yes, therapy helps!
Bibliotherapy: reading makes us happier (science says)

Bibliotherapy: reading makes us happier (science says)

June 24, 2021

Reading can be a great experience if we immerse ourselves in an exciting novel And, in addition, it can make us smarter if we spend our time reading about issues that bring us new knowledge. Our readers know it, and that's why they follow us and visit us every day.

And is that reading, as well as entertaining, can be a great source of information. But science has wanted to go further and has discovered new benefits of reading: According to different researches, reading makes us happier . Do you need more reasons to continue devouring books? ...

In today's article, we will talk precisely about the relationship between reading and happiness and the effect that bibliotherapy in people. Interesting, right? But first of all, we want to help you be happier, that's why we're going to recommend some posts that you can not miss:


  • The 50 recommended books you should read throughout your life
  • The 20 best books of Psychology that you can not miss
  • 5 books on psychology to read this summer
  • The 10 best books of self-help and self-improvement

Science confirms: reading makes us happier

But what exactly does science say about happiness and reading? Well, in summary, science says that reading improves our emotional and physical well-being and helps us cope with existence. According to the results of a study carried out by the University of Rome III, regular readers are happier and more satisfied. Not only that, but they are also less aggressive and more optimistic. The researchers analyzed the data provided by 1,100 subjects who were interviewed. And to carry out the study, they used different indices: such as the measurement of the happiness of Veenhoven or the Diener scale. The latter registers the degree of satisfaction with life.


On the other hand, according to a newspaper article The country, which echoed research conducted by a team of neuroscientists at Emory University (Atlanta), reading helps reduce stress and increases emotional intelligence (mainly self-knowledge and empathy) and psychosocial development.

Bibliotherapy: therapy through books

"Regular readers sleep better, have lower levels of stress, higher self-esteem and less depression," according to an article in The New Yorker that talks about bibliotherapy, a method or therapeutic resource that is based on promoting different skills that improve the well-being of people and the relationship with others, taking into account that of the interpretation that patients make of the content of books.


"Reading puts our mind in a pleasant state of mind, similar to that of meditation, and brings the same benefits as deep relaxation," says the same article. Those who enjoy page after page when reading books, may not be surprised to learn that Reading brings many benefits for mental and physical health .

Librarians are aware of the benefits of reading and, therefore, these professionals recommend specific books to their patients. The bibliotherapy can have different forms of application. For example, one on one in the patient-therapist relationship, or courses for elderly people with dementia or inmates. One of the best known forms is "affective bibliotherapy", which focuses on the therapeutic power of reading fiction. And sometimes it is difficult to put ourselves in the shoes of others, but it does not take much to get fully into the role of a character.

Bibliotherapy improves the capacity for empathy

The biblipterapeutas Ella Berthoud and Susan Elderkin tell The New Yorker that eThis practice goes back to ancient Greece, where it could be appreciated, at the entrance of the Thebes bookshop , a sign that said: "place of cure for the soul". So for those who think that reading is for lonely people, let them know they are wrong.

"We have begun to identify how literature is able to improve people's social skills," he explains. The New Yorker Keith Oatley, professor of cognitive psychology at the University of Toronto, United States. Research has shown that "reading fiction literature improves the perception of empathy, which is crucial to the theory of the mind: the ability to attribute thoughts and intentions to other people."

You can know more about the Theory of mind in this great article by the psychologist Adrián Triglia: "Theory of the Mind: what is it and what does it tell us about ourselves?"

What is Literature for? (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Bibliothérapie: la lecture nous rend plus heureux (la science dit)

Bibliothérapie: la lecture nous rend plus heureux (la science dit)

Mai 21, 2019

La lecture peut être une expérience formidable si nous nous immergeons dans un roman passionnant Et, de plus, cela peut nous rendre plus intelligents si nous passons notre temps à lire sur des sujets qui nous apportent de nouvelles connaissances. Nos lecteurs le savent et c'est pourquoi ils nous suivent et nous rendent visite tous les jours.

Et est-ce que la lecture, en plus d’être divertissante, peut être une excellente source d’information. Mais la science a voulu aller plus loin et a découvert de nouveaux avantages de la lecture: Selon différentes recherches, la lecture nous rend plus heureux . Avez-vous besoin de plus de raisons pour continuer à dévorer des livres? ...

Dans l'article d'aujourd'hui, nous parlerons précisément de la relation entre la lecture et le bonheur et de l'effet que bibliothérapie chez les gens. Intéressant, non? Mais tout d’abord, nous voulons vous aider à être plus heureux, c’est pourquoi nous allons vous recommander quelques articles à ne pas manquer:


  • Les 50 livres recommandés que vous devriez lire tout au long de votre vie
  • Les 20 meilleurs livres de psychologie à ne pas manquer
  • 5 livres de psychologie à lire cet été
  • Les 10 meilleurs livres d'autoassistance et d'amélioration personnelle

La science confirme: la lecture nous rend plus heureux

Mais que dit exactement la science sur le bonheur et la lecture? En résumé, la science dit que la lecture améliore notre bien-être émotionnel et physique et nous aide à faire face à la vie. Selon les résultats d'une étude réalisée par l'Université de Rome III, les lecteurs assidus seraient plus heureux et plus satisfaits. Non seulement cela, mais ils sont aussi moins agressifs et plus optimistes. Les chercheurs ont analysé les données fournies par 1 100 sujets interrogés. Et pour mener à bien leur étude, ils ont utilisé différents indices: tels que la mesure du bonheur de Veenhoven ou l'échelle de Diener. Ce dernier enregistre le degré de satisfaction avec la vie.


En revanche, selon un article de journal Le pays, qui fait écho aux recherches menées par une équipe de neuroscientifiques de l’Université Emory (Atlanta), la lecture contribue à réduire le stress et à augmenter l’intelligence émotionnelle (principalement la connaissance de soi et l’empathie) et le développement psychosocial.

Bibliothérapie: thérapie par le livre

"Les lecteurs réguliers dorment mieux, ont moins de stress, une estime de soi plus élevée et moins de dépression", selon un article paru dans le New Yorker qui parle de bibliothérapie, une méthode ou une ressource thérapeutique basée sur la promotion de différentes compétences. qui améliorent le bien-être des personnes et la relation avec les autres, en tenant compte de l'interprétation que les patients font du contenu des livres.


"La lecture met notre esprit dans un état d'esprit agréable, similaire à celui de la méditation, et apporte les mêmes avantages que la relaxation profonde", dit le même article. Ceux qui aiment page après page lorsqu'ils lisent des livres ne seront peut-être pas surpris d'apprendre que La lecture apporte de nombreux avantages pour la santé mentale et physique .

Les bibliothécaires sont conscients des avantages de la lecture et, par conséquent, ces professionnels recommandent des livres spécifiques à leurs patients. La bibliothérapie peut avoir différentes formes d'application. Par exemple, en tête-à-tête dans la relation patient-thérapeute, ou des cours pour les personnes âgées atteintes de démence ou les détenus. Une des formes les plus connues est la "bibliothérapie affective", qui met l'accent sur le pouvoir thérapeutique de la lecture de fiction. Et parfois, il est difficile de se mettre à la place des autres, mais il ne faut pas grand-chose pour entrer pleinement dans le rôle d'un personnage.

La bibliothérapie améliore la capacité d'empathie

Les biblipterapeutas Ella Berthoud et Susan Elderkin racontent Le new-yorkais ce eCette pratique remonte à la Grèce antique, où elle pourrait être appréciée, à l'entrée de la librairie Thèbes. , un signe qui disait: "lieu de cure pour l'âme". Alors, pour ceux qui pensent que lire s’adresse aux personnes seules, leur faire savoir qu’ils ont tort.

"Nous avons commencé à identifier comment la littérature peut améliorer les compétences sociales des personnes", explique-t-il. Le new-yorkais Keith Oatley, professeur de psychologie cognitive à l'Université de Toronto, aux États-Unis. Des recherches ont montré que "la lecture de littérature de fiction améliore la perception de l'empathie, ce qui est essentiel pour la théorie de l'esprit: la capacité d'attribuer des pensées et des intentions à d'autres personnes".

Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur le théorie de l'esprit dans ce grand article du psychologue Adrián Triglia: "Théorie de l'esprit: de quoi s'agit-il et que nous dit-il sur nous-mêmes?"

Entretien avec Raphaelle Giordano.. Ta deuxième vie commence... (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes