yes, therapy helps!
Yellow fever: symptoms, causes and treatment

Yellow fever: symptoms, causes and treatment

May 5, 2024

There are many diseases that exist and that have existed in the world throughout history. Some of them, such as the Black Death, represented a plague that annihilated a high percentage of the world's population. And the existence of serious diseases capable of causing pandemics is not only a thing of the past: there are still many diseases without a known cure and with deadly potential.

One of them has been generating outbreaks and epidemics in African and South American countries for centuries. It's about yellow fever , of which we are going to talk throughout this article.

  • Related article: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

Yellow fever: description and symptoms

It is known as yellow fever to one of the diseases classified as hemorrhagic fevers which has caused and continues to cause hundreds of thousands of deaths each year. It is an endemic disease present mainly in African or South American areas, and that even today it can mean the appearance of important epidemics .


Yellow fever, also known as black vomit disease, Siam disease or Barbados disease (where the first recorded case occurred), is named after one of its most characteristic symptoms, jaundice caused by the alteration of the liver and pancreas.

But this is not his only symptom : it is also common the presence of bleeding through the mouth, ears or eyes, internal hemorrhages, very high fevers, headaches, arrhythmias, hypoglycemia and if it reaches intoxication phases in addition to the above may appear seizures, liver and kidney failure, haemorrhages even more severe, black vomit due to expulsion of clotted blood, bradycardia, dehydration, delusions or coma. In severe cases it has a high potential to cause death, and it does so in a large number of cases.


In other cases, the milder, the disease is self-limiting and does not enter its most serious phase with deadly potential.

Phases of infection

Yellow fever is a dangerous disease. The infection involves passing through a series of phases in which the symptoms and the severity of the picture vary, although not all people go through the last one. We can identify a total of three phases , to which we could add a previous one in the form of an incubation period.

Phase 0: Incubation period

From the moment the bite that transmits the virus that causes it to the onset of the first symptoms usually occurs between three and six days. During them the virus is expanding through the body , without any symptoms at the moment.

Phase 1: Acute phase

Several days after the bite, usually appear a series of symptoms typical of an infection: high fevers appear, nausea and vomiting, photophobia, headache Redness of soft tissues, hot flushes, lack of appetite and jaundice.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 11 types of headache and its characteristics"

Phase 2. Remission

As a general rule, after several days of suffering from the symptoms described above, they usually end up subsiding, disappearing little by little. In many cases the disease can stop in this phase, and the subject recover . However, in others the person may relapse and worsen around a day later, entering the intoxication phase.

Phase 3: Intoxication

After several days of remission, some of those affected by yellow fever enter a phase of intoxication in which the symptoms reappear with great virulence . It is the most serious phase of the disease.

During this phase fever reappears and symptoms such as bleeding from the mouth, nose and eyes may also occur. They also tend to have problems or even kidney or liver failure . In fact it is in this phase of the disease that jaundice usually appears, giving the skin the yellowish color that gives its name to the skin disease. The presence of pain in the abdomen, nausea and vomiting are also frequent.

It is also not uncommon for arrhythmias or bradycardia to occur. At the brain level, in addition to fever may appear hallucinations and delusions, confusion and brain dysfunction. It is also possible that the subject presents convulsions or enters into a coma. In short, they tend to multiorgan failures and hemorrhages of great importance .

Unfortunately, around people who enter this phase (in a window that ranges between 25% -60%) can not overcome the disease and die.

Causes of this disease

Yellow fever is a viral disease, a product of the infection of the yellow fever virus, which like diseases such as dengue, belong to the genus Flavivirus.

This virus It reaches the human being through the bite of infected mosquitoes , generally of the genera Aedes or Haemagogus. The virus can be transmitted between monkeys and from monkeys to humans by mosquitoes in what is known as jungle ecological cycle or among people in the urban ecological cycle.

There is also a combined cycle of the two previous ones, the one of the sheet, in which infected mosquitoes after stinging apes transmit the disease to a human and then after other mosquitoes itch to this they transmit it to other people.

Yellow fever It is not spread by contact with an infected person , or with their secretions.

Is there a treatment?

Yellow fever is a disease for which even today there is no specific curative treatment. In case of infection, the intervention goes through support treatments. It is essential the vital constant monitoring and maintenance , the performance of dialysis in case of renal failure and the administration of liquids to maintain hydration and electrolyte balance. In addition, the use of antipyretics to reduce fever and antibiotics (not for the virus but for possible bacterial infections that could appear during this) can be very useful.

Although there is no cure per se, we do have an effective vaccine against yellow fever, a single dose being necessary in order to protect oneself for life. That is why the best way to treat yellow fever is to prevent it, being necessary establish vaccination programs in countries where the condition is endemic and get vaccinated in the case of traveling to those countries. Another measure is based on the control of the mosquito population, a measure that has proven effective in several countries.

However, the vaccine may be contraindicated or require medical evaluation prior to its application in some population sectors: pregnant (except high risk), under 9 months and over 60 years (also unless there is a great risk) and immunosuppressed or allergic subjects to the egg and derivatives.

At present, there are several initiatives to control yellow fever, such as the EYE program organized by the cooperation between the World Health Organization, UNICEF and Gavi-alliance for vaccines. This program aims to protect, prevent and control possible outbreaks of fever through participation in vaccination campaigns, research, health promotion and interaction with institutions and local administrations.

Bibliographic references:

  • World Health Organization. (2014). Yellow fever. Small bites big threats.
  • Soteras, E. (s.f.). Yellow fever. World Health Organization [Online]. Available at: //www.who.int/en/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/yellow-fever.

Infectious Diseases A-Z: Yellow fever outbreak (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Fièvre jaune: symptômes, causes et traitement

Fièvre jaune: symptômes, causes et traitement

Mai 16, 2022

Il existe de nombreuses maladies qui existent et qui existent dans le monde au cours de l'histoire. Certaines, comme la peste noire, représentent un fléau qui a anéanti un pourcentage élevé de la population mondiale. Et l’existence de maladies graves susceptibles de provoquer des pandémies n’est pas seulement une chose du passé: il existe encore de nombreuses maladies sans remède connu et au potentiel mortel.

L’un d’eux génère des épidémies et des épidémies dans les pays d’Afrique et d’Amérique du Sud depuis des siècles. Il s'agit de la fièvre jaune , dont nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Fièvre jaune: description et symptômes

La fièvre jaune est l'une des maladies classées comme fièvres hémorragiques qui a causé et continue de causer des centaines de milliers de décès chaque année. C’est une maladie endémique présente principalement dans les régions d’Afrique ou d’Amérique du Sud et qui, même aujourd’hui cela peut signifier l'apparition d'épidémies importantes .


La fièvre jaune, également appelée maladie des vomissures noires, maladie du Siam ou maladie de la Barbade (lieu du premier cas enregistré), doit son nom à l'un de ses symptômes les plus caractéristiques, la jaunisse provoquée par une altération du foie et pancréas

Mais ce n'est pas son seul symptôme : il est également fréquent de présenter des saignements par la bouche, les oreilles ou les yeux, des hémorragies internes, des fièvres très fortes, des maux de tête, des arythmies, une hypoglycémie et, en cas de survenue de phases d'intoxication, peuvent apparaître des convulsions, une insuffisance hépatique et rénale, hémorragies encore plus graves, vomissements noirs dus à l’expulsion de sang coagulé, à la bradycardie, à la déshydratation, aux délires ou au coma. Dans les cas graves, le risque de décès est élevé, et dans un grand nombre de cas.


Dans d’autres cas, les moins graves, la maladie se résorbe d'elle-même et n'entre pas dans sa phase la plus grave avec un potentiel mortel.

Phases d'infection

La fièvre jaune est une maladie dangereuse. L'infection implique de passer par une série de phases au cours desquelles les symptômes et la gravité de l'image varient, bien que toutes les personnes ne passent pas par la dernière. Nous pouvons identifier un total de trois phases , auquel on pourrait ajouter une précédente sous la forme d’une période d’incubation.

Phase 0: période d'incubation

À partir du moment où la morsure qui transmet le virus à l’origine des premiers symptômes apparaît généralement entre trois et six jours. Pendant eux le virus se répand dans le corps , sans aucun symptôme pour le moment.

Phase 1: phase aiguë

Plusieurs jours après la morsure, apparaissent généralement une série de symptômes typiques d'une infection: apparition de fortes fièvres, nausées et vomissements, photophobie, maux de tête Rougeur des tissus mous, bouffées de chaleur, manque d'appétit et jaunisse.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 11 types de maux de tête et leurs caractéristiques"

Phase 2. Remission

En règle générale, après plusieurs jours de souffrance des symptômes décrits ci-dessus, ils finissent généralement par s'affaiblir et disparaître peu à peu. Dans de nombreux cas, la maladie peut arrêter dans cette phase, et le sujet récupère . Cependant, dans d'autres cas, la personne peut rechuter et s'aggraver environ un jour plus tard, en entrant dans la phase d'intoxication.

Phase 3: Intoxication

Après plusieurs jours de rémission, certains des sujets atteints de fièvre jaune entrent dans une phase d’intoxication dans laquelle les symptômes réapparaissent avec une grande virulence . C'est la phase la plus grave de la maladie.

Pendant cette phase, la fièvre réapparaît et des symptômes tels que des saignements de la bouche, du nez et des yeux peuvent également apparaître. Ils ont aussi tendance à avoir des problèmes ou même insuffisance rénale ou hépatique . En fait, c’est dans cette phase de la maladie que la jaunisse apparaît habituellement, donnant à la peau la couleur jaunâtre qui lui donne son nom. La présence de douleurs abdominales, de nausées et de vomissements est également fréquente.

Il n’est pas rare non plus que des arythmies ou une bradycardie se produisent. Au niveau du cerveau, en plus de la fièvre peuvent apparaître des hallucinations et des délires, de la confusion et un dysfonctionnement du cerveau. Il est également possible que le sujet présente des convulsions ou entre dans le coma. En bref, ils ont tendance à échecs multiorganes et hémorragies d'une grande importance .

Malheureusement, les personnes qui entrent dans cette phase (dans une fenêtre entre 25% et 60%) ne peuvent pas vaincre la maladie et meurent.

Causes de cette maladie

La fièvre jaune est une maladie virale, un produit de l’infection par le virus de la fièvre jaune, qui, comme des maladies comme la dengue, appartient au genre Flavivirus.

Ce virus Il atteint l'être humain par la piqûre de moustiques infectés , généralement des genres Aedes ou Haemagogus. Le virus peut être transmis entre les singes et de singes à l'homme par les moustiques du cycle écologique de la jungle ou par les habitants du cycle écologique urbain.

Il existe également un cycle combiné des deux précédents, celui de la feuille, dans lequel les moustiques infectés transmettent la maladie à un être humain après une démangeaison, puis sont transmis à d'autres personnes après une démangeaison.

Fièvre jaune Il ne se transmet pas par contact avec une personne infectée ou avec leurs sécrétions.

Y a-t-il un traitement?

La fièvre jaune est une maladie pour laquelle il n’existe encore, à l’heure actuelle, aucun traitement curatif spécifique. En cas d'infection, l'intervention passe par des traitements de soutien. C'est essentiel la surveillance constante et la maintenance vitale , la performance de la dialyse en cas d'insuffisance rénale et l'administration de liquides pour maintenir l'hydratation et l'équilibre électrolytique. De plus, l'utilisation d'antipyrétiques pour réduire la fièvre et les antibiotiques (non pas pour le virus mais pour d'éventuelles infections bactériennes pouvant survenir pendant cette période) peut être très utile.

Bien qu’il n’existe pas de traitement curatif en soi, nous disposons d’un vaccin efficace contre la fièvre jaune, une seule dose étant nécessaire pour se protéger à vie. C’est pourquoi la meilleure façon de traiter la fièvre jaune est de la prévenir, car elle est nécessaire établir des programmes de vaccination dans les pays où la maladie est endémique et se faire vacciner en cas de voyage dans ces pays. Une autre mesure est basée sur le contrôle de la population de moustiques, une mesure qui s'est avérée efficace dans plusieurs pays.

Cependant, le vaccin peut être contre-indiqué ou nécessiter une évaluation médicale avant son application dans certains secteurs de la population: femmes enceintes (sauf risque élevé), moins de 9 mois et plus de 60 ans (également sauf en cas de risque important) et sujets immunodéprimés ou allergiques à l'œuf et à ses dérivés.

Il existe actuellement plusieurs initiatives de lutte contre la fièvre jaune, telles que le programme EYE organisé par la coopération entre l’Organisation mondiale de la santé, l’UNICEF et Gavi-Alliance pour les vaccins. Ce programme vise à protéger, à prévenir et à contrôler d’éventuelles épidémies de fièvre en participant à des campagnes de vaccination, recherche, promotion de la santé et interaction avec les institutions et les administrations locales.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Organisation mondiale de la SANTE. (2014) Fièvre jaune. Petites morsures grandes menaces.
  • Soteras, E. (s.f.). Fièvre jaune. Organisation mondiale de la santé [en ligne]. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.who.int/en/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/yellow-fever.
Articles Connexes