yes, therapy helps!
Femen: who are they and why do they cause so much rejection?

Femen: who are they and why do they cause so much rejection?

November 27, 2021

Femen is an activist and peaceful resistance group that leaves no one indifferent , not even so many of the groups of feminists, who often look at them with suspicion. There are also different theories about its foundation, pointing out some that have served the United States of America as a weapon to destabilize the countries of the Middle East, and others attributing them a role as a group financed by entrepreneurs to harm the feminist struggle.

Although their public appearances are scarce, they always turn out to be extremely media and they manage to appear in the headlines of newspapers at an international level. Their fields of action are usually congresses or political meetings, transnational economic entities or even in women's fashion company openings, always with the same modus operandi: call attention.


  • Related article: "Types of feminism and its different currents of thought"

Who is Femen?

Femen is defined as an international organization that fights sexism and religious impositions against women, in addition to being considered "the special forces of feminism", the militias of the movement, as it appears on its website. They make it clear that they use the transgression of norms to claim .

The context must be taken into account to understand the emergence of a group with radical slogans or actions justifying violence. The origin of Femen is Ukrainian, and although it seeks internationalist meaning, the main object of denunciation are the sexist abuses that occur in that country, as well as in neighboring Russia. The majority of their actions are acts of protest carried out by naked women from the waist up, with slogans painted on the body .


Numerous non-governmental organizations, human rights entities and local journalists, show that in these Eastern countries there is still a sexist line to the detriment of the female gender, both at the socio-family level and at the political-economic level. Recall the incidents of the feminist music group "Pussy Riot", who were imprisoned and dissolved as a group for breaking into a church.

On the other hand, The members of the Femen group are constantly exposed to potential police repression , as well as sentences that can sometimes reach two years in prison, because Ukrainian laws are significantly more severe than in the rest of Europe.

Femen has as one of its main goals to reach where institutionalized feminism does not come directly: charge strongly against religion . In 2014 they went directly to Pope Francis in the Vatican Square, when the usual mass was celebrated, to perform one of their acts of protest.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of sexism: the different forms of discrimination"

The Femen method

As we have already mentioned, Femen's modus operandi responds to what the Suffragists once began with the help of Emmeline Pankhurst back in the 20th century: street violence and public uproar to attract the media. With an added plus that supposes the naked torso and a clear intention to show the breasts with a message inscribed in them.

Why are they so rejected by feminism?

The most classic feminism, the well-known feminisms of first and second wave , they view with skepticism the use of the body of the woman as a showcase to achieve repercussion, even more so when the activists in question are not very representative of the majority of women, being white, with little connection with religion and, in its early stages, close to beauty canons. Some associations and institutionalized organizations see this method as counterproductive, and denounce the fact that the physicality of women is again exposed to the service of media consumption.

Femen is rejected, too, by a great historical difference: Western feminism takes them almost a century ahead. Outside of Femen, protests against sexism no longer focus on questioning religion as a simple fact "contaminating reason", but trying to include in feminism groups that try to perform non-sexist readings of their own religiosity , which implies a clash of interests in the methodology.

In addition, these feminist institutions decline to support Femen openly because they consider it an ambiguous collective and little elaborated in their theories. This group of Ukrainian origin seems to position itself before a very ambiguous sexism idea, while the majority of feminist groups elaborate theories based on the concept of patriarchy.In this sense, Femen's orientation seems to be closer to a liberal conception of gender problems, as it protests against the violation of forms of repression applied against women as individuals, not as a collective.


Anti-abortion activists celebrate the rejection of bill by senate (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Femen: qui sont-ils et pourquoi causent-ils tant de rejet?

Femen: qui sont-ils et pourquoi causent-ils tant de rejet?

Mai 16, 2022

Femen est un groupe de résistance activiste et pacifique qui ne laisse personne indifférent , pas même beaucoup de groupes de féministes, qui les regardent souvent avec suspicion. Il existe également différentes théories sur sa fondation, soulignant certaines qui ont servi aux États-Unis d’Amérique en tant qu’arme pour déstabiliser les pays du Moyen-Orient et d’autres en leur attribuant un rôle de groupe financé par des entrepreneurs pour nuire à la lutte féministe.

Bien que leurs apparitions publiques soient rares, ils s'avèrent toujours être des médias extrêmement importants et parviennent à figurer dans les gros titres des journaux au niveau international. Leurs domaines d’action sont généralement des congrès ou des réunions politiques, des entités économiques transnationales ou même des ouvertures d’entreprises de mode féminine, toujours avec le même mode opératoire: attirer l’attention.


  • Article connexe: "Les types de féminisme et ses différents courants de pensée"

Qui est Femen?

Femen se définit comme une organisation internationale qui lutte contre le sexisme et les obligations religieuses contre les femmes, en plus d'être considérée comme "les forces spéciales du féminisme", les milices du mouvement, telles qu'elles apparaissent sur son site Web. Ils précisent que ils utilisent la transgression des normes pour réclamer .

Le contexte doit être pris en compte pour comprendre l’émergence d’un groupe de slogans radicaux ou d’actions justifiant la violence. Le Femen a pour origine l’Ukrainien et, bien qu’il ait un sens internationaliste, le principal objet de dénonciation est constitué par les abus sexistes perpétrés dans ce pays ainsi que dans la Russie voisine. La majorité de leurs actions sont des actes de protestation menés par des femmes nues à partir de la taille, avec des slogans peints sur le corps .


De nombreuses organisations non gouvernementales, organismes de défense des droits de l'homme et journalistes locaux montrent que, dans ces pays de l'Est, il existe encore une ligne sexiste au détriment du sexe féminin, tant au niveau socio-familial que politique. Rappelons les incidents du groupe de musique féministe "Pussy Riot", emprisonnés et dissous en tant que groupe pour avoir pénétré dans une église.

D'un autre côté, Les membres du groupe Femen sont constamment exposés à une éventuelle répression policière , ainsi que des peines pouvant aller jusqu’à deux ans de prison, car les lois ukrainiennes sont nettement plus sévères que dans le reste de l’Europe.

Femen a l’un des objectifs principaux à atteindre là où le féminisme institutionnalisé ne vient pas directement: accuser fortement contre la religion . En 2014, ils se sont rendus directement chez le pape François sur la place du Vatican, lors de la célébration de la messe habituelle, pour accomplir l'un de leurs actes de protestation.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de sexisme: les différentes formes de discrimination"

La méthode Femen

Comme nous l'avons déjà mentionné, le modus operandi de Femen correspond à ce que les Suffragistes avaient commencé avec l'aide d'Emmeline Pankhurst au XXe siècle: la violence dans la rue et le tumulte public pour attirer les médias. Avec un atout supplémentaire qui suppose un torse nu et une intention claire de montrer les seins avec un message gravé dessus.

Pourquoi sont-ils si rejetés par le féminisme?

Le féminisme le plus classique, les féminismes bien connus des première et deuxième vagues , ils considèrent avec scepticisme l’utilisation du corps de la femme comme une vitrine pour se répercuter, encore plus lorsque les militantes en question ne sont pas très représentatives de la majorité des femmes; proche des canons de beauté. Certaines associations et organisations institutionnalisées considèrent cette méthode comme contreproductive et dénoncent le fait que la présence physique des femmes soit à nouveau exposée au service de la consommation des médias.

Le Femen est également rejeté par une grande différence historique: le féminisme occidental les prend presque un siècle en avant. En dehors de Femen, les manifestations contre le sexisme ne se focalisent plus sur la religion comme un simple "motif de contamination", mais sur l'inclusion dans le féminisme de groupes qui tentent de lire leur propre religiosité de manière non sexiste , ce qui implique un conflit d’intérêts dans la méthodologie.

En outre, ces institutions féministes refusent de soutenir les femmes ouvertement parce que ils le considèrent comme un collectif ambigu et peu élaboré dans leurs théories. Ce groupe d'origine ukrainienne semble se positionner face à une idée de sexisme très ambiguë, alors que la majorité des groupes féministes élaborent des théories basées sur le concept de patriarcat.En ce sens, l'orientation de Femen semble plus proche d'une conception libérale des problèmes de genre, puisqu'elle proteste contre la violation des formes de répression appliquées à la femme en tant qu'individu, pas en tant que collectif.


[David Elbaz] L’Univers est-il une illusion ? (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes