yes, therapy helps!
Child attachment: definition, functions and types

Child attachment: definition, functions and types

November 27, 2021

The stage of childhood is wonderful. However, it involves many changes, since children have to internalize in a relatively short time everything that will prepare them for adult life.

This process of psychological evolution is not limited simply to technical aspects, such as learning to multiply or to build correct sentences. A necessary factor for the proper development of the child is the attachment .

What is attachment?

Regarding the first years of life, it is understood as attachment the most important emotional and behavioral link in early childhood , in addition to the affective bond, that is, the feeling that unites the child with one or several persons of the family system.


The attachment is established during the first three months . It gives rise to an internal model of affective relationships, that is, an unconscious representation that, being quite stable in the first year, can be modified by later experiences. Children will trust or not certain things, people, etc.

It also serves as the basis for affective relationships, guiding the behavior of others and the way to address them.

  • Related article: "Harlow's experiment and maternal deprivation: replacing the mother"

A basic need

The attachment it is also a universal and primary need . A pediatrician affirms that to spoil a child means to raise it badly, that is, with little respect, few pampering, little affection, few hugs; it is impossible to raise him badly by paying much attention to him, by playing a lot with him, by comforting him a lot when he cries or by taking him a lot in his arms.


The child needs a caregiver to become someone, to recognize himself as he is. This allows the baby's brain to develop as it should, thanks to the social dynamics with which it begins to work.

Adverse situations of attachment give rise to defensive mechanisms, a failure in the mentalizing and reflective function of the brain. The good treatment shapes its evolution and the correct functionality of the brain. A baby without attachment becomes emotionally disconnected .

  • Related article: The look of a mother and the maternal function: "I am watched, therefore I am"

Functions of child attachment

The functions performed by the attachment during the first years of life are as follows.

1. Find and maintain proximity

It is very important that the mother or anyone in the family be near the child to know what he feels .


2. Resist separation and protest if it occurs

The child, especially if he is very young, needs his parents to have an adequate development. In the event that they separate, the child is more likely to develop behavior or anxiety problems .

3. Use the figure of attachment as a basis of security

From this security it is possible to start exploring the physical and social world . This function helps your neurons connect properly and allows you to enter education and, above all, the child to organize things and have a clear idea of ​​things, people, etc.

4. Emotional support

In childhood, attachment allows you to feel safe looking in the figure of attachment well-being and emotional support .

Types of attachment

In the education and upbringing of children, the following types of attachment influence.

1. Secure attachment

The figure of attachment is the father or mother who is able to respond appropriately to the child's emotional cues . In this type of attachment, the child understands the feelings well and can regulate them; they look for proximity and contact; have positive expectations; show attitudes of cooperation and empathy; they are easily comforted by the figures of attachment; they are socially competent people and show normal anxiety in separations.

2. Anxious-ambivalent attachment

It's composed by parents who They are affectionate but they do not know how to understand the baby ; they play less, there is less contact; they are hard and selfish and less sensitive; responds only to the negative conditions of the child (if a child complains); there is less contact. The child shows intense anxiety; they are hardly consoled by the figure of attachment; shows anticipated anger; does not access rules easily; They ignore their emotional states and there is antisocial behavior in adolescence.

3. Anxious-avoidant attachment

Here there are irresponsible, rejecting, intolerable parents with children, who think that everything the child does is wrong, there are continuous behaviors of anger and rejection . The child has little or no anxiety about separation; he does not want to see his mother with strange people; avoid rejections and punishments; the child notices that he is not wanted, that he is upset; They are less cooperative and more aggressive.

4. Anxious-disorganized attachment

It is present when there are parents who physically and psychologically abuse the child , they manipulate their son. The child is disoriented, approaches the figure of attachment but with avoidance of gaze; they are not motivated to reach certain goals or behaviors (they are full of fear and anguish); they fear their attachment figure and look for other people as doctors or nurses; They are more likely to have behavior and aggressiveness problems.

  • Related article: "The different forms of child abuse"

Attachment Theory (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Attachement enfant: définition, fonctions et types

Attachement enfant: définition, fonctions et types

Septembre 27, 2022

L'étape de l'enfance est magnifique. Cependant, cela implique de nombreux changements, car les enfants doivent intérioriser dans un délai relativement court tout ce qui les préparera à la vie adulte.

Ce processus d'évolution psychologique ne se limite pas à des aspects techniques, tels que l'apprentissage de la multiplication ou de la construction de phrases correctes. Un facteur nécessaire au bon développement de l'enfant est l'attachement .

Qu'est-ce que l'attachement?

En ce qui concerne les premières années de la vie, il s’agit de l’attachement le lien émotionnel et comportemental le plus important dans la petite enfance , en plus du lien affectif, c’est-à-dire le sentiment qui unit l’enfant à une ou plusieurs personnes du système familial.


L'attachement est établi au cours des trois premiers mois . Cela donne lieu à un modèle interne de relations affectives, c’est-à-dire une représentation inconsciente qui, étant assez stable la première année, peut être modifiée par des expériences ultérieures. Les enfants vont faire confiance ou non à certaines choses, personnes, etc.

Il sert également de base aux relations affectives, guidant le comportement des autres et la manière de les aborder.

  • Article connexe: "Expérience de Harlow et privation maternelle: remplacement de la mère"

Un besoin fondamental

L'attachement c'est aussi un besoin universel et primordial . Un pédiatre affirme que gâter un enfant, c'est le mal élever, c'est-à-dire avec peu de respect, peu de soins, peu d'affection, peu de câlins; il est impossible de le relever mal en faisant très attention à lui, en jouant beaucoup avec lui, en le réconfortant beaucoup quand il pleure ou en le prenant beaucoup dans ses bras.


L'enfant a besoin d'un soignant pour devenir quelqu'un, pour se reconnaître tel qu'il est. Cela permet au cerveau du bébé de se développer comme il se doit, grâce à la dynamique sociale avec laquelle il commence à travailler.

Les situations d'attachement défavorables donnent lieu à des mécanismes défensifs, à un échec de la fonction de mentalisation et de réflexion du cerveau. Le bon traitement façonne son évolution et la fonctionnalité correcte du cerveau. Un bébé sans attachement devient émotionnellement déconnecté .

  • Article connexe: Le regard d'une mère et la fonction maternelle: "Je suis surveillé, donc je suis"

Fonctions de l'attachement de l'enfant

Les fonctions remplies par l'attachement pendant les premières années de la vie sont les suivantes.

1. Trouver et maintenir la proximité

Il est très important que la mère ou un membre de la famille être près de l'enfant pour savoir ce qu'il ressent .


2. Résistez à la séparation et protestez si cela se produit

L'enfant, surtout s'il est très jeune, a besoin que ses parents aient un développement adéquat. Dans le cas où ils se séparent, l'enfant est plus susceptible de développer des problèmes de comportement ou d'anxiété .

3. Utilisez la figure de pièce jointe comme base de sécurité

De cette sécurité il est possible de commencer à explorer le monde physique et social . Cette fonction aide vos neurones à se connecter correctement et vous permet d’entrer dans l’éducation et, par dessus tout, d’organiser les choses et d’avoir une idée claire des choses, des gens, etc.

4. Soutien émotionnel

Dans l'enfance, l'attachement vous permet de vous sentir en sécurité dans la figure de l'attachement bien-être et soutien émotionnel .

Types d'attachement

Dans l'éducation et l'éducation des enfants, les types suivants d'attachement influencent.

1. Pièce jointe sécurisée

La figure de l'attachement est le père ou la mère qui est capable de répondre de manière appropriée aux signaux émotionnels de l'enfant . Dans ce type d'attachement, l'enfant comprend bien les sentiments et peut les réguler; ils recherchent la proximité et le contact; avoir des attentes positives; montrer des attitudes de coopération et d'empathie; ils sont facilement réconfortés par les figures d'attachement; Ce sont des personnes socialement compétentes qui manifestent une anxiété normale lors des séparations.

2. Attachement anxieux et ambivalent

Il est composé de parents qui Ils sont affectueux mais ils ne savent pas comprendre le bébé ; ils jouent moins, il y a moins de contact; ils sont durs et égoïstes et moins sensibles; ne réagit qu'aux conditions négatives de l'enfant (si un enfant se plaint); il y a moins de contact. L'enfant montre une anxiété intense; ils sont à peine consolés par la figure de l'attachement; montre la colère anticipée; n’accède pas facilement aux règles; Ils ignorent leurs états émotionnels et il existe un comportement antisocial à l'adolescence.

3. Attachement anxieux-évitant

Ici, il y a des parents avec des enfants irresponsables, qui rejettent, intolérables, qui pensent que tout ce que l'enfant fait est mal, il y a comportements continus de colère et de rejet . L'enfant n'a pas ou peu d'angoisse à propos de la séparation; il ne veut pas voir sa mère avec des gens étranges; éviter les rejets et les punitions; l'enfant remarque qu'il n'est pas recherché, qu'il est fâché; Ils sont moins coopératifs et plus agressifs.

4. Attachement anxieux et désorganisé

Il est présent quand il y a des parents qui abusent physiquement et psychologiquement de l'enfant , ils manipulent leur fils. L'enfant est désorienté, s'approche de la figure de l'attachement mais en évitant le regard; ils ne sont pas motivés pour atteindre certains objectifs ou comportements (ils sont pleins de peur et d'angoisse); ils craignent leur attachement et cherchent d'autres personnes en tant que médecins ou infirmières; Ils sont plus susceptibles d'avoir des problèmes de comportement et d'agressivité.

  • Article connexe: "Les différentes formes de maltraitance d'enfants"

Les 9 traumatismes d'enfance qui forgent les personnalités (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes