yes, therapy helps!
Analytical-functional psychotherapy: characteristics and uses

Analytical-functional psychotherapy: characteristics and uses

May 1, 2024

There is a large number of psychological currents, from which various therapies are derived, dedicated to the treatment of different problems. Currently one of the most predominant approaches is cognitive-behavioral, focused on mental processes and their relationship with behavior.

The therapies derived from it have evolved over time in terms of advances in the understanding of mental processes and the overcoming of previous limitations. One of the most recent treatments is the so-called analytic-functional psychotherapy .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Behaviorism: history, concepts and main authors"

Functional analytic psychotherapy: its basic premises

Functional analytic psychotherapy is a type of psychotherapeutic treatment focused on the issuance of behavior patterns and their functionality and on their approach based on the positive relationship between therapist and patient as a mechanism for promote behavioral change towards more adaptive behaviors and beliefs , as well as the importance of language.


It is a type of therapy that is part of the repertoire of third generation behavioral modification therapies. As the rest of this type of therapies takes into account the context in which the behaviors occur, it focuses on interpersonal relationships as a mechanism to bring about an improvement in the patient's life and gives great importance to the social environment and communication as elements that originate the problems and that in turn can solve it.

It seeks to treat not the symptoms, but the cause that they appear . Although it is part of the cognitive-behavioral current, it approaches and integrates concepts and ideas from other currents such as psychodynamic or systemic.


The basis of functional analytic psychotherapy is found in what the subject does and says in the session itself, which allow to see aspects of their performance in real life. His behavior in consultation and the problems that it manifests will be representative of those who perform outside of it.

It is given a special importance to the verbal behavior and the way of expressing oneself , since it helps to observe the type of behaviors carried out and to which they are attributed. What is sought is for the patient to make an analysis of their own behavior and interpret its causes and that, in turn, through the therapeutic relationship, behaviors are enhanced to improve and cause changes in the functionality that the subject gives to their behavior .

  • Perhaps you are interested: "Behavioral Cognitive Therapy: what is it and on what principles is it based?"

The different types of clinical behaviors

As we have said, what the subject says or does in consultation is the main element with which to work in analytic-functional therapy. These behaviors that the patient carries out during the session are equivalent to those carried out in his daily life in what refers to the function that the subject gives them. It's about the clinically relevant behaviors , among which three subtypes stand out.


In the first place, the relevant behaviors type 1 or those related to the problem or disorder of the treated subject. They are the problematic behaviors that the subject manifests or realizes during the sessions. The objective is to reduce these behaviors, but for this the therapist must provoke them during the session in order to be able to work them. Examples of this are dependency, the excessive search for approval or the remembrance of certain memories.

A second type of behavior is type two, those that generate an improvement or a different and more positive way of dealing with the problem situation. In this case we are facing behaviors that have to be strengthened as much as possible, in a genuine and true way.

Finally, type three behaviors refer to set of attributions or beliefs of the patient towards his own problem , which is sought to analyze together to determine what function they fulfill for the subject and what circumstances generates them. That is, why the patient believes that he acts as he acts and what makes him do it that way in particular. It seeks to encourage the patient to analyze their own behavior so that it can generate positive changes.

  • Related article: "Types of psychological therapies"

Elements that help classify behaviors

The identification of the different behaviors that the subject carries out in his daily life is carried out mainly through the analysis of the session itself and the language used by the patient.

In the first aspect they emphasize the emergence of elements such as the temporality of the sessions, the existence of temporary periods without sessions or the failures or successes committed by the professional. All this will have an effect and will be indicative of the patient's procedure.

In terms of language, both what the patient says and what not, and the way of saying it, are relevant. For example, avoid talking about certain issues, make or respond to requests, how to refer to yourself or to attribute the events. The intention with which things are discussed or the function that the subject gives to language is also analytical material.

Therapeutic action

During functional analytic psychotherapy, the therapist's performance is of great importance and a basic pillar for good therapeutic functioning.

In this type of therapy the professional must attend to the clinically relevant behaviors that occur during the session, as well as work to build with the patient a positive therapeutic relationship that allows in the first place to express the problem behaviors and even deliberately provoke them in consultation.

It must be able to see through the analysis of behaviors and expressions what reinforces the maladaptive behaviors and the function they have for the patient, as well as what behaviors are positive to produce an improvement. Likewise, it must motivate and favor the appearance of behaviors that produce an improvement in these behaviors, in a natural way.

Finally, it is fundamental generate in the patient the ability to analyze their own behavior and visualize the equivalence between their behaviors inside and outside of therapy.

In what cases does it apply?

Functional analytic psychotherapy has application in a great variety of psychological problems and disorders. Its operation effective for treating mood problems , self-esteem, disorders caused by trauma, interpersonal relationships and personality disorders (such as the histrionic or dependent)

Bibliographic references:

  • Almond, M.T. (2012). Psychotherapies CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 06. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Fernández Parra, A., and Ferro García, R. (2006). Analytic-Functional Psychotherapy: a functional contextual approach to psychological treatment. EduPsykhé. Journal of Psychology and Education, 5, 203-229.
  • Kohlenberg, R.J. and Tsai, M. (2008). Functional Analytical Psychotherapy. Creation of intense and curative therapeutic relationships. Biomedical Science Collection. Malaga University.
  • Labrador F.J .; Cruzado F. J. & López, M. (2005). Manual of behavior modification and therapy techniques. Pyramid: Madrid.

Transactional Analysis 1: ego states & basic transactions (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychothérapie analytique et fonctionnelle: caractéristiques et utilisations

Psychothérapie analytique et fonctionnelle: caractéristiques et utilisations

Juillet 21, 2022

Il existe un grand nombre de courants psychologiques, à partir desquels différentes thérapies sont dérivées, dédiées au traitement de différents problèmes. À l'heure actuelle, l'une des approches les plus prédominantes est la démarche cognitivo-comportementale, axée sur les processus mentaux et leur relation avec le comportement.

Les thérapies qui en découlent ont évolué au fil du temps en termes de progrès dans la compréhension des processus mentaux et le dépassement des limites antérieures. L’un des traitements les plus récents est la psychothérapie dite analytique-fonctionnelle .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Behaviorism: histoire, concepts et auteurs principaux"

Psychothérapie analytique fonctionnelle: ses prémisses

La psychothérapie analytique fonctionnelle est un type de traitement psychothérapeutique axé sur la publication de modèles de comportement et de leurs fonctionnalités, ainsi que sur leur approche fondée sur la relation positive entre le thérapeute et le patient en tant que mécanisme de promouvoir le changement de comportement vers des comportements et des croyances plus adaptatifs , ainsi que l’importance de la langue.


C'est un type de thérapie qui fait partie du répertoire des thérapies de modification du comportement de troisième génération. Tandis que le reste de ce type de thérapies prend en compte le contexte dans lequel les comportements se produisent, il se concentre sur les relations interpersonnelles en tant que mécanisme permettant d’améliorer la vie du patient et accorde une grande importance à l’environnement social et à la communication. qui sont à l’origine des problèmes et qui, à leur tour, peuvent les résoudre.

Il cherche à traiter non les symptômes, mais la cause qu'ils apparaissent . Bien que cela fasse partie du courant cognitivo-comportemental, il aborde et intègre les concepts et les idées d'autres courants tels que psychodynamique ou systémique.


La base de la psychothérapie analytique fonctionnelle réside dans ce que le sujet fait et dit dans la session elle-même, ce qui permet de voir certains aspects de leurs performances dans la vie réelle. Son comportement en consultation et les problèmes qu’il pose seront représentatifs de ceux qui se produisent en dehors de celui-ci.

Il est donné une importance particulière pour le comportement verbal et la façon de s'exprimer , car il est utile d’observer le type de comportements adoptés et auxquels ils sont attribués. Ce qui est recherché, c’est que le patient analyse son propre comportement et interprète ses causes et que, grâce à la relation thérapeutique, les comportements soient améliorés afin d’améliorer et de modifier la fonctionnalité proposée par le sujet. .

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Thérapie cognitive comportementale: qu'est-ce que c'est et sur quels principes est-elle basée?"

Les différents types de comportements cliniques

Comme nous l'avons dit, ce que le sujet dit ou fait en consultation est l'élément principal avec lequel travailler en thérapie analytique-fonctionnelle. Ces comportements que le patient exerce au cours de la séance sont équivalents à ceux de sa vie quotidienne en ce qui concerne la fonction que le sujet leur attribue. Il s'agit des comportements cliniquement pertinents , parmi lesquels trois sous-types se démarquent.


En premier lieu, les comportements pertinents du type 1 ou ceux liés au problème ou au trouble du sujet traité. Ce sont les comportements problématiques que le sujet manifeste ou réalise au cours des séances. L'objectif est de réduire ces comportements, mais pour cela le thérapeute doit les provoquer lors de la séance afin de pouvoir les travailler. La dépendance, la recherche excessive d’approbation ou le souvenir de certains souvenirs en sont des exemples.

Un deuxième type de comportement est le type deux, ceux qui génèrent une amélioration ou une manière différente et plus positive de traiter la situation problématique. Dans ce cas, nous sommes confrontés à des comportements qui doivent être renforcés autant que possible, de manière authentique.

Enfin, tapez trois comportements font référence à ensemble d'attributions ou de croyances du patient envers son propre problème , que l’on cherche à analyser ensemble pour déterminer quelle fonction ils remplissent pour le sujet et quelles circonstances les génèrent. C'est pourquoi le patient croit agir comme il agit et ce qui le pousse à le faire de cette manière en particulier. Il vise à encourager le patient à analyser son propre comportement afin de générer des changements positifs.

  • Article connexe: "Types de thérapies psychologiques"

Éléments qui aident à classer les comportements

L’identification des différents comportements que le sujet adopte dans sa vie quotidienne s’effectue principalement par l’analyse de la séance elle-même et du langage utilisé par le patient.

Dans le premier aspect, ils soulignent l’émergence d’éléments tels que la temporalité des sessions, l'existence de périodes temporaires sans sessions ou les échecs ou les succès commis par le professionnel. Tout cela aura un effet et sera révélateur de la procédure du patient.

En termes de langage, ce que le patient dit et ce qu'il ne dit pas, et la façon de le dire, sont pertinents. Par exemple, évitez de parler de certains problèmes, faites ou répondez aux demandes, comment vous référer à vous-même ou attribuer les événements. L'intention avec laquelle les choses sont discutées ou la fonction que le sujet donne au langage est aussi un matériau analytique.

Action thérapeutique

Au cours de la psychothérapie analytique fonctionnelle, la performance du thérapeute revêt une grande importance et constitue un pilier fondamental du bon fonctionnement thérapeutique.

Dans ce type de thérapie, le professionnel doit observer les comportements pertinents sur le plan clinique qui se produisent pendant la session, ainsi que travailler avec le patient. une relation thérapeutique positive cela permet en premier lieu d’exprimer les problèmes de comportement et même de les provoquer délibérément en consultation.

Il doit être capable de voir à travers l'analyse des comportements et des expressions ce qui renforce les comportements mésadaptés et la fonction qu'ils ont pour le patient, ainsi que les comportements positifs pour produire une amélioration. De même, il doit motiver et favoriser l'apparition de comportements qui produisent une amélioration de ces comportements, de manière naturelle.

Enfin, il est fondamental générer chez le patient la capacité d'analyser son propre comportement et visualiser l'équivalence entre leurs comportements à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur de la thérapie.

Dans quels cas cela s'applique-t-il?

La psychothérapie analytique fonctionnelle a des applications dans une grande variété de problèmes et de troubles psychologiques. Son fonctionnement efficace pour traiter les problèmes d'humeur , estime de soi, troubles causés par un traumatisme, relations interpersonnelles et troubles de la personnalité (tels que troubles histrioniques ou dépendants)

Références bibliographiques:

  • Amande, M.T. (2012). Psychothérapies Manuel de préparation du CEDE PIR, 06. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Fernández Parra, A. et Ferro García, R. (2006). Psychothérapie analytique et fonctionnelle: approche contextuelle fonctionnelle du traitement psychologique. EduPsykhé. Journal de psychologie et d'éducation, 5, 203-229.
  • Kohlenberg, R.J. et Tsai, M. (2008). Psychothérapie analytique fonctionnelle. Création de relations thérapeutiques intenses et curatives. Collection de sciences biomédicales. Université de Malaga.
  • Labrador F.J; Cruzado F. J. & López, M. (2005). Manuel de modification du comportement et techniques de thérapie. Pyramide: Madrid.
Articles Connexes