yes, therapy helps!
Nelophobia (fear of glass): symptoms, causes and treatment

Nelophobia (fear of glass): symptoms, causes and treatment

September 29, 2022

The nelophobia is the persistent and intense fear of glass. It can be described as a specific type phobia, and as such, there are many elements that can cause it. There are also different ways to reduce the person's anxiety responses.

In this article we will see what is the nelofobia , in what other way is called, what are its main causes as well as some strategies for its evaluation and treatment.

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

Nelophobia: fear of glass

The nelophobia is the persistent and intense fear of glass. Being a phobia, this fear is presented in an irrational way, that is, it is not justified by the cultural codes of the person. Another term used to refer to the phobia of glass, are "hieloofobia" or "hyalofobia" and "cristalofobia".


The term "hyalophobia" is one of the synonyms of the most used nelophobia. It is composed of the Greek "ýalos" which means "crystal", and "fobos" which means "fear" or "fear". While it is a generalized fear, but rather it manifests itself before a specific stimulus (glass), this could be considered a specific type phobia.

As such, this fear is considered a specific phobia when the anticipation, avoidance or discomfort related to the stimulus interferes in an important way with the person's daily routine (their academic, work, personal, etc.), and this is not the case. can explain other diagnoses such as Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder, post-traumatic stress or social phobia.


Finally, the person may be aware that their fear is excessive, although not necessarily.

symptom

In general, the main symptoms of specific phobias are those related to an intense anxiety response. They are caused by the activation of the autonomic nervous system once the person has been exposed to the stimulus and includes manifestations such as sweating, hyperventilation, increased heart rate, decreased gastrointestinal activity , and in some cases a panic attack can be triggered. This is more common when the stimulus causing the phobia does not present significant opportunities to be avoided.

In the same sense, specific phobias cause some manifestations of secondary type, which are those that are not easily observed, but can negatively affect the functionality of the person. It is, for example, constant defensive and defensive behaviors .


Likewise, the fear is caused by perceiving the possibility of damage, which in the case of the nelophobia could be suffering some injury caused by the glass. However, another type of specific phobias may be caused by a different concern, related to making a fool of yourself, losing control, experiencing unpleasant physical sensations or suffering a panic attack.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of Anxiety Disorders and their characteristics"

Probable causes

One of the most accepted explanatory theories about the development of phobias is the theory of preparation, which says that it is enough to have had a direct or indirect aversive experience with the stimulus to increase the probability that a fear becomes a phobia. In other words, one of the causes of specific phobias is having had a direct negative experience with the stimulus , or have witnessed this experience.

In the case of the nelofobia it would be for example to have had some wound or accident where the glass was involved, or to have seen someone else suffer it.

In the same line, another element that can increase the probability of developing a phobic fear is the severity and frequency of negative experiences, that is, how much real damage caused the exposure to the stimulus and how many times this has happened. So, it's more likely develop fear of stimuli that represent a significant threat for physical integrity and biological stability.

However, some studies have reported that this criterion is not always met. There are fears that do not correspond to the history of direct and indirect negative experiences, so it is important to have an in-depth evaluation of the way in which the threatening information has been transmitted, acquired and consolidated.

Evaluation

The clinical evaluation should start by exploring what are the feared and avoided situations, as well as the behaviors that are generating problems in terms of functionality.For example, the expectations of danger (the cognitive level), the avoidant or defensive behaviors (the motor dimension), the degree of anxiety response (physiological dimension), and the experience of fear (the emotional level).

Subsequently it is important to detect which elements of the problem are becoming worse, or reducing, especially with respect to the stimulus. This refers, for example, to evaluate the frequency of exposure to the stimulus and the degree of danger it represents, as well as the related escape alternatives. In the case of this phobia, it would be a question of determining the level of exposure of the person to the environments with glass, how risky they can be and what alternatives of risk reduction exist.

It is also important to know the life history of the person and the associations made with respect to the stimulus that he perceives as harmful. From there, detect the resources and coping strategies to determine what factors need to be reinforced, diminished or accompanied.

Treatment

On treatment, the theory of non-associative explanation, which says that phobias can be generated without the need for associative learning, has postulated that the fear response can decrease when the person is exposed in a negative and repeated way to the feared stimuli .

In the same sense, some of the most used techniques are relaxation techniques, systematic desensitization, imagination techniques, exposure through virtual reality, the model of vicarious exposure, among many others.

The effectiveness of each one depends to a large extent on the intensity of the anxiety response as well as personal history and the degree of risk represented by the phobic stimulus.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bados, A. (2005). Specific phobias Factultat of Psychology. Departament de Personalitat, Avaluació i Tractament Psicològics. University of Barcelona. Retrieved September 24, 2018. Available at //diposit.ub.edu/dspace/bitstream/2445/360/1/113.pdf.
  • Hyelophobia (2017). Common-phobias.com. Retrieved September 24, 2018. Available at //common-phobias.com/Hyelo/phobia.htm.
  • Nelophobia (S / A). Phobia wiki. Retrieved September 24, 2018. Available at //phobia.wikia.com/wiki/Nelophobia.

What is HEDONOPHOBIA? What does HEDONOPHOBIA mean? HEDONOPHOBIA meaning & explanation (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Nélophobie (peur du verre): symptômes, causes et traitement

Nélophobie (peur du verre): symptômes, causes et traitement

Février 24, 2021

La nélophobie est la peur persistante et intense du verre. Il peut être décrit comme une phobie de type spécifique et, en tant que tel, de nombreux éléments peuvent en être la cause. Il existe également différentes manières de réduire les réactions d'anxiété de la personne.

Dans cet article, nous verrons quelle est la nélofobie , comment on l’appelle autrement, quelles sont ses causes principales ainsi que certaines stratégies pour son évaluation et son traitement.

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Nélophobie: peur du verre

La nélophobie est la peur persistante et intense du verre. En tant que phobie, cette peur est présentée de manière irrationnelle, c'est-à-dire qu'elle n'est pas justifiée par les codes culturels de la personne. Un autre terme utilisé pour désigner la phobie du verre est "hieloofobia" ou "hyalofobia" et "cristalofobia".


Le terme "hyalophobie" est l’un des synonymes de la nélophobie la plus utilisée. Il est composé du grec "ýalos" qui signifie "cristal" et de "fobos" qui signifie "peur" ou "peur". Bien qu'il s'agisse d'une peur généralisée, mais plutôt il se manifeste avant un stimulus spécifique (verre), cela pourrait être considéré comme un type particulier de phobie.

En tant que telle, cette peur est considérée comme une phobie spécifique lorsque l'anticipation, l'évitement ou la gêne liée au stimulus interfère de manière importante avec la routine quotidienne de la personne (ses études, son travail, son personnel, etc.) et que ce n'est pas le cas. peut expliquer d’autres diagnostics tels que le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif, le stress post-traumatique ou la phobie sociale.


Enfin, la personne peut être consciente que sa peur est excessive, mais pas nécessairement.

Les symptômes

En général, les principaux symptômes de phobies spécifiques sont ceux liés à une réponse anxieuse intense. Ils sont causés par l'activation du système nerveux autonome une fois que la personne a été exposée au stimulus et comprennent des manifestations telles que transpiration, hyperventilation, augmentation de la fréquence cardiaque, diminution de l'activité gastro-intestinale et, dans certains cas, une attaque de panique peut être déclenchée. Ceci est plus fréquent lorsque le stimulus à l'origine de la phobie ne présente pas d'opportunités importantes à éviter.

Dans le même sens, des phobies spécifiques provoquent des manifestations de type secondaire, qui sont des phénomènes difficiles à observer, mais qui peuvent affecter négativement les fonctionnalités de la personne. C'est par exemple comportements défensifs et défensifs constants .


De même, la peur est causée par la perception de la possibilité de dommages qui, dans le cas de la nélophobie, pourraient subir des blessures causées par le verre. Cependant, un autre type de phobie spécifique peut être causé par une préoccupation différente, à savoir se ridiculiser, perdre le contrôle de soi, éprouver des sensations physiques désagréables ou subir une attaque de panique.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de troubles anxieux et leurs caractéristiques"

Causes probables

L'une des théories explicatives les plus acceptées sur le développement des phobies est la théorie de la préparation, qui dit qu'il suffit d'avoir eu une expérience aversive directe ou indirecte avec le stimulus pour augmenter la probabilité qu'une peur devienne une phobie. En d’autres termes, l’une des causes de phobies spécifiques est la une expérience négative directe avec le stimulus , ou ont été témoins de cette expérience.

Dans le cas de la nélofobie, ce serait par exemple avoir eu une blessure ou un accident où le verre était en cause, ou avoir vu quelqu'un d'autre en souffrir.

Dans le même ordre d'idées, un autre élément susceptible d'accroître la probabilité de développer une peur phobique est la gravité et la fréquence des expériences négatives, c'est-à-dire l'ampleur des dégâts causés par l'exposition au stimulus et le nombre de fois que cela s'est produit. Donc, c'est plus probable développer une peur des stimuli qui représentent une menace importante pour l'intégrité physique et la stabilité biologique.

Cependant, certaines études ont indiqué que ce critère n'était pas toujours respecté. Certaines peurs ne correspondent pas à l'historique des expériences négatives directes et indirectes. Il est donc important de procéder à une évaluation approfondie de la manière dont les informations menaçantes ont été transmises, acquises et consolidées.

Évaluation

L'évaluation clinique doit commencer par explorer quelles sont les situations à craindre et à éviter, ainsi que les comportements qui génèrent des problèmes de fonctionnalité.Par exemple, les attentes de danger (niveau cognitif), les comportements d'évitement ou de défense (dimension motrice), le degré de réponse anxieuse (dimension physiologique) et l'expérience de peur (niveau émotionnel).

Par la suite, il est important de détecter les éléments du problème qui s'aggravent ou se réduisent, en particulier en ce qui concerne le stimulus. Cela concerne, par exemple, évaluer la fréquence d'exposition au stimulus et le degré de danger que cela représente, ainsi que les alternatives d'évasion associées. Dans le cas de cette phobie, il s'agirait de déterminer le niveau d'exposition de la personne aux environnements exposés avec du verre, son risque, et quelles alternatives de réduction des risques existent.

Il est également important de connaître l’histoire de la vie de la personne et les associations établies en ce qui concerne le stimulus qu’elle perçoit comme nuisible. À partir de là, détectez les ressources et les stratégies d’adaptation permettant de déterminer quels facteurs doivent être renforcés, réduits ou accompagnés.

Traitement

En ce qui concerne le traitement, la théorie de l'explication non associative, selon laquelle les phobies peuvent être générées sans nécessiter d'apprentissage associatif, a postulé que la réaction de peur pouvait diminuer. lorsque la personne est exposée de manière négative et répétée aux stimuli redoutés .

Dans le même sens, certaines des techniques les plus utilisées sont les techniques de relaxation, la désensibilisation systématique, les techniques d'imagination, l'exposition à travers la réalité virtuelle, le modèle de l'exposition par procuration, parmi beaucoup d'autres.

L'efficacité de chacun dépend dans une large mesure de l'intensité de la réponse anxieuse ainsi que l'histoire personnelle et le degré de risque représenté par le stimulus phobique.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bados, A. (2005). Phobies spécifiques Factultat de psychologie. Departament de Personalitat, Avaluació i Tractament Psicològics. Université de Barcelone. Récupéré le 24 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //diposit.ub.edu/dspace/bitstream/2445/360/1/113.pdf.
  • Hyelophobia (2017). Common-phobias.com. Consulté le 24 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //common-phobias.com/Hyelo/phobia.htm.
  • Nélophobie (S / A). Phobie wiki. Récupéré le 24 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //phobia.wikia.com/wiki/Nelophobia.

Qu'est ce que ça veut dire #Nélophobie (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes