yes, therapy helps!
The General Theory of Systems, by Ludwig von Bertalanffy

The General Theory of Systems, by Ludwig von Bertalanffy

July 14, 2024

It is known as "systems theory" to a set of interdisciplinary contributions that have the objective of studying the characteristics that define systems, that is, entities formed by interrelated and interdependent components.

One of the first contributions to this field was the general systems theory of Ludwig von Bertalanffy . This model has had a great influence on the scientific perspective and continues to be a fundamental reference in the analysis of systems, such as families and other human groups.

  • Related article: "Kurt Lewin and the Theory of the Field: the birth of social psychology"

The systems theory of Bertalanffy

The German biologist Karl Ludwig von Bertalanffy (1901-1972) proposed in 1928 his general theory of systems as a broad tool that could be shared by many different sciences.


This theory contributed to the appearance of a new scientific paradigm based on the interrelation between the elements that make up the systems. Previously it was considered that the systems as a whole were equal to the sum of their parts, and that they could be studied from the individual analysis of their components; Bertalanffy questioned such beliefs.

Since it was created, the general theory of systems has been applied to biology, to psychology , to mathematics, to computational sciences, to economics, to sociology, to politics and to other exact and social sciences, especially in the context of the analysis of interactions.

  • Related article: "Systemic therapy: what is it and on what principles is it based?"

Defining the systems

For this author the concept of "system" can be defined as a set of elements that interact with each other . These are not necessarily humans, not even animals, but they can also be computers, neurons or cells, among many other possibilities.


Systems are defined by their structural characteristics, such as the relationship between the components, and functional; for example, in human systems the elements of the system pursue a common purpose. The key aspect of differentiation between systems is whether they are open or closed to the influence of the environment in which they are located.

System types

Bertalanffy and other later authors have defined different System types according to structural and functional characteristics . Let's see which are the most important classifications.

1. System, suprasystem and subsystems

Systems can be divided according to their level of complexity. The different levels of a system interact with each other, so they are not independent of each other.

If we understand by system a set of elements, we speak of "subsystems" to refer to such components; for example, a family is a system and each individual in it is a subsystem differentiated. The suprasystem is the external medium to the system, in which it is immersed; in human systems it is identifiable with society.


2. Reals, ideals and models

Depending on their entitivity, systems can be classified into reais, ideals and models. The real systems are those that exist physically and that can be observed , whereas ideal systems are symbolic constructions derived from thought and language. The models aim to represent real and ideal characteristics.

3. Natural, artificial and compound

When a system depends exclusively on nature, such as the human body or galaxies, we refer to them as a "natural system". By contrast, artificial systems are those that arise as a consequence of human action; Within this type of system we can find vehicles and companies, among many others.

The composite systems combine natural and artificial elements . Any physical environment modified by people, such as towns and cities, is considered a composite system; Of course, the proportion of natural and artificial elements varies in each specific case.

4. Closed and open

For Bertalanffy, the basic criterion that defines a system is the degree of interaction with the suprasystem and other systems . Open systems exchange matter, energy and / or information with the surrounding environment, adapting to it and influencing it.

On the other hand, closed systems are theoretically isolated from environmental influences; in practice we speak of closed systems when they are highly structured and the feedback is minimal, since no system is completely independent of its suprasystem.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Group Psychology: definition, functions and main authors"

Properties of open systems

Although the properties of closed systems have also been described, those of the open are more relevant to the social sciences because human groups form open systems. This is the case, for example, in families, in organizations and in nations.

1. Totality or synergy

According to the principle of synergy, the functioning of the system can not be understood only from the sum of the elements that make it up , but the interaction between them generates a qualitatively different result.

2. Circular causality or reciprocal codetermination

The action of the different members of a system influences that of the rest, so that the behavior of none of them is independent of the system as a whole . In addition, there is a tendency for repetition (or redundancy) of the operating patterns.

3. Equifinality

The term "equifinality" refers to the fact that several systems can reach the same final stage although initially their conditions are different. Consequently, it is inappropriate to look for a single cause to explain this development.

4. Equicausity

Equicausality opposes equifinality Systems that start being the same can develop differently depending on the influences they receive and the behavior of their members. Thus, Bertalanffy considered that when analyzing a system it is necessary to focus on the present situation and not so much on the initial conditions.

5. Limitation or stochastic process

The systems tend to develop certain sequences of operation and interaction between members. When this happens, the probability of different responses to those that are already consolidated decreases; This is known as "limitation".

6. Relationship rule

The relationship rules determine what are the priority interactions between the components of the system and which ones should be avoided. In human groups, relationship rules are usually implicit.

7. Hierarchical ordering

The principle of hierarchical ordering applies both to members of the system and to certain behaviors. It consists in that some elements and operations have more weight than others, following a vertical logic.

8. Teleology

The development and adaptation of the system, or teleological process, occurs from the opposition of homeostatic forces (ie, focused on the maintenance of current balance and state) and morphogenetic (focused on growth and change).


Systems Theory of Organizations (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie générale des systèmes, par Ludwig von Bertalanffy

La théorie générale des systèmes, par Ludwig von Bertalanffy

Novembre 17, 2019

C'est ce que l'on appelle la "théorie des systèmes" en un ensemble de contributions interdisciplinaires ayant pour objectif d'étudier les caractéristiques qui définissent les systèmes, c'est-à-dire les entités formées de composants interdépendants et interdépendants.

L’une des premières contributions à ce domaine a été la théorie des systèmes généraux de Ludwig von Bertalanffy . Ce modèle a eu une grande influence sur la perspective scientifique et continue d’être une référence fondamentale dans l’analyse de systèmes, tels que les familles et d’autres groupes humains.

  • Article connexe: "Kurt Lewin et la théorie du champ: la naissance de la psychologie sociale"

La théorie des systèmes de Bertalanffy

Le biologiste allemand Karl Ludwig von Bertalanffy (1901-1972) propose en 1928 sa théorie générale des systèmes en tant qu'outil général pouvant être partagé par de nombreuses sciences différentes.


Cette théorie a contribué à l’apparition d’un nouveau paradigme scientifique fondé sur l’interrelation des éléments constitutifs des systèmes. Auparavant, on considérait que les systèmes dans leur ensemble étaient égaux à la somme de leurs parties et qu’ils pouvaient être étudiés à partir de l’analyse individuelle de leurs composants; Bertalanffy a remis en question de telles croyances.

Depuis sa création, la théorie générale des systèmes a été appliquée à la biologie, à la psychologie , aux mathématiques, aux sciences informatiques, à l’économie, à la sociologie, à la politique et aux autres sciences exactes et sociales, en particulier dans le contexte de l’analyse des interactions.

  • Article connexe: "La thérapie systémique: de quoi s'agit-il et sur quels principes se base-t-elle?"

Définir les systèmes

Pour cet auteur, le concept de "système" peut être défini comme un ensemble d'éléments qui interagissent les uns avec les autres . Ce ne sont pas nécessairement des êtres humains, pas même des animaux, mais ils peuvent également être des ordinateurs, des neurones ou des cellules, parmi beaucoup d'autres possibilités.


Les systèmes sont définis par leurs caractéristiques structurelles, telles que la relation entre les composants, et fonctionnelle; par exemple, dans les systèmes humains, les éléments du système poursuivent un but commun. L'aspect essentiel de la différenciation entre les systèmes est de savoir s'ils sont ouverts ou fermés à l'influence de l'environnement dans lequel ils se trouvent.

Types de système

Bertalanffy et d’autres auteurs ultérieurs ont défini différents Types de systèmes en fonction des caractéristiques structurelles et fonctionnelles . Voyons quelles sont les classifications les plus importantes.

1. Système, suprasystème et sous-systèmes

Les systèmes peuvent être divisés en fonction de leur niveau de complexité. Les différents niveaux d'un système interagissent les uns avec les autres, ils ne sont donc pas indépendants les uns des autres.

Si nous entendons par système un ensemble d’éléments, nous parlons de "sous-systèmes" pour désigner de tels composants; par exemple, une famille est un système et chaque individu est un sous-système différencié Le suprasystème est le support externe du système dans lequel il est immergé; dans les systèmes humains, il est identifiable à la société.


2. Reals, idéaux et modèles

Selon leur pouvoir, les systèmes peuvent être classés en reais, idéaux et modèles. Les vrais systèmes sont ceux qui existent physiquement et qui peuvent être observés , tandis que les systèmes idéaux sont des constructions symboliques dérivées de la pensée et du langage. Les modèles visent à représenter des caractéristiques réelles et idéales.

3. Naturel, artificiel et composé

Lorsqu'un système dépend exclusivement de la nature, comme le corps humain ou les galaxies, nous les désignons comme un "système naturel". En revanche, les systèmes artificiels sont ceux qui résultent de l’action humaine; Dans ce type de système, nous pouvons trouver des véhicules et des entreprises, parmi beaucoup d'autres.

Les systèmes composites combiner des éléments naturels et artificiels . Tout environnement physique modifié par des personnes, telles que les villes et les cités, est considéré comme un système composite. Bien entendu, la proportion d'éléments naturels et artificiels varie dans chaque cas particulier.

4. fermé et ouvert

Pour Bertalanffy, le critère de base qui définit un système est la degré d'interaction avec le suprasystème et d'autres systèmes . Les systèmes ouverts échangent de la matière, de l’énergie et / ou de l’information avec l’environnement environnant, s’y adaptant et l’influençant.

D'autre part, les systèmes fermés sont théoriquement isolés des influences environnementales; en pratique, on parle de systèmes fermés lorsqu'ils sont hautement structurés et que le retour d'expérience est minimal, puisqu'un système n'est pas complètement indépendant de son suprasystème.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Psychologie des groupes: définition, fonctions et principaux auteurs"

Propriétés des systèmes ouverts

Bien que les propriétés des systèmes fermés aient également été décrites, ceux de l'open sont plus pertinents pour les sciences sociales parce que les groupes humains forment des systèmes ouverts. C'est le cas, par exemple, dans les familles, les organisations et les pays.

1. Totalité ou synergie

Selon le principe de synergie, le fonctionnement du système ne peut être compris que par la somme des éléments qui le composent , mais l’interaction entre eux génère un résultat qualitativement différent.

2. Causalité circulaire ou codétermination réciproque

L’action des différents membres d’un système influence celle des autres, de sorte que le comportement des aucun d'entre eux n'est indépendant du système dans son ensemble . De plus, il existe une tendance à la répétition (ou à la redondance) des schémas de fonctionnement.

3. Équifinalité

Le terme "équifinalité" fait référence au fait que plusieurs systèmes peuvent atteindre le même stade final bien que leurs conditions soient initialement différentes. Par conséquent, il est inapproprié de rechercher une cause unique pour expliquer cette évolution.

4. Équicausité

L'équicausalité s'oppose à l'équifinalité Les systèmes qui commencent à être identiques peuvent évoluer différemment en fonction des influences qu’ils reçoivent et du comportement de leurs membres. Ainsi, Bertalanffy a estimé que, lors de l’analyse d’un système, il est nécessaire de se concentrer sur la situation actuelle et non sur les conditions initiales.

5. Limite ou processus stochastique

Les systèmes ont tendance à développer certaines séquences d’opérations et d’interactions entre les membres. Lorsque cela se produit, la probabilité de réponses différentes à celles déjà consolidées diminue; Ceci est connu comme "limitation".

6. règle de relation

Les règles de la relation déterminer quelles sont les interactions prioritaires entre les composants du système et lesquels doivent être évités. Dans les groupes humains, les règles de relation sont généralement implicites.

7. Classement hiérarchique

Le principe de classement hiérarchique s'applique à la fois aux membres du système et à certains comportements. Cela consiste en ce que certains éléments et opérations ont plus de poids que d'autres, suivant une logique verticale.

8. Téléologie

Le développement et l’adaptation du système, ou processus téléologique, se produit de l'opposition des forces homéostatiques (c'est-à-dire axées sur le maintien de l'équilibre et de l'état actuels) et morphogénétiques (axées sur la croissance et le changement).


Systems Theory Thinking (Novembre 2019).


Articles Connexes