yes, therapy helps!
Bálint syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

Bálint syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

January 22, 2022

The visual system is one of the most valuable sensory systems developed for the human being. Thanks to him we are able to detect the presence of the different elements that are part of our environment as well as to identify their shape, proportions and position in space and in relation to us.

However, sometimes this system may be damaged for some reason, or the brain areas responsible for its management or the interpretation of the data derived from it may do so. One of the medical problems or syndromes that can result from brain injuries is Bálint syndrome .

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

Balint syndrome: what is it?

The so-called Bálint syndrome is a medical picture caused by the presence of brain injuries and characterized by the presence of different alterations linked to the control of the visual system that hinder and even prevent the adaptive use of said system, highlighting the optic ataxia, the oculomotor apraxia, the perceptive problems and the difficulties derived from them, such as visual agnosia. This can be a serious detriment to the daily life of the person, who loses much of the functionality.


  • Related article: "Apraxia: causes, symptoms and treatment"

Basic symptoms

Specifically, this syndrome is characterized because those who suffer from it have optic ataxia, that is, the inability to correctly coordinate the visual information and the movement of the hands. The subject is unable to perform tasks that require this coordination , although his visual perception and his motor system work properly separately.

Oculomotor apraxia also appears, which in this case refers to the inability to modify the focus of visual attention due to the absence or reduction of voluntary control of ocular activity. The gaze remains fixed at one point and it is complicated or impossible to change it regardless of whether stimulation is present at another point of the visual field, or else it presents erratic movements.


Another of the main symptoms of Bálint syndrome is simultanagnosia, in which the subject is not able to observe more than one object at a time without the previous ones disappearing from the perceptive field. The subject has serious difficulties in capturing complex visual stimulation, which he may not understand. In addition, there is often a high degree of disorientation in space.

Finally, it is also common to see alterations such as visual agnosia, in which the person suffering from this syndrome is unable to understand or identify what they are seeing and which can lead to phenomena such as prosopagnosia or the absence of face recognition.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 5 types of agnosia (visual, auditory, tactile, motor and body)"

Causes of this syndrome

The Bálint syndrome is caused mainly by the presence of bilateral brain injuries in which both parietal lobes are affected, especially in the areas in contact with the occipital. Between these zones the angular gyrus can be found, which in turn can cause cognitive alterations, disorientation and problems of association between language and image.


The causes of these injuries can be multiple, from the presence of strokes to traumatic brain injuries that affect those areas. In addition to this can be found some cases caused by neurodegenerative diseases, such as dementia. It also occasionally appears in complications derived from HIV infection, as well as in prion disease.

Functional alterations in patients

Those individuals with Bálint syndrome have serious problems to continue normal daily life. They have difficulties coordinating vision and motor skills and may not perceive correctly what surrounds them . Aspects such as dressing or feeding are greatly complicated in some cases, as well as any activity that requires fine motor skills and vision. Literacy is difficult or impossible, as is driving or handling delicate machinery. Sometimes there may be communication problems in the presence of agnosia or the difficulty of associating concepts with their corresponding images.

In addition, since it usually appears abruptly, it is an important interruption that It can generate serious psychological effects , not being rare to experience anxiety, anguish and even in some cases depression.

Treatment

Bálint syndrome is the result of a severe brain injury, so the treatment is dedicated to improving and trying to recover the lost functions from the rehabilitation. In most cases, an approach focused on occupational therapy (either through traditional means or through the use of new technologies) is used, which allows the patient to reduce his or her difficulties and enhance their abilities, as well as counseling and treatment. psychological in the required cases.

It is possible to achieve a certain level of recovery although it will depend on the type of injury that has caused the syndrome, the state of the damaged or isolated neurons and the use of strategies to recover or compensate or the typical functions of the injured areas.

Bibliographic references:

  • Clavagnier, S. (2007). Balint's syndrome: disoriented vision. Mind and brain. 22
  • Feinberg, T.D. and Farah, M.J. (1997). Behavioral Neurology and Neuropsychology. New York: McGraw-Hill.
  • Rodríguez, I.P .; Moreno, R. and Flórez, C. (2000). Ocular motor disorders in Balint syndrome: computer-assisted occupational therapy. Motor Magazine, 6; 29-45. Complutense University of Madrid.

Klüver-Bucy syndrome - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, pathology (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Bálint: causes, symptômes et traitement

Syndrome de Bálint: causes, symptômes et traitement

Décembre 1, 2022

Le système visuel est l’un des systèmes sensoriels les plus précieux développés pour l’être humain. Grâce à lui, nous sommes en mesure de détecter la présence des différents éléments de notre environnement, ainsi que d’identifier leur forme, leurs proportions et leur position dans l’espace et par rapport à nous.

Cependant, ce système peut parfois être endommagé pour une raison quelconque, ou les zones du cerveau responsables de sa gestion ou de l'interprétation des données qui en découlent peuvent le faire. L'un des problèmes médicaux ou des syndromes pouvant résulter de lésions cérébrales est Syndrome de Bálint .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Le syndrome de Balint: c'est quoi?

Le soi-disant syndrome de Bálint est une image médicale causée par la présence de lésions cérébrales et caractérisé par la présence de différentes altérations liées au contrôle du système visuel qui entravent et même empêchent l'utilisation adaptative dudit système, mettant en évidence l'ataxie optique, l'apraxie oculomotrice, les problèmes de perception et les difficultés qui en découlent, telles que l'agnosie visuelle. Cela peut nuire gravement à la vie quotidienne de la personne, qui perd une grande partie de ses fonctionnalités.


  • Article connexe: "Apraxie: causes, symptômes et traitement"

Symptômes de base

Plus précisément, ce syndrome est caractérisé par le fait que ceux qui en souffrent ont une ataxie optique, c'est-à-dire une incapacité à coordonner correctement les informations visuelles et le mouvement des mains. Le sujet est incapable d'accomplir les tâches nécessitant cette coordination. , bien que sa perception visuelle et son système moteur fonctionnent correctement séparément.

Une apraxie oculomotrice apparaît également, ce qui, dans ce cas, fait référence à l’incapacité de modifier le foyer de l’attention visuelle en raison de l’absence ou de la réduction du contrôle volontaire de l’activité oculaire. Le regard reste fixe en un point et il est compliqué, voire impossible, de le changer, que la stimulation soit présente en un autre point du champ visuel ou qu'elle présente des mouvements erratiques.


Un autre des principaux symptômes du syndrome de Bálint est simultanagnosia, dans lequel le sujet est incapable d'observer plus d'un objet à la fois sans que les précédents disparaissent du champ perceptif. Le sujet a de sérieuses difficultés à capturer une stimulation visuelle complexe, qu’il ne comprend peut-être pas. De plus, il existe souvent un fort degré de désorientation dans l’espace.

Enfin, il est également courant d'observer des altérations telles que l'agnosie visuelle, dans lesquelles la personne atteinte de ce syndrome est incapable de comprendre ou d'identifier ce qu'elle voit et qui peut conduire à des phénomènes tels que la prosopagnosie ou l'absence de reconnaissance faciale.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Les 5 types d'agnosie (visuelle, auditive, tactile, moteur et corporelle)"

Causes de ce syndrome

Le syndrome de Bálint est principalement causé par la présence de lésions cérébrales bilatérales dans lequel les deux lobes pariétaux sont touchés, en particulier dans les zones en contact avec l'occipital. Entre ces zones se trouve le gyrus angulaire qui peut à son tour entraîner des altérations cognitives, une désorientation et des problèmes d’association entre langage et image.


Les causes de ces blessures peuvent être multiples, de la présence d'accidents vasculaires cérébraux à des lésions cérébrales traumatiques qui affectent ces zones. En plus de cela peuvent être trouvés certains cas causés par des maladies neurodégénératives, telles que la démence. Il apparaît également à l'occasion dans les complications liées à l'infection par le VIH, ainsi que dans les maladies à prions.

Altérations fonctionnelles chez les patients

Les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Bálint ont de graves problèmes pour continuer une vie quotidienne normale. Ils ont des difficultés à coordonner la vision et la motricité et peut ne pas percevoir correctement ce qui les entoure . Des aspects tels que s'habiller ou manger sont très compliqués dans certains cas, de même que toute activité nécessitant une motricité fine et une vision. L'alphabétisation est difficile ou impossible, tout comme la conduite ou la manipulation de machines délicates. Parfois, il peut y avoir des problèmes de communication en présence d'agnosie ou la difficulté d'associer des concepts à leurs images correspondantes.

De plus, vu qu’elle apparaît habituellement brusquement, c’est une interruption importante qui Il peut générer des effets psychologiques graves , n'étant pas rare de ressentir de l'anxiété, de l'angoisse et même parfois de la dépression.

Traitement

Le syndrome de Bálint est le résultat d’une grave lésion cérébrale. le traitement est dédié à l'amélioration et à la récupération des fonctions perdues de la réhabilitation. Dans la plupart des cas, on utilise une approche axée sur l’ergothérapie (par des moyens traditionnels ou par l’utilisation de nouvelles technologies), qui permet au patient de réduire ses difficultés et d’améliorer ses capacités, ainsi que de conseils et de traitement. psychologique dans les cas requis.

Il est possible d'atteindre un certain niveau de récupération bien que cela dépende du type de lésion qui a provoqué le syndrome, de l'état des neurones endommagés ou isolés et de l'utilisation de stratégies de récupération ou de réparation ou des fonctions typiques des zones lésées.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Clavagnier, S. (2007). Syndrome de Balint: vision désorientée. Esprit et cerveau. 22
  • Feinberg, T.D. et Farah, M.J. (1997). Neurologie comportementale et neuropsychologie. New York: McGraw-Hill.
  • Rodríguez, I.P.; Moreno, R. et Flórez, C. (2000). Troubles de la motricité oculaire dans le syndrome de Balint: ergothérapie assistée par ordinateur. Motor Magazine, 6; 29-45. Université Complutense de Madrid.

Mon Top 5 des syndromes neurologiques les plus fous! (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes