yes, therapy helps!
The 9 differences between organic and inorganic compounds

The 9 differences between organic and inorganic compounds

June 17, 2024

Chemistry is the scientific discipline whose object of study is the composition of matter and the reactions that cause their interactions. Although there are very different types of chemistry depending on the object of study of the branch in question, traditionally there has been the distinction between organic and inorganic.

But, What differences are there not between types of chemistry but directly between the types of compounds they study? In this article we analyze the main differences between organic and inorganic compounds.

  • Recommended article: "The 11 types of chemical reactions"

The chemical compounds

Before seeing what are the differences between them, we will briefly define each of the concepts.


In the first place, we understand as a chemical compound all that material or product resulting from the interaction and combination of two or more elements. There are many different types of chemical compounds that can be classified according to different criteria, such as the elements that configure it or the way in which its union takes place. Among them one of the most basic divisions occurs between organic and inorganic compounds.

  • Related article: "The 4 differences between organic and inorganic chemistry"

Organic compounds are all those compounds that are part of living beings or their remains , being based on carbon and its combination with other specific elements.


As far as the inorganic compounds are concerned, it is those that are not part of living organisms , although any element of the periodic table can be found in them (including carbon in some cases). In both cases they are compounds that are present in nature, or synthesizable from it in the laboratory (especially inorganic ones).

Differences between organic and inorganic compounds

Organic matter and inorganic matter have great similarities, but they also have distinctive elements that allow them to be distinguished. Below are some of the main differences.

1. Elements that usually configure each type of compound

One of the differences between organic and inorganic compounds more marked and at the same time easier to understand is the type of elements that are part of them.


In the case of organic compounds, they are based mainly on carbon and its combination with other elements. They are usually formed by carbon and hydrogen, oxygen, nitrogen, sulfur and / or phosphorus.

On the other hand the inorganic compounds can be formed by any element of the periodic table, although they will not be based on carbon (although they can contain carbon in some cases, such as carbon monoxide).

2. Type of main link

As a general rule, it is considered that all or almost all organic compounds are formed by the union of atoms through covalent bonds. In inorganic compounds, however, ionic or metallic bonds prevail, although other types of bonds may also appear.

3. Stability

Another difference between organic and inorganic compounds is found in the stability of the compounds. While inorganic compounds tend to be stable and not undergo major modifications unless more or less powerful chemical reactions come into play, organic compounds are easily destabilized and decomposed.

4. Complexity

While it is possible for inorganic compounds to form complex structures, they usually tend to maintain a simple organization. However, organic compounds tend to form long chains of varying complexity.

5. Heat resistance

Another difference between organic and inorganic compounds is found in the amount of heat necessary to produce an alteration such as fusion. Organic compounds are easily affected by temperature, requiring relatively low temperatures to melt them. However, inorganic compounds tend to require a very high level of heat to enter the melting process (for example, water does not boil to one hundred degrees Celsius).

6. Solubility

Dissolving an organic compound is usually very complicated unless a specific solvent (such as alcohol) is available, due to its covalent bonds. However, most inorganic compounds, as the ionic type bonds prevail in them, are easily soluble.

7. Electric conduction

As a general rule, organic compounds tend not to be electrically conductive and insulating, while inorganic components (especially metals) do so with great ease.

8. Isomer

Isomerism refers to the ability of compounds to appear with different chemical structures despite sharing the same composition (for example, a different order in the chain that forms a compound will result in compounds with different characteristics). While it can occur in both organic and inorganic compounds, it is much more prevalent in the former due to its tendency to create chains of linked atoms.

9. Reaction speed

Chemical reactions in inorganic compounds tend to be rapid and do not require the intervention of other elements than the reactants. By contrast, the chemical reactions of the inorganic compounds have a variable speed and may require the presence of external elements to initiate or continue the reaction, for example in the form of energy.


Difference between Organic and Inorganic Compounds (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 9 différences entre composés organiques et inorganiques

Les 9 différences entre composés organiques et inorganiques

Mai 16, 2022

La chimie est la discipline scientifique dont l'objet d'étude est la composition de la matière et les réactions qui provoquent leurs interactions. Bien que les types de chimie soient très différents selon l’objet de l’étude de la branche en question, on a toujours fait la distinction entre organique et inorganique.

Mais Quelles sont les différences non pas entre les types de chimie mais directement entre les types de composés étudiés? Dans cet article, nous analysons les principales différences entre les composés organiques et inorganiques.

  • Article recommandé: "Les 11 types de réactions chimiques"

Les composés chimiques

Avant de voir quelles sont les différences entre eux, nous allons définir brièvement chacun des concepts.


En premier lieu, nous entendons par composé chimique tout matériau ou produit résultant de l’interaction et de la combinaison de deux ou plusieurs éléments. Il existe de nombreux types de composés chimiques pouvant être classés en fonction de différents critères, tels que les éléments qui le configurent ou la manière dont son union se produit. Parmi eux, l'une des divisions les plus fondamentales se produit entre les composés organiques et inorganiques.

  • Article connexe: "Les 4 différences entre la chimie organique et inorganique"

Les composés organiques sont tous les composés qui font partie des êtres vivants ou de leurs restes , reposant sur le carbone et sa combinaison avec d’autres éléments spécifiques.


En ce qui concerne les composés inorganiques, il est ceux qui ne font pas partie d'organismes vivants , bien que tous les éléments du tableau périodique puissent y être trouvés (y compris le carbone dans certains cas). Dans les deux cas, il s'agit de composés présents dans la nature, ou synthétisables à partir de celle-ci en laboratoire (notamment inorganiques).

Différences entre les composés organiques et inorganiques

La matière organique et la matière inorganique présentent de grandes similitudes, mais elles comportent également des éléments distinctifs qui permettent de les distinguer. Vous trouverez ci-dessous certaines des principales différences.

1. Eléments qui configurent habituellement chaque type de composé

L'une des différences entre les composés organiques et inorganiques, plus marquée et en même temps plus facile à comprendre, réside dans le type d'éléments qui en font partie.


Dans le cas des composés organiques, ils reposent principalement sur le carbone et sa combinaison avec d'autres éléments. Ils sont généralement formés de carbone et d'hydrogène, d'oxygène, d'azote, de soufre et / ou de phosphore.

D'autre part, les composés inorganiques peuvent être formés par n'importe quel élément du tableau périodique, bien qu'ils ne soient pas basés sur le carbone (bien qu'ils puissent contenir du carbone dans certains cas, tels que le monoxyde de carbone).

2. Type de lien principal

En règle générale, on considère que tous ou presque tous les composés organiques sont formés par l'union d'atomes par des liaisons covalentes. Dans les composés inorganiques, cependant, les liaisons ioniques ou métalliques prévalent, bien que d'autres types de liaisons puissent également apparaître.

3. Stabilité

Une autre différence entre les composés organiques et inorganiques se trouve dans la stabilité des composés. Alors que les composés inorganiques tendent à être stables et à ne pas subir de modifications majeures à moins que des réactions chimiques plus ou moins puissantes ne se produisent, les composés organiques sont facilement déstabilisés et décomposés.

4. la complexité

S'il est possible que des composés inorganiques forment des structures complexes, ils ont généralement tendance à conserver une organisation simple. Cependant, les composés organiques ont tendance à former de longues chaînes de complexité variable.

5. résistance à la chaleur

Une autre différence entre les composés organiques et inorganiques réside dans la quantité de chaleur nécessaire pour produire une altération telle que la fusion. Les composés organiques sont facilement affectés par la température, nécessitant des températures relativement basses pour les fondre. Cependant, les composés inorganiques ont tendance à nécessiter un niveau de chaleur très élevé pour entrer dans le processus de fusion (par exemple, l'eau ne bout pas à cent degrés Celsius).

6. solubilité

La dissolution d'un composé organique est généralement très compliquée à moins de disposer d'un solvant spécifique (tel que l'alcool) en raison de ses liaisons covalentes. Cependant, la plupart des composés inorganiques, comme les liaisons de type ionique y prédominent, sont facilement solubles.

7. Conduction électrique

En règle générale, les composés organiques ont tendance à ne pas être électriquement conducteurs et isolants, contrairement aux composants inorganiques (en particulier les métaux).

8. Isomère

L'isomérie désigne la capacité des composés à apparaître avec différentes structures chimiques malgré le fait qu'ils partagent la même composition (par exemple, un ordre différent dans la chaîne qui forme un composé produira des composés ayant des caractéristiques différentes). Bien que cela puisse se produire à la fois dans les composés organiques et inorganiques, il est beaucoup plus répandu dans les premiers en raison de sa tendance à créer des chaînes d'atomes liés.

9. vitesse de réaction

Les réactions chimiques dans les composés inorganiques ont tendance à être rapides et ne nécessitent pas l'intervention d'éléments autres que les réactifs. Au contraire, les réactions chimiques des composés inorganiques ont une vitesse variable et peuvent nécessiter la présence d'éléments externes pour initier ou poursuivre la réaction, par exemple sous forme d'énergie.


Nomenclature de 20 composés de base en Chimie Organique (9b/10) (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes