yes, therapy helps!
How to have lucid dreams? Science explains it to us

How to have lucid dreams? Science explains it to us

May 29, 2024

Dreams and everything related to them is, for a long time, a world that awakens a deep interest to both the scientific community and the general public . The fact that our nervous system is capable of creating fictional environments and fictional narratives without hardly receiving stimuli from the outside world has made us look for meaning in dreams, try to relate them to our life goals and even ask ourselves if these hallucinations will have something to do with alternative realities.

However, there is another factor that makes the potential interest we have in the study of dreams look squared. It is about the existence of lucid dreams.


What are lucid dreams?

The lucid dreaming are those dreams in which we are aware that what we are experiencing is not real . The person who experiences lucid dreams, in short, is immersed in dream situations in which hallucinations intermingle with the consciousness of being dreaming.

In addition, this fact usually also entails the appearance of the possibility of modifying the dream that is being lived , something that would transform the dream scene into a kind of magical playground in which desires are transformed into reality. This, of course, makes many people want to experience lucid dreams, although getting this is not easy.


The community of the onironáutica

The lucid dreams they are statistically uncommon , and most people do not even experience them on a monthly basis, although there are a few sleepers who live these episodes relatively frequently, several times a week.

However, there are many people who have come to desire so much to live lucid dreams with regularity that they have been forming all kinds of virtual communities, forums and books in which the onironauts, that's the name of the people capable of experiencing these dreams, describe tricks and recommendations for training in certain techniques that theoretically serve to increase the probability of being aware of what happens in the dream world.

So, to have lucid dreams, just follow these tips? Not so fast. The problem of the recommendations that are usually indicated in books and onironaut forums is that the vast majority of them focus on the management of subjective states of consciousness, something difficult to achieve when you are dreaming or when you are falling in the kingdom of Morpheus. .


Unfortunately, the same doorway to the world of dreams is the place where the techniques learned during the day and the plans to be followed during the following hours are left to rest.

Speaking the language of the brain

That it is difficult to force the appearance of lucid dreams does not mean that it is impossible. Recently, Some research in neuroscience has shown that there is an option to generate these types of dreams no longer through internal dialogue and vital philosophy, but directly altering the way the brain works.

For example, it has been shown that inducing the appearance of brain waves of gamma frequency (specifically between 25 and 40 Hz) in some frontal regions of the brain during the REM phase significantly increases the possibility of having a lucid dream.

Of course, not everyone has the possibility of using laboratory machinery to modify the wave frequencies of our brain while we sleep on the days of each day, but this study has served as a precedent to reinforce the hypothesis that It can materially alter the functioning of the nervous system to have this kind of dreams . From there, we have been investigating what material changes are capable of increasing these probabilities ... and today we could have the answer.

Inducing lucid dreams with the alarm clock

An investigation last year seems to indicate that a good way to favor the emergence of lucid dreams could be to briefly interrupt sleep to go back to sleep (or almost-sleep) immediately after . For this, a trick would be to use the option to defer the alarm of the alarm so that it sounds again a few minutes later.

The research that leads us to this possible solution, however, does not offer a definitive answer, since it is not an experiment but the crossing of data from surveys administered to several people, some of whom experience lucid dreams with regularity.This means that people most likely to be aware of what happens during their dream experiences tend to use the button to delay the alarm more, but for the moment we do not know if it is this simple trick that makes these dreams appear . As always, correlation does not imply causality.

However, the results are promising and leave the door open for future testing in an experimental laboratory. In a few months we could have the definitive answer that all the onironauts are looking for, but, for the moment, the way to test oneself with the alarm is open to anyone who wants to try it.

Bibliographic references:

  • Smith, B. and Blagrove, M. (2015). Lucid dreaming frequency and alarm clock snooze button use. Dreaming, 25 (4), pp. 291-299.
  • Voss, U., Holzmann, R., Hobson, A., Paulus, W., Koppehele-Gossel, J., Klimke, A. and Nitsche M. A. (2014). Induction of self-awareness in dreams through frontal low current stimulation of gamma activity. Nature neuroscience, 17 (6), pp. 810-812.

How Lucid Dreaming Works (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment faire des rêves lucides? La science nous l'explique

Comment faire des rêves lucides? La science nous l'explique

Août 21, 2019

Les rêves et tout ce qui les concerne est, pendant longtemps, un monde qui suscite un profond intérêt pour la communauté scientifique et le grand public . Le fait que notre système nerveux soit capable de créer des environnements fictifs et des récits fictifs sans recevoir à peine de stimuli du monde extérieur nous a amenés à chercher du sens dans les rêves, à les relier à nos objectifs de vie et même à nous demander si ces hallucinations auraient quelque chose à faire. avec des réalités alternatives.

Cependant, il existe un autre facteur qui fait que l'intérêt potentiel que nous avons pour l'étude des rêves a l'air carré. Il s'agit de l'existence de rêves lucides.


Quels sont les rêves lucides?

Le rêves lucides ils sont ces rêves dans lesquels nous sommes conscients que ce que nous vivons n'est pas réel . En bref, la personne qui fait des rêves lucides est plongée dans des situations de rêve dans lesquelles des hallucinations se mêlent à la conscience de rêver.

De plus, ce fait entraîne généralement également l’apparition de la possibilité de modifier le rêve en cours de réalisation , quelque chose qui transformerait la scène de rêve en une sorte de terrain de jeu magique dans lequel les désirs se transforment en réalité. Bien entendu, cela donne envie à beaucoup de gens de faire des rêves lucides, bien que ce ne soit pas facile.


La communauté des onironáutica

Les rêves lucides ils sont statistiquement rares et la plupart des gens ne les éprouvent même pas tous les mois, bien que quelques dormeurs vivent ces épisodes assez fréquemment, plusieurs fois par semaine.

Cependant, nombreux sont ceux qui désirent tellement vivre des rêves lucides avec régularité qu'ils ont formé toutes sortes de communautés virtuelles, de forums et de livres dans lesquels onironautes, c’est le nom des personnes capables de vivre ces rêves, décrire des astuces et des recommandations pour la formation à certaines techniques cela sert théoriquement à augmenter la probabilité d'être conscient de ce qui se passe dans le monde onirique.

Alors, pour avoir des rêves lucides, il suffit de suivre ces conseils? Pas si vite. Le problème des recommandations qui sont généralement indiquées dans les livres et les forums onironaut est que la grande majorité d'entre elles se concentre sur la gestion des états de conscience subjectifs, chose difficile à réaliser lorsque vous rêvez ou que vous tombez dans le royaume de Morphée. .


Malheureusement, la même porte du monde des rêves est le lieu où les techniques apprises pendant la journée et les plans à suivre pendant les heures qui suivent sont laissés au repos.

Parler le langage du cerveau

Le fait qu’il soit difficile de forcer l’apparition de rêves lucides ne signifie pas que c’est impossible. Récemment, Certaines recherches en neurosciences ont montré qu’il existe une option pour générer ce type de rêves non plus par le dialogue interne et la philosophie vitale, mais en modifiant directement le fonctionnement du cerveau.

Par exemple, il a été démontré qu'induire l'apparition d'ondes cérébrales de fréquence gamma (spécifiquement entre 25 et 40 Hz) dans certaines régions frontales du cerveau pendant la phase de REM augmentait considérablement la possibilité d'avoir un rêve lucide.

Bien sûr, tout le monde n’a pas la possibilité d’utiliser des machines de laboratoire pour modifier les fréquences des ondes de notre cerveau pendant que nous dormons chaque jour, mais cette étude a servi de précédent pour renforcer l’hypothèse selon laquelle Ce type de rêves peut altérer considérablement le fonctionnement du système nerveux. . À partir de là, nous avons examiné quels changements importants pourraient augmenter ces probabilités ... et nous pourrions aujourd'hui avoir la réponse.

Induire des rêves lucides avec le réveil

Une enquête menée l’année dernière semble indiquer qu’un bon moyen de favoriser l’émergence de rêves lucides pourrait être de: interrompre brièvement le sommeil pour se rendormir (ou presque dormir) immédiatement après . Pour cela, une astuce consisterait à utiliser l'option permettant de différer l'alarme de l'alarme afin qu'elle retentisse quelques minutes plus tard.

La recherche qui nous conduit à cette solution possible n’offre toutefois pas de réponse définitive, car il ne s’agit pas d’une expérience, mais du recoupement de données d’enquêtes menées auprès de plusieurs personnes, dont certaines vivent des rêves lucides avec régularitéCela signifie que les personnes les plus susceptibles de savoir ce qui se passe pendant leurs expériences de rêve ont tendance à utiliser le bouton pour retarder davantage l'alarme, mais pour le moment on ne sait pas si c'est ce truc simple qui fait apparaître ces rêves . Comme toujours, la corrélation n'implique pas la causalité.

Cependant, les résultats sont prometteurs et laissent la porte ouverte à de futurs tests dans un laboratoire expérimental. Dans quelques mois, nous pourrions avoir la réponse définitive que tous les onironautes recherchent, mais pour le moment, le moyen de se tester à l'aide de l'alarme est ouvert à tous ceux qui le souhaitent.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Smith, B. et Blagrove, M. (2015). Lucid fréquence de rêve et réveil utiliser le bouton snooze. Rêver, 25 (4), pp. 291-299.
  • Voss, U., Holzmann, R., Hobson, A., W. Paulus, Koppehele-Gossel, J., Klimke, A. et Nitsche M. A. (2014). Induction de la conscience de soi dans les rêves grâce à la stimulation frontale de l'activité gamma à faible courant. Nature neuroscience, 17 (6), pp. 810-812.

Comment faire des rêves lucides pour les contrôler - Master Class' - 142/366 (Août 2019).


Articles Connexes