yes, therapy helps!
Disorder due to sex aversion: symptoms, causes and treatment

Disorder due to sex aversion: symptoms, causes and treatment

October 5, 2022

In the majority of the occasions we relate the sex with the experimentation of the pleasure and pleasant and satisfactory sensations. However, in some people this feeling is diametrically opposed. Are the cases of disorder by aversion to sex , a type of sexual dysfunction by which the person experiences a strong response of disgust or repulsion to sex in general or to certain specific sexual behaviors or practices.

  • Related article: "Anxiety: symptoms, causes and possible treatments"

What is the disorder by aversion to sex?

Also known under the diagnosis of persistent sexual rejection, the disorder by aversion to sex is considered as a type of sexual dysfunction in which a constant or recurrent aversion to any type of sexual contact is experienced . People who suffer manifest a clear aversion to sex, which leads them to avoid sexual contacts, especially genitals, with another person.


In addition, the disorder by aversion to sex differs from the rest of sexual disorders in that this first generates repulsion, high levels of anxiety and panic states in the person , which experiences them before the possibility of any type of sexual activity.

This feeling of rejection can be given both to the idea of ​​carrying out sexual behaviors or relationships in general, and to specific and specific sexual practices such as oral sex or masturbation.

The incidence of the disorder by aversion to sex is much higher in women than in men and usually represents between 3 and 4% of the reasons for consultation in relation to sexual dysfunctions. For what is considered an infrequent alteration of sexual behavior.


However, in those cases in which the aversion to sex turns out to be very serious, the person who suffers it can go so far as not to relate to any person who can suppose a potential sexual partner or break a relationship when it is at the beginning of sexual relations.

Types of aversion to sex

There are different types of disorder due to sex aversion. While all have in common the feeling of rejection and disgust towards sex and active avoidance behaviors against any type of sexual contact, they differ in terms of the time of appearance and the range or level of involvement.

1. Primary sexual aversion

This first type of aversion to sex refers to those cases in which the person has felt a rejection of sex throughout his life . Most of these cases are closely associated with victims of sexual abuse during childhood.


2. Secondary sexual aversion

In these cases the person has come to live his sexuality without any kind of difficulty. However, as a result of some experience or situation this develops, gradually or suddenly, the aversion disorder. Usually this rejection of sex Appears in response to a situation of sexual abuse or rape .

3. Generalized aversion

In this case, the classification is not based on when the disorder appears, but rather on the degree of involvement it presents. In generalized aversion, the person experiences behaviors of disgust and aversion to sex independently of the partner or people with whom he carries them out.

4. Situational aversion

On the contrary, in situational aversion the person manifests the rejection of sex with certain specific people or with their partner. This disorder often causes many conflicts and difficulties within the relationship of the affected person.

What symptoms does it manifest?

As indicated in previous points, the main symptom that appears in the disorder by aversion to sex is related to the feelings of repulsion and anxiety . These symptoms appear due to a hyperactivation of the central nervous system, which gives rise to a series of changes and physical alterations such as the following:

  • Incrise of cardiac frecuency .
  • Increased sweating
  • Muscle tension.
  • Anxiety crisis .
  • Fades
  • Vertigo or feeling dizzy.
  • Choking sensation or lack of air.
  • Nausea and / or vomiting

Regarding the symptoms of behavioral type, the person can carry out different behaviors that aim to avoid all kinds of situations or people with whom there is a risk of initiating some type of sexual contact.

These behaviors range from the abandonment of body hygiene or excessive involvement in any other type of activities that allow you to have an excuse for not having sex.

Differences between this aversion disorder and sex phobia

Although both the physical and behavioral symptoms of the disorder by aversion to sex are similar to those of a sexual phobia, there are significant differences in terms of cognitive symptoms or feelings that the person experiences in relation to sex.

The main distinguishing feature is that while in the aversion disorder emotions are related to repulsion and disgust, in phobia the person experiences excessive, irrational and persistent fear before sexual behaviors.

That is, aversion to sex is associated with other types of emotions other than fear and is usually caused by specific aspects of sexual relationships such as secretions or penetration or by specific people. While sexual phobia consists in an experimentation of extreme fear towards sex in general.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Sex phobia (erotophobia): causes, symptoms and treatment"

What are the causes?

Although the main cause of the disorder of aversion to the sex is in the manifestation of a negative attitude towards this, these attitudes can have diverse foundations or origins.

In the aversions of primary type there is usually a base related to poor sexual education or excessively rigid and restrictive, which considers sex as a harmful, harmful or pernicious act. Sometimes, people educated in very strict religious environments may have been educated under the belief that sex is something sinful, impure or indecent, hence the development of aversion.

As for secondary aversions, these tend to be related to traumatic experiences in relation to sex. Experiences of sexual abuse, rape or the pressure that the couple can exercise to maintain some type of sexual activity are the germ of the secondary aversion to sex aversion.

Is there a treatment?

Because it is a psychological condition, cognitive-behavioral interventions , which include systematic desensitization techniques, have been found to be highly effective for the treatment of sex aversion disorder. However, there are other psychodynamic treatments that although they require more time, can also be effective.

Thanks to these treatments, people suffering from sex aversion disorder can see how their symptoms diminish and even completely remit, offering them the possibility of leading a normal sex life.


Hypersexual Disorder (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble dû à l'aversion sexuelle: symptômes, causes et traitement

Trouble dû à l'aversion sexuelle: symptômes, causes et traitement

Février 27, 2021

Dans la plupart des cas, nous associons le sexe à l'expérimentation du plaisir et à des sensations agréables et satisfaisantes. Cependant, chez certaines personnes, ce sentiment est diamétralement opposé. Sont les cas de désordre par aversion pour le sexe , un type de dysfonctionnement sexuel par lequel la personne éprouve une forte réaction de dégoût ou de répulsion vis-à-vis du sexe en général ou de certains comportements ou pratiques sexuels spécifiques.

  • Article connexe: "Anxiété: symptômes, causes et traitements possibles"

Quel est le trouble par aversion pour le sexe?

Aussi connu sous le diagnostic de rejet sexuel persistant, le trouble par aversion pour le sexe est considéré comme un type de dysfonctionnement sexuel dans lequel on ressent une aversion constante ou récurrente pour tout type de contact sexuel . Les personnes qui souffrent manifestent une aversion manifeste pour le sexe, ce qui les conduit à éviter les contacts sexuels, en particulier les organes génitaux, avec une autre personne.


De plus, le trouble par aversion sexuelle diffère du reste des troubles sexuels en ce qu'il engendre d'abord une répulsion, niveaux élevés d'anxiété et de panique chez la personne , qui les éprouve avant la possibilité de tout type d’activité sexuelle.

Ce sentiment de rejet peut être attribué à la fois à la pratique de comportements sexuels ou de relations sexuelles en général, et à des pratiques sexuelles spécifiques telles que le sexe oral ou la masturbation.

L'incidence du trouble par aversion pour le sexe est beaucoup plus élevée chez les femmes que chez les hommes et représente généralement entre 3 et 4% des motifs de consultation liés aux dysfonctionnements sexuels. Pour ce qui est considéré comme une modification peu fréquente du comportement sexuel.


Cependant, dans les cas où l'aversion pour le sexe s'avère très grave, la personne qui en souffre peut aller jusqu'à ne pas communiquer avec aucune personne pouvant supposer avoir un partenaire sexuel potentiel ou rompre une relation lorsqu'elle est au début des relations sexuelles.

Types d'aversion au sexe

Il existe différents types de troubles dus à l'aversion sexuelle. Bien que tous aient en commun le sentiment de rejet et de dégoût envers le sexe et les comportements d'évitement actif contre tout type de contact sexuel, ils diffèrent par le moment de leur apparition et par la portée ou le niveau de participation.

1. Aversion sexuelle primaire

Ce premier type d’aversion pour le sexe se réfère à les cas dans lesquels la personne a ressenti un rejet du sexe tout au long de sa vie . La plupart de ces cas sont étroitement associés à des victimes d'abus sexuel durant leur enfance.


2. aversion sexuelle secondaire

Dans ces cas, la personne est venue vivre sa sexualité sans aucune difficulté. Cependant, à la suite d'une expérience ou d'une situation, ceci développe progressivement ou soudainement le trouble de l'aversion. Habituellement ce rejet du sexe Apparaît en réponse à une situation d'abus sexuel ou de viol .

3. Aversion généralisée

Dans ce cas, la classification ne repose pas sur le moment où le trouble apparaît, mais plutôt sur le degré d'implication qu'il présente. Dans l'aversion généralisée, la personne expérimente des comportements de dégoût et d'aversion pour le sexe indépendamment du partenaire ou des personnes avec lesquelles elle les mène.

4. Aversion de la situation

Au contraire, dans l'aversion situationnelle, la personne manifeste le rejet du sexe avec certaines personnes spécifiques ou avec leur partenaire. Ce désordre provoque souvent de nombreux conflits et difficultés au sein de la relation de la personne touchée.

Quels symptômes manifeste-t-il?

Comme indiqué dans les points précédents, le principal symptôme qui apparaît dans le trouble par aversion pour le sexe est liée aux sentiments de répulsion et d'anxiété . Ces symptômes apparaissent en raison d'une hyperactivation du système nerveux central, ce qui entraîne une série de modifications et d'altérations physiques telles que:

  • Augmentation de la fréquence cardiaque .
  • Transpiration accrue
  • Tension musculaire
  • Crise d'anxiété .
  • Fades
  • Vertige ou sensation de vertige.
  • Sensation d'étouffement ou manque d'air.
  • Nausées et / ou vomissements

En ce qui concerne les symptômes de type comportemental, la personne peut adopter différents comportements visant à éviter toutes sortes de situations ou les personnes avec lesquelles il existe un risque de commencer un type de contact sexuel.

Ces comportements vont de l'abandon de l'hygiène corporelle à une participation excessive à tout autre type d'activité permettant de prétendre ne pas avoir de relations sexuelles.

Différences entre ce trouble de l'aversion et la phobie sexuelle

Bien que les symptômes physiques et comportementaux du trouble liés à l'aversion sexuelle soient similaires à ceux d'une phobie sexuelle, il existe des différences significatives en termes de symptômes cognitifs ou de sentiments ressentis par la personne en ce qui concerne le sexe.

La principale caractéristique est que dans le trouble de l'aversion, les émotions sont liées à la répulsion et au dégoût, dans la phobie, la personne ressent une peur excessive, irrationnelle et persistante avant les comportements sexuels.

En d'autres termes, l'aversion pour le sexe est associée à d'autres types d'émotions que la peur et est généralement provoquée par des aspects spécifiques des relations sexuelles tels que les sécrétions ou la pénétration, ou par des personnes spécifiques. Alors que la phobie sexuelle consiste en une expérimentation de la peur extrême vers le sexe en général.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Phobie sexuelle (érotophobie): causes, symptômes et traitement"

Quelles sont les causes?

Bien que la principale cause du trouble de l'aversion pour le sexe soit la manifestation d'une attitude négative à son égard, ces attitudes peuvent avoir des fondements ou des origines divers.

Dans les aversions de type primaire il y a généralement une base liée à une mauvaise éducation sexuelle ou excessivement rigide et restrictif, qui considère le sexe comme un acte nuisible, nuisible ou pernicieux. Parfois, des personnes éduquées dans des environnements religieux très stricts peuvent avoir été éduquées en partant du principe que le sexe est un péché, un impur ou un indécent, d’où le développement de l’aversion.

Quant aux aversions secondaires, elles ont tendance à être liées à des expériences traumatiques liées au sexe. Les expériences d'abus sexuel, de viol ou la pression que le couple peut exercer pour maintenir un type d'activité sexuelle sont le germe de l'aversion secondaire à l'aversion sexuelle.

Y a-t-il un traitement?

Parce que c'est une condition psychologique, interventions cognitivo-comportementales , qui incluent des techniques de désensibilisation systématique, se sont révélés très efficaces pour le traitement du trouble de l’aversion sexuelle. Cependant, il existe d'autres traitements psychodynamiques qui, même s'ils nécessitent plus de temps, peuvent aussi être efficaces.

Grâce à ces traitements, les personnes souffrant du trouble de l’aversion sexuelle peuvent voir comment leurs symptômes s’atténuent et disparaissent même complètement, leur offrant ainsi la possibilité de mener une vie sexuelle normale.


QUE SE PASSE-T-IL DANS LE CORPS QUAND ON BOIT DE L’EAU AU GINGEMBRE À JEUN ? (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes