yes, therapy helps!
Humanistic Therapy: what is it and on what principles is it based?

Humanistic Therapy: what is it and on what principles is it based?

May 6, 2021

It seems that Humanistic Therapy is in fashion . Everywhere there are courses, conferences, web pages, articles ... and evidently there are defenders and retractors.

I'm not going to position myself, but I think it's interesting to really know what we're talking about, in the same way that I think it's important that we learn to differentiate humanistic therapy or approach from other unreliable disciplines. When something becomes fashionable, we lack time to invent "alternatives" of doubtful credibility.

The origins of Humanistic Therapy

It is considered that the precursor of the humanist approach was Carl Rogers (1959). He was an American psychologist who, before becoming a relevant clinical psychologist, studied agriculture at university and later became interested in theology, which brought him into contact with philosophy.


Carl Rogers appeared in a specific socio-economic context, he did not emerge from nowhere. In the 60s everything was questioned; It was the moment of student movements, of hippies, of feminism, of ecologists ... there was a desire for change. And in that breeding ground appeared the Humanist Psychology .

Humanist Psychology appears

We could simplify the identity of this current of psychology by saying that the "humanists" not only investigate suffering, but deepen in the growth and self-knowledge of the person. They are more concerned with proposing alternatives to this suffering than studying behavior . They provide a positive vision and their basis is the will and hope of the same person. They start from goodness and health, and understand that mental disorders or everyday problems are distortions of this natural tendency. They focus on healthy people, and consider that the personality is innate and "good" in itself.


In humanistic models there is no appeal to the past or personal history, but rather the capabilities and tools available to the person at the present time that influence their problem and / or solution. We could say that it analyzes the present, the here and now. At the moment that is not able to enjoy and take advantage of this present is when the problems appear. Humanists understand that the "healthy" person is the one who is enriched by their experience. Its purpose is to know and learn gradually.

The humanists defend that each person has, in an innate way, a potential that allows them to grow, evolve and self-actualize and that the pathology appears when these abilities are blocked. They consider that the individual must learn to be, to know and to do, and that it is the same person who must find the solutions on his own, leaving him total freedom to decide. Pathological disorders are renunciations or losses of this freedom that does not allow you to continue your process of life growth.


Contributions from the humanist perspective

Some of the most important contributions that appear associated with the appearance of Humanistic Therapy are the following:

  • Optimistic vision : the potential of the person is the tool to solve their own problems.
  • Emphasis on social factors : self-knowledge must be linked to a social responsibility.
  • Therapy as intervention : placing the help to the person as the goal and final goal.

We must also bear in mind that these models postulate that the individual does not react to reality, but rather to the perception he has of it, which is totally subjective.

Criticisms of this approach

Another noteworthy point is the one that has most criticized this approach: its theoretical weakness . The Humanist Psychology flees from the classifications and does not consider the scientific method as a "natural" method to understand the "abnormal" behavior. This implies that this current is not accompanied by a solid empirical base and suffers from theoretical weakness, which has led to many movements of "self-help" of dubious credibility.

Another criticism that this movement has received is its consideration of the human being as "good by nature". It is an optimistic approach and surely very opportune for the time, but Forget that the human being is a set of negative and positive factors and characteristics , and therefore we must consider both.

"The curious paradox is that when I accept myself as I am, then I can change." -Carl Rogers

GESTALT THERAPY (Simply Explained) (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Thérapie humaniste: de quoi s'agit-il et sur quels principes se base-t-elle?

Thérapie humaniste: de quoi s'agit-il et sur quels principes se base-t-elle?

Décembre 9, 2021

Il semble que la thérapie humaniste est à la mode . Partout, il y a des cours, des conférences, des pages Web, des articles ... et évidemment, il y a des défenseurs et des rétracteurs.

Je ne vais pas me positionner, mais je pense qu'il est intéressant de savoir vraiment de quoi on parle, de la même manière qu'il est important que nous apprenions à différencier la thérapie humaniste ou l'approche d'autres disciplines peu fiables. Quand quelque chose devient à la mode, nous manquons de temps pour inventer des "alternatives" de crédibilité douteuse.

Les origines de la thérapie humaniste

On estime que Carl Rogers (1959) a été le précurseur de l'approche humaniste. C'était un psychologue américain qui, avant de devenir un psychologue clinicien compétent, a étudié l'agriculture à l'université et s'est ensuite intéressé à la théologie, ce qui lui a permis d'entrer en contact avec la philosophie.


Carl Rogers est apparu dans un contexte socio-économique spécifique, il n'est pas sorti de nulle part. Dans les années 60, tout était remis en question. C'était le moment des mouvements d'étudiants, des hippies, du féminisme, des écologistes ... il y avait une volonté de changement. Et dans ce terreau apparut la psychologie humaniste .

La psychologie humaniste apparaît

Nous pourrions simplifier l'identité de ce courant de psychologie en disant que les "humanistes" non seulement enquêtent sur la souffrance, mais approfondissent la croissance et la connaissance de soi de la personne. Ils sont plus soucieux de proposer des alternatives à cette souffrance que d'étudier le comportement . Ils fournissent une vision positive et sont fondés sur la volonté et l’espoir de la même personne. Ils partent de la bonté et de la santé et comprennent que les troubles mentaux ou les problèmes quotidiens sont des distorsions de cette tendance naturelle. Ils se concentrent sur les personnes en bonne santé et considèrent que la personnalité est innée et "bonne" en soi.


Dans les modèles humanistes, il n’est pas fait appel au passé ou à l’histoire personnelle, mais plutôt aux capacités et aux outils disponibles pour la personne à l’heure actuelle qui influencent son problème et / ou sa solution. On pourrait dire qu'il analyse le présent, le ici et maintenant. Pour le moment, ce n'est pas en mesure de profiter et de profiter de ce présent, lorsque les problèmes apparaissent. Les humanistes comprennent que la personne "en bonne santé" est celle qui s'enrichit de son expérience. Son but est de connaître et d'apprendre progressivement.

Les humanistes défendent que chaque personne possède, de manière innée, un potentiel lui permettant de grandir, d'évoluer et de se réaliser, et que la pathologie apparaît lorsque ces capacités sont bloquées. Ils considèrent que l'individu doit apprendre à être, à savoir et à faire, et que c'est la même personne qui doit trouver les solutions par lui-même, lui laissant une totale liberté de décision. Les troubles pathologiques sont des renonciations ou des pertes de cette liberté qui ne vous permettent pas de poursuivre votre processus de croissance de la vie.


Contributions du point de vue humaniste

Certaines des contributions les plus importantes qui semblent associées à l’apparition de la thérapie humaniste sont les suivantes:

  • Vision optimiste : le potentiel de la personne est l'outil pour résoudre ses propres problèmes.
  • Accent mis sur les facteurs sociaux : la connaissance de soi doit être liée à une responsabilité sociale.
  • Thérapie comme intervention : placer l'aide à la personne comme objectif et objectif final.

Nous devons également garder à l'esprit que ces modèles postulent que l'individu ne réagit pas à la réalité, mais plutôt à la perception qu'il en a, qui est totalement subjective.

Critiques de cette approche

Un autre point remarquable est celui qui a le plus critiqué cette approche: sa faiblesse théorique . La psychologie humaniste fuit les classifications et ne considère pas la méthode scientifique comme une méthode "naturelle" pour comprendre le comportement "anormal". Cela implique que ce courant ne soit pas accompagné d'une base empirique solide et souffre d'une faiblesse théorique, ce qui a conduit à de nombreux mouvements d '"auto-assistance" d'une crédibilité douteuse.

Une autre critique que ce mouvement a reçue est sa considération de l'être humain en tant que "bien de nature". C’est une approche optimiste et sûrement très opportune pour l’époque, mais Oublier que l’être humain est un ensemble de facteurs et de caractéristiques négatifs et positifs , et donc nous devons considérer les deux.

"Le curieux paradoxe est que, quand je m'accepte comme je suis, je peux changer." -Carl Rogers

"Sommes nous capable d'amour véritable?" Jeudi 14.11.2013 (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes