yes, therapy helps!
Why is it beneficial to express emotions?

Why is it beneficial to express emotions?

May 28, 2024

In the last two decades, the rise in the study of the nature of emotions and the relevance of their proper management for the psychological well-being of the human being has been justified by innumerable investigations, initiated by authors such as Peter Salovey and John Mayer or Daniel Goleman Thus, currently the construct of emotional intelligence is approached and included by most of the branches of psychology (clinical, educational, sports, organizational, etc.) as one of the basic components to reach a higher level more easily of personal efficacy.

Let's expose, then, what is the relationship between the two phenomena: Why is it important to know how to express and manage emotions?


  • Related article: "Differences between emotions and feelings"

What are the emotions for?

In general, emotions present three fundamental functions that allow humans to adapt more competently to the environment in which they are interacting. Thus, they present first a communicative function, from which it is possible to let others know how you feel yourself and, from that, to be able to discern what psychological needs that individual may present.

Secondly, emotions regulate one's own behavior and that of others, as it exists a very close link between the individual emotional state and the type of behavioral response issued.


Finally, emotions strongly affect the process of social interaction, allowing you to perceive more effectively the particularities of the interpersonal environment where the subject is developing, allowing him to reach a higher level of intellectual and emotional psychological growth.

Functions of basic emotions

Paul Ekman established six so-called basic emotions, since in his investigations made from the non-verbal language analysis (facial gestures) of individuals from different cultures showed how expressions of joy, sadness, anger, fear, disgust and surprise were common and, therefore, unconscious, innate and universal. All of them present a considerable utility based on the three general functions mentioned above but what type of message or information does each of them transmit?


1. Joy

Joy becomes a facilitator of interpersonal interaction since the social nature of the human being, according to the preservation of one's own survival, tends to approach what produces a sense of well-being (social relations) and to flee from the stimuli that cause the opposite effect.

In addition, joy is an enhancer in the achievement of deeper objectives and vital projects, since It serves as motivational activator and promotes the individual to take action .

2. The sadness

It is the emotion that is experienced before the loss of a valuable and significant object for the individual. This kind of event causes feelings of grief, failure, remorse, etc. that must be processed and assimilated gradually. Thus, sadness is useful for the activation of processes such as introspection, awareness or expressions of support for the other. It could be understood as a sign of "energy saving" from which an adequate elaboration of the duel that has generated the object of such loss is possible.

3. The rage

It is about the reaction produced by situations in which the individual perceives obstacles with respect to a specific established goal . Thus, the person feels that he must preserve integrity and defend himself, another individual / s or some other specific phenomenon. In this sense, the emotion of anger indicates that there is a potential danger that must be faced and overcome.

4. Fear

It is the warning issued by our mind before the perception of a potential danger which can compromise one's physical or psychological survival. Such a threat can be real (going full speed down a dimly lit road) or imagined (fear of being fired from work).

This type of notice allows the person to prepare a specific response . Unlike the previous one, fear has a connotation of avoiding suffering the effects of the threat instead of orienting oneself to confronting it openly.

5. The disgust

This is the emotion that is more linked to more organic aspects since the message that is intended to send is to protect the subject before the intake of food or harmful substances or, at least unpleasant, for it. So, is related more to a biological level than to the psychological .

6. The surprise

It implies the experience of an unexpected circumstance for which the person needs to gather his own resources and prepare himself for the action. It is a neutral emotion since its momentary nature has no pleasant or unpleasant meaning in itself.

The benefits of expressing emotions

As has been observed, the experience of each and every one of the emotions described above has an adaptive function for the human being. In this is the inherent characteristic of communicating with the environment, so one of the first reasons that underlies the need to master the competence of emotional management lies in the fact of not losing this communicative and adaptive ability.

It can be concluded, therefore, that the problematic element does not reside in the manifestation and experience of the emotion itself, but rather that the phenomenon causing the emotional distress in which the person is immersed is the degree of intensity of that emotion and the type of management that is carried out on it.

When an emotion prevents the individual from remaining conscious in the present moment and in the reality that surrounds him at that precise moment, it is usually when greater emotional affectations are derived. That is, when emotion "kidnaps" the mind and transports it out of the present, the thread of the rational, the logical or the authentic is often lost.

According to the Salovey and Mayer Model (1997) on emotional intelligence, emotions are understood as skills that can be learned. These skills consist of emotional perception, emotional understanding, facilitation of thoughts and regulation of emotions . It could be said that the first of these abilities greatly favors the development of the others, since a previous objective to consolidate becomes the competence in knowing how to identify and express one's own and others' emotions.

From this milestone, the processes of analyzing and giving meaning to emotions (comprehension ability), the integration between cognitions and emotions which guides the subject to attend to the most relevant contextual information for decision making (facilitation of thoughts) and the promotion of intellectual-emotional knowledge or the scope of adaptive equilibrium with respect to pleasant / unpleasant emotions (emotional regulation) become more easily affordable

Damages of the resistance to express emotions

The absence of competition in the four indicated skills can lead the individual to adopt emotionally dysfunctional functioning dynamics, that is, based on the aforementioned emotional "kidnapping". Said repertoire is characterized by the following manifestations, according to three levels of action:

1. At the cognitive level

Inability to describe and observe the present experience (self and others) in the absence of unfair or excessive judgments and criticisms about externalized emotion; incompetence in the understanding of the cause that motivates that emotion and the type of information that can be extracted as personal learning.

This point is related to the use of a type of irrational or distorted cognitive reasoning with respect to the expressed emotion.

  • Related article: "Cognitive processes: what exactly are they and why do they matter in Psychology?"

2. Emotionally

Difficulty in finding the balance between resistance to emotion and emotional overreaction in the face of potentially destabilizing situations; inefficiency for transform the meaning given to unpleasant emotions (initially negative) in a more accepting perspective, promoting a greater tolerance to discomfort.

Both the attitude of suppressing emotions (especially the unpleasant ones) and emitting them in an uncontrolled and excessive way are equally harmful to the individual.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Emotional psychology: main theories of emotion"

3. At the behavioral level

Impossibility to self-control the issuance of an impulsive or hasty response that difficult the proper management of the concrete situation ; deficiency in the ability to differentiate what kind of emotional consequences the person will experience in the short and long term, which usually tend to be mitigated or modified over time.

Behavior guided behaviorally by an incorrectly managed emotion can cause the aggravation of the experience increasing the discomfort generated initially.

In conclusion

It has been proven in the text the essential character that presents an adequate level of emotional competence to promote the psychological well-being of the human being.

One of the prerequisites to consolidate this ability lies in the ability to know how to identify and express one's emotions, understanding them as "warnings" that alert the individual to an experience or event that must be attended psychologically as a priority. On the contrary, repression or resistance to emotions can lead to significant damage at the psychic level .


How to Process Your Emotions (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pourquoi est-il bénéfique d'exprimer des émotions?

Pourquoi est-il bénéfique d'exprimer des émotions?

Mai 11, 2021

Au cours des deux dernières décennies, la montée en puissance de l'étude de la nature des émotions et de la pertinence de leur gestion pour le bien-être psychologique de l'être humain a été justifiée par d'innombrables enquêtes, initiées par des auteurs tels que Peter Salovey et John Mayer ou Daniel Goleman Ainsi, actuellement, le concept d'intelligence émotionnelle est abordé et inclus par la plupart des branches de la psychologie (clinique, pédagogique, sportive, organisationnelle, etc.) comme l'un des composants de base permettant d'atteindre plus facilement un niveau supérieur. d'efficacité personnelle.

Exposons donc quelle est la relation entre les deux phénomènes: Pourquoi est-il important de savoir comment exprimer et gérer ses émotions?


  • Article connexe: "Différences entre émotions et sentiments"

A quoi servent les émotions?

En général, les émotions présentent trois fonctions fondamentales qui permettent aux humains de s’adapter plus efficacement à l’environnement dans lequel ils interagissent. Ainsi, ils présentent d’abord une fonction de communication, à partir de laquelle il est possible de faire savoir aux autres ce que vous ressentez et de pouvoir ainsi discerner les besoins psychologiques que cet individu peut présenter.

Deuxièmement, les émotions règlent son comportement et celui des autres, tel qu'il existe un lien très étroit entre l'état émotionnel individuel et le type de réponse comportementale délivré.


Enfin, les émotions affectent fortement le processus d’interaction sociale, vous permettant de percevoir plus efficacement les particularités de l’environnement interpersonnel dans lequel le sujet se développe, lui permettant ainsi d’atteindre un niveau supérieur de croissance psychologique intellectuelle et émotionnelle.

Fonctions des émotions de base

Paul Ekman a établi six soi-disant émotions de base, car, dans ses enquêtes fondées sur l'analyse du langage non verbal (gestes du visage) d'individus de différentes cultures, a montré comment les expressions de joie, de tristesse, de colère, de peur, de dégoût et de surprise étaient courantes et donc inconscient, inné et universel. Tous présentent une utilité considérable basée sur les trois fonctions générales mentionnées ci-dessus, mais quel type de message ou d'information transmet-il?


1. joie

La joie devient un facilitateur des interactions interpersonnelles depuis la nature sociale de l'être humain, en fonction de la préservation de sa propre survie, a tendance à aborder ce qui produit un sentiment de bien-être (relations sociales) et fuir les stimuli qui provoquent l’effet opposé.

En outre, la joie favorise la réalisation d'objectifs plus profonds et de projets essentiels, car Il sert d'activateur de motivation et encourage l'individu à agir .

2. la tristesse

C'est l'émotion ressentie avant la perte d'un objet précieux et important pour l'individu. Ce genre d’événement provoque des sentiments de chagrin, d’échec, de remords, etc. cela doit être traité et assimilé progressivement. Ainsi, la tristesse est utile pour l'activation de processus tels que l'introspection, la prise de conscience ou l'expression d'un soutien à l'autre. Cela pourrait être compris comme un signe "d'économie d'énergie" à partir duquel une élaboration adéquate du duel ayant généré l'objet d'une telle perte est possible.

3. la rage

Il s’agit de la réaction produite par des situations dans lesquelles l'individu perçoit des obstacles par rapport à un objectif spécifique établi . Ainsi, la personne estime devoir préserver l’intégrité et se défendre elle-même, un autre individu ou un autre phénomène spécifique. En ce sens, l'émotion de la colère indique qu'il existe un danger potentiel qui doit être affronté et surmonté.

4. la peur

C'est l'avertissement lancé par notre esprit avant la perception d'un danger potentiel ce qui peut compromettre sa survie physique ou psychologique. Une telle menace peut être réelle (aller à toute vitesse sur une route peu éclairée) ou imaginée (peur d'être licenciée du travail).

Ce type d'avis permet à la personne de préparer une réponse spécifique . Contrairement à la précédente, la peur a la connotation d'éviter de subir les effets de la menace au lieu de s'orienter de manière ouverte.

5. Le dégoût

C'est cette émotion qui est davantage liée à des aspects plus organiques puisque le message que vous souhaitez envoyer est de protéger le sujet avant l'ingestion de nourriture ou de substances nocives ou, au moins, désagréable. Pourtant, est liée plus à un niveau biologique que psychologique .

6. La surprise

Cela implique l’expérience d’une situation inattendue pour laquelle la personne doit rassembler ses propres ressources et se préparer à l’action. C'est une émotion neutre depuis sa nature momentanée n'a pas de sens agréable ou désagréable en soi.

Les avantages d'exprimer ses émotions

Comme il a été observé, l'expérience de chacune des émotions décrites ci-dessus a une fonction adaptative pour l'être humain. C’est là la caractéristique inhérente à la communication avec l’environnement. L’une des premières raisons qui sous-tendent la nécessité de maîtriser la compétence de gestion des émotions réside dans le fait de ne pas perdre cette capacité de communication et d’adaptation.

On peut donc en conclure que l’élément problématique ne réside pas dans la manifestation et l’expérience de l’émotion elle-même, mais plutôt que le phénomène provoquant la détresse émotionnelle dans laquelle la personne est immergée est le degré d’intensité de cette émotion et le type de gestion qui est effectué sur elle.

Lorsqu'une émotion empêche l'individu de rester conscient dans le moment présent et dans la réalité qui l'entoure à ce moment précis, c'est généralement lorsque de plus grandes affectations émotionnelles sont dérivées. C'est-à-dire que lorsque l'émotion "enlève" l'esprit et le transporte hors du présent, le fil du rationnel, du logique ou de l'authentique est souvent perdu.

Selon le modèle de Salovey et Mayer (1997) sur l'intelligence émotionnelle, les émotions sont comprises comme des compétences pouvant être apprises. Ces compétences consistent en perception émotionnelle, compréhension émotionnelle, facilitation des pensées et régulation des émotions . On pourrait dire que la première de ces capacités favorise grandement le développement des autres, puisqu'un objectif précédent de consolidation devient la compétence pour savoir identifier et exprimer ses propres émotions et celles des autres.

À partir de ce jalon, les processus d’analyse et de signification des émotions (capacité de compréhension), l'intégration entre cognitions et émotions qui guide le sujet à consulter les informations contextuelles les plus pertinentes pour la prise de décision (facilitation de la pensée) et la promotion des connaissances intellectuelles-émotionnelles ou la portée de l'équilibre adaptatif en ce qui concerne les émotions agréables / désagréables (régulation émotionnelle) abordable

Dommages de la résistance pour exprimer des émotions

L'absence de compétition dans les quatre compétences indiquées peut amener l'individu à adopter une dynamique de fonctionnement émotionnellement dysfonctionnelle, c'est-à-dire basée sur le "kidnapping" émotionnel susmentionné. Ce répertoire se caractérise par les manifestations suivantes selon trois niveaux d’action:

1. Au niveau cognitif

Incapacité à décrire et à observer l'expérience présente (soi et les autres) en l'absence de jugements injustes ou excessifs et de critiques sur les émotions externalisées; incompétence dans la compréhension de la cause qui motive cette émotion et le type d'informations pouvant être extraites en tant qu'apprentissage personnel.

Ce point est lié à l'utilisation d'un type de raisonnement cognitif irrationnel ou déformé à l'égard de l'émotion exprimée.

  • Article connexe: "Les processus cognitifs: que sont-ils exactement et pourquoi sont-ils importants en psychologie?"

2. émotionnellement

Difficulté à trouver l'équilibre entre résistance à l'émotion et réaction excessive des émotions face à des situations potentiellement déstabilisantes; inefficacité pour transformer le sens donné aux émotions désagréables (initialement négatif) dans une perspective plus tolérante, favorisant une plus grande tolérance au malaise.

L’attitude de supprimer les émotions (en particulier les désagréables) et de les émettre de manière incontrôlée et excessive est tout aussi préjudiciable pour l’individu.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Psychologie émotionnelle: principales théories de l'émotion"

3. Au niveau comportemental

Impossibilité de maîtriser soi-même l'émission d'une réponse impulsive ou précipitée qui difficile la bonne gestion de la situation concrète ; déficience dans la capacité de différencier le type de conséquences émotionnelles que la personne va subir à court et à long terme, qui ont généralement tendance à être atténuées ou modifiées au fil du temps.

Un comportement guidé comportementalement par une émotion mal gérée peut aggraver l'expérience et aggraver l'inconfort généré initialement.

En guise de conclusion

Il a été prouvé dans le texte le caractère essentiel qui présente un niveau adéquat de compétence émotionnelle pour promouvoir le bien-être psychologique de l'être humain.

L'une des conditions préalables à la consolidation de cette capacité réside dans la capacité de savoir identifier et exprimer ses émotions, en les comprenant comme des "avertissements" qui alertent l'individu sur une expérience ou un événement qui doit être traité psychologiquement en priorité. Au contraire, répression ou résistance aux émotions peut conduire à des dommages importants au niveau psychique .


Voici 7 comportements toxiques dont les parents ne sont pas conscients (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes