yes, therapy helps!
Epigastric pain (epigastric pain): causes and treatments

Epigastric pain (epigastric pain): causes and treatments

January 14, 2023

Epigastralgia is one of the most frequent gastrointestinal pains . In most cases it is due to indigestion, although it can also be caused by physical illnesses, especially esophageal reflux disease.

In this article we will analyze what is the pain in the epigastrium, what other symptoms appear associated with it, what are its most common causes and what treatments are there to fight it.

What is epigastralgia?

The term "epigastralgia" is used to designate the pain that occurs in the epigastrium . This denomination corresponds to the upper medial part of the abdomen, located between the navel and the ribs, behind the sternum.


In the International Classification of Diseases (ICD-10), epigastric pain is recorded as "pain in the epigastrium." In this manual it is roughly equated with indigestion or dyspepsia, although there are many possible causes for this type of pain.

In particular the epigastralgia is related to esophageal reflux disease , which causes heartburn and other gastrointestinal symptoms. Although by itself epigastric pain is not considered a severe symptom, it may be caused by this and other diseases that require medical intervention.

  • You may be interested: "Primperan (metoclopramide): uses and side effects"

Associated symptoms

Epigastralgia is itself a symptom of various diseases and transient changes that affect the stomach. It may appear in isolation but it is very common for other gastrointestinal symptoms to occur simultaneously, which vary depending on the specific causes of the discomfort.


Thus, pain in the epigastrium is often accompanied by the following symptoms:

  • Acidity, burning or cracking (pyrosis)
  • Stomach swelling
  • Excessive feeling of fullness after eating
  • Belching with or without regurgitation of food or liquid
  • Loss of appetite
  • Sickness
  • Vomiting
  • Flatulence
  • Constipation
  • Diarrhea
  • Insomnia (as a result of discomfort)

Causes of epigastralgia

The main causes of epigastralgia they are related to the digestive system , although this symptom may also be due to alterations in other parts of the body.

1. Dyspepsia (indigestion)

"Dyspepsia" is the general term with which any disorder that affects digestion is called, so it is a very common syndrome in the general population and among people who come for medical consultation. In addition to epigastralgia can cause other gastrointestinal symptoms, such as heartburn, nausea and flatulence.


It is a mostly benign disorder, which may be transient or chronic and is usually due to an unhealthy diet. Usually indigestion is due to excessive intake , being different types of food more or less susceptible to cause indigestion in each person.

  • Maybe you are interested: "Binge eating disorder: causes, consequences and treatment"

2. Esophageal reflux disease

Esophageal reflux disease causes stomach acid to move into the esophagus, which connects the stomach to the throat; This damages the esophagus and throat, which are not protected by the stomach mucosa.

This disorder can cause symptoms such as epigastralgia, heartburn, breathing difficulties and swallowing , chronic cough and pain in the chest, which appears as a consequence of the inflammation of the esophagus.

3. Consumption of alcohol

The consumption of large amounts of alcohol, especially if it occurs chronically, irritates and damages the stomach lining, causing this organ to become inflamed and more vulnerable to the acid it produces. In this way, the set of gastrointestinal symptoms that we have previously described may appear.

4. Pregnancy

During pregnancy the fetus presses the abdominal walls , which can cause pain in the epigastrium and other areas of the abdomen. In addition, the hormonal changes that occur in this period can cause acid reflux and other gastrointestinal disorders, and therefore epigastralgia.

5. Gastritis

Gastritis consists of inflammation of the gastric mucosa, which protects the stomach from digestive acid. Like epigastritis, it can be caused by very diverse reasons, from poor diet and psychophysiological stress to infections or abuse of certain substances.

6. Peptic ulcer

Peptic ulcers are lesions that occur in the lining of the stomach. They appear when the defenses of the digestive system are not enough to control the agents that attack it, mainly bacterium infections Helicobacter pylori and the excessive and continuous consumption of non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs).

Treatment and management

The most appropriate treatment for epigastric pain depends on the cause of the pain. The change of habits is usually very effective, especially at the food level; specifically, it is recommended reduce the consumption of fats and the amount of food that is swallowed so that the stomach is in the best possible state.

In some cases medical intervention may be necessary, mainly if the symptoms are very serious or the cause of epigastralgia is one of the diseases mentioned in the previous section, such as peptic ulcer and esophageal reflux disease.

At the symptomatic level, the use of omeprazole and others is usually recommended medicines that reduce the production of gastric acid , but only if they are prescribed by doctors. In general, the best way to manage epigastralgia is to acquire healthier eating habits, since indigestion is the most common cause of this problem.

Caution should be exercised when consuming ibuprofen and other non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs since, as we have said, they can be aggressive to the stomach. If these medications are being consumed and symptoms of epigastralgia appear, it is probably more appropriate to change the analgesic.


Treatment for Epigastric Pain at Maxcure Hospitals,Hyderabad. (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Douleur épigastrique (douleur épigastrique): causes et traitements

Douleur épigastrique (douleur épigastrique): causes et traitements

Septembre 18, 2019

L'épigastralgie est l'une des douleurs gastro-intestinales les plus fréquentes . Dans la plupart des cas, il est dû à une indigestion, bien qu'il puisse également être provoqué par des maladies physiques, notamment le reflux œsophagien.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons quelle est la douleur dans l'épigastre, quels autres symptômes apparaissent associés, Quelles sont ses causes les plus courantes et quels traitements existent pour le combattre.

Qu'est-ce que l'épigastralgie?

Le terme "épigastralgie" est utilisé pour désigner le douleur qui se produit dans l'épigastre . Cette dénomination correspond à la partie médiale supérieure de l'abdomen, située entre le nombril et les côtes, derrière le sternum.


Dans la Classification internationale des maladies (CIM-10), la douleur épigastrique est enregistrée comme "douleur dans l'épigastre". Dans ce manuel, il est assimilé à une indigestion ou à une dyspepsie, bien qu'il existe de nombreuses causes possibles de ce type de douleur.

En particulier l'épigastralgie est liée à la maladie de reflux œsophagien , qui provoque des brûlures d’estomac et d’autres symptômes gastro-intestinaux. Bien que la douleur épigastrique ne soit pas considérée en elle-même comme un symptôme grave, elle peut être causée par cette maladie et d’autres nécessitant une intervention médicale.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Primperan (métoclopramide): utilisations et effets secondaires"

Symptômes associés

L'épigastralgie est elle-même un symptôme de diverses maladies et modifications transitoires affectant l'estomac. Il peut apparaître isolément, mais il est très fréquent que d’autres symptômes gastro-intestinaux se manifestent simultanément, lesquels varient en fonction des causes spécifiques de l’inconfort.


Ainsi, la douleur dans l'épigastre s'accompagne souvent des symptômes suivants:

  • Acidité, brûlure ou fissuration (brûlures d'estomac)
  • Gonflement de l'estomac
  • Sentiment excessif de plénitude après avoir mangé
  • Eclaboussures avec ou sans régurgitation d'aliments ou de liquides
  • Perte d'appétit
  • La nausée
  • Vomissements
  • Flatulence
  • Constipation
  • La diarrhée
  • Insomnie (à la suite d'un malaise)

Causes de l'épigastralgie

Les principales causes d'épigastralgie ils sont liés au système digestif , bien que ce symptôme puisse aussi être dû à des modifications dans d’autres parties du corps.

1. Dyspepsie (indigestion)

La «dyspepsie» est le terme général qui désigne tout trouble affectant la digestion. Il s'agit donc d'un syndrome très répandu dans la population en général et chez les personnes qui se présentent pour une consultation médicale. En plus de l'épigastralgie peut causer d'autres symptômes gastro-intestinaux, tels que des brûlures d'estomac, des nausées et des flatulences.


Il s’agit d’un trouble essentiellement bénin, transitoire ou chronique, généralement dû à une mauvaise alimentation. Normalement l'indigestion est due à un apport excessif , étant différents types d'aliments plus ou moins susceptibles de provoquer une indigestion chez chaque personne.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Trouble de la frénésie alimentaire: causes, conséquences et traitement"

2. reflux œsophagien

Le reflux œsophagien provoque la pénétration de l’acide gastrique dans l’œsophage, qui relie l’estomac à la gorge; Cela endommage l'œsophage et la gorge, qui ne sont pas protégés par la muqueuse de l'estomac.

Ce trouble peut causer symptômes tels que l'épigastralgie, les brûlures d'estomac, les difficultés respiratoires et la déglutition toux chronique et douleur à la poitrine, apparaissant comme conséquence de l’inflammation de l’œsophage.

3. Consommation d'alcool

La consommation d'alcool en grande quantité, en particulier si elle survient de manière chronique, irrite et endommage la muqueuse de l'estomac, ce qui provoque une inflammation et une vulnérabilité accrue de cet organe à l'acide produit. De cette manière, l'ensemble des symptômes gastro-intestinaux que nous avons décrits précédemment peut apparaître.

4. grossesse

Pendant la grossesse, le fœtus appuie sur les parois abdominales , pouvant causer des douleurs dans l'épigastre et dans d'autres régions de l'abdomen. De plus, les changements hormonaux intervenant au cours de cette période peuvent provoquer un reflux acide et d’autres troubles gastro-intestinaux, et donc une épigastralgie.

5. Gastrite

La gastrite consiste en une inflammation de la muqueuse gastrique, qui protège l'estomac de l'acide digestif. Comme l'épigastrite, elle peut être provoquée par des raisons très diverses, allant d'une mauvaise alimentation à un stress psychophysiologique, en passant par des infections ou des abus de certaines substances.

6. ulcère peptique

Les ulcères peptiques sont des lésions qui se produisent dans la muqueuse de l'estomac. Ils apparaissent lorsque les défenses du système digestif ne suffisent pas pour contrôler les agents qui l’attaquent, principalement infections bactériennes Helicobacter pylori et la consommation excessive et continue d'anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens (AINS).

Traitement et gestion

Le traitement le plus approprié pour la douleur épigastrique dépend de la cause de la douleur. Le changement d'habitudes est généralement très efficace, notamment au niveau alimentaire. en particulier, il est recommandé réduire la consommation de graisses et la quantité de nourriture qui est avalé pour que l’estomac soit dans le meilleur état possible.

Dans certains cas, une intervention médicale peut être nécessaire, principalement si les symptômes sont très graves ou si la cause de l'épigastralgie est l'une des maladies mentionnées dans la section précédente, telles que l'ulcère peptique et le reflux œsophagien.

Au niveau symptomatique, l'utilisation d'oméprazole et d'autres est habituellement recommandée médicaments qui réduisent la production d'acide gastrique , mais seulement s’ils sont prescrits par des médecins. En général, le meilleur moyen de gérer l'épigastralgie est d'acquérir de meilleures habitudes alimentaires, car l'indigestion est la cause la plus courante de ce problème.

Il faut faire preuve de prudence lors de la consommation d'ibuprofène et d'autres anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens, car, comme nous l'avons dit, ils peuvent être agressifs pour l'estomac. Si ces médicaments sont consommés et que les symptômes d'épigastralgie apparaissent, il est probablement plus approprié de changer d'analgésique.


Douleurs abdominales - Causes, symptômes et le traitement c0ns3ils (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes