yes, therapy helps!
Karen Horney and her theory about neurotic personality

Karen Horney and her theory about neurotic personality

June 24, 2021

The psychiatrist Karen Horney was one of the main representatives of neofreudismo, a movement that challenged the conventions of traditional psychoanalysis and allowed this theoretical orientation to be extended, especially in the field of neurosis.

Horney was also the first female psychiatrist to publish essays on female mental health and to question biological approaches to the gender differences of her predecessors, which is why it is considered the founder of feminist psychology .

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Biography of Karen Horney

Karen Danielsen was born in Germany in 1885 . He studied medicine at the universities of Freiburg, Göttingen and Berlin, who accepted women very recently, and graduated in 1913. During his studies he met Oskar Horney, whose name he adopted after marrying him in 1909 and with whom he had three daughters before they divorced.


A few years after Horney graduated his parents died and he entered a state of prolonged depression. It was then that he began to train as a psychoanalyst at the same time he underwent therapy with Karl Abraham, a pioneer of psychoanalysis whom Freud said was his best student.

Abraham attributed Horney's symptoms to the repression of incestuous desires towards his father; Horney rejected his hypothesis and abandoned the therapy. Later it would become one of the main critics of the mainstream of psychoanalysis and its emphasis on male sexuality.

In 1915 was appointed secretary of the German Psychoanalytic Association , founded by Abraham himself, which laid the foundations of the teaching of psychoanalysis that would take place during the following decades.


Horney moved to the United States with his daughters in 1932 because of the rise of Nazism and the rejection he suffered from Freud and his followers. There he started a relationship and He worked with other prominent psychoanalysts such as Erich Fromm and Harry Stack Sullivan. He devoted himself to therapy, training and developing his theory until 1952, the year of his death.

  • Related article: "Erich Fromm: biography of the father of humanistic psychoanalysis"

Neofreudism and feminist psychology

It is considered that Horney and Alfred Adler are the founders of neofreudismo , a stream of psychoanalysis that emerged as a reaction to some of Freud's postulates and facilitated the development of alternative developments.

In particular, Horney rejected the emphasis of early psychoanalysis on sexuality and aggressiveness as determining factors in the development of the personality and the neuroses. This author found the obsession of Freud and other male psychiatrists for the penis particularly absurd.


Horney considered that "penis envy" was explained by social inequality between genders; what women envied in men was not their sexual organ, but their social role, and the same could happen in the opposite direction. In addition, he considered that these roles were determined to a large extent by culture, and not only by biological differences.

Between 1922 and 1937, Horney made several theoretical contributions on female psychology, becoming the first feminist psychiatrist . Among the topics on which he wrote include the overvaluation of the male figure, the difficulties of motherhood and the inherent contradictions of monogamy.

Neurosis, real self and self-realization

According to Horney, neurosis is an alteration in the relationship of a person with herself and with others. The key factor in the appearance of the symptoms is the way parents handle anxiety of the son during his development.

The neurotic personality or characteristic neurosis arises when the parents do not provide their children with an affectionate and safe environment, generating feelings of isolation, helplessness and hostility. This blocks the normal development and prevents the person from becoming their "real self" .

In Horney's work, the real self (or self) is equivalent to identity. If an individual's personal growth is healthy, their behaviors and relationships develop properly, leading to self-realization. For Horney this is a natural human tendency; later humanists like Rogers and Maslow would hold the same belief.

By cons, the identity of neurotic people is divided between the real self and the ideal self. Since the goals of the ideal self are not realistic, the person identifies with a depreciated image of herself, which leads her to distance herself even further from the real self. Thus, neurotics alternate between perfectionism and self-deprecation.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Neurosis (neuroticism): causes, symptoms and characteristics"

Neurotic personality types

Horney's theory of neurosis describes three types of neurotic personality, or neurotic tendencies. These are divided according to the means used by the person to seek safety, and are consolidated by the reinforcements obtained from their environment during childhood.

1. Complacent or submissive

Characteristic neurosis of complacent type is characterized by search for the approval and affection of others . It appears as a consequence of continuous feelings of helplessness, neglect and abandonment in early development.

In these cases the self is annulled as a source of security and reinforcement, and the internal conflict is replaced by the external one. Thus, submissive neurotic people often believe that their problems could be solved by a new partner, for example.

2. Aggressive or expansive

In this case Hostility in the relationship with parents predominates . According to Horney, expansive neurotics express their sense of identity by dominating and exploiting others. They tend to be selfish, distant and ambitious people who seek to be known, admired and, at times, feared by their environment or by society in general.

3. Isolated and resigned

When neither submission nor aggressiveness allow the child to capture the attention of their parents, it can develop a characteristic neurosis of isolated type. In these people appear needs of perfectionism, independence and loneliness exaggerated that lead to a detached and shallow life.


Karen Horney (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Karen Horney et sa théorie sur la personnalité névrotique

Karen Horney et sa théorie sur la personnalité névrotique

Septembre 18, 2019

La psychiatre Karen Horney C’est l’un des principaux représentants du néofreudisme, un mouvement qui a remis en cause les conventions de la psychanalyse traditionnelle et permis l’extension de cette orientation théorique, notamment dans le domaine de la névrose.

Horney a également été la première femme psychiatre à publier des essais sur la santé mentale des femmes et à remettre en question les approches biologiques des différences entre les sexes de ses prédécesseurs. fondatrice de la psychologie féministe .

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Biographie de Karen Horney

Karen Danielsen est née en Allemagne en 1885. . Il étudie la médecine dans les universités de Fribourg, Göttingen et Berlin. Il accepte les femmes très récemment et obtient son diplôme en 1913. Au cours de ses études, il rencontre Oskar Horney, dont il a pris le nom après l'avoir épousé en 1909 et avec qui il a eu trois filles. avant qu'ils ont divorcé.


Quelques années après l'obtention du diplôme, ses parents sont morts et il est entré dans un état de dépression prolongée. C'était alors que il a commencé à se former en tant que psychanalyste Au même moment, il suivit une thérapie avec Karl Abraham, un pionnier de la psychanalyse dont Freud disait qu'il était son meilleur élève.

Abraham a attribué les symptômes d'Horney à la répression des désirs incestueux envers son père; Horney a rejeté son hypothèse et a abandonné la thérapie. Plus tard, il deviendrait l’un des principaux critiques du courant dominant de la psychanalyse et de son accent mis sur la sexualité masculine.

En 1915 a été nommé secrétaire de l'Association psychanalytique allemande , fondée par Abraham lui-même, qui a jeté les bases de l'enseignement de la psychanalyse qui se déroulera au cours des décennies suivantes.


Horney a déménagé aux États-Unis avec ses filles en 1932 en raison de la montée du nazisme et du rejet qu'il a subi de la part de Freud et de ses partisans. Là il a commencé une relation et Il a travaillé avec d’autres psychanalystes renommés tels que Erich Fromm et Harry Stack Sullivan. Il se consacra à la thérapie, développant et développant sa théorie jusqu'en 1952, année de son décès.

  • Article connexe: "Erich Fromm: biographie du père de la psychanalyse humaniste"

Néofreudisme et psychologie féministe

Il est considéré que Horney et Alfred Adler sont les fondateurs du néofreudismo , un courant de psychanalyse qui a émergé en réaction à certains postulats de Freud et a facilité le développement de développements alternatifs.

En particulier, Horney a rejeté l'accent mis par la psychanalyse précoce sur la sexualité et l'agressivité en tant que facteurs déterminants dans le développement de la personnalité et des névroses. Cet auteur a trouvé l'obsession de Freud et d'autres psychiatres masculins pour le pénis particulièrement absurde.


Horney a considéré que "l'envie du pénis" s'explique par l'inégalité sociale entre les sexes; ce que les femmes envient aux hommes n’est pas leur organe sexuel, mais leur rôle social, et la même chose peut se produire dans la direction opposée. En outre, il a estimé que ces rôles étaient déterminés dans une large mesure par la culture, et pas uniquement par les différences biologiques.

Entre 1922 et 1937, Horney a fait plusieurs contributions théoriques sur la psychologie féminine, devenant la première psychiatre féministe . Parmi les sujets sur lesquels il a écrit figurent la surévaluation de la figure masculine, les difficultés de la maternité et les contradictions inhérentes à la monogamie.

Névrose, auto réel et réalisation de soi

Selon Horney, la névrose est une altération de la relation d'une personne avec elle-même et avec les autres. Le facteur clé dans l'apparition des symptômes est la façon dont les parents gèrent l'anxiété du fils au cours de son développement.

La personnalité névrotique ou la névrose caractéristique survient lorsque les parents ne fournissent pas à leurs enfants un environnement affectueux et sûr, générant des sentiments d'isolement, d'impuissance et d'hostilité. Cela bloque le développement normal et empêche la personne de devenir son "vrai moi" .

Dans le travail de Horney, le vrai soi (ou soi) est équivalent à l'identité. Si la croissance personnelle d'un individu est saine, ses comportements et ses relations se développent correctement, menant à la réalisation de soi. Pour Horney, il s'agit d'une tendance humaine naturelle. Les humanistes ultérieurs tels que Rogers et Maslow auraient la même conviction.

En revanche, l'identité des névrosés est divisée entre le moi réel et le moi idéal. Puisque les objectifs du moi idéal ne sont pas réalistes, la personne s'identifie à une image dépréciée d'elle-même, ce qui l'amène à s'éloigner encore plus du vrai soi. Ainsi, les névrosés alternent perfectionnisme et auto-dépréciation.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Névrose (névrotisme): causes, symptômes et caractéristiques"

Types de personnalité névrotiques

La théorie de Horney sur la névrose décrit trois types de personnalité névrotique, ou tendances névrotiques. Celles-ci sont réparties en fonction des moyens utilisés par la personne pour rechercher la sécurité et sont consolidées par les renforcements obtenus à partir de son environnement durant son enfance.

1. complaisant ou soumis

La névrose caractéristique de type complaisant est caractérisée par rechercher l'approbation et l'affection des autres . Cela apparaît comme une conséquence de sentiments continus d'impuissance, de négligence et d'abandon au début du développement.

Dans ces cas, le moi est annulé en tant que source de sécurité et de renforcement, et le conflit interne est remplacé par le conflit externe. Ainsi, les névrosés soumis croient souvent que leurs problèmes pourraient être résolus par un nouveau partenaire, par exemple.

2. agressif ou expansif

Dans ce cas L'hostilité dans la relation avec les parents prédomine . Selon Horney, les névrosés expansifs expriment leur sens de l'identité en dominant et en exploitant les autres. Ils ont tendance à être des personnes égoïstes, distantes et ambitieuses qui cherchent à être connues, admirées et parfois craintes par leur environnement ou par la société en général.

3. Isolé et démissionnaire

Lorsque ni la soumission ni l'agressivité ne permettent à l'enfant de capter l'attention de ses parents, il peut développer une névrose caractéristique de type isolé. Dans ces personnes apparaissent les besoins de perfectionnisme, indépendance et solitude exagérées qui mènent à une vie détachée et peu profonde.


What is PENIS ENVY? What does PENIS ENVY mean? PENIS ENVY meaning, definition & explanation (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes