yes, therapy helps!
Soma neuronal or pericarion: parts and functions

Soma neuronal or pericarion: parts and functions

July 27, 2022

Neurons are one of the most important cell types in our body , since they allow the transmission of information between its different parts through the nervous system. Through them, a series of bioelectrical impulses are generated and transmitted that allow us to perform each of the actions we carry out, both voluntarily and involuntarily, and whether we refer to physical behaviors or cognitive processes. or emotional

But neurons are not homogeneous masses: if we focus on their structure we can distinguish different elements or parts. One of the most important is the soma of the neuron, or pericarion , to which this article is dedicated.


  • Related article: "Types of neurons: characteristics and functions"

The central part of the neuron: The soma or pericarion

It is known as soma or pericarion the central and most important element of the cell, in which is the nucleus and from which its other parts are derived, as extensions of the first: dendrites and axon. The shape of the soma, as well as its position in relation to the rest of its components of the same neuron, can vary greatly depending on the type of neuron we are talking about (although it is usually rounded and large).

The somas of neurons make up what we call gray matter , linked to the processing of nervous information. In fact, different brain structures of great importance are mainly formed by gray matter, such as the cortex itself, the basal ganglia, the thalamus or the hypothalamus.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Gray matter of the brain: structure and functions"

Main parts of the neuronal soma

Within the soma or pericarion we can find a large number of elements, all of them of great importance, which participate in the proper functioning of the cell and its maintenance. The main ones among them are the following.

1. Core

The main and most important element of the soma is the nucleus, in which there are the genetic instructions that govern the formation, growth, functioning and death of the neuron, that is, the DNA. Around or around the nucleus can be found the nucleolus, which generates the transcription of RNA that will end up generating the ribosomes present in the cell.

  • Related article: "Differences between DNA and RNA"

2. Cytoplasm

The cytoplasm is the liquid medium in which the nucleus and the rest of the elements of the soma are located, actively participating in the cellular metabolism and the facilitation of its movement . The membrane of the neuron is limited by the cytoskeleton.


3. Cytoskeleton

This element formed by different types of filaments and tubules they contribute to providing structure and form to the pericarion and also participate in the migration and movement of the different components of the soma.

4. Nissl bodies

Rough endoplasmic reticulum clusters present mainly in the soma (although they can also be observed in the dendrites) and which contain a large number of ribosomes, which are involved in the creation of proteins and neurotransmitters. In addition, they are a fundamental part of the pericarion, because if the cell is damaged (not only in the soma but also for example in the axon) these elements will contribute to its regeneration, dissolving and sacrificing to maintain the functioning of the neuron (in a process known as chromatolysis).

5. Golgi apparatus

Element of great importance for the functioning of the neuron, the Golgi apparatus is a large organelle in which the proteins generated by Nissl bodies are temporarily stored , incorporating other elements in such a way that they can be packaged in macromolecules sent through the neuron to the nerve terminals.

6. Smooth endoplasmic reticulum

Lattice of interconnected tubules whose main function is serve as assembly point of many substances secreted by the other elements . It also participates in the synthesis of lipids and elements related to the neuron membrane. The aforementioned Golgi apparatus is, in fact, smooth endoplasmic reticulum.

7. Lysosomes

Set of elements present in the cytoplasm whose main function is that of Degrade the intracellular material , facilitating the operation of the soma by eliminating harmful remains.

8. Ribosomes

Present in some of the previous structures but also freely localizable in the cytoplasm, ribosomes are macromolecules formed by ribosomal RNA and some proteins which are responsible for the synthesis of proteins. Technically they are the elements that carry out the expression of the genetic information present in the nucleus, through this synthesis.

9.Mitochondria

Fundamental elements of the cell whose main function is that of give it energy and keep it alive , carrying out cellular respiration and synthesizing ATP (element used by cells as fuel).

Its function

The soma or pericarion plays a fundamental role: it is about the part of the neuron that governs the functioning and keeps alive this biological unit , being the nucleus of the cell (in which are the genetic instructions present in the DNA) in him. It is responsible for producing and maintaining a sufficient level of energy so that the cell can continue to function. It also contains elements that make up the cell's cytoskeleton, as well as some elements that repair it from possible damage, such as Nissl's bodies.

Perhaps the most important role of the soma is the fact that in it the synthesis of most of the proteins found in the neuron is carried out, and among them those that are going to be part or they will start the synthesis of most neurotransmitters .

Finally, it is from it that the extensions that are going to receive and send the nervous information are derived.

It is the part of the neuron that, likewise, allows the processing of nervous information and its reaction to it , being the somas of the neurons important part when explaining how the human being works and governs their behavior.

Bibliographic references

  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of neuroscience. Fourth edition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid.
  • Ramón y Cajal, S. (2007). Histology of the nervous system of man and vertebrates. Volume i. Ministry of Health. Madrid.

2. COMPONENTES DE LA NEURONA (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Soma neuronal ou péricarion: parties et fonctions

Soma neuronal ou péricarion: parties et fonctions

Septembre 7, 2022

Les neurones sont l'un des types de cellules les plus importants de notre corps , puisqu'ils permettent la transmission d'informations entre ses différentes parties à travers le système nerveux. À travers eux, une série d'impulsions bioélectriques sont générées et transmises, ce qui nous permet de réaliser chacune des actions que nous réalisons, à la fois volontairement et involontairement, et que nous nous référions à des comportements physiques ou à des processus cognitifs. ou émotionnel

Mais les neurones ne sont pas des masses homogènes: si nous nous concentrons sur leur structure, nous pouvons distinguer différents éléments ou différentes parties. Un des plus importants est le soma du neurone, ou péricarion , auquel cet article est dédié.


  • Article connexe: "Types de neurones: caractéristiques et fonctions"

La partie centrale du neurone: le soma ou le péricarion

Il est connu sous le nom de soma ou péricarion, l’élément central et le plus important de la cellule, dans lequel se trouve le noyau et duquel dérivent ses autres parties, en tant qu’extension de la première: dendrites et axones. La forme du soma, ainsi que sa position par rapport au reste de ses composants du même neurone, peuvent varier considérablement en fonction du type de neurone dont nous parlons (bien qu'il soit généralement arrondi et de grande taille).

Les somas des neurones composent ce que nous appelons la matière grise , lié au traitement de l'information nerveuse. En fait, différentes structures cérébrales de grande importance sont principalement formées par la matière grise, telle que le cortex lui-même, les noyaux gris centraux, le thalamus ou l'hypothalamus.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Matière grise du cerveau: structure et fonctions"

Parties principales du soma neuronal

Dans le soma ou le péricarion, nous pouvons trouver un grand nombre d’éléments, tous d’une grande importance, qui participent au bon fonctionnement de la cellule et à son entretien. Les principaux parmi eux sont les suivants.

1. Noyau

L'élément principal et le plus important du soma est le noyau, dans lequel se trouvent les instructions génétiques qui régissent la formation, la croissance, le fonctionnement et la mort du neurone, c'est-à-dire de l'ADN. Autour ou autour du noyau peut être trouvé le nucléole, qui génère la transcription de l'ARN cela finira par générer les ribosomes présents dans la cellule.

  • Article connexe: "Différences entre l'ADN et l'ARN"

2. Cytoplasme

Le cytoplasme est le milieu liquide dans lequel se trouvent le noyau et le reste des éléments du soma, participant activement au métabolisme cellulaire et à la facilitation de son mouvement . La membrane du neurone est limitée par le cytosquelette.


3. Cytosquelette

Cet élément formé de différents types de filaments et de tubules ils contribuent à structurer et à former le péricarion et participent également à la migration et au mouvement des différentes composantes du soma.

4. Corps nissl

Amas de réticulum endoplasmique rugueux présents principalement dans le soma (bien qu'ils puissent également être observés dans les dendrites) et qui contiennent un grand nombre de ribosomes, qui sont impliqués dans la création de protéines et de neurotransmetteurs. En outre, ils constituent un élément fondamental du péricarion, car si la cellule est endommagée (non seulement dans le soma mais aussi par exemple dans l'axone), ces éléments contribueront à sa régénération, se dissolvent et se sacrifient pour maintenir le fonctionnement du neurone (dans un processus appelé chromatolyse).

5. Appareil de Golgi

Elément de grande importance pour le fonctionnement du neurone, l'appareil de Golgi est un grand organite dans lequel les protéines générées par les corps de Nissl sont stockées temporairement , incorporant d’autres éléments de manière à pouvoir être emballés dans des macromolécules envoyées par le neurone aux terminaisons nerveuses.

6. réticulum endoplasmique lisse

Réseau de tubules interconnectés dont la fonction principale est servir de point de rassemblement de nombreuses substances sécrétées par les autres éléments . Il participe également à la synthèse des lipides et des éléments liés à la membrane neuronale. L'appareil de Golgi susmentionné est en fait un réticulum endoplasmique lisse.

7. Lysosomes

Ensemble d'éléments présents dans le cytoplasme dont la fonction principale est celle de Dégrader le matériel intracellulaire , facilitant le fonctionnement du soma en éliminant les restes nocifs.

8. ribosomes

Présent dans certaines des structures précédentes mais également librement localisable dans le cytoplasme, les ribosomes sont des macromolécules formées par l'ARN ribosomal et certaines protéines qui sont responsables de la synthèse des protéines. Techniquement, ce sont les éléments qui réalisent l'expression de l'information génétique présente dans le noyau, à travers cette synthèse.

9Mitochondries

Éléments fondamentaux de la cellule dont la fonction principale est celle de donnez-lui de l'énergie et maintenez-le en vie , effectuant la respiration cellulaire et synthétisant l’ATP (élément utilisé par les cellules comme combustible).

Sa fonction

Le soma ou péricarion joue un rôle fondamental: il s’agit de la partie du neurone qui régit le fonctionnement et maintient en vie cette unité biologique , étant le noyau de la cellule (dans laquelle se trouvent les instructions génétiques présentes dans l'ADN) en lui. Il est responsable de la production et du maintien d'un niveau d'énergie suffisant pour que la cellule puisse continuer à fonctionner. Il contient également des éléments qui constituent le cytosquelette de la cellule, ainsi que des éléments qui le réparent contre les dommages éventuels, tels que les corps de Nissl.

Le rôle le plus important du soma est peut-être le fait que la synthèse de la plupart des protéines présentes dans le neurone est réalisée, et parmi celles-ci, celles qui vont faire partie ou non du neurone. ils vont commencer la synthèse de la plupart des neurotransmetteurs .

Enfin, c’est à partir de cela que les extensions qui vont recevoir et envoyer les informations nerveuses sont dérivées.

C'est la partie du neurone qui, de même, permet le traitement de l'information nerveuse et sa réaction à celle-ci , en tant que soma des neurones, joue un rôle important dans l'explication du fonctionnement et de la gouvernance de l'être humain.

Références bibliographiques

  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Quatrième édition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid
  • Ramón y Cajal, S. (2007). Histologie du système nerveux de l'homme et des vertébrés. Volume i. Ministère de la santé et de la consommation. Madrid

Anatomy of a neuron | Human anatomy and physiology | Health & Medicine | Khan Academy (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes