yes, therapy helps!
Cerebral amygdala: structure and functions

Cerebral amygdala: structure and functions

January 25, 2022

Surprise, fear, anguish, affection, affection, joy, excitement ... All these words denote different emotions that we all feel in everyday life .

These are reactions that we have before stimuli that can come from outside (for example see a spider, a baby or that you communicate your long-awaited ascent) and from the inside of the person (a thought or memory that makes you suffer or feel happy). These reactions, at the brain level, depend on a series of circuits that are able to organize and connect perception and emotion, being the limbic system the main system responsible for this, and within this system the amygdala being one of the main nuclei.


In the present article we will focus on this structure, the amygdala, in order to visualize what it is and some of its main functions .

What is the amygdala?

The amygdala is a subcortical structure located in the inner part of the medial temporal lobe . This element has connections with the vast majority of the brain, being a nucleus of special relevance that can affect the whole nervous system and the functionality of the organism.

It is a key element for survival, because its main function is to integrate the emotions with the response patterns corresponding to these , provoking a response at the physiological level or the preparation of a behavioral response. It is also responsible for coordinating the areas that notice the somatic expression of emotion and the cerebral cortex responsible for the conscious feeling, with which it has a role of great relevance in the evaluation of the emotional meaning of the experiences.


The amygdala is, then, the main core of emotion control and feelings in the brain, also controlling the responses of satisfaction or fear. Its connections not only produce an emotional reaction, but due to its connection with the frontal lobe it also allows the inhibition of behaviors.

Now, the amygdala is not a simple "piece" of the human brain, with a predictable and well-known functioning pattern. In fact, none of the structures of the brain is like that, but in the case of the amygdala this is even more evident, keeping in mind that It is related to many other areas of the central nervous system . It is a complex structure, being an almond-shaped structure located in the limbic system of the brain. It is configured by different parts, with what sometimes also receives the name of amygdal complex.


Parts of the amygdaloid complex

As we said the amygdala is not a uniform structure, but it is divisible into various sub-elements . Among them, the following stand out:

Corticomedial nucleus

This part of the amygdalin complex has a great involvement in the uptake of pheromones, participating to a large extent in the control of both male and female sexual behavior. It also participates in hormonal control and in the response of satiation during the ingestion.

Basolateral nuclei

Its main participation is in the control of the intake through the feeling of fullness . In the same way, its involvement in the realization and learning of learned emotional responses, such as reactions to fear of different stimuli, is paramount.

Central core

This nucleus has the greatest participation in the expression of the emotional response , affecting both at a physiological level, producing the sensations and physical reactions that provoke emotions and having a large participation in the autonomic nervous system, as behavioral by allowing the performance of behaviors that respond to the sensations that produce the perceptions.

Likewise, this nucleus also affects the genesis and maintenance of feelings, which are differentiated from emotions by being psychophysiological thought patterns and reactivity maintained in time and less specific to a specific situation.

Functions of the amygdaloid complex

As mentioned, the amygdala is a complex structure and vital for survival, participating and being linked in a large number of psychological and physiological phenomena . Let's see some of them below:

1. Integration of emotions and autonomous responses

The amygdala manages with great precision the emission or inhibition of emotional responses both consciously and unconsciously, being its most studied function and one of the most relevant. It allows to associate experiences that we experience feelings of gratification or aversion. Participates in both positive emotions and reactions of joy or happiness as in other emotions of a more adaptive nature, as we will see in the next point.

two.Fear management and fight / flight reaction

In this aspect, one of the main functions of the amygdala and the fact that it is a key piece of survival is the management of fear . At a phylogenetic level, this nucleus has allowed the survival of our species, since it is what allows us to react after perceiving a potentially threatening stimulus for physical integrity, stimulating or inhibiting the fight / flight response. In fact, lesions in the amygdala can provoke extremely aggressive reactions and the loss of fear, with all the repercussions that the absence of this feeling can imply.

3. Emotional learning

The associative and conditioned learning are also influenced to a great extent by the performance of the amygdala . This structure allows the choice of strategies to be applied in the presence of stimuli, as well as detecting situations in which said strategies are also applicable. This is due to the link between emotion and cognition, as well as the maintenance of motivation by linking one's goals to concrete feelings.

4. Memory

In addition to the learning process, the amygdala also affects the structuring of memories . This is due to the association of memories with emotional states, which allow a greater connection and fixation of the material to remember, allowing its consolidation.

In fact, even when the hippocampus fails and does not allow for the storage of certain memories, the amygdala allows a certain emotional memory of a situation to be preserved, which makes it possible, for example, to be very afraid of dogs (emotional memory). without remembering why this happened (due to the stress that was suffered in a traumatic event with a dog, that "narrative" memory of what happened has not been conserved).

5. Sexual behavior regulation

Sexual behavior is also influenced by the performance of the amygdala . In addition to allowing the association of different stimuli with pleasure, the emotional bond between individuals and their association with the maintenance of intimate relationships are due, among other structures, to the amygdaloid complex.

6. Aggressiveness

The amygdala is also linked to aggression . The studies carried out so far indicate that a malfunction of this can cause the loss of reactions of aggressiveness and self-defense, while a hyperstimulation of the tonsillar complex causes extremely aggressive and violent reactions.

Saciation response

Another aspect in which the amygdala has some influence is in the control of intake, contributing greatly to the maintenance of body homeostasis through its influence on the perception of satiation.

Bibliographic references:

  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of neuroscience. Fourth edition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid.
  • Méndez-Bértolo, C .; Moratti, S .; Toledano, R .; López-Sosa, F .; Martínez-Álvarez, R .; Mah, Y.H .; Vuilleumier, P .; Gil-Nagel, A. & Strange, B.A. (2016). "A fast pathway for fear in human amygdala", Nature Neuroscience.
  • Nieuwenhuys, Voogd & van Huijzen (2009). The Human Central Nervous System. 4th Edition. Editorial Panamericana Medical. Madrid.

2-Minute Neuroscience: Amygdala (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Amygdale cérébrale: structure et fonctions

Amygdale cérébrale: structure et fonctions

Juin 13, 2021

Surprise, peur, angoisse, affection, affection, joie, enthousiasme ... Tous ces mots dénotent différentes émotions que nous ressentons tous au quotidien .

Ce sont des réactions que nous avons avant des stimuli qui peuvent venir de l’extérieur (par exemple, voir une araignée, un bébé ou que vous communiquez votre ascension tant attendue) et de l’intérieur de la personne (une pensée ou un souvenir qui vous fait souffrir ou vous sentir heureux) Ces réactions, au niveau du cerveau, dépendent d’une série de circuits capables d’organiser et de relier la perception et l’émotion, le système limbique étant le principal système responsable et, au sein de ce système, l’amygdale étant l’un des facteurs les plus importants. noyaux principaux.


Dans le présent article nous allons nous concentrer sur cette structure, l'amygdale, afin de visualiser ce que c'est et certaines de ses fonctions principales .

Qu'est-ce que l'amygdale?

L'amygdale est une structure sous-corticale située dans la partie interne du lobe temporal médial . Cet élément a des liens avec la grande majorité du cerveau et constitue un noyau particulièrement important pouvant affecter l’ensemble du système nerveux et la fonctionnalité de l’organisme.

C’est un élément clé de la survie, car sa fonction principale est d’intégrer les émotions aux schémas de réponse correspondant à ces , provoquant une réponse au niveau physiologique ou la préparation d’une réponse comportementale. Il est également responsable de la coordination des zones qui remarquent l'expression somatique de l'émotion et du cortex cérébral responsable du sentiment conscient, avec lequel il joue un rôle d'une grande pertinence dans l'évaluation de la signification émotionnelle des expériences.


L'amygdale est, alors, le noyau principal du contrôle des émotions et des sentiments dans le cerveau, contrôlant également les réponses de satisfaction ou de peur. Ses connexions ne produisent pas seulement une réaction émotionnelle, mais grâce à sa connexion avec le lobe frontal, elles permettent également l'inhibition des comportements.

L'amygdale n'est pas une simple "pièce" du cerveau humain, avec un mode de fonctionnement prévisible et bien connu. En fait, aucune des structures du cerveau ne ressemble à cela, mais dans le cas de l’amygdale, cela est encore plus évident, en gardant à l’esprit que Il est lié à de nombreux autres domaines du système nerveux central . C'est une structure complexe, étant une structure en forme d'amande située dans le système limbique du cerveau. Il est configuré par différentes parties, avec ce qui reçoit parfois aussi le nom de complexe amygdal.


Parties du complexe amygdaloid

Comme nous l'avons dit, l'amygdale n'est pas une structure uniforme, mais elle est divisible en divers sous-éléments . Parmi eux, les suivants se démarquent:

Noyau corticomédial

Cette partie du complexe amygdaline est fortement impliquée dans l'absorption des phéromones, participant dans une large mesure au contrôle du comportement sexuel des hommes et des femmes. Il participe également au contrôle hormonal et à la réponse de satiété lors de l'ingestion.

Noyaux basolatéraux

Sa principale participation est dans le contrôle de l'absorption à travers le sentiment de plénitude . De la même manière, son implication dans la réalisation et l'apprentissage des réponses émotionnelles apprises, telles que des réactions à la peur de stimuli différents, est primordiale.

Noyau de base

Ce noyau a la plus grande participation dans l'expression de la réponse émotionnelle , affectant à la fois au niveau physiologique, produisant les sensations et les réactions physiques qui provoquent des émotions et ayant une grande participation au système nerveux autonome, ainsi que comportementales en permettant la réalisation de comportements qui répondent aux sensations qui produisent les perceptions.

De même, ce noyau affecte également la genèse et le maintien des sentiments, qui se différencient des émotions par des schémas de pensée psychophysiologiques et une réactivité maintenus dans le temps et moins spécifiques à une situation donnée.

Fonctions du complexe amygdaloid

Comme mentionné, l’amygdale est une structure complexe et vitale pour la survie, participer et être lié à un grand nombre de phénomènes psychologiques et physiologiques . Voyons quelques-unes ci-dessous:

1. Intégration des émotions et réponses autonomes

L'amygdale gère avec une grande précision l'émission ou l'inhibition des réponses émotionnelles à la fois consciemment et inconsciemment, étant sa fonction la plus étudiée et l'une des plus pertinentes. Cela permet d’associer des expériences qui donnent lieu à des sentiments de satisfaction ou d’aversion. Participe à la fois aux émotions positives et aux réactions de joie ou de bonheur, comme à d'autres émotions de nature plus adaptative, comme nous le verrons au point suivant.

2Gestion de la peur et réaction de combat / fuite

Dans cet aspect, l’une des fonctions principales de l’amygdale et le fait qu'il s'agisse d'un élément essentiel de la survie est la gestion de la peur . Au niveau phylogénétique, ce noyau a permis la survie de notre espèce, car c’est ce qui nous permet de réagir après avoir perçu un stimulus potentiellement menaçant pour l’intégrité physique, stimulant ou inhibant la réaction de lutte / fuite. En fait, les lésions de l’amygdale peuvent provoquer des réactions extrêmement agressives et une perte de peur, avec toutes les répercussions que l’absence de ce sentiment peut impliquer.

3. Apprentissage émotionnel

Les apprentissages associatifs et conditionnés sont également influencés dans une large mesure par la performance de l'amygdale . Cette structure permet d’appliquer des stratégies en présence de stimuli et de détecter des situations dans lesquelles lesdites stratégies sont également applicables. Cela est dû au lien entre émotion et cognition, ainsi qu'au maintien de la motivation en liant ses objectifs à des sentiments concrets.

4. mémoire

En plus du processus d'apprentissage, l'amygdale affecte également la structuration des mémoires . Ceci est dû à l'association des mémoires avec les états émotionnels, qui permettent une plus grande connexion et fixation du matériel à retenir, permettant sa consolidation.

En effet, même lorsque l'hippocampe échoue et ne permet pas de stocker certains souvenirs, l'amygdale permet de conserver un certain souvenir émotionnel d'une situation, ce qui permet par exemple d'avoir très peur des chiens (mémoire émotionnelle). sans se rappeler pourquoi cela s'est produit (en raison du stress subi lors d'un événement traumatisant avec un chien, ce souvenir "narratif" de ce qui s'est passé n'a pas été conservé).

5. Régulation du comportement sexuel

Le comportement sexuel est également influencé par la performance de l'amygdale . En plus de permettre l'association de différents stimuli avec le plaisir, le lien affectif entre les individus et leur association avec le maintien de relations intimes sont dus, entre autres structures, au complexe amygdaloïde.

6. Agressivité

L'amygdale est également liée à l'agression . Les études réalisées jusqu'à présent indiquent qu'un dysfonctionnement de ce type peut entraîner la perte de réactions d'agressivité et de légitime défense, tandis qu'une hyperstimulation du complexe amygdalien provoque des réactions extrêmement agressives et violentes.

Réponse de saciation

Un autre aspect dans lequel l’amygdale a une certaine influence est le contrôle de l’apport, contribuant grandement au maintien de l’homéostasie corporel par son influence sur la perception de la satiété.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Quatrième édition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid
  • Méndez-Bértolo, C .; Moratti, S.; Toledano, R .; López-Sosa, F .; Martínez-Álvarez, R; Mah, Y.H .; Vuilleumier, P .; Gil-Nagel, A. et Strange, B.A. (2016). "Un chemin rapide pour la peur dans l'amygdale humaine", Nature Neuroscience.
  • Nieuwenhuys, Voogd & van Huijzen (2009). Le système nerveux central humain. 4ème édition. Éditorial Panamericana Medical. Madrid

Neuroanatomie - Le tronc cérébral (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes