yes, therapy helps!
Emil Kraepelin: biography of this German psychiatrist

Emil Kraepelin: biography of this German psychiatrist

May 26, 2024

The name of Emil Kraepelin is highly known by most psychologists and psychiatrists of the world as the founder of modern psychiatry.

Among his main contributions, we find that he is responsible for having generated a classification system for mental illnesses based on the clinical manifestation of mentally ill subjects such as those that currently exist (being a pioneer in developing a nosology in this regard) and the distinction between disorders such as early dementia (later called schizophrenia by Bleuler) and manic-depressive psychosis (current bipolar disorder).

In this article we are going to present a brief biography of this important psychiatrist.


Biography of Emil Kraepelin

Emil Kraepelin was born on February 15, 1856 in Neustrelitz, Germany . Son of Emilie Kraepelin and Karl Kraepelin, this last professor. Throughout his life he acquires a taste for botany (probably influenced by one of his brothers, biologist) and great fondness for music, literature and poetry.

Training

Kraepelin felt from his beginnings a great interest by the world of the medicine and the biology, beginning in 1875 to study medicine in the University of Wurzburg. Already during his studies he became very interested in the field of psychiatry and psychology , focusing in that area especially after a stay in the experimental laboratory of Wilhelm Wundt in Lepizig, realizing a course with the father of the scientific psychology and learning the psychophysical methods by him employees. Later he would work as Von Rinecker's assistant in the psychiatric hospital of the aforementioned university.


He received his doctorate in 1878, with a thesis based on the effect of diseases on the appearance of mental disorders in which he also worked on aspects such as the role of psychology in psychiatry.

Post-university training

The one who would be president of his thesis evaluation court, Bernhard von Gudden, would recruit him as his assistant at the psychiatric hospital in Munich, working on aspects related to neuroanatomy for four years.

After that he went on to study neuropathology in 1882 together with Flechsig, again in Leipzig, to later work as a volunteer with Erb and Wundt in the department of nervous diseases and in the experimental laboratory of Wundt, studying especially aspects related to clinical practice despite that he also carried out different investigations on the consumption of substances or fatigue.

Elaboration of the Treaty of Psychiatry

It would be in these years when Wundt would suggest a picture of the different mental disorders. But nevertheless, Kraepelin would go much further than expected, formulating its own classification system based on clinical manifestation of mental problems. In 1883 the Treaty of Psychiatry would be born, which would be the basis for the elaboration of subsequent diagnostic classifications (including the last editions of the DSM). In this important moment in is the one that arises the modern psychiatric nosology.


This classification would be carried out and taken into account not only on the basis of the clinical manifestations but also its etiology, dividing the mental disorders into endogenous and exogenous ones. Kraepelin considered that the causes of psychiatric disorders were mainly biological.

In addition to this important publication, during that same year he was qualified in the department of medicine of the University of Leipzig to subsequently work again with Gudden at the psychiatric hospital in Munich.

In 1886 he was appointed professor at the University of Dorpat, Estonia, where he succeeded Emminghaus. He worked in this position while improving his Treaty until disagreements with the tsar made him leave the post in 1890. He left for Heidelberg, where he would meet and work with Alois Alzheimer, with whom he would eventually contribute to study the now known as Alzheimer disease. I would also study aspects such as sleep and memory.

Early dementia and manic-depressive psychosis

Despite having already published several revisions of his Treatise on Psychiatry it would not be until the sixth edition, published in 1899, that he would elaborate another of his major contributions: the creation and distinction of the concepts of early dementia (current schizophrenia, highlighting the paranoid subtypes, hebephrenic and catatonic) and manic-depressive psychosis (current bipolar disorder), establishing some of its characteristic symptoms through longitudinal studies.

Return to Munich

Together with Alzheimer, in 1903 he would return to Munich, where he would be appointed Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Munich and would participate in founding and directing the Königlische Psychiatrische Klinik. His research at this time focused on the study of mental disorders in different cultures, which would cause him to travel often through different countries.

At this time he would also do research on alcohol, which would cause him to end up becoming a teetotaler and even to make his own non-alcoholic drink, a kind of lemonade called "Kraepelinsekt". He tried to promote the creation of institutions for alcoholics, but his proposal was not supported.

The aforementioned clinic would be transformed into the German Institute for Psychiatric Research between 1917 and 1918 , but the arrival of the First World War practically led to bankruptcy (only thanks to the help of the Rockefeller Foundation was prevented its closure).

Death and legacy

The following years were spent working in the Institute and in the then ninth edition of the Treaty of Psychiatry. Emil Kraepelin died on October 7, 1926 in the city of Munich, at seventy years of age.

Kraepelin's legacy is broad: he is the first author to create a psychiatric nosology and a way to classify mental illnesses which has continued to be used until today. Although their diagnostic labels are no longer used, they have given way to other denominations and investigations regarding various disorders.

Bibliographic references:

  • Laín, P. (1975), Universal History of Medicine, Barcelona, ​​Salvat, vol. 7, pp. 289-294.
  • Engstrom, E.J. (1991). Emil Kraepelin. Psychiatry and Public Affairs in Wilhelmine Germany. History of Psychiatry, vol. two; 111-132.

Emil Kraepelin | Riley Taylor | TEDxPascoCountySchools (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Emil Kraepelin: biographie de ce psychiatre allemand

Emil Kraepelin: biographie de ce psychiatre allemand

Décembre 9, 2021

Le nom d’Emil Kraepelin est très connu de la plupart des psychologues et des psychiatres. du monde en tant que fondateur de la psychiatrie moderne.

Parmi ses principales contributions, nous trouvons qu'il est responsable d'avoir créé un système de classification des maladies mentales basé sur la manifestation clinique de sujets atteints de maladie mentale tels que ceux qui existent actuellement (étant un pionnier dans le développement d'une nosologie à cet égard) et la distinction entre des troubles tels que la démence précoce (appelée plus tard schizophrénie par Bleuler) et la psychose maniaco-dépressive (trouble bipolaire actuel).

Dans cet article, nous allons présenter une brève biographie de cet important psychiatre.


Biographie de Emil Kraepelin

Emil Kraepelin est né le 15 février 1856 à Neustrelitz, Allemagne . Fils d'Emilie Kraepelin et Karl Kraepelin, ce dernier professeur. Tout au long de sa vie, il acquiert un goût pour la botanique (probablement influencé par l'un de ses frères, biologiste) et un grand penchant pour la musique, la littérature et la poésie.

La formation

Kraepelin ressentait depuis ses débuts un grand intérêt de la part du monde de la médecine et de la biologie, commençant en 1875 à étudier la médecine à l'université de Wurzburg. Déjà au cours de ses études, il s'intéressa beaucoup au domaine de la psychiatrie et de la psychologie , en se concentrant dans ce domaine surtout après un séjour dans le laboratoire expérimental de Wilhelm Wundt à Lepizig, réalisant un cours avec le père de la psychologie scientifique et apprenant les méthodes psychophysiques par ses employés. Plus tard, il travaillera comme assistant de von Rinecker à l'hôpital psychiatrique de l'université susmentionnée.


Il a obtenu son doctorat en 1878, avec une thèse sur l’effet des maladies sur l’apparition de troubles mentaux, dans laquelle il a également travaillé sur des aspects tels que le rôle de la psychologie en psychiatrie.

Formation post-universitaire

Celui qui présiderait son tribunal d’évaluation des thèses, Bernhard von Gudden, le recruterait comme assistant à l’hôpital psychiatrique de Munich, travaillant pendant quatre ans sur des aspects liés à la neuroanatomie.

Après cela, il étudia la neuropathologie en 1882 avec Flechsig, de nouveau à Leipzig, pour ensuite travailler comme volontaire auprès de Erb et Wundt dans le département des maladies nerveuses et dans le laboratoire expérimental de Wundt, étudiant notamment des aspects liés à la qu'il a également mené différentes enquêtes sur la consommation de substances ou la fatigue.

Elaboration du Traité de psychiatrie

Ce serait dans ces années où Wundt suggérerait une image des différents troubles mentaux. Cependant, Kraepelin irait beaucoup plus loin que prévu en formulant son propre système de classification basé sur la manifestation clinique des problèmes mentaux. En 1883, naîtrait le Traité de psychiatrie, qui servirait de base à l’élaboration de classifications diagnostiques ultérieures (y compris les dernières éditions du DSM). C'est à ce moment important que se pose la nosologie psychiatrique moderne.


Cette classification serait réalisée et prise en compte non seulement sur la base des manifestations cliniques mais également sur son étiologie, en divisant les troubles mentaux en troubles endogènes et exogènes. Kraepelin a estimé que les causes des troubles psychiatriques étaient principalement biologiques.

En plus de cette publication importante, il est également diplômé du département de médecine de l'Université de Leipzig au cours de la même année pour ensuite travailler à nouveau avec Gudden à l'hôpital psychiatrique de Munich.

En 1886, il fut nommé professeur à l'Université de Dorpat, en Estonie, où il succéda à Emminghaus. Il travailla à ce poste tout en améliorant son traité jusqu'à ce que des désaccords avec le tsar le forcent à quitter son poste en 1890. Il partit pour Heidelberg, où il rencontrerait et travaillerait avec Alois Alzheimer, avec lequel il contribuerait éventuellement à étudier le désormais connu La maladie d'Alzheimer. Je voudrais aussi étudier des aspects tels que le sommeil et la mémoire.

Démence précoce et psychose maniaco-dépressive

Bien qu'il ait déjà publié plusieurs révisions de son Traité sur la psychiatrie, ce n'est que dans la sixième édition, publiée en 1899, qu'il élaborera une autre de ses contributions majeures: la création et la distinction des concepts de démence précoce (schizophrénie actuelle, soulignant les sous-types paranoïdes, psychose hébéphrénique et catatonique) et maniaco-dépressive (trouble bipolaire actuel), établissant certains de ses symptômes caractéristiques au moyen d’études longitudinales.

Retour à Munich

Avec Alzheimer, il rentrerait à Munich en 1903, où il serait nommé professeur de psychiatrie à l'université de Munich et participerait à la création et à la direction de la Königlische Psychiatrische Klinik. Ses recherches portent actuellement sur l’étude des troubles mentaux dans différentes cultures, ce qui le pousserait à voyager souvent dans différents pays.

À ce moment-là, il effectuait également des recherches sur l'alcool, ce qui le conduirait finalement à devenir un teetotaler et même à fabriquer sa propre boisson sans alcool, une sorte de limonade appelée "Kraepelinsekt". Il a essayé de promouvoir la création d’institutions pour les alcooliques, mais sa proposition n’a pas été soutenue.

La clinique susmentionnée serait transformée en Institut allemand de recherche psychiatrique entre 1917 et 1918 , mais l’arrivée de la Première Guerre mondiale a pratiquement abouti à la faillite (la fermeture de la Fondation Rockefeller n’a empêché sa fermeture).

La mort et l'héritage

Les années suivantes ont été consacrées au travail à l’Institut et à la neuvième édition du Traité de psychiatrie. Emil Kraepelin est décédé à Munich, le 7 octobre 1926, à l'âge de soixante-dix ans.

L'héritage de Kraepelin est vaste: il est le premier auteur à créer une nosologie psychiatrique et un moyen de classer les maladies mentales qui a continué à être utilisé jusqu'à aujourd'hui. Bien que leurs étiquettes de diagnostic ne soient plus utilisées, elles ont cédé la place à d'autres dénominations et à des investigations concernant divers troubles.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Laín, P. (1975), Histoire universelle de la médecine, Barcelone, Salvat, vol. 7, pp. 289-294.
  • Engstrom, E.J. (1991). Emil Kraepelin. Psychiatrie et affaires publiques à Wilhelmine en Allemagne. Histoire de la psychiatrie, vol. 2; 111-132.

Emil Kraepelin (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes