yes, therapy helps!
New masculinities: what they are and what is proposed in them

New masculinities: what they are and what is proposed in them

October 1, 2022

Among the contributions and controversies that have emerged from feminist approaches, especially feminism that advocates the diversity of identities, a line of research and action has arisen. begins to be known as "New Masculinities" .

This line has allowed to rethink different practices related to gender and to understand more specifically the masculine subjectivities that have consolidated as hegemonic and sometimes violent. In this way and in some spaces, it has been possible to act politically and therapeutically to counteract this.

Although it is something that is in development, we can outline here some antecedents and proposals that have emerged, as well as important fields of action.


  • Related article: "Types of feminism and its different currents of thought"

The New Masculinities: response to a crisis

Gender approaches cause discomfort. They interfere because they question our places in the world, they force us to rearrange subjective positions, that is, identities and relationships between one and the other. In this sense, they are discomforts that generate a "productive discomfort" (Sánchez, 2017).

If we analyze the social transformations of recent years, and especially look at the violent practices with which many men have tried to reaffirm their own virility; we can notice that masculinity is in a crisis .


Crisis that is especially visible in violence against women, but that is also related to different gender discomforts experienced by men themselves. Gender approaches have allowed us to pay attention to this. They make it possible to understand some specific questions about relationships, subjectivities and discomforts that have been constructed through gender binarism.

Until recently, the focus on gender perspectives had been focused only on women and in femininity. Masculinity and its values ​​had remained untouchable. It became necessary then to create models that offered new places and roles (more equitable and more free of violence) that not only focused on the experience of women.

  • You may be interested: "Why is there still discrimination against women?"

An alternative to hegemonic masculinity?

The New Masculinities emerge as an alternative to hegemonic masculinity. The term "hegemonic masculinity" refers to dominant masculine behaviors, which includes the most traditional models of domination by gender ; based, for example, on mandates such as "men do not cry", "they are always brave", "nothing feminine", "unquestionably heterosexual", etc.


In other words, it is the values, beliefs, attitudes, myths, stereotypes or behaviors that legitimize the power and authority of men over women (and over all others who are not heterosexual men).

The hegemonic masculinity is what has given rise to a whole form of political and social organization based on the idea of ​​male leadership and the predominance of the worldview over other forms of life.

However, such hegemony can also be reproduced in models that are presented as alternative and new (and not only in traditional masculinity), which is why the very concept of New Masculinities is constantly revised. Thus, one of the bases for the rethinking of masculinity is its self-reflective and critical capacity towards the different models, values, practices and experiences of masculinity.

In short, they are known as New Masculinities because they try to consolidate experiences and alternative practices to hegemonic masculinity.

Political and therapeutic action centered on the masculine experience

It is quite common for men to take on the task of teaching women what to do to stop being violated. But this often happens from the prohibition, and from the convenience of the man himself (do not wear such clothing, do not go out alone, do not talk in such a way, etc.).

Given this, in one way or another many women have explained that the way to stand in solidarity with feminist struggles, and against gender violence, is not by that way; among other things because the recommendations are made from experiences completely unrelated to gender violence , that in the end reproduce the same domination.

This has not only been expressed by women, but many men have responded by creating paths based on their own experience, which translate into political and therapeutic actions.

Rethink gender models

In general terms, we try to generate collective rethinking of gender (specifically around masculinity) as a political action to address some phenomena related to gender violence and discomfort, from the masculine experience of men.

In other words, it's about "deconstructing" hegemonic masculinity . That is, make aware of the historical and structural conditions that have generated gender inequalities and violence, and individually take charge of what corresponds.

For example, to assume when they have participated in said violence and collectively seek some strategies to avoid them. Or, pooling one's own vulnerability by making experiences and gender discomforts explicit; and from there, articulate them with the experiences and discomforts of the other gender and the non-hegemonic sexulalides.

New Masculinities or Hybrid Masculinities?

The concept of New Masculinities has generated many debates. For example, Jokin Azpiazu, pioneer in the rethinking of the masculine gender , suggests that the idea of ​​the New Masculinities is better understood through the concept of "hybrid masculinities", initially proposed by the sociologist C.J. Pascoe

This last term refers to the fact that masculinities should not be presented as new, but that the effort should be towards incorporating non-hegemonic elements that generate new models and relationships.

Otherwise, there is a risk of adapting the same hegemonic masculinity to the new needs posed by gender approaches, which ultimately generates new forms of domination. That is, seemingly innocuous practices but that finally reproduce the same inequality structures .

In the same sense, the author reflects on whether it is necessary to claim a different masculinity, or if it is more a matter of problematizing masculinity as a whole.

Bibliographic references:

  • Collective Men and New Masculinities (2018). We. Know our actions and philosophy. Retrieved May 8, 2018. Available at //colectivohombresymasculinidades.com.
  • Sánchez, J. (2017). Masculinity and feminism: a space of "productive discomfort". Retrieved May 8, 2018. Available at //www.pikaramagazine.com/2017/06/masculinidades-y-feminismo-un-espacio-de-incomodidad-productiva/.
  • Bergara, A., Riviere, J. and Bacete, R. (2008). Men, equality and new masculinities. Emakunde Basque Institute for Women: Vitoria.
  • Segarra, M. and Carabí (Eds). (2000). New masculinities Icara: Barcelona.

Redefining masculinity | Shane Horsburgh | TEDxCanberra (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Nouvelles masculinités: ce qu'elles sont et ce qui leur est proposé

Nouvelles masculinités: ce qu'elles sont et ce qui leur est proposé

Juillet 26, 2022

Parmi les contributions et les controverses qui ont émergé des approches féministes, en particulier du féminisme qui prône la diversité des identités, une ligne de recherche et d'action est apparue. commence à être connu sous le nom de "Nouvelles masculinités" .

Cette ligne a permis de repenser différentes pratiques liées au genre et de comprendre plus spécifiquement les subjectivités masculines qui se sont consolidées de manière hégémonique et parfois violente. De cette manière et dans certains espaces, il a été possible d'agir politiquement et thérapeutiquement pour contrer cela.

Bien que cela soit en cours de développement, nous pouvons décrire ici certains antécédents et propositions qui ont émergé, ainsi que d’importants domaines d’action.


  • Article connexe: "Les types de féminisme et ses différents courants de pensée"

La nouvelle masculinité: réponse à une crise

Les approches sexospécifiques sont gênantes. Ils interviennent parce qu'ils interrogent notre place dans le monde, ils nous obligent à réorganiser des positions subjectives, c'est-à-dire des identités et des relations entre les uns et les autres. En ce sens, ce sont des inconforts qui génèrent un "malaise productif" (Sánchez, 2017).

Si nous analysons les transformations sociales de ces dernières années et plus particulièrement les pratiques violentes avec lesquelles de nombreux hommes ont essayé de réaffirmer leur propre virilité; on peut remarquer que la masculinité est en crise .


Crise qui est particulièrement visible dans la violence à l'égard des femmes, mais qui est également liée aux différents désagréments de genre rencontrés par les hommes eux-mêmes. Les approches liées au genre nous ont permis d’être attentifs à cela. Ils permettent de comprendre certaines questions spécifiques sur les relations, les subjectivités et les malaises qui ont été construites à travers le binarisme entre les sexes.

Jusqu’à récemment, l’accent mis sur les perspectives sexospécifiques s’était concentré uniquement sur les femmes et dans la féminité. La masculinité et ses valeurs étaient restées intouchables. Il devint alors nécessaire de créer des modèles offrant de nouveaux lieux et rôles (plus équitables et moins violents) non seulement axés sur l'expérience des femmes.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Pourquoi existe-t-il encore une discrimination à l'égard des femmes?"

Une alternative à la masculinité hégémonique?

Les nouvelles masculinités apparaissent comme une alternative à la masculinité hégémonique. Le terme "masculinité hégémonique" fait référence aux comportements masculins dominants, qui incluent les modèles les plus traditionnels de domination par genre ; basées, par exemple, sur des mandats tels que "les hommes ne pleurent pas", "ils sont toujours courageux", "rien de féminin", "incontestablement hétérosexuel", etc.


En d'autres termes, ce sont les valeurs, les croyances, les attitudes, les mythes, les stéréotypes ou les comportements qui légitiment le pouvoir et l'autorité des hommes sur les femmes (et sur tous les autres qui ne sont pas des hommes hétérosexuels).

La masculinité hégémonique est ce qui a donné lieu à toute une forme de organisation politique et sociale basée sur l'idée de leadership masculin et la prédominance de la vision du monde sur les autres formes de vie.

Cependant, une telle hégémonie peut également être reproduite dans des modèles présentés comme alternatifs et nouveaux (et pas seulement dans la masculinité traditionnelle), raison pour laquelle le concept même de Nouvelle masculinité est constamment révisé. Ainsi, l’une des bases pour repenser la masculinité est sa capacité d'auto-réflexion et critique vers les différents modèles, valeurs, pratiques et expériences de masculinité.

En bref, ils sont connus sous le nom de New Masculinities car ils essaient de consolider leurs expériences et leurs pratiques alternatives à la masculinité hégémonique.

Action politique et thérapeutique centrée sur l'expérience masculine

Il est assez courant que les hommes se chargent d'enseigner aux femmes ce qu'il faut faire pour cesser d'être violées. Mais cela vient souvent de l'interdiction et de la commodité de l'homme lui-même (ne portez pas de tels vêtements, ne sortez pas seul, ne parlez pas de la sorte, etc.).

Cela étant dit, de nombreuses femmes ont expliqué, d'une manière ou d'une autre, que la solidarité entre les luttes féministes et contre la violence sexiste ne se fait pas ainsi. entre autres parce que les recommandations sont faites à partir d'expériences complètement indépendantes de la violence de genre , qui finissent par reproduire la même domination.

Cela a été exprimé non seulement par les femmes, mais de nombreux hommes ont réagi en créant des parcours fondés sur leur propre expérience, qui se traduisent par des actions politiques et thérapeutiques.

Repenser les modèles de genre

De manière générale, nous essayons de susciter une réflexion collective sur le genre (en particulier autour de la masculinité) en tant qu'action politique visant à lutter contre certains phénomènes liés à la violence et à l'inconfort de genre, issus de l'expérience masculine des hommes.

En d'autres termes, il s'agit de "déconstruire" la masculinité hégémonique . C’est-à-dire, sensibilisez-vous aux conditions historiques et structurelles qui ont généré les inégalités entre les sexes et la violence, et prenez en charge individuellement ce qui correspond.

Par exemple, assumer quand ils ont participé à ladite violence et rechercher collectivement des stratégies pour les éviter. Ou, mettre en commun sa propre vulnérabilité en rendant explicites les expériences et les malaises liés au genre; et à partir de là, articulez-les avec les expériences et les malaises de l'autre sexe et des sexulalides non hégémoniques.

Nouvelles masculinités ou masculinités hybrides?

Le concept de nouvelle masculinité a généré de nombreux débats. Par exemple, Jokin Azpiazu, pionnière dans la réflexion sur le genre masculin , suggère que la notion de New Masculinities est mieux comprise à travers le concept de "masculinités hybrides", initialement proposé par le sociologue C.J. Pascoe

Ce dernier terme fait référence au fait que les masculinités ne doivent pas être présentées comme nouvelles, mais que les efforts doivent viser à incorporer des éléments non hégémoniques qui génèrent de nouveaux modèles et relations.

Sinon, la même masculinité hégémonique risquerait d’être adaptée aux nouveaux besoins posés par les approches sexospécifiques, générant ainsi de nouvelles formes de domination. C’est-à-dire des pratiques apparemment anodines mais finalement reproduire les mêmes structures d'inégalité .

Dans le même sens, l'auteur se demande s'il est nécessaire de revendiquer une masculinité différente, ou s'il s'agit davantage de problématiser la masculinité dans son ensemble.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Hommes collectifs et nouvelles masculinités (2018). Nous Connaissez nos actions et notre philosophie. Récupéré le 8 mai 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //colectivohombresymasculinidades.com.
  • Sánchez, J. (2017). Masculinité et féminisme: un espace de "malaise productif". Extrait le 8 mai 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.pikaramagazine.com/2017/06/masculinidades-y-feminismo-un-espacio-de-incomodidad-productiva/.
  • Bergara, A., Rivière, J. et Bacete, R. (2008). Hommes, égalité et nouvelles masculinités. Institut basque féminin Emakunde: Vitoria.
  • Segarra, M. et Carabí (Eds). (2000). Nouvelles masculinités Icara: Barcelone.

"LA VÉRITÉ SUR LA TÉLÉ RÉALITÉ" (SES EFFETS) (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes