yes, therapy helps!
The 8 types of manipulators: how does each one work?

The 8 types of manipulators: how does each one work?

July 19, 2024

One of the characteristics of manipulators is, precisely, to act in such a way that they can not be recognized as such.

One of the factors that serve to understand how they can go unnoticed in this way is that, instead of a pattern of behavior typical of manipulation, there are different types of manipulators, or manipulation strategies to follow . This makes it not always easy to recognize when someone is being cheated for their own benefit.

  • Recommended article: "6 manipulation strategies used by abusers"

The main types of manipulators

Despite all the difficulties, it is not impossible to detect these cases of continued deception.


Then I describe the main manipulation strategies adopted by manipulators according to their personality or the context in which they try to cheat someone.

1. False victims

Some manipulative people hide in a disadvantaged situation that in many cases is fictitious and that, if it is real, they always try to exaggerate. The objective is clear: to give pity .

This is a strategy that appeals to the parts of the brain most related to the limbic system and emotional memory and that has a powerful effect on the behavior of others. In fact, some people can not help but give in to everything that these types of manipulators directly or indirectly ask for, despite the intuition that they are being deceived.


2. Care seekers

In certain people with narcissistic features attention is such a precious resource that they are willing to elaborate strategies whose ultimate goal is to achieve this element. And, in many cases, these strategies include a part of deception and manipulation . For example, it is what happens in people who pretend to have a power that does not have just to have a way to stand out without doing too much, or that simulates interest in other people just to make this interest born to oneself by the other.

In addition, this type of manipulative people know that for others it would be so strange to suppose that everything they do for the attention that they do not even think about it, and therefore it is unlikely that they will be discovered.

3. Authorities in the field

This class of manipulators They endorse the fallacy ad verecundiam to exercise control over others . The idea, simply, is that they know a lot about a particular topic, and therefore they should be the leaders and those who have the last word on a given topic.


Of course, the moral position on which they decide what others should do is simply a façade that fulfills its function: deceiving others.

4. Echo camera manipulators

These are people who want to grow socially or economically giving the reason to an authority figure that is, refraining from offering their point of view in exchange for reinforcing decisions of someone powerful.

This hurts others so much that they see how there is a very clear imbalance of power (a person who is already important is counting on the unconditional help of another person) as well as the person who is a leader, since they can not get there to be informed of when their decisions and opinions are flawed.

5. Discreditors

If the two previous types of manipulative people are based on authority, with this class the opposite happens: you try to damage the position of someone to not have competition .

For this, these people can systematically position themselves against what this selected person does, and they will frequently speak ill of it behind their backs. It is not manipulated who wants to harm directly, but their environment.

6. False prize manipulators

These types of manipulators are characterized by offering a long-term reward in exchange for following a plan . Of course, when the time comes to give the reward, they will disappear. It is a style of manipulation that is linked to a specific object and a specific task.

7. Adulators

These manipulates they go out of their way to speak well of someone so that someone believes they are in debt to them and agree to do what they ask . As with the false victims, it is possible to fall into their trap despite being partially aware that they are being manipulated.

8. Argumentative trileros

These are people who, to manipulate, opt for a strategy based on a verbal game: they make statements that after a while they manipulate to make it look like they were saying something else , and do the same with the speeches of others as long as it seems they have said something else.

This happens a lot in discussions, to win public opinion.For example, if someone claims that a candidate for mayor has no studies and another person indicates that they do have a degree, the manipulator will respond to this, suggesting that a university degree is a determining factor in being a good mayor is ridiculous. In this case it is played with the distractions and with the memory of the audience to manipulate it, speaking a posteriori about things that have not happened.

  • It may interest you: "The 10 types of logical and argumentative fallacies"
Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 types de manipulateurs: comment fonctionne-t-il?

Les 8 types de manipulateurs: comment fonctionne-t-il?

Juillet 27, 2022

L'une des caractéristiques des manipulateurs est précisément d'agir de manière à ce qu'ils ne puissent pas être reconnus comme tels.

L’un des facteurs permettant de comprendre comment ils peuvent passer inaperçus de cette façon est qu’au lieu d’un comportement typique de la manipulation, il existe différents types de manipulateurs ou de stratégies de manipulation à suivre . Cela fait qu'il n'est pas toujours facile de reconnaître quand une personne est trompée à son avantage.

  • Article recommandé: "6 stratégies de manipulation utilisées par les agresseurs"

Les principaux types de manipulateurs

Malgré toutes les difficultés, il n’est pas impossible de détecter ces cas de tromperie persistante.


Ensuite Je décris les principales stratégies de manipulation adoptées par les manipulateurs en fonction de leur personnalité ou du contexte dans lequel ils essaient de tromper quelqu'un.

1. Faux victimes

Certaines personnes manipulatrices se cachent dans une situation défavorisée qui est souvent fictive et que, si elle est réelle, elles essaient toujours d’exagérer. L’objectif est clair: donner pitié .

C’est une stratégie qui fait appel aux parties du cerveau les plus liées au système limbique et à la mémoire émotionnelle et qui a un effet puissant sur le comportement des autres. En fait, certaines personnes ne peuvent s’empêcher de céder à tout ce que ces types de manipulateurs demandent directement ou indirectement, malgré l’intuition de se faire avoir.


2. Demandeurs de soins

Chez certaines personnes aux traits narcissiques, l’attention est une ressource si précieuse qu’elles sont disposées à élaborer des stratégies dont le but ultime est d’atteindre cet élément. Et, dans de nombreux cas, ces stratégies incluent une part de tromperie et de manipulation . Par exemple, c’est ce qui se passe chez les personnes qui prétendent avoir un pouvoir qui n’a pas simplement besoin d’être en mesure de se démarquer sans trop en faire, ou qui simulent l’intérêt pour les autres simplement pour que cet intérêt naisse de soi.

En outre, ce type de manipulateurs sait que pour d'autres, il serait si étrange de supposer que tout ce qu'ils font à l'attention du public ne s'y intéressent même pas et qu'il est donc peu probable qu'ils soient découverts.

3. Autorités sur le terrain

Cette classe de manipulateurs Ils approuvent l’erreur fallacieuse ad verecundiam d’exercer un contrôle sur les autres . L'idée, simplement, est qu'ils sachent beaucoup sur un sujet particulier et qu'ils devraient donc être les leaders et ceux qui ont le dernier mot sur un sujet donné.


Bien entendu, la position morale sur laquelle ils décident ce que les autres doivent faire est simplement une façade qui remplit sa fonction: tromper les autres.

4. manipulateurs de caméra d'écho

Ce sont des gens qui veulent grandir socialement ou économiquement en donnant la raison à une figure d'autorité c'est-à-dire s'abstenir d'exposer leur point de vue en échange de renforcer les décisions de quelqu'un de puissant.

Cela fait tellement mal aux autres qu'ils comprennent à quel point il existe un déséquilibre de pouvoir très net (une personne qui est déjà importante compte sur l'aide inconditionnelle d'une autre personne), ainsi que la personne qui est un leader, car elle ne peut pas y arriver. être informés du moment où leurs décisions et leurs opinions sont erronées.

5. Les discréditateurs

Si les deux types précédents de manipulateurs sont fondés sur l'autorité, l'inverse se produit avec cette classe: vous essayez de nuire à la position de quelqu'un de ne pas avoir la concurrence .

Pour cela, ces personnes peuvent systématiquement se positionner contre ce que cette personne sélectionnée fait, et elles en parleront souvent mal derrière le dos. Ce ne sont pas les manipulés qui veulent faire du mal directement, mais leur environnement.

6. Faux manipulateurs de prix

Ces types de manipulateurs se caractérisent par l’offre d’une récompense à long terme en échange du suivi d’un plan. . Bien sûr, lorsque le moment sera venu de donner la récompense, ils disparaîtront. C'est un style de manipulation lié à un objet spécifique et à une tâche spécifique.

7. Adulateurs

Ceux-ci manipulents ils font tout leur possible pour bien parler de quelqu'un, de sorte que quelqu'un se croit endetté envers eux et accepte de faire ce qu'ils demandent . Comme pour les fausses victimes, il est possible de tomber dans leur piège même s’ils sont partiellement conscients d’être manipulés.

8. Trileros argumentatifs

Ce sont des gens qui, pour manipuler, optent pour une stratégie basée sur un jeu verbal: ils font des déclarations qu’après un moment ils manipulent pour donner l’impression qu’ils disaient autre chose et faites de même avec les discours des autres tant qu’il semble qu’ils ont dit autre chose.

Cela arrive souvent dans les discussions, pour gagner l'opinion publique.Par exemple, si une personne affirme qu'un candidat à la mairie n'a pas d'études et qu'une autre personne indique qu'elle est titulaire d'un diplôme, le manipulateur réagira en suggérant qu'un diplôme universitaire est un facteur déterminant pour être un bon maire. C'est ridicule. Dans ce cas, il est joué avec les distractions et avec la mémoire du public pour le manipuler, en parlant a posteriori de choses qui ne sont pas arrivées.

  • Cela peut vous intéresser: "Les 10 types d’illusions logiques et argumentatives"

10 Traits de Caractère de Parents Toxiques Qui Ruinent la Vie de Leurs Enfants (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes