yes, therapy helps!
Esquizotimia: definition, causes, symptoms, treatment and controversy

Esquizotimia: definition, causes, symptoms, treatment and controversy

May 5, 2024

Throughout the history of psychology has tried to decipher the mind and thinking of people through all kinds of methods. Certain psychological research currents created a series of psychiatric classifications or typologies taking as reference the characteristics or physical attributes shared by a determined number of people.

One of these typologies is the not very well known schizotymy . Throughout this article we will talk about what is the meaning of this term, where is its origin and the weak points that it has when defining a person's temperament.

What is schizotymy?

Schizotymic or schizotymic personality is a term, now in disuse, which was used to refer to people of a withdrawn and distant nature , which do not present any type of psychotic pathology. These people usually live in solitude and with full attention placed on their inner world. They are also people with a tendency or predisposition to manifest symptoms related to autism.


At the intellectual level, the schizotymic personality is related to originality, idealism and the tendency to abstract analysis and sometimes obsessive organization.

This type of personality was described by E. Kretschmer in his classification of psychiatric typologies according to physical appearance and temperament. And it would constitute a non-pathological version of schizophrenia in which only negative symptomatology is presented.

This tendency to introversion and isolation, typical of schizotymy, differs from cyclothymia in that in this second the person experiences a series of fluctuations that lead from this state of introversion or depression to a state of extreme enthusiasm or euphoria.


Schizotymy is characterized by the depth and intensity with which the person experiences their most intimate experiences, which are followed by extensive periods of subjective reflection and internalization.

In the same way that the person lacks any type of interest for the external reality that encompasses him, he also manifests large deficits in social skills , which is a problem when starting or maintaining any type of interpersonal relationship.

Another special characteristic of schizotymic people is that they are expressing their anger or aggressiveness in a very cold and distant way. As a rule, the schizophrenic will tend to accumulate his little outbursts of anger or disappointments, downloading them only on very few and rare occasions.

This isolation from reality and the need to be centered in your inner world are conditioning factors when the person comes to suffer some kind of psychosis, since it is surely manifested in the form of schizophrenia.


Therefore, and according to the psychological characteristics described above, schizotymia would constitute a non-pathological version of schizophrenia in which the manifestation of negative symptomatology predominates.

Origin and evolution of schizotymy

As discussed in the previous point, Kretschmer was the one who coined the term schizotymy within his classification of psychiatric pathologies. This classification is based on the idea that there are four types or models of psychiatric personality which depend on the physical appearance of the person, keeping an intrinsic and direct relationship between the body structure and the personality of the subjects.

After observing, examining and measuring a large number of subjects, Kretschmer made a classification of the temperament based on the body and morphological structure of people. From this study he extracted three basic archetypes of temperament.

These were the asthenics or leptosomatics to which corresponds the schizotymic temperament, the cyclothymic temperament and the athletic viscous or ixotimic temperament. . In addition, created a fourth category called "dysplastic" which would include all those people who can not be classified in the previous three.

For a better understanding of this classification, the four categories created by Kretschmer are described below.

1. Leptosomal or schizothymic

The morphology of the leptosomal or schizothymic person is characterized by a long and thin constitution . With contracted shoulders and back, thin skeleton and long and narrow trunk. They are also distinguished by a pale skin face, generous nose and angled profile.

As for the temperament corresponds to the schizothymic.Which, as described above, stands out for being unsocial, shy, introspective and reflective, pessimistic and irascible, but at the same time he is also tenacious, dreamy, idealistic and analytical.

2. Pythonic or cyclothymic

According to the German psychiatrist, the pythonic or cyclothymic people are distinguished by a physical appearance of wide trunk and short arms and legs , as well as a normal stature and rounded figure. In addition, they are susceptible to obesity and have a soft body in which fat abounds.

A cyclothymic temperament corresponds to a person of the pycnical type. People with this temperament are differentiated by being affable, benevolent, affectionate and cheerful. But with sudden outbursts of anger, explosives and anger intermittently. However, they can also be sociable, talkative, practical and realistic.

3. Athletic or viscous

The person of athletic morphology and viscous temperament have physical features such as broad shoulders and shoulders that narrow as they approach the waist, large and rough limbs, robust bones and a rough complexion.

This type of body constitution is associated with the viscous temperament, which manifests itself through passive, emotionally stable behaviors , calm, indifferent, unimaginative and sure of his vigor.

4. Displastic

Finally, this last categorization includes people with insufficient or excessive development, with some type of physical anomaly or who can not be classified in any of the previous subtypes.

After this classification, and due to the criticism it has received over time, W. H. Sheldon, a professor at Harvard University, created another parallel classification. This classification was also elaborated based on the person's physique. However, in addition to the physical complexion Sheldon also took into account other factors such as viscerotonía or cerebrotonía.

According to Sheldon, people who manifest the schizotymic temperament proposed by Kerscher correspond to the subtype "ectomorph" created by himself. A person with ectomorphic physical characteristics is distinguished by an emaciated dermis, poor musculature and fragile bones. As well as long and thin limbs.

Criticisms of the schizotymic term

As mentioned at the beginning of the article, the term schizotymic , like the rest of the classification of temperaments has not been rid of criticism from the scientific community, so it has not enjoyed a long life, and being replaced by a meaning with much more support: dysthymia.

Dysthymia and dysthymic disorder are characterized by a depressed mood. It is considered a chronic disorder by which the person is invaded by a series of melancholic feelings but does not become a depression by itself.

  • Among the reasons why the schizotymic term has not become integrated into current psychiatric classifications are:
  • It is a very reductionist label. You can not determine the personality or temperament of a person only taking into account his physical constitution
  • Kretschmer only describes extreme types, without taking into account the intermediate points
  • The physical changes that the person can suffer during his life are not taken into account

Psicología Esquizotimia (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Esquizotimia: définition, causes, symptômes, traitement et controverse

Esquizotimia: définition, causes, symptômes, traitement et controverse

Avril 15, 2021

Tout au long de l'histoire de la psychologie, on a essayé de déchiffrer l'esprit et la pensée des gens par toutes sortes de méthodes. Certains courants de recherche psychologique ont créé une série de classifications ou de typologies psychiatriques prenant comme référence les caractéristiques ou attributs physiques partagés par un nombre déterminé de personnes.

Une de ces typologies est la schizotymie peu connue . Tout au long de cet article, nous aborderons le sens de ce terme, son origine et ses points faibles lors de la définition du tempérament d'une personne.

Qu'est-ce que la schizotymie?

La personnalité schizotymique ou schizotymique est un terme, maintenant en désuétude, utilisé pour désigner des personnes d'une nature retirée et lointaine. , qui ne présentent aucun type de pathologie psychotique. Ces personnes vivent généralement dans la solitude et avec une attention totale portée sur leur monde intérieur. Il s’agit également de personnes ayant une tendance ou une prédisposition à manifester des symptômes liés à l’autisme.


Au niveau intellectuel, la personnalité schizotymique est liée à l'originalité, à l'idéalisme et à la tendance à l'analyse abstraite et à l'organisation parfois obsessionnelle.

Ce type de personnalité a été décrit par E. Kretschmer dans sa classification des typologies psychiatriques en fonction de l'apparence physique et du tempérament. Et cela constituerait une version non pathologique de la schizophrénie dans laquelle seule la symptomatologie négative est présentée.

Cette tendance à l'introversion et à l'isolement, typique de la schizotymie, diffère de la cyclothymie en ce sens que, dans cette seconde, la personne subit une série de fluctuations qui conduisent de cet état d'introversion ou de dépression à un état d'enthousiasme extrême ou d'euphorie.


La schizotymie est caractérisée par la profondeur et l'intensité avec lesquelles la personne vit ses expériences les plus intimes, suivies de longues périodes de réflexion subjective et d'intériorisation.

De la même manière que la personne n'a aucun intérêt pour la réalité extérieure qui l'entoure, elle manifeste également d'importants déficits d'aptitudes sociales. , qui pose un problème lors du démarrage ou du maintien de tout type de relation interpersonnelle.

Une autre caractéristique particulière des personnes schizotymiques est qu’elles expriment leur colère ou leur agressivité de manière très froide et lointaine. En règle générale, le schizophrène aura tendance à accumuler ses petites explosions de colère ou de déceptions, en ne les téléchargeant que très rarement.

Cet isolement de la réalité et le besoin d'être centré sur votre monde intérieur sont des facteurs déterminants lorsque la personne en vient à souffrir d'une forme de psychose, puisqu'elle se manifeste sûrement sous la forme de schizophrénie.


Par conséquent, et selon les caractéristiques psychologiques décrites ci-dessus, la schizotymie constituerait une version non pathologique de la schizophrénie dans laquelle la manifestation de la symptomatologie négative prédominait.

Origine et évolution de la schizotymie

Comme on l'a vu dans le point précédent, c'est Kretschmer qui a inventé le terme schizotymie dans sa classification des pathologies psychiatriques. Cette classification repose sur l'idée qu'il existe quatre types ou modèles de personnalité psychiatrique qui dépendent de l'apparence physique de la personne, en maintenant une relation intrinsèque et directe entre la structure corporelle et la personnalité des sujets.

Après avoir observé, examiné et mesuré un grand nombre de sujets, Kretschmer a procédé à une classification du tempérament en fonction du corps et de la structure morphologique des personnes. De cette étude, il a extrait trois archétypes de base du tempérament.

Ce sont les asthéniques ou leptosomatiques auxquels correspondent le tempérament schizotymique, le tempérament cyclothymique et le tempérament athlétique visqueux ou ixotimique. . En outre, créé une quatrième catégorie appelée "dysplasique" qui comprendrait toutes les personnes qui ne peuvent pas être classées dans les trois précédentes.

Pour une meilleure compréhension de cette classification, les quatre catégories créées par Kretschmer sont décrites ci-dessous.

1. Leptosomal ou schizothymic

La morphologie de la personne leptosomale ou schizothymique est caractérisée par une constitution longue et mince . Avec les épaules et le dos contractés, squelette mince et le tronc long et étroit. Ils se distinguent également par une peau pâle, un nez généreux et un profil coudé.

Quant au tempérament, il correspond au schizothymie.Comme décrit ci-dessus, ce qui se distingue par son caractère non social, timide, introspectif et réfléchissant, pessimiste et irascible, mais il est en même temps tenace, rêveur, idéaliste et analytique.

2. Pythonique ou cyclothymique

Selon le psychiatre allemand, les personnes pythoniques ou cyclothymiques se distinguent par une apparence physique de tronc large et de bras et jambes courts , ainsi qu’une taille normale et une taille arrondie. En outre, ils sont sensibles à l'obésité et ont un corps mou dans lequel les graisses abondent.

Un tempérament cyclothymique correspond à une personne de type pycnical. Les personnes ayant ce tempérament se distinguent par leur affabilité, leur bienveillance, leur affection et leur bonne humeur. Mais avec des explosions soudaines de colère, d'explosifs et de colère par intermittence. Cependant, ils peuvent aussi être sociables, bavards, pratiques et réalistes.

3. athlétique ou visqueux

La personne de morphologie sportive et de tempérament visqueux a des caractéristiques physiques telles que des épaules larges et des épaules qui se rétrécissent à l'approche de la taille, des membres gros et rugueux, des os robustes et un teint rugueux.

Ce type de constitution corporelle est associé au tempérament visqueux, qui se manifeste par des comportements passifs et émotionnellement stables. , calme, indifférent, sans imagination et sûr de sa vigueur.

4. déplaisant

Enfin, cette dernière catégorie inclut les personnes ayant un développement insuffisant ou excessif, présentant un type d'anomalie physique ou ne pouvant être classées dans aucun des sous-types précédents.

Après cette classification et en raison des critiques qu’il a reçues au fil du temps, W. H. Sheldon, professeur à l’Université de Harvard, a créé une autre classification parallèle. Cette classification a également été élaborée en fonction du physique de la personne. Cependant, en plus du teint physique, Sheldon a également pris en compte d'autres facteurs tels que la viscérotonie ou la cérébrotonie.

Selon Sheldon, les personnes qui manifestent le tempérament schizotymique proposé par Kerscher correspondent au sous-type "ectomorphe" créé par lui-même. Une personne présentant des caractéristiques physiques ectomorphes se distingue par un derme émacié, une mauvaise musculature et des os fragiles. Ainsi que les membres longs et minces.

Critiques du terme schizotymique

Comme mentionné au début de l'article, le terme schizotymique , comme le reste de la classification des tempéraments n’a pas été débarrassé des critiques de la communauté scientifique, il n’a donc pas eu une longue vie, et a été remplacé par un sens avec beaucoup plus de soutien: la dysthymie.

La dysthymie et le trouble dysthymique sont caractérisés par une humeur dépressive. Il est considéré comme un trouble chronique par lequel la personne est envahie par une série de sentiments mélancoliques mais ne devient pas une dépression en soi.

  • Parmi les raisons pour lesquelles le terme schizotymique n'a pas été intégré dans les classifications psychiatriques actuelles sont les suivantes:
  • C'est une étiquette très réductionniste. Vous ne pouvez pas déterminer la personnalité ou le tempérament d’une personne en tenant compte uniquement de sa constitution physique.
  • Kretschmer ne décrit que les types extrêmes, sans prendre en compte les points intermédiaires
  • Les changements physiques que la personne peut subir au cours de sa vie ne sont pas pris en compte

Psicología Esquizotimia (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes