yes, therapy helps!
How to improve family communication? 4 keys

How to improve family communication? 4 keys

October 16, 2021

The members of a family are characterized by having spent a lot of time together, but that It is not always a guarantee that there is good family communication .

So ... how can we improve this type of communication?

  • Related article: "Paradoxical communication and affective relationships: he said" yes ", he meant" no "and everything ended"

What we understand as "family"

It is essential to define the term family around which this article revolves. The family is not just a group of people who live together and share blood links and surnames. It is also something more than an organization of individuals that cooperate with each other.

The family must be understood as a community , as a group where the relationships between members have a deep emotional character and are the ones that make the difference with respect to other types of groups.


Under this perspective, emotional reactions in the family context are a constant source of feedback of the expected behaviors. In this sense, the family is an element of integration that can create spaces that allow members to development of a relationship of belonging and identification . This belonging is neither casual nor temporary, it is essential, since it defines the subject before itself and before society.

Finally, it should be noted that the family is an organization in which its members must share common goals and objectives that generate unity and allow the sharing of functions and responsibilities. It is, therefore, a team.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Toxic families: 4 ways in which they cause mental disorders"

Communicative models

The communicative models of family members vary. They must be taken into account, since there are important differences of generational origin and this can generate misunderstandings, discrepancies and distancing for lack of connection and understanding, thus opening a gap between parents and children.


This may be due, among many other reasons, to the fact that the majority of parents who belong to the well-known "baby boom" (1946 - 1964) have grown mainly with television as media and with the so-called "mass media" (cinema, radio and press). The characteristic of all of them is that the style of communication is informative, vertical and one way, that is, one direction.

Given that different technologies transmit certain values, this generation has acquired the verticality and the hierarchical organization of television discourse, Acquiring the role of receiver , becoming accustomed to being passive agents in the act of communication.

The Net generation

For their part, the respective children belong to the generation of new technologies ; some studies call it "Net generation". People of this generation are able to read visual images (visually more literate) are able to change their attention from one task to another, the response time is fast, and are usually curious and independent people.


Although this generation has also grown up interacting with the television, its focus is the computer and the mobile phone. In the Internet environment they move like fish in water, especially in social networks. In these environments, communicative discourse is horizontal, multiple-track, active and immediate .

The impact of new technologies

We live daily with a host of devices that allow us to communicate with those who live far away but who, in turn, can get us away from the people we have closer . And is that we all have experienced scenes in which several members of the family, remain engrossed looking at a screen without articulating a word, thus worsening the interpersonal relations of coexistence.

Dialogue is important in interpersonal relationships and even more in the family. Communication helps us to establish contact with people, to give or receive information, to express or understand what we think and to transmit emotions. In short, communication unites us and links through affection and empathy .

Of course, there is no basic rule for family communication. Each family is a world and has a unique language. However, to improve communication or generate fluid communication among its members and given the generational difference, it is advisable that there is willingness, interest and availability mainly by the parents, in order to create a communication lived intensely by all.

Improve family communication

What can we do to improve communication in the family? To shorten distances between different generations and improve communication and ultimately coexistence, we can apply the following strategies.

1. Moments without technology

It is important to mark several times throughout the day in which devices should not be used . Those moments that take place around the table (breakfast, lunch, snack and dinner) are ideal to encourage fluent communication.

  • Related article: "FOMO syndrome: feeling that the life of others is more interesting"

2. Shared leisure

It is important to look for times when you can share entertainment . It can be something as simple as watching a movie suitable for all members of the family. This generates union, not only physical but also experiential, thus avoiding the isolation of family members in different rooms. We encourage a possible dialogue or debate regarding the shared film.

3. Encourage dialogue / debate

It is essential to take advantage of shared moments to exchange impressions, ideas and opinions on a topic that arouses interest. Promote the participatory dialogue of each member It is vital, always respecting the different contributions and allowing spaces of trust, security and belonging.

4. Interaction

It is important to show interest for each member of the family asking how the day has gone or what is it that worries you and / or occurs. In this way we encourage direct, personal, human communication and a greater knowledge of the personal situation of each family member.

The family is essential and fundamental and, therefore, to know each other the concerns of each one indispensable to build a family united by affection and to know each other very much.


Communication Is The KEY To A Happy & Healthy Relationship (October 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment améliorer la communication familiale? 4 clés

Comment améliorer la communication familiale? 4 clés

Décembre 9, 2021

Les membres d’une famille se caractérisent par le fait qu’ils ont passé beaucoup de temps ensemble, mais Ce n'est pas toujours une garantie de bonne communication familiale .

Alors ... comment pouvons-nous améliorer ce type de communication?

  • Article connexe: "Communication paradoxale et relations affectives: il a dit" oui ", il a voulu dire" non "et tout s'est terminé"

Ce que nous comprenons comme "famille"

Il est essentiel de définir le terme famille autour duquel s’articule cet article. La famille n'est pas simplement un groupe de personnes qui vivent ensemble et partagent des liens de sang et des noms de famille. C'est aussi quelque chose de plus qu'une organisation d'individus qui coopèrent les uns avec les autres.

La famille doit être comprise comme une communauté , en tant que groupe où les relations entre les membres ont un caractère émotionnel profond et sont celles qui font la différence par rapport aux autres types de groupes.


Dans cette perspective, les réactions émotionnelles dans le contexte familial constituent une source constante de rétroaction sur les comportements attendus. En ce sens, la famille est un élément d’intégration pouvant créer des espaces permettant aux membres de développement d'une relation d'appartenance et d'identification . Cette appartenance n'est ni occasionnelle ni temporaire, elle est essentielle car elle définit le sujet avant elle-même et devant la société.

Enfin, il convient de noter que la famille est une organisation dans laquelle ses membres doivent partager des buts et objectifs communs qui génèrent une unité et permettent le partage de fonctions et de responsabilités. C'est donc une équipe.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Familles toxiques: 4 façons de provoquer des troubles mentaux"

Modèles communicatifs

Les modèles de communication des membres de la famille varient. Ils doivent être pris en compte, car il existe d'importantes différences d'origine générationnelle, ce qui peut générer des incompréhensions, des divergences et des distanciations par manque de connexion et de compréhension, créant ainsi un fossé entre parents et enfants.


Cela peut être dû, entre autres, au fait que la majorité des parents appartenant au "baby boom" bien connu (1946 - 1964) se sont développés principalement avec la télévision en tant que média et avec les «mass media» (cinéma, radio et presse). La caractéristique de chacun d'entre eux est que le style de communication est informatif, vertical et à sens unique, c'est-à-dire une direction.

Étant donné que différentes technologies transmettent certaines valeurs, cette génération a acquis la verticalité et l'organisation hiérarchique du discours télévisé, Acquisition du rôle de destinataire , s'habituant à être des agents passifs dans l'acte de communication.

La génération Internet

De leur côté, les enfants respectifs appartenir à la génération de nouvelles technologies ; certaines études l'appellent "génération nette". Les gens de cette génération sont capables de lire des images (visuellement plus alphabètes), sont en mesure de changer d’attention d’une tâche à l’autre, le temps de réponse est rapide et sont généralement des personnes curieuses et indépendantes.


Bien que cette génération ait également grandi en interaction avec la télévision, elle s’intéresse principalement à l’ordinateur et au téléphone mobile. Dans l'environnement Internet, ils se déplacent comme des poissons dans l'eau, en particulier dans les réseaux sociaux. Dans ces environnements, le discours communicatif est horizontal, à pistes multiples, actif et immédiat .

L'impact des nouvelles technologies

Nous vivons au quotidien avec une foule de dispositifs nous permettant de communiquer avec ceux qui vivent loin, mais qui, à leur tour, peut nous éloigner des gens que nous avons plus proches . Et c’est que nous avons tous vécu des scènes dans lesquelles plusieurs membres de la famille restent captivés en regardant un écran sans articuler un mot, aggravant ainsi les relations interpersonnelles de la coexistence.

Le dialogue est important dans les relations interpersonnelles et encore plus dans la famille. La communication nous aide à établir un contact avec les gens, à donner ou à recevoir des informations, à exprimer ou à comprendre ce que nous pensons et à transmettre des émotions. En bref, la communication nous unit et crée des liens à travers l'affection et l'empathie .

Bien sûr, il n’ya pas de règle de base pour la communication familiale. Chaque famille est un monde et une langue unique. Cependant, pour améliorer la communication ou générer une communication fluide entre ses membres et compte tenu de la différence générationnelle, il est souhaitable que les parents soient disposés, intéressés et disponibles, afin de créer une communication vécue intensément par tous.

Améliorer la communication familiale

Que pouvons-nous faire pour améliorer la communication au sein de la famille? Pour réduire les distances entre les différentes générations et améliorer la communication et finalement la coexistence, nous pouvons appliquer les stratégies suivantes.

1. Moments sans technologie

Il est important de marquer plusieurs fois dans la journée dans lesquels les appareils ne doivent pas être utilisés . Les moments qui se déroulent autour de la table (petit-déjeuner, déjeuner, collation et dîner) sont idéaux pour encourager une communication fluide.

  • Article connexe: "Syndrome FOMO: sentir que la vie des autres est plus intéressante"

2. Loisirs partagés

Il est important de chercher des moments où vous pouvez partager le divertissement . Cela peut être quelque chose d'aussi simple que de regarder un film adapté à tous les membres de la famille. Cela génère une union, non seulement physique, mais également expérientielle, évitant ainsi l'isolement des membres de la famille dans différentes pièces. Nous encourageons un dialogue ou un débat possible concernant le film partagé.

3. Encourager le dialogue / débat

Il est essentiel de profiter des moments partagés pour échanger des impressions, des idées et des opinions sur un sujet qui suscite l’intérêt. Promouvoir le dialogue participatif de chaque membre C'est vital, en respectant toujours les différentes contributions et en laissant des espaces de confiance, de sécurité et d'appartenance.

4. interaction

Il est important de montrer de l'intérêt pour chaque membre de la famille demander comment la journée s'est passée ou qu'est-ce qui vous inquiète et / ou se produit. De cette manière, nous encourageons la communication directe, personnelle, humaine et une meilleure connaissance de la situation personnelle de chaque membre de la famille.

La famille est essentielle et fondamentale et, par conséquent, il est indispensable de connaître les préoccupations de chacun et de créer une famille unie par l’affection et de se connaître beaucoup.


Parent d’ado : mode d’emploi ! Les clés d’une relation positive (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes