yes, therapy helps!
7 keys of Psychology applied to Marketing and Advertising

7 keys of Psychology applied to Marketing and Advertising

July 26, 2022

Psychology is a discipline that is applied in many areas: sports, schools or companies.

Within this last context we find Psychology applied to Marketing , which is key to understanding how the human mind works and is essential to persuade consumers to acquire our products or services.

Keys to Psychology applied to Marketing and Advertising

Any good marketing strategy can not forget how consumers think, what needs they have and what their motivations are. Therefore, Psychology is a basic pillar in the world of Marketing and Advertising.

In the following lines you can find 7 keys of Psychology applied to Marketing and Advertising .


1. Emotional marketing

Emotional intelligence is one of the great paradigms of current Psychology , because the emotions affect our well-being and our behavior in a decisive way. Most people think that the decisions we make are based on a rational analysis of the alternatives presented to us, an idea that the psychologist Antonio Damasio, in his book, "The error of Descartes", says he does not share.

For Damasio, "emotions are crucial in almost all the decisions we make, because these, which are associated with previous experiences, set values ​​for the options we are considering." In other words, emotions create preferences that lead us to opt for one option or another.


Emotional marketing is applied in branding , in strategies for customer loyalty, in commercial accounts, etc.

  • If you want to go deeper into this topic, you can do it in our article "Emotional Marketing: reaching the heart of the client"

2. Classical and instrumental conditioning

Classical and instrumental conditioning are two key concepts to understand behavioral psychology, and are present in our learning, our behavior and, of course, in the world of Marketing.

The classical conditioning, popularized by John Watson thanks to the help of Ivan Pavlov, can be observed in the advertising world when nice situations or attributes are highlighted that are not necessarily linked to the characteristics of a product or service. It is not strange to run into similar products of different brands that provoke different emotional experiences for users through branding.


Now, when the real characteristics of the product and service are explained, the model of instrumental or operant conditioning is used. That is, when a product really shows differences in quality with respect to its competitors, instrumental conditioning is effective. For example, letting you try the product or giving away a sample of it.

3. Motivation

Motivation is an intrinsic force that guides us and allows us to maintain behaviors aimed at achieving an objective or satisfying a need. Many psychologists have been interested in the study of motivation, since it is a basic principle in the behavior of human beings. Motivation also affects decision making.

For this reason, it is applied in the field of Marketing, understanding and influencing motivation will result in greater acquisition of products and services on the part of consumers. For example, if we detect through a survey that a user is motivated to buy a vehicle, there is a greater probability that he can buy one of our products if we are dedicated to the automotive sector. This technique is widely used today. An example of this is the use of "cookies", which allow us to track the habits and concerns of potential customers.

  • Related article: "Types of motivation: the 8 motivational sources"

4. Zeigarnik effect: creating expectations and suspense

The Zeigarnik effect is closely related to expectations, and it owes its name to Bluma Zeigarnik, a psychologist at the School of Gestalt, who realized that unfinished tasks tend to generate discomfort and intrusive thoughts in us. In the Marketing world, the Zeigarnik Effect is a technique used to attract customers, which is used in different situations. For example, in movie trailers.

It is common to see in some television series a short summary of the next chapter at the end of the program , to create suspense and provoke the need to know how they conclude the scenes they have shown us previously. This is called "cliffhangers" and is based on the Zeigarnik effect.

5. Persuasion

The Psychology of persuasion is one of the key elements of marketing . This branch of social psychology aims to study human behavior to understand what are the reasons that cause people to modify their behavior under external influence. Although it is often confused with manipulation, persuasion is an art that consists of convincing people to act in a certain way.

There are a number of elements that are indispensable for effective persuasive communication. For example, reciprocity, scarcity, authority, consistency, sympathy and credibility.

  • You can learn more about this concept in our article: "Persuasion: definition and elements of the art of convincing"

6. Neuromarketing

Neuromarketing is a discipline that studies the mind, brain and consumer behavior and how to influence it to achieve more sales. Therefore, it brings scientific advances in Psychology and Neuroscience to the discipline of Marketing.

Understanding the functioning of attention, perception or memory and how these processes affect people, their tastes, personality and needs, allows for a more effective Marketing. There are many applications of Neuromarketing, as you can see in our articles:

  • Neuromarketing has a lot of future
  • Neuromarketing: your brain knows what you want to buy

7. Cognitive dissonance

Cognitive dissonance is a concept closely linked to Social Psychology . The psychologist Leon Festinger proposed this theory, which explains how people try to maintain their internal consistency. That is, we all have a strong inner need that pushes us to ensure that our beliefs, attitudes and behavior are coherent with each other. When this does not happen, discomfort and disharmony appear, something we strive to avoid.

Cognitive dissonance is very present in Marketing, which explains why we often choose products that we do not really need and make purchases that are not always consistent. In fact, every consumer who does not feel satisfied with the product that he has just obtained does not know how useful it will be for him, and he experiences cognitive dissonance. It may happen that, when choosing a purchase, we question the whys, and look for explanations that justify our action. Human beings are like that, and cognitive dissonance is present in many of the decisions we make and how we behave.

  • Related article: "Cognitive dissonance: the theory that explains self-deception"

Science Of Persuasion (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
7 clés de la psychologie appliquée au marketing et à la publicité

7 clés de la psychologie appliquée au marketing et à la publicité

Septembre 23, 2019

La psychologie est une discipline qui s’applique dans de nombreux domaines: sports, écoles ou entreprises.

Dans ce dernier contexte, nous trouvons la psychologie appliquée au marketing , ce qui est essentiel pour comprendre le fonctionnement de l’esprit humain et pour persuader les consommateurs d’acquérir nos produits ou services.

Clés de la psychologie appliquée au marketing et à la publicité

Toute bonne stratégie marketing ne peut pas oublier ce que pensent les consommateurs, quels sont leurs besoins et quelles sont leurs motivations. La psychologie est donc un pilier fondamental du monde du marketing et de la publicité.

Dans les lignes suivantes, vous pouvez trouver 7 clés de la psychologie appliquée au marketing et à la publicité .


1. Marketing émotionnel

L'intelligence émotionnelle est l'un des grands paradigmes de la psychologie actuelle , parce que les émotions affectent notre bien-être et notre comportement de manière décisive. La plupart des gens pensent que les décisions que nous prenons reposent sur une analyse rationnelle des alternatives qui nous sont présentées, une idée que le psychologue Antonio Damasio, dans son livre "L'erreur de Descartes", affirme ne pas partager.

Pour Damasio, "les émotions sont cruciales dans presque toutes les décisions que nous prenons, car celles-ci, associées aux expériences précédentes, définissent des valeurs pour les options que nous envisageons". En d'autres termes, les émotions créent des préférences qui nous amènent à opter pour une option ou une autre.


Le marketing émotionnel est appliqué à la stratégie de marque , dans les stratégies de fidélisation de la clientèle, dans les comptes commerciaux, etc.

  • Si vous souhaitez approfondir ce sujet, vous pouvez le faire dans notre article "Marketing émotionnel: atteindre le cœur du client"

2. Conditionnement classique et instrumental

Le conditionnement classique et le conditionnement instrumental sont deux concepts clés pour comprendre la psychologie comportementale. Ils sont présents dans notre apprentissage, notre comportement et, bien sûr, dans le monde du marketing.

Le conditionnement classique, popularisé par John Watson grâce à Ivan Pavlov, peut être observé dans le monde de la publicité quand les bonnes situations ou attributs sont mis en évidence et ne sont pas nécessairement liés aux caractéristiques d'un produit ou service. Il n’est pas étonnant de rencontrer des produits similaires de marques différentes qui provoquent des expériences émotionnelles différentes pour les utilisateurs à travers l’image de marque.


Maintenant, lorsque les caractéristiques réelles du produit et du service sont expliquées, le modèle de conditionnement instrumental ou opérant est utilisé. C'est-à-dire que lorsqu'un produit présente réellement des différences de qualité par rapport à ses concurrents, le conditionnement instrumental est efficace. Par exemple, vous permettre d'essayer le produit ou d'en donner un échantillon.

3. Motivation

La motivation est une force intrinsèque qui nous guide et nous permet de conserver des comportements visant à atteindre un objectif ou à satisfaire un besoin. De nombreux psychologues se sont intéressés à l'étude de la motivation, puisqu'il s'agit d'un principe de base du comportement des êtres humains. La motivation affecte également la prise de décision.

Pour cette raison, il est appliqué dans le domaine du marketing, comprendre et influencer la motivation se traduira par une plus grande acquisition de produits et services de la part des consommateurs. Par exemple, si nous détectons, au moyen d'une enquête, qu'un utilisateur est motivé pour acheter un véhicule, il est plus probable qu'il puisse acheter l'un de nos produits si nous nous consacrons au secteur de l'automobile. Cette technique est largement utilisée aujourd'hui. Un exemple en est l'utilisation de «cookies», qui nous permettent de suivre les habitudes et les préoccupations des clients potentiels.

  • Article connexe: "Types de motivation: les 8 sources de motivation"

4. Effet Zeigarnik: créer des attentes et du suspense

L’effet Zeigarnik est étroitement lié aux attentes et doit son nom à Bluma Zeigarnik, psychologue à l’École de Gestalt, qui a compris que les tâches inachevées ont tendance à générer en nous un inconfort et des pensées intrusives. Dans le monde du marketing, l’effet Zeigarnik est une technique utilisée pour attirer les clients, qui est utilisée dans différentes situations. Par exemple, dans des bandes-annonces.

Il est courant de voir dans certaines séries télévisées un bref résumé du prochain chapitre à la fin du programme. , créer du suspense et provoquer le besoin de savoir comment ils concluent les scènes qu’ils nous ont montrées précédemment. C'est ce qu'on appelle les "cliffhangers" et est basé sur l'effet Zeigarnik.

5. Persuasion

La psychologie de la persuasion est l’un des éléments clés du marketing . Cette branche de la psychologie sociale vise à étudier le comportement humain pour comprendre quelles sont les raisons qui poussent les gens à modifier leur comportement sous l'influence externe. Bien que la manipulation soit souvent confondue, la persuasion est un art qui consiste à convaincre les gens d’agir d’une certaine manière.

Un certain nombre d’éléments sont indispensables à une communication persuasive efficace. Par exemple, réciprocité, pénurie, autorité, cohérence, sympathie et crédibilité.

  • Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur ce concept dans notre article: "Persuasion: définition et éléments de l'art de convaincre"

6. Neuromarketing

Le neuromarketing est une discipline qui étudie le comportement de l'esprit, du cerveau et du consommateur. et comment l’influencer pour augmenter les ventes. Par conséquent, il apporte des avancées scientifiques en psychologie et en neurosciences à la discipline du marketing.

Comprendre le fonctionnement de l'attention, de la perception ou de la mémoire et comment ces processus affectent les individus, leurs goûts, leur personnalité et leurs besoins, permet un marketing plus efficace. Il existe de nombreuses applications du Neuromarketing, comme vous pouvez le constater dans nos articles:

  • Le neuromarketing a beaucoup d'avenir
  • Neuromarketing: votre cerveau sait ce que vous voulez acheter

7. Dissonance cognitive

La dissonance cognitive est un concept étroitement lié à la psychologie sociale . Le psychologue Leon Festinger a proposé cette théorie, qui explique comment les gens essaient de maintenir leur cohérence interne. Autrement dit, nous avons tous un besoin intérieur fort qui nous pousse à veiller à ce que nos croyances, nos attitudes et notre comportement soient cohérents les uns avec les autres. Lorsque cela ne se produit pas, l’inconfort et la discorde apparaissent, ce que nous nous efforçons d’éviter.

La dissonance cognitive est très présente dans le marketing, ce qui explique pourquoi nous choisissons souvent des produits dont nous n'avons pas vraiment besoin et effectuons des achats pas toujours cohérents. En fait, chaque consommateur qui ne se sent pas satisfait du produit qu’il vient d’obtenir ne sait pas à quel point il lui sera utile, et il fait face à une dissonance cognitive. Il peut arriver que, lors du choix d’un achat, nous nous interrogions sur le pourquoi et cherchions des explications qui justifient notre action. Les êtres humains sont comme ça, et la dissonance cognitive est présente dans beaucoup de décisions que nous prenons et comment nous nous comportons.

  • Article connexe: "Dissonance cognitive: la théorie qui explique l'auto-illusion"

Psychologie inversée en marketing (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes