yes, therapy helps!
Cingulate rotation (brain): anatomy and functions

Cingulate rotation (brain): anatomy and functions

January 25, 2023

The cingulate gyrus, also known as cingular gyrus, cingulate gyrus , cingulum or gyrus cinguli it is a very important part of the brain, since it plays an essential connecting role between the limbic system and the neocortex. The cingulate gyrus forms an arcuate convolution, close to the surface of the corpus callosum.

In simplistic terms, the cingulate turn is like a "passing" structure, like a bridge, that differentiates us to a large extent from animals that have evolved differently from ours.

It connects the structures that equate us with the rest of animals (the limbic system: remember the importance of the hippocampus and the amygdala) and those that give us the ability to plan, reason, perform conceptual abstractions: the higher cognitive functions located in the neocortex.


Functions of the cingulate gyrus

The anterior cingulate region has important connections with the amygdala, hippocampus, septum, anterior hypothalamus, caudate and putamen, dorso-medial nucleus of the thalamus, inferior parietal lobe, lateral convexity and medial frontal lobes.

  • It performs a connecting role between the volitional aspects, cognitive, emotional and mnesic motors.
  • It deals with modulating and processing the expression of subtle emotional nuances
  • It intervenes in the modulation of the voice (sadness, happiness).
  • It is responsible for the learning of emotional vocalization, which facilitates the formation of long-term attachments, especially the attachment between mother and child.
  • Its stimulation produces feelings of anxiety, pleasure and fear.
  • It is responsible for initiating the behavior oriented to significant motivational goals for the subject.
  • The subcallose region is responsible for the regulation of autonomic functions such as respiration and heart rate.
  • Participates in the movements of hands and other movements in difficult tasks, or that imply recent memory, and in the spontaneous beginning of the action.
  • It is activated in situations that demand executive control, divided attention, resolution of conflicts, detection of errors, supervision of responses and initiation and maintenance of appropriate responses.
  • It plays a basic role in the selective attention involved in the correct resolution of the Stroop test and in other attentional tasks guided by motivation. The function would be to monitor the conflict between stimulus and response to select the appropriate behavior.
  • It plays an important role related to the motivation in the functioning of the pre-frontal cortex for the performance of voluntary actions.

The Papez circuit

Papez (1929) affirmed that the communication between the hippocampus and the neocortex is carried out reciprocally . They are constantly connected by means of the cingulate gyrus, and would be carried out in the following way: the hippocampal formation processes the information that comes from the cingulate gyrus, and carries it to the mammillary bodies of the hypothalamus (through the fornix). At the same time, the hypothalamus sends information to the cingulate gyrus via the mamillary bodies-anterior thalamic nucleus and from here to the frontal cortex.


The processing of the conflict

Posner and other authors (2007) have ensured that the anterior cingulate gyrus is part of an executive attentional network, which is responsible for regulating the processing of information from other sensory and emotional networks. This is important in order to perform a task, especially those that involve effort or those that are new (not routine). Some authors, such as Posner and Botvinick, propose the conflict monitoring hypothesis, which defends that when there is a conflict detection in a task (as in the Stroop test), the anterior cingulate turn triggers a set of strategic adjustments in cognitive control and in planning the response. Its objective is to reduce the conflict in the task and, on the next occasion, to succeed. It's like a mechanized controlled evaluation of the results. If these are not satisfactory, information is sent to other structures of the planning system (frontoparietal system and cerebellum) that are responsible for establishing strategies for action and learning from error.


Emotional control mechanism

According to Kandel (2000), the emotional state of humans is composed of physical sensations and specific feelings, and are regulated by different anatomical structures. Concrete feelings are regulated by the cingulate cortex and the orbitofrontal cortex, and the emotional states (peripheral, autonomic, endocrine, and skeletal-motor responses) involve subcortical structures such as the amygdala, hypothalamus, and brainstem.For example, when we watch a horror movie and feel fear, at the same time we experience an increase in heart rate, the mouth dries up, the muscles tense, and so on. The rostral anterior cingulate cortex can help inhibit the activity of the amygdala, resolving emotional conflicts. This phenomenon is called "emotional top-down" . In patients with depression there is a hyperactivation of the anterior cingulate cortex in the processing of negative self-referential words. More specifically, there is a positive correlation between the amygdala, the medial prefrontal cortex and the rostral cingulate cortex between the self-referential negative emotional information processing. People with Posttraumatic Stress Disorder show hypoactivity of the rostral anterior cingulate cortex when they try to evoke the trauma and during its reexperimentation. In addition, the severity of PTSD symptoms correlates with the hypoactivity of the rostral anterior cingulate cortex. In people with anxiety, there is no suppression of activity of the amygdala, which correlates negatively with the activity of the rostral anterior cingulate cortex. Changes in such activity will depend on the perceived threat, the degree of defenselessness that the person feels and the anticipation of adverse stimuli. .

What happens if the cingulate turn is injured?

His injury produces several disorders and syndromes, such as mutism, imitation behaviors (echopraxia) and compulsive use of objects.

Lesions in the anterior and medial cingulate regions generate disorders of exploratory, attentional or action motivation. Patients with lesions show hypokinesia, apathy, abulia without depression, lack of spontaneity, akinetic mutism and flattened emotional response.

The bilateral cingulate lesions generate incontinence of sphincters, tendency to distractibility , docility and fabulation.

The most common alteration when the cingulate gyrus is injured is the frontal medial syndrome or the anterior cingulate syndrome, characterized by lack of initiative, akinesia or hypokinesia, apathy and mutism. There is a reduction in goal-oriented activities, patients show no interest or concern for anything (neither for their family, nor for themselves or the future).

It would also have to do with the syndrome of dependence on the environment, which entails the loss of personal autonomy (involves a tendency to distraction, hyperreactivity, decreased motivation and apathy).


Brain Parts Song by Aaron Wolf (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Rotation cingulaire (cerveau): anatomie et fonctions

Rotation cingulaire (cerveau): anatomie et fonctions

Novembre 14, 2022

Le gyrus cingulaire, également appelé gyrus cingulaire, gyrus cingulaire , cingulum o Gyrus Cinguli c'est une partie très importante du cerveau, car il joue un rôle de liaison essentiel entre le système limbique et le néocortex. Le gyrus cingulaire forme une convolution arquée, proche de la surface du corps calleux.

En termes simplistes, le virage cingulé est comme une structure "de passage", comme un pont, qui nous différencie dans une large mesure des animaux qui ont évolué différemment des nôtres.

Il relie les structures qui nous assimilent au reste des animaux (le système limbique: rappelez-vous l'importance de l'hippocampe et de l'amygdale) et celles qui nous permettent de planifier, de raisonner et de réaliser des abstractions conceptuelles: les fonctions cognitives supérieures situées dans le néocortex.


Fonctions du gyrus cingulé

La région cingulaire antérieure a des liens importants avec l'amygdale, l'hippocampe, le septum, l'hypothalamus antérieur, le caudé et le putamen, le noyau dorso-médial du thalamus, le lobe pariétal inférieur, la convexité latérale et les lobes frontaux médiaux.

  • Il joue un rôle de liaison entre les aspects volitifs, les moteurs cognitifs, émotionnels et mnésiques.
  • Il traite de la modulation et du traitement de l’expression de nuances émotionnelles subtiles.
  • Il intervient dans la modulation de la voix (tristesse, bonheur).
  • Il est responsable de l'apprentissage de la vocalisation émotionnelle, ce qui facilite la formation d'attachements à long terme, en particulier l'attachement entre la mère et l'enfant.
  • Sa stimulation produit des sentiments d'anxiété, de plaisir et de peur.
  • Il est responsable de l’initiation du comportement orienté vers des objectifs de motivation significatifs pour le sujet.
  • La région sous-calleuse est responsable de la régulation des fonctions autonomes telles que la respiration et la fréquence cardiaque.
  • Participe aux mouvements des mains et autres mouvements dans des tâches difficiles, ou qui impliquent un souvenir récent, et dans le début spontané de l'action.
  • Il est activé dans les situations nécessitant un contrôle exécutif, une attention partagée, la résolution des conflits, la détection des erreurs, la supervision des réponses et le déclenchement et la maintenance des réponses appropriées.
  • Il joue un rôle fondamental dans l’attention sélective impliquée dans la résolution correcte du test de Stroop et dans d’autres tâches attentionnelles guidées par la motivation. La fonction serait de surveiller le conflit entre le stimulus et la réponse pour sélectionner le comportement approprié.
  • Il joue un rôle important lié à la motivation dans le fonctionnement du cortex pré-frontal pour la réalisation d'actions volontaires.

Le circuit Papez

Papez (1929) affirmait que la communication entre l'hippocampe et le néocortex se faisait de manière réciproque. . Elles sont constamment connectées au moyen du gyrus cingulaire et se déroulent de la manière suivante: la formation de l'hippocampe traite les informations provenant du gyrus cingulaire et les transmet aux corps mammillaires de l'hypothalamus (par le biais du fornix). En même temps, l'hypothalamus envoie des informations au gyrus cingulaire par le tronc mamillaire - noyau thalamique antérieur et d'ici au cortex frontal.


Le traitement du conflit

Posner et d'autres auteurs (2007) ont veillé à ce que le gyrus cingulaire antérieur fasse partie d'un réseau attentionnel exécutif chargé de réguler le traitement des informations provenant d'autres réseaux sensoriels et émotionnels. Ceci est important pour effectuer une tâche, en particulier celles qui impliquent un effort ou celles qui sont nouvelles (pas de routine). Certains auteurs, tels que Posner et Botvinick, proposent l’hypothèse de suivi des conflits, qui défend que lorsqu’il existe une détection de conflit dans une tâche (comme dans le test de Stroop), le virage antérieur cingulaire déclenche un ensemble d’ajustements stratégiques du contrôle cognitif et dans la planification de la réponse. Son objectif est de réduire le conflit dans la tâche et, à la prochaine occasion, de réussir. C'est comme une évaluation mécanisée et contrôlée des résultats. Si ceux-ci ne sont pas satisfaisants, les informations sont envoyées aux autres structures du système de planification (système frontopariétal et cervelet) qui sont chargées d'établir des stratégies d'action et de tirer des leçons des erreurs.


Mécanisme de contrôle émotionnel

Selon Kandel (2000), l'état émotionnel de l'homme est composé de sensations physiques et de sentiments spécifiques et est régulé par différentes structures anatomiques. Les sentiments concrets sont régulés par le cortex cingulum et le cortex orbitofrontal, et les états émotionnels (réponses périphérique, autonome, endocrinienne et squelettique-motrice) impliquent des structures sous-corticales telles que l'amygdale, l'hypothalamus et le tronc cérébral.Par exemple, lorsque nous regardons un film d'horreur et ressentons de la peur, nous constatons simultanément une augmentation du rythme cardiaque, une bouche sèche, des muscles tendus, etc. Le cortex cingulaire antérieur rostral peut aider à inhiber l'activité de l'amygdale, en résolvant les conflits émotionnels. Ce phénomène s'appelle "le haut en bas émotionnel" . Chez les patients souffrant de dépression, il existe une hyperactivation du cortex cingulaire antérieur lors du traitement de mots autoréférentiels négatifs. Plus spécifiquement, il existe une corrélation positive entre l'amygdale, le cortex préfrontal interne et le cortex cingulaire rostral entre le traitement de l'information émotionnelle négative auto-référentielle. Les personnes atteintes du syndrome de stress post-traumatique présentent une hypoactivité du cortex cingulaire antérieur rostral lorsqu’elles tentent d’évoquer le traumatisme et lors de sa nouvelle expérimentation. De plus, la sévérité des symptômes de stress post-traumatique est en corrélation avec l'hypoactivité du cortex cingulaire antérieur rostral. Chez les personnes souffrant d’anxiété, il n’ya pas de suppression de l’activité de l’amygdale, ce qui a une corrélation négative avec l’activité du cortex cingulaire antérieur rostral. Les changements dans cette activité dépendront de la menace perçue, du degré de sentiment de défense que ressent la personne et de l’anticipation des stimuli indésirables. .

Que se passe-t-il si le tour de cingule est blessé?

Sa blessure engendre plusieurs troubles et syndromes, tels que le mutisme, les comportements d'imitation (echopraxia) et l'utilisation compulsive d'objets.

Les lésions dans les régions cingulaires antérieures et médiales génèrent des troubles de motivation exploratoire, attentionnelle ou d'action. Les patients présentant des lésions présentent une hypokinésie, une apathie, une absence sans dépression, un manque de spontanéité, un mutisme akinétique et une réponse émotionnelle aplatie.

Les lésions cingulaires bilatérales génèrent une incontinence des sphincters, une tendance à la distractibilité , docilité et fabulation.

La modification la plus courante lorsque le gyrus cingulaire est blessé est le syndrome médial frontal ou le syndrome cingulaire antérieur, caractérisé par un manque d'initiative, une akinésie ou une hypokinésie, une apathie et un mutisme. Il y a une réduction des activités axées sur les objectifs, les patients ne manifestent aucun intérêt ni aucune préoccupation pour rien (ni pour leur famille, ni pour eux-mêmes ni pour l'avenir).

Il s’agirait également du syndrome de dépendance à l’environnement, qui entraîne une perte d’autonomie personnelle (tendance à la distraction, à l’hyperréactivité, à une diminution de la motivation et à l’apathie).


The pattern behind self-deception | Michael Shermer (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes