Interbehaviorism de Kantor: les 4 principes de cette théorie

Interbehaviorism de Kantor: les 4 principes de cette théorie

Février 24, 2021

Jacob Robert Kantor (1888-1984) est le créateur de l'interbehaviorisme, un modèle psychologique et scientifique qui coexistait avec le behaviorisme radical skinnerien et qui était fortement influencé par la philosophie naturaliste.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons les quatre principes de base de l'interbehaviorisme de Kantor et sa relation avec le modèle Skinner.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 types de behaviorisme: histoire, théories et différences"

Principes de base de l'interbehaviorisme

Kantor a inventé le terme "inter-comportementalisme" probablement pour différencier sa position du modèle classique de la psychologie comportementale, hégémonique de son temps et très populaire aujourd'hui: le schéma "E-R" (Stimulus-Response).


Le modèle Kantor définit un champ psychologique schématisé comme K = (est, ou, f e-r, s, salut, ed, md) , où "K" est un certain segment comportemental. Chacune des autres abréviations fait référence à l'une des variables suivantes:

  • Événements stimulants: tout ce qui entre en contact avec un corps déterminé.
  • Variables relatives aux organismes (o): réactions biologiques à une stimulation externe.
  • Fonction stimulus-réponse (f e-r) : système développé de manière historique qui détermine l’interaction entre stimuli et réponses.
  • Facteur (s) de situation: toute variable, à la fois organismique et externe, qui exerce une influence sur l’interaction analysée.
  • Histoire interconductrice (hi): fait référence aux segments comportementaux qui se sont déjà produits et qui influencent la situation actuelle.
  • Événements de mise en forme (ed): la somme des facteurs situationnels et l’histoire comportementale, c’est-à-dire tous les événements qui influencent l’interaction.
  • Moyens de contact (md): circonstances permettant au segment comportemental de prendre place.

L'interbehaviorisme n'est pas seulement considéré comme une théorie psychologique, mais comme une proposition philosophique de nature générale, applicable à la fois à la psychologie et au reste des sciences, en particulier celles du comportement. En ce sens, Moore (1984) souligne quatre principes de base qui caractérisent la psychologie inter-comportementale de Kantor .


1. Naturalisme

La philosophie naturaliste défend l'idée que tous les phénomènes sont explicables par les sciences naturelles et qu'il existe une nette interdépendance entre les événements physiques et les événements non observables. Ainsi, cette philosophie rejette le dualisme entre l’organisme et l’esprit, qu’elle considère comme une manifestation du substrat biologique du corps lorsqu’il interagit avec un environnement donné.

Par conséquent, lors de l'analyse d'un fait, il est essentiel de prendre en compte le contexte spatio-temporel dans lequel il se produit, car essayer d'étudier un événement isolé est réductionniste et manque de sens. Kantor a prévenu que la tendance de la psychologie au mentalisme interfère avec son développement en tant que science et il doit être dénoncé sous aucune de ses formes.

2. Pluralisme scientifique

Selon Kantor, aucune science n'est supérieure aux autres, mais les connaissances acquises par différentes disciplines doivent être intégrées et il est nécessaire que certains réfutent les approches des autres pour que la science puisse progresser. Pour cela, les chercheurs ne devraient pas rechercher une macro-théorie mais simplement continuer à rechercher et à faire des propositions.


3. Multicausalité

L'interbehaviorisme rejette les hypothèses traditionnelles et les modèles de causalité, qui tentent d'expliquer l'occurrence de certains faits par de simples relations linéaires. Selon Kantor la causalité doit être comprise comme un processus complexe qui intègre plusieurs facteurs dans un domaine phénoménologique donné.

Il a également souligné le caractère probabiliste de la science; On ne trouve en aucun cas des certitudes, mais il est uniquement possible de générer des modèles explicatifs aussi proches que possible des facteurs sous-jacents, à partir desquels il est impossible d'obtenir toutes les informations.

4. La psychologie en tant qu'interaction entre l'organisme et les stimuli

Kantor a souligné que l'objet d'étude de la psychologie devrait être l'interconductivité, c'est-à-dire l'interaction bidirectionnelle entre les stimuli et les réponses de l'organisme. Cette interaction est plus complexe que celle de sciences telles que la physique, car en psychologie, le développement de modèles de comportement dus à l'accumulation d'expériences est très pertinent.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les 10 principales théories psychologiques"

Relation avec le behaviorisme radical

La psychologie interconductrice de Kantor et le behaviorisme radical de Burrhus Frederick Skinner sont apparus à peu près au même moment. La relation entre les deux disciplines à leur apogée peut être décrite comme ambivalente, car les similitudes et les différences entre inter-behaviorisme et behaviorisme radical Ils sont évidents.

Les deux modèles analysent le comportement sans utiliser de variables médiatiques non observables, telles que les pensées, les émotions ou les attentes. De cette manière, ils se concentrent sur l’étude des contingences et des relations de cause à effet entre le comportement et ses déterminants environnementaux, en évitant l’utilisation de constructions hypothétiques.

Selon Morris (1984), les différences entre intercomportementisme et comportementalisme radical sont essentiellement une question d’accentuation ou de détail; Par exemple, Kantor n'était pas d'accord avec la perspective skinnerienne selon laquelle le comportement devait être compris comme une réponse, mais il le concevait comme une interaction entre différents facteurs.

Schoenfeld (1969) a déclaré que l’influence limitée de Kantor s’explique par le fait que ses contributions étaient essentiellement de nature théorique , car son principal talent consistait à analyser et à critiquer les approches actuelles et à inspirer les autres à suivre une nouvelle direction dans le domaine de la psychologie et de la science en général.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Le contextualisme fonctionnel de Steven C. Hayes"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Moore, J. (1984). Contributions conceptuelles de la psychologie inter-comportementale de Kantor. The Behavior Analyst, 7 (2): 183-187.
  • Morris, E.K. (1984). Psychologie inter-comportementale et comportementalisme radical: quelques similitudes et différences. The Behavior Analyst, 7 (2): 197-204.
  • Schoenfeld, W. N. (1969). La psychologie objective de la grammaire et la psychologie et la logique de J. R. Kantor: appréciation rétrospective. Journal de l'analyse expérimentale du comportement, 12: 329-347.

Behaviorism | Wikipedia audio article (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes