yes, therapy helps!
Mesencephalon: characteristics, parts and functions

Mesencephalon: characteristics, parts and functions

April 28, 2024

The mesencephalon is one of the most important parts of the brain , in many ways. On the one hand, it is located almost in the center of the brain, occupying a part of its deepest zone, and therefore establishes a direct communication with many of the main structures of the central nervous system.

On the other, it is the area that connects the trunk of the brain to the diencephalon and parts of the cerebral cortex. Without the mesencephalon we could not survive.

Next we will see what are the characteristics of this region of the brain, we will review its main functions and its different anatomical components, and we will see what happens when certain injuries or illnesses alter its functioning.


  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

What is the mesencephalon?

The mesencephalon is one of the parts of the brainstem . It is located in its upper zone, on the Varolio bridge (or protuberance), and just below the diencephalon, composed mainly of the thalamus and the hypothalamus. It is the part of the brainstem closest to the center of the brain, while the protuberance and spinal bulb are more oriented towards the spinal cord.

In addition, the mesencephalon it is crossed by a narrow channel called aqueduct of Silvio , through which the cerebrospinal fluid flows from the third ventricle to the fourth. This liquid has the function of isolating and protecting various structures of the nervous system.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Trunk of the brain: functions and structures"

Your anatomy

The form of the mesencephalon is that of a trapezoid, with a narrower base than its upper part, and with the aqueduct of Silvio (a small channel through which cerebrospinal fluid circulates) traversing it from top to bottom.

The border between the mesencephalon and the diencephalon is marked by the optical bands (the continuation of the nerve fibers of the optic nerves), while its lower limit, which separates it from the Varolio bridge, is indicated by the pontomesencefálico furrow .

In addition, on its anterior face (close to the face) it is possible to distinguish a vertical slit called interpeduncular fossa , which divides two bodies of nerve fibers that go up to the brain, called cerebral peduncles.

Parts of the mesencephalon

The two fundamental structures that make up the mesencephalon they are the tectum and the tegmentum .


Tectum

It is located in the dorsal zone of the mesencephalon, oriented towards the nape of the neck, and etymologically means "roof". Its functions are related to automatic reactions to auditory and sound stimuli.

It consists of two pairs of packages, one located on top of the other. These lumps are called colliculi, or quadriguous tubers , and superiors play a role in the vision and orientation of the eyes towards visual stimuli, while those below are involved in involuntary reactions to sounds.

Tegmentum

In the ventral area of ​​the mesencephalon is the tegmentum. It contains three main regions, each associated with a color: the substantia nigra, the periaqueductal gray matter and the red nucleus .

The black substance

The substantia nigra is located in the upper zone of the mesencephalon, and is distributed on both sides of this structure, following the division of the cerebral hemispheres. It has many associated functions, especially linked to movements and muscle tone .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Black substance: what it is, functions and related disorders"

Red core

It is another important element of the motor system. Its function is related to the coordination of movements .

Periaqueductal gray matter

The periaqueductal gray substance, which as its name indicates is located around the aqueduct of Silvio, intervenes in the habituation to pain and in analgesic processes in general.

Mesencephalon functions

The location of the mesencephalon makes the main functions of this structure have to do with the integration between different types of information . On the one hand, it collects nerve impulses linked to motor commands that have to be executed by muscles, and on the other side receives sensory data.

In the same way, the cuadrigéminos tubers located in the téctum are responsible for coordinating this type of information with each other so that they can give rise to sequences of action adjusted to what the senses are registering in real time.

On the other hand, certain regions of the mesencephalon are associated with processes of regulation of consciousness and sleep , to be traversed by the reticular formation.The mesencephalon also intervenes in homeostatic functions oriented to maintain the organism in a good balance, and for that reason, for example, it has a role in the regulation of body temperature.

Thus, the mesencephalon is in charge of carrying out processes of vital importance so that orgganism continues to function, to the point that the activity in this structure of the nervous system is what indicates in a clearer way whether there is brain death or not. .

Diseases and associated injuries

Any lesion that affects the lower areas of the brain can reach the mesencephalon. The consequences of this kind of accidents are almost always very serious, producing coma or death .

The reason is that the mesencephalon is a section of the nervous system whose importance is crucial to coordinate basic physiological functions of the organism, and also serves for several types of nerve impulses reach the higher neuron groups. Like the mesencephalon acts as a link between many areas , the presence of anomalies in this area affects many others.

As regards the diseases that affect these structures of the brain, the most common are Alzheimer's disease and Parkinson's disease. Both are neurological disorders that interfere with the functioning of large areas of the nervous system, mesencephalon included, and can lead to problems of mobility and cognition.


2-Minute Neuroscience: Midbrain (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Mésencéphale: caractéristiques, pièces et fonctions

Mésencéphale: caractéristiques, pièces et fonctions

Juillet 16, 2024

Le mésencéphale est l'une des parties les plus importantes du cerveau , à bien des égards. D'une part, il se situe presque au centre du cerveau et occupe une partie de sa zone la plus profonde. Il établit donc une communication directe avec la plupart des structures principales du système nerveux central.

De l'autre, c'est la zone qui relie le tronc du cerveau au diencephale et des parties du cortex cérébral. Sans le mésencéphale, nous ne pourrions pas survivre.

Nous verrons ensuite quelles sont les caractéristiques de cette région du cerveau, nous en passerons en revue ses principales fonctions et ses différentes composantes anatomiques, et nous verrons ce qui se passe lorsque certaines blessures ou maladies modifient son fonctionnement.


  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Qu'est-ce que le mésencéphale?

Le mésencéphale est une des parties du tronc cérébral . Il est situé dans sa zone supérieure, sur le pont de Varolio (ou protubérance) et juste en dessous du diencephalon, composé principalement du thalamus et de l'hypothalamus. C'est la partie du tronc cérébral la plus proche du centre du cerveau, tandis que la protubérance et le bulbe spinal sont plus orientés vers la moelle épinière.

De plus, le mésencéphale il est traversé par un étroit canal appelé aqueduc de Silvio , à travers lequel le liquide céphalo-rachidien s’écoule du troisième ventricule vers le quatrième. Ce liquide a pour fonction d'isoler et de protéger diverses structures du système nerveux.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Tronc du cerveau: fonctions et structures"

Votre anatomie

Le mésencéphale a la forme d'un trapèze, avec une base plus étroite que la partie supérieure et un aqueduc de Silvio (un petit canal par lequel circule le liquide céphalorachidien) qui le traverse de haut en bas.

La frontière entre le mésencéphale et le diencephale est marquée par les bandes optiques (prolongement des fibres nerveuses des nerfs optiques), tandis que sa limite inférieure, qui le sépare du pont de Varolio, est indiqué par le sillon pontomesencefálico .

De plus, sur sa face antérieure (près du visage), il est possible de distinguer une fente verticale appelée fosse interpédonculaire , qui divise deux corps de fibres nerveuses qui vont au cerveau, appelés pédoncules cérébraux.

Parties du mésencéphale

Les deux structures fondamentales qui composent le mésencéphale ils sont le tectum et le tegmentum .


Tectum

Il est situé dans la zone dorsale du mésencéphale, orienté vers la nuque et signifie, de façon étymologique, "toit". Ses fonctions sont liées aux réactions automatiques aux stimuli auditifs et sonores.

Il consiste en deux paires de paquets, l’un se superposant. Ces morceaux sont appelés colliculi, ou tubercules quadrigu , et les supérieurs jouent un rôle dans la vision et l’orientation des yeux vers les stimuli visuels, tandis que ceux du dessous sont impliqués dans des réactions involontaires aux sons.

Tegmentum

Le tegmentum est situé dans la région ventrale du mésencéphale. Il contient trois régions principales, chacune associée à une couleur: la substance noire, la matière grise périaqueducale et le noyau rouge .

La substance noire

La substantia nigra est située dans la zone supérieure du mésencéphale et est répartie des deux côtés de cette structure, à la suite de la division des hémisphères cérébraux. Il a beaucoup de fonctions associées, particulièrement lié aux mouvements et au tonus musculaire .

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Substance noire: qu'est-ce que c'est, fonctions et troubles associés"

Noyau rouge

C'est un autre élément important du système moteur. Sa fonction est liée à la coordination des mouvements .

Matière grise périaqueducale

La substance grise périaqueducale qui, comme son nom l'indique, est située autour de l'aqueduc de Silvio, intervient dans l'habituation à la douleur et dans les processus analgésiques en général.

Fonctions du mésencéphale

La localisation du mésencéphale fait que les fonctions principales de cette structure ont à voir avec intégration entre différents types d'informations . D'une part, il collecte les impulsions nerveuses liées aux commandes motrices devant être exécutées par les muscles et, d'autre part, reçoit des données sensorielles.

De la même manière, les tubercules cuadrigéminos situés dans le téctum sont responsables de la coordination de ce type d'informations afin de donner lieu à des séquences d'actions ajustées à ce que les sens enregistrent en temps réel.

Par ailleurs, certaines régions du mésencéphale sont associées à processus de régulation de la conscience et du sommeil , à traverser par la formation réticulaire.Le mésencéphale intervient également dans les fonctions homéostatiques visant à maintenir l’équilibre de l’organisme et joue, par conséquent, un rôle dans la régulation de la température corporelle.

Ainsi, le mésencéphale est chargé de mener à bien des processus d’importance vitale pour que l’organisme continue de fonctionner, au point que l’activité dans cette structure du système nerveux est ce qui indique plus clairement s’il ya mort ou non. .

Maladies et blessures associées

Toute lésion touchant les régions inférieures du cerveau peut atteindre le mésencéphale. Les conséquences de ce type d’accidents sont presque toujours très graves, produisant le coma ou la mort .

La raison en est que le mésencéphale est une partie du système nerveux dont l’importance est cruciale pour la coordination des fonctions physiologiques fondamentales de l’organisme et qui sert également à plusieurs types d’impulsions nerveuses qui atteignent les groupes de neurones supérieurs. Comme le mésencéphale agit comme un lien entre de nombreux domaines , la présence d’anomalies dans cette zone en affecte de nombreuses autres.

En ce qui concerne les maladies qui affectent ces structures du cerveau, les plus courantes sont la maladie d’Alzheimer et la maladie de Parkinson. Les deux sont des troubles neurologiques qui interfèrent avec le fonctionnement de vastes zones du système nerveux, y compris le mésencéphale, et peuvent entraîner des problèmes de mobilité et de cognition.


L'encéphale (Juillet 2024).


Articles Connexes