yes, therapy helps!
Eclecticism in Psychology: 6 advantages and disadvantages of this form of intervention

Eclecticism in Psychology: 6 advantages and disadvantages of this form of intervention

March 1, 2021

In the psychology of the 20th century, models and interventions were emerging that did not strictly adhere to a theoretical orientation, but instead combined the contributions of several. For example, the interpersonal therapy of Klerman and Weissman, which emerged in the 1970s, was influenced by psychoanalysis, by behaviorism and by cognitivism.

Eclecticism promotes explanatory and applied frameworks that seek to overcome the limitations of traditional perspectives, although their greater complexity can lead to difficulties. In this article we will describe the advantages and the disadvantages of eclecticism in psychology , as well as the types of integration that exist.


  • Related article: "The 7 main streams of Psychology"

Types of eclecticism in psychology

There is a large number of eclectic models that combine contributions of different theoretical orientations. These are classified according to the way in which the integration of paradigms is carried out.

1. Theoretical integration

In theoretical eclecticism combine concepts from different theories , generally using one of them as a frame of reference. The objective of this type of integration is to increase the explanatory capacity before certain problems.

The book "Personality and psychotherapy: an analysis in terms of learning, thought and culture", by Dollard and Miller, was a milestone in the history of eclecticism in psychology. In it the authors synthesized the explanations of neurosis offered by psychoanalysis and behaviorism and brought together concepts such as "pleasure" and "reinforcement".


A particular case is that of metatheoretical integration, which seeks to offer a common framework in which different theories can be included. For example, Neimeyer and Feixas have highlighted the suitability of constructivism as a higher level theory that allows the convergence of models.

2. Technical eclecticism

This type of eclecticism consists of use techniques of different orientations . Lazarus, one of the pioneers of technical eclecticism, argued that theoretical integration is not feasible because of the contradictions of different perspectives, although many different tools can be useful under certain conditions.

A common criterion in technical eclecticism is the level of efficacy demonstrated empirically . In this case, we seek to find the most appropriate treatments for each situation, according to scientific research.


On the other hand, it is called "intuitive eclecticism" to the integration of techniques based exclusively on the ideas and preferences of the psychologist. Many people have criticized this type of practice for its lack of systematization.

3. Focus on common factors

The theorists of this approach seek to identify the common factors that explain the effectiveness of psychological interventions. Authors such as Rosenzweig, Fiedler and Rogers opened the way to this type of eclecticism with their studies and models on the attitude of the therapist as a key variable.

Jerome Frank identified six common factors to the different psychotherapeutic orientations:

  • Relationship of trust between the therapist and the client.
  • Offering a rational and credible explanation of problems.
  • Providing new information about the problems.
  • Expectations of improvement by the client .
  • Opportunity to have successful experiences and favor the feeling of dominance.
  • Facilitation of emotional activation.

Advantages of eclecticism

The advantages of eclecticism they are related to the increase in the complexity of the explanations and the availability of a greater number of tools.

1. Greater explanatory capacity

The theoretical models, as well as the corresponding interventions, prioritize certain aspects of reality over others. Thus, for example, cognitive-behavioral therapy focuses almost exclusively on manifest behavior and conscious perception of the person, while psychoanalysis focuses on the unconscious.

The combination of different orientations allows to overcome the explanatory limitations of each particular model , supplying the weak points with the strengths of other perspectives. It is more frequent to occur in complementary paradigms, as happens with the cognitive and behavioral paradigms.

2. Empowerment of effectiveness

Having concepts and techniques from different approaches allows use the most appropriate tools for each situation instead of those indicated by a specific theory; this increases the effectiveness of the interventions. It also allows more easily apply holistic treatments, that is, directed to the person as a whole.

3. Individualization of interventions

Anyone has characteristics that set it apart from the rest; therefore, adapting the interventions to each client is fundamental. Eclecticism is very useful in this sense, since the increase in the range of treatments it makes it possible to better cover the different needs of customers.

Disadvantages of eclecticism

The negative side of eclecticism can become very relevant at times. This depends mainly on level of complexity in the integration .

1. Difficulty combining guidelines

The integration of different perspectives is complicated from a conceptual point of view, among other things because it requires a very deep knowledge of the orientations and techniques involved if you want to generate a model properly. This difficulty is especially remarkable in theoretical eclecticism .

2. It can generate confusion

Even if the explanatory capacity of eclectic models and interventions is usually greater than that of the classics, these can be difficult to transmit to experts who do not master any of the orientations in question. Also, sometimes the integrative models offer unnecessarily complex explanations.

3. Complicates the evaluation of interventions

From the point of view of research, eclectic interventions are more difficult to evaluate than simple . In particular, it is very difficult to separate the therapeutic contributions from each of the guidelines or techniques used.


Social Communication of Children With Special Needs, Colloquia with Dr. Kathy Lawton (March 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'éclectisme en psychologie: 6 avantages et inconvénients de cette forme d'intervention

L'éclectisme en psychologie: 6 avantages et inconvénients de cette forme d'intervention

Août 4, 2022

Dans la psychologie du XXe siècle, des modèles et des interventions émergent qui ne suivent pas strictement une orientation théorique, mais qui combinent les contributions de plusieurs personnes. Par exemple, la thérapie interpersonnelle de Klerman et Weissman, apparue dans les années 1970, était influencée par la psychanalyse, le behaviorisme et le cognitivisme.

L'éclectisme favorise les cadres explicatifs et appliqués qui cherchent à surmonter les limitations des perspectives traditionnelles, bien que leur complexité accrue puisse entraîner des difficultés. Dans cet article, nous décrirons les avantages et les inconvénients les inconvénients de l'éclectisme en psychologie , ainsi que les types d’intégration existants.


  • Article connexe: "Les 7 principaux courants de la psychologie"

Types d'éclectisme en psychologie

Il existe un grand nombre de modèles éclectiques combinant des contributions d'orientations théoriques différentes. Celles-ci sont classées en fonction de la manière dont l'intégration des paradigmes est effectuée.

1. Intégration théorique

Dans l'éclectisme théorique combiner des concepts de différentes théories , généralement en utilisant l’un d’eux comme référentiel. L'objectif de ce type d'intégration est d'augmenter la capacité explicative face à certains problèmes.

Le livre "Personnalité et psychothérapie: une analyse en termes d'apprentissage, de pensée et de culture", de Dollard et Miller, a marqué un tournant dans l'histoire de l'éclectisme en psychologie. Les auteurs y ont synthétisé les explications de la névrose offertes par la psychanalyse et le behaviorisme et ont rassemblé des concepts tels que "plaisir" et "renforcement".


Un cas particulier est celui de intégration métathéorique, qui cherche à offrir un cadre commun dans lequel différentes théories peuvent être incluses. Par exemple, Neimeyer et Feixas ont souligné la pertinence du constructivisme en tant que théorie de niveau supérieur permettant la convergence des modèles.

2. éclectisme technique

Ce type d’éclectisme consiste en utiliser des techniques de différentes orientations . Lazarus, l'un des pionniers de l'éclectisme technique, a fait valoir que l'intégration théorique n'est pas réalisable en raison des contradictions de perspectives différentes, bien que de nombreux outils puissent être utiles dans certaines conditions.

Un critère commun dans l'éclectisme technique est le niveau d'efficacité démontré empiriquement . Dans ce cas, nous cherchons à trouver les traitements les plus appropriés à chaque situation, selon les recherches scientifiques.


D'autre part, on l'appelle "éclectisme intuitif" à l'intégration de techniques basées exclusivement sur les idées et les préférences du psychologue. Beaucoup de gens ont critiqué ce type de pratique pour son manque de systématisation.

3. Concentrez-vous sur les facteurs communs

Les théoriciens de cette approche cherchent à identifier les facteurs communs qui expliquent l'efficacité des interventions psychologiques. Des auteurs tels que Rosenzweig, Fiedler et Rogers ont ouvert la voie à ce type d'éclectisme avec leurs études et leurs modèles sur l'attitude du thérapeute en tant que variable clé.

Jerome Frank a identifié six facteurs communs aux différentes orientations psychothérapeutiques:

  • Relation de confiance entre le thérapeute et le client.
  • Offrir une explication rationnelle et crédible des problèmes.
  • Fournir de nouvelles informations sur les problèmes.
  • Attentes d'amélioration du client .
  • Possibilité d'avoir des expériences réussies et de favoriser le sentiment de domination.
  • Facilitation de l'activation émotionnelle.

Avantages de l'éclectisme

Les avantages de l'éclectisme ils sont liés à la complexité croissante des explications et à la disponibilité d'un plus grand nombre d'outils.

1. Plus grande capacité explicative

Les modèles théoriques, ainsi que les interventions correspondantes, donnent la priorité à certains aspects de la réalité. Ainsi, par exemple, la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale se concentre presque exclusivement sur le comportement manifeste et la perception consciente de la personne, tandis que la psychanalyse se concentre sur l'inconscient.

La combinaison de différentes orientations permet de surmonter les limitations explicatives de chaque modèle particulier , en fournissant aux points faibles les points forts des autres perspectives. Il est plus fréquent de rencontrer des paradigmes complémentaires, comme cela se produit avec les paradigmes cognitifs et comportementaux.

2. Renforcement de l'efficacité

Avoir des concepts et des techniques d’approches différentes permet utiliser les outils les mieux adaptés à chaque situation au lieu de ceux indiqués par une théorie spécifique; cela augmente l'efficacité des interventions. Cela permet également d'appliquer plus facilement des traitements holistiques, c'est-à-dire dirigés vers la personne dans son ensemble.

3. Individualisation des interventions

Tout le monde a des caractéristiques qui le distinguent des autres; Il est donc fondamental d’adapter les interventions à chaque client. L’éclectisme est très utile dans ce sens, car l'augmentation de la gamme de traitements il permet de mieux couvrir les différents besoins des clients.

Inconvénients de l'éclectisme

Le côté négatif de l'éclectisme peut parfois devenir très pertinent. Cela dépend principalement de niveau de complexité de l'intégration .

1. Difficulté à combiner les lignes directrices

L'intégration de différentes perspectives est compliquée d'un point de vue conceptuel, entre autres parce qu'elle nécessite une connaissance très approfondie des orientations et des techniques impliquées si vous souhaitez générer un modèle correctement. Cette difficulté est particulièrement remarquable dans l'éclectisme théorique .

2. Cela peut générer de la confusion

Même si la capacité explicative des modèles et interventions éclectiques est généralement supérieure à celle des classiques, il peut être difficile de les transmettre à des experts qui ne maîtrisent aucune des orientations en question. De plus, les modèles d'intégration offrent parfois des explications inutilement complexes.

3. Complique l'évaluation des interventions

Du point de vue de la recherche, des interventions éclectiques sont plus difficiles à évaluer que simple . En particulier, il est très difficile de séparer les contributions thérapeutiques de chacune des lignes directrices ou des techniques utilisées.


VTS 01 2 (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes