yes, therapy helps!
Filio-parental violence: what it is and why it happens

Filio-parental violence: what it is and why it happens

November 29, 2022

Filio-parental violence is that exercised by children towards parents . It usually happens on the part of underage males to the mother, although not necessarily. Assaults can be physical, psychological or material and occur repeatedly, with the aim of maintaining control of family dynamics. For this reason, significant cycles of violence are generated that have a negative impact both on the victims and on the family itself.

In this article we will see in more detail what filio-parental violence is, why it may occur and what are some of its consequences.

  • Related article: "Domestic violence and its effects on children"

What is filio-parental violence?

Filio-parental violence is a type of intrafamily violence that is characterized by a set of aggressive acts that are perpetrated by a minor towards his or her parent, causing the latter to feel threatened, intimidated and controlled (Paterson, Luntz, Perlesz and Cotton, 2002, cited by Gámez-Guadix and Calvete, 2012).


In the Spanish penal code, filio-parental violence is typified in article 173 (2) and is defined as "habitual abuse in the family environment", where the main characteristic is the civil or coexistence relationship between the victim and the aggressor , which does not necessarily imply the biological link between both (Molla-Esparza and Aroca-Montolío, 2018). In other words, the victim is the one who has a civil responsibility with the aggressor, even if it is not always the parent.

Main features

Filio-parental violence can occur both in families that have a blood link, as well as in foster, adoptive or reconstructed families. Likewise, the aggression may be direct or indirect, and the abuse can be verbal, psychological, material or economic, physical or sexual .


Such abuse is also characterized by the presence of intimidation, control, domination or power behavior on the part of the aggressor, which are carried out intentionally and which may cause injury or pain to the victim. On the other hand, aggressions can be exercised by one or several members of the family nucleus, and addressed to one or several members of the same.

As it is a socially unacceptable phenomenon, one of the characteristics of filio-parental violence is that usually kept hidden within the family , which aggravates the circle of violence. Therefore, it is a phenomenon that until recently had not been studied.

Especially when it comes to minor children, this phenomenon is often covered up, since responsibility for the child's behavior tends to fall completely on the parents, in many cases on the mother, who is precisely the object of aggression in the majority .


Currently, filio-parental violence has gained special interest, so there is a large amount of specialized literature on the subject.

  • Maybe you get involved: "The 6 stages of childhood (physical and psychic development)"

Because it happens?

The clinical-forensic psychologist and Defender of the Minor of the Community of Madrid, Javier Urra, is one of the most recognized specialists in the investigation and description of filio-parental violence.

It tells us that in The majority of cases are carried out by a minor male between 12 and 18 years old , and that the aggression occurs mainly towards the mother. It is usually the oldest child, although it may be minor children, which usually happens when the elderly have left home.

The same psychologist explains that filio-parental violence is related to the development of personalities and dominant behaviors of children, which in turn is a consequence of both an excessively permissive society and the previous exposure to violence.

Following the above, we will briefly look at the relationship between filio-parental violence and experiences of violence inside and outside the family, as well as some of the causes for which filio-parental violence is invented within families .

Relationship between filio-parental violence and exposure to violence

Urra (2006) does not say that some of the elements that surround filio-parental violence and that represent important risk factors are the following:

  • Violence learned vicariously , for example, of the father's treatment of the mother.
  • When it comes to children of separated parents, it may occur by the influence of father's comments on the mother , and vice versa, as well as for certain styles of coexistence with new couples.
  • In adopted children it can occur due to a history of violence or patronizing parenting styles that compensate for the lack of blood bonding.

On the other hand, Molla-Esparza and Aroca-Montolío (2018), in their review of the scientific literature on filio-parental violence, tell us that violent behavior occurs when the individual has learned to use force of any kind on another individual , being this a mechanism to achieve objectives, solve problems and solve conflicts, within a framework where there is an imbalance of real or perceived power.

The latter is added to the studies on the explanatory model of the intergenerational theory of violence, which report how the observation or experience of abuse is a risk factor that triggers filio-parental violence.

In other words, direct or indirect exposure to violence, which among other things brings with it the inability to firmly reject inappropriate behaviors, increases the likelihood that a dynamic of violence will develop from children to parents. This exposure usually occurs within the home , although it can also happen on the street or within other nearby environments.

  • Related article: "The 11 types of violence (and the different kinds of aggression)"

Intensification by bidirectional violence within the family

Following the previous line, Sancho, 2016 tells us that filio-parental violence is a phenomenon that is not only a problem of the child, but of the family as a whole. This is because, on the one hand, the dynamic violence is usually lived in a negative way by all the members of the family. On the other hand, all types of intrafamily violence has a series of elements that speak of relational dynamics and conflicts and not just individuals.

For example, it often happens that desperate attempts are made to reestablish the hierarchy, thus installing a dynamic of bidirectional violence, which, when perceived as an aggression on both sides, is justified as a form of self-defense (Molla-Esparza and Aroca- Montolío, 2018). This intensifies and lengthens the cycle of violence, however, these dynamics, which lead to the violent relationship, can be traced, identified and modified.

Emotional consequences in parents and prevention strategy

We have seen that filio-parental violence is that through which the child engages in abusive behavior against his or her parents, or against those who perform that function. This last occurs consciously or intentionally, as well as repeated over a period of time

It should be noted that the two previous elements, intentionality and repetition, are determining factors for behaviors to be defined as abuse, and are distinguished from a specific aggression that is not considered filio-parental violence (Molla-Esparza and Aroca-Montolío, 2018).

On the other hand, the immediate purpose of the exercise of violence is not so much to cause harm as to obtain control of the dynamics generated with the victim. However, harm is one of the inevitable consequences, since such dominance is pursued through psychological, emotional, physical, or economic violence.

The main consequence of this last is the prolonged experience of suffering and frustration in the parents , because of the violent situation and also because of the lack of resources to avoid or counteract it. Likewise it can imply important difficulties with the couple or with whom the care of the child is shared.

Specifically, depending on the frequency and intensity of the aggressions, filio-parental violence can cause concealment, guilt, shame and a sense of failure, to mention some of the main emotional consequences in the parents.

Finally, according to the research of Molla-Esparza and Aroca-Montolío (2018), the higher the level of impotence and confusion on the part of these, the higher the risk of perpetuating the cycle of violence, since it is generated between the need give up and on the other hand that of defending oneself; For this reason, prevention and intervention strategies must act to break the coercive dynamic of this cycle.

Bibliographic references:

  • Molla-Esparza, C. and Aroca-Montolío, C. (2018). Children who mistreat their parents: Integral definition and its Cycle of Violence. Yearbook of Legal Psychology, 28: 15-21.
  • Sancho, JL. (2016). Filioparental violence: psychosocial characteristics of adolescents and parents in severe family conflict. Doctoral Thesis, Faculty of Psychology, Complutense University of Madrid.
  • Rodríguez, N. (2017). Study of filio-parental violence: analysis of a case of the juvenile court. Final Degree Project in Psychology, Universitat Jaume I.
  • Gámez-Guadix, M. and Calvete, E. (2012). Filioparental violence and its association with exposure to marital violence and aggression from parents to children. Psicothema, 24 (2): 277-283.
  • Urra, J. (2006). The little dictator. When the parents are the victims. The Sphere of the Books: Madrid.

My son was a Columbine shooter. This is my story | Sue Klebold (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La violence parentale: qu'est-ce que c'est et pourquoi ça arrive

La violence parentale: qu'est-ce que c'est et pourquoi ça arrive

Juillet 14, 2024

La violence parentale est celle exercée par les enfants envers leurs parents . Cela se produit généralement chez les mâles mineurs jusqu'à la mère, mais pas nécessairement. Les agressions peuvent être physiques, psychologiques ou matérielles et se produire de manière répétée dans le but de maintenir le contrôle de la dynamique familiale. Pour cette raison, des cycles de violence importants sont générés, qui ont un impact négatif à la fois sur les victimes et sur la famille elle-même.

Dans cet article, nous verrons plus en détail ce qu'est la violence parentale, pourquoi elle peut se produire et quelles en sont les conséquences.

  • Article connexe: "La violence domestique et ses effets sur les enfants"

Qu'est-ce que la violence parentale?

La violence parentale est un type de violence intrafamiliale caractérisée par un ensemble d'actes agressifs perpétrés par un mineur envers son parent, ce dernier se sentant menacé, intimidé et contrôlé (Paterson, Luntz, Perlesz et Cotton, 2002, cité par Gámez-Guadix et Calvete, 2012).


Dans le code pénal espagnol, la violence filio-parentale est décrite à l'article 173 (2) et est définie comme "un abus sexuel dans l'environnement familial", dont la caractéristique principale est: la relation civile ou de coexistence entre la victime et l'agresseur , ce qui n’implique pas nécessairement le lien biologique entre les deux (Molla-Esparza et Aroca-Montolío, 2018). En d'autres termes, la victime est celle qui a une responsabilité civile avec l'agresseur, même si ce n'est pas toujours le parent.

Principales caractéristiques

La violence entre parents et parents peut se produire à la fois dans les familles liées par le sang, ainsi que dans les familles d'accueil, adoptives ou reconstituées. De même, l’agression peut être directe ou indirecte et la violence peut être verbale, psychologique, matérielle ou économique, physique ou sexuelle .


Ces abus se caractérisent également par la présence d'actes d'intimidation, de contrôle, de domination ou de pouvoir de la part de l'agresseur, commis intentionnellement et qui peuvent blesser ou blesser la victime. D'autre part, les agressions peuvent être exercées par un ou plusieurs membres du noyau familial et être adressées à un ou plusieurs membres du même.

Comme il s’agit d’un phénomène socialement inacceptable, l’une des caractéristiques de la violence filio-parentale est que généralement caché au sein de la famille , ce qui aggrave le cercle de la violence. Il s’agit donc d’un phénomène qui, jusqu’à récemment, n’avait pas été étudié.

En particulier chez les enfants mineurs, ce phénomène est souvent dissimulé, car la responsabilité du comportement de l'enfant a tendance à incomber entièrement aux parents, souvent à la mère, qui est précisément l'objet de l'agression dans la majorité .


À l’heure actuelle, la violence entre les parents et les parents suscite un intérêt particulier; il existe donc une grande quantité de littérature spécialisée sur le sujet.

  • Peut-être que vous vous impliquez: "Les 6 étapes de l'enfance (développement physique et psychique)"

Pourquoi ça se passe?

Le psychologue clinicien médico-légal et défenseur du mineur de la Communauté de Madrid, Javier Urra, est l'un des spécialistes les plus reconnus dans le domaine de la recherche et de la description de violences filio-parentales.

Il nous dit que dans La majorité des cas sont effectués par un mineur de 12 à 18 ans et que l'agression se produit principalement envers la mère. Il s’agit généralement de l’enfant le plus âgé, bien qu’il s’agisse peut-être d’enfants mineurs, ce qui arrive généralement lorsque les personnes âgées ont quitté la maison.

Le même psychologue explique que la violence entre les deux sexes est liée au développement des personnalités et aux comportements dominants des enfants, conséquence à la fois d’une société excessivement permissive et d’une exposition antérieure à la violence.

Après ce qui précède, nous examinerons brièvement la relation entre la violence entre les deux sexes et les expériences de violence au sein et en dehors de la famille, ainsi que quelques-unes des causes pour lesquelles la violence filio-parentale est inventée au sein des familles .

Relation entre violence parentale et exposition à la violence

Urra (2006) ne dit pas que certains des éléments qui entourent la violence filio-parentale et qui représentent des facteurs de risque importants sont les suivants:

  • La violence apprise par procuration , par exemple, du traitement de la mère par le père.
  • En ce qui concerne les enfants de parents séparés, cela peut se produire par l'influence des commentaires du père sur la mère et vice versa, ainsi que pour certains styles de coexistence avec de nouveaux couples.
  • Chez les enfants adoptés, cela peut être dû à des antécédents de violence ou à un style parental conduisant à compenser le manque de lien de sang.

D'autre part, Molla-Esparza et Aroca-Montolío (2018), dans leur revue de la littérature scientifique sur la violence filio-parentale, nous disent que le comportement violent se produit lorsque l'individu a appris à utiliser la force de toute sorte sur un autre individu C’est un mécanisme permettant d’atteindre des objectifs, de résoudre des problèmes et de résoudre des conflits, dans un cadre caractérisé par un déséquilibre des pouvoirs réels ou perçus.

Ce dernier est ajouté aux études sur le modèle explicatif de la théorie intergénérationnelle de la violence, qui décrivent comment l'observation ou l'expérience de la violence est un facteur de risque déclenchant la violence parentale et parentale.

En d’autres termes, l’exposition directe ou indirecte à la violence, qui entraine entre autres l’impossibilité de rejeter fermement les comportements inappropriés, augmente la probabilité qu’une dynamique de la violence se développe des enfants aux parents. Cette exposition se produit généralement à la maison , bien que cela puisse aussi arriver dans la rue ou dans d’autres environnements proches.

  • Article connexe: "Les 11 types de violence (et les différents types d'agression)"

Intensification par la violence bidirectionnelle au sein de la famille

À la suite de la ligne précédente, Sancho, 2016 nous dit que la violence entre les deux sexes est un phénomène qui ne concerne pas seulement l’enfant, mais l’ensemble de la famille. En effet, d’une part, la violence dynamique est généralement vécue de manière négative par tous les membres de la famille. Par ailleurs, tous les types de violence intrafamiliale a une série d'éléments qui parlent de dynamiques relationnelles et de conflits et pas seulement des individus.

Par exemple, il arrive souvent que des tentatives désespérées soient faites pour rétablir la hiérarchie, instaurant ainsi une dynamique de violence bidirectionnelle, qui, perçue comme une agression des deux côtés, se justifie comme une forme de légitime défense (Molla-Esparza et Aroca). Montolío, 2018). Cela intensifie et allonge le cycle de la violence, mais ces dynamiques, qui conduisent à la relation violente, peuvent être identifiées, identifiées et modifiées.

Conséquences émotionnelles chez les parents et stratégie de prévention

Nous avons vu que la violence parentale est celle par laquelle l’enfant adopte un comportement abusif à l’encontre de ses parents ou de ceux qui remplissent cette fonction. Ce dernier se produit consciemment ou intentionnellement, ainsi que répété sur une période de temps

Il convient de noter que les deux éléments précédents, intentionnalité et répétition, sont des facteurs déterminants pour définir les comportements comme un abus et se distinguent d'une agression spécifique qui n'est pas considérée comme une violence filio-parentale (Molla-Esparza et Aroca-Montolío, 2018).

D'autre part, le but immédiat de l'exercice de la violence n'est pas tant de causer du tort que de contrôler les dynamiques générées avec la victime. Cependant, le préjudice est l’une des conséquences inévitables, car une telle domination est poursuivie par le biais de violences psychologiques, émotionnelles, physiques ou économiques.

La principale conséquence de ce dernier est l'expérience prolongée de souffrance et de frustration chez les parents , à cause de la situation de violence et du manque de ressources pour l’éviter ou la combattre. De même, cela peut impliquer des difficultés importantes avec le couple ou avec qui les soins de l'enfant sont partagés.

Plus précisément, en fonction de la fréquence et de l'intensité des agressions, la violence filio-parentale peut entraîner la dissimulation, la culpabilité, la honte et un sentiment d'échec, pour ne citer que quelques-unes des principales conséquences émotionnelles chez les parents.

Enfin, selon les recherches de Molla-Esparza et Aroca-Montolío (2018), plus le niveau d'impuissance et de confusion de ceux-ci est élevé, plus le risque de perpétuer le cycle de la violence est grand, car il est généré abandonner et d'autre part celle de se défendre; Pour cette raison, les stratégies de prévention et d'intervention doivent agir pour rompre la dynamique coercitive de ce cycle.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Molla-Esparza, C. et Aroca-Montolío, C. (2018). Enfants qui maltraitent leurs parents: définition intégrale et son cycle de violence. Annuaire de psychologie légale, 28: 15-21.
  • Sancho, JL. (2016). Violence philioparentale: caractéristiques psychosociales des adolescents et des parents en conflit familial grave. Thèse de doctorat, Faculté de psychologie, Université Complutense de Madrid.
  • Rodríguez, N. (2017). Étude de la violence parentale: analyse d'un cas du tribunal pour mineurs. Projet de fin d'études en psychologie, Universitat Jaume I.
  • Gámez-Guadix, M. et Calvete, E. (2012). La violence philioparentale et son association avec l'exposition à la violence conjugale et à l'agression des parents envers les enfants. Psicothema, 24 (2): 277-283.
  • Urra, J. (2006). Le petit dictateur Quand les parents sont les victimes. La sphère des livres: Madrid.

Agir - Quelle autorité pour nos enfants ? - #SuiteParentale (Juillet 2024).


Articles Connexes